• Card Thief
  • App Reviews
  • Card Thief App Icon
    Card Thief
    by Arnold Rauers
    Average Rating: 9.6/10
    Reviews: 79
    Positive
    96%
    critic
    4%

    Please provide a rating and review of what you thought about the app by going to the App Store here.

    Find out what App Store users think about the Card Thief App before you buy it. See the most helpful reviews written by users who played the game or used the application and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

    United States

    Card Thief Positive reviews

    4 out of 5
    Great core gameplay

    This game is a lot of fun. It has some uniquely cool mechanics that simulate thieving techniques in interesting ways.

    The only downside is the game becomes a bit of a grind. You keep replaying very similar levels over and over.

    I wish there was a little more to the campaign, such as unique items

    By Hotairraccoon.
    May 29, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Rogue Strategy Fun

    been having a lot of fun with this game. it is the game i keep coming back to, and see myself playing for years to come. very
    thoughtful game mechanics and unique art tied together with rewarding strategy make this game worth the one time payment.

    By Rodhya.
    May 25, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Good Game

    Enjoyable, relaxing and no annoying ads or in app purchases.

    By Dragonlancer7.
    May 18, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Great Compulsive Fun

    at first it felt like a lot of rules to absorb, but despite losing game after game i found it really fun and addictive. gradually
    i got the hang of it and it just got better and better. i rarely play anything for an extended period, but this has had me coming
    back again and again. great art style

    By Barliesque.
    May 14, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Great fun solitaire type game

    Really like this game. Especially the challenges to upgrade the gear. The tutorials made it easy to understand. Looking forward
    to new content!

    By SmurfsUp.
    May 10, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Great strategy card game

    card thief is such a pleasurable game but it needs more content.i liked the previous card game (card crawl) that you guys created
    and i like this even more but there is one really ennoying bug for me that sometimes when i try to open the chest,the game crashes
    and when i come back to the game the ch

    By N0 Way!.
    May 10, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Best game I have played.

    One of the best and most addictive games I have ever had the pleasure of playing.

    By DJJ29577.
    May 9, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Great, will be amazing with more content

    this game is still in the early stages, but i know from having played card crawl that the creators will continue to fine tune this
    already wonderful game.

    By Kirahazen.
    May 9, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Fun little card based strategy game

    Nice little collection of mechanics make for an entertaining card game with strong physical placement and path finding mechanics.
    Definitely recommended.

    By universedave.
    May 9, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Love the progression

    Cool game, I really enjoy making the cards more powerful.

    By Djheffer.
    May 9, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Clever fun

    i actually like this game a lot. i play this more than its counterpart “card crawl.”

    it would be great to see some more content compelling play beyond the set goals built into the game… it's still fun but there is
    nothing new to achieve
    .

    i would recommend this game to anyone who likes a goo

    By mufungo.
    May 9, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Really dig it!

    Stealth solitaire, it's great. Would purchase again.

    By Dan12345989846.
    May 9, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Great game from the makers of card crawl

    it's fun challenging and takes a little bit of whit. i would give it a 5 star rating if they had added a bit of deeper card detail
    and a solid faq.

    By Mystic1031.
    May 9, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Yeee

    Boiii

    By Hackeesackr.
    May 9, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Very addictive

    A surprisingly well done stealth card game, which will seem very strange at first, but give it a short while, and you realize how
    deep the mechanics go, and before you know it, it really does feel like you're sneaking through a castle. Very well animated and
    put together.

    By Jollybarracuda.
    April 29, 2017
    5 out of 5
    awesome

    i love it. very good as an offline game to play around with. the tutorial is kinda weird but if you have a brain you will get the
    game quickly.

    By Zorthios.
    April 23, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Amazing charming simple addictive

    I love this game. Can't say enough nice things about it!

    By Greybeard312.
    April 22, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Wonderful and addictive!

    absolutely great game. lots of little bits of strategizing to learn so you are constantly pushing yourself to do better, but the
    game has an appropriate learning curve so you're not left failing because you aren't picking up on the details fast enough.

    By TempestBrewer.
    April 14, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Perfect game with no IAP

    My only complain is that it makes my iPad Air too hot and drains battery fast.

    By Bubbly Banana Phone.
    April 13, 2017
    5 out of 5
    love "card thief" or go give someone evil $99 in I

    an aesthetically lovely yet graphically simple display of card-like turn-based mechanics with a non-intrusive rpg-like progress
    element that makes for a perfectly challenging yet stress-free gaming experience. it supports airplane mode yet connects players
    through a daily challenge on a level playin

    By karakira.
    April 11, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Beautifully Done!!

    from the second the game opens it pulls you in with its whimsical art, eerie music and clever card animations. i throughly enjoyed
    discovering all the nuances of game play. the game strategy is challenging, but extremely fun to learn. i cannot wait until the
    developers add more content and a purpose

    By Hippotoe.
    April 11, 2017
    5 out of 5
    love "card thief" or go give someone evil $99 in I

    an aesthetically lovely yet graphically simple display of card-like turn-based mechanics with a non-intrusive rpg-like progress
    element that makes for a perfectly challenging yet stress-free gaming experience. it supports airplane mode yet connects players
    through a daily challenge on a level playin

    By neeg-the-black-niggie.
    April 11, 2017
    5 out of 5
    So deep and fun

    Absolutely loving this game. Played it for hours on a plane flight. I especially love the equipment upgrade quests. Will be sad
    when those are all complete.

    By Skellt.
    April 10, 2017
    5 out of 5
    I was wrong this game is good.

    Once you figure it out it's fantastic.
    The only problem with the game is that a certain number of power up cards should be single use and purchased from the guild master
    with gems earned on heists.
    The insignias are cool but the trash loot is not. Give me a reason to want gems other than score.

    By Skip Deluca.
    April 6, 2017
    5 out of 5
    A pleasant surprise

    Originally I thought this game would get boring quick, but after playing a few sets, I realized the maps were all random and you
    could add equipment adding to the outcomes of each game. A neat idea would be to hopefully add more thieves in the game, perhaps
    give each thief a special ability or passi

    By xXEuphymiaXx.
    April 5, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Good once you figure it out

    The game as a steep difficulty curve as others have said, but it's worth it once you get the hang of it. Two tips: 1) You can get
    away with anything if you have stealth points. You're only in trouble once you run out. 2) Play conservatively, you only need to
    make 2 moves per turn, so there's no need

    By Amgrey.
    April 5, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Good fun good price!

    probably the best two bucks i've spent on the app store! great art, fun concept

    By CinderSlash.
    March 31, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Great

    good stuff.

    By zeroin123.
    March 31, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Excellent and Worth the Effort

    It's rare that I would offer an app a full 5-stars -- really rare. But Card Thief is worth every pointed star.

    Admittedly, there is a learning curve. Even after playing through the tutorial a couple of times, I was still left questioning how
    some of the card values changed, as well as how some of

    By music-meister.
    March 31, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Amazing!!!!

    Actually the game doesn't have a steep learning curve as stated by a couple of reviews. Many videos in You Tube available.
    Be aware that game is extremely addicting and one of the best I have played in a long time.

    By Mike194669.
    March 29, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Great!

    This game is much better than card crawl. The owls are so cute. Definitely worth the 2 dollars
    Also the upgrades missions are fun

    By Whiskers the cat7.
    March 29, 2017
    5 out of 5
    You're Smart

    Want a game that makes you feel smart, but you have to work for it a bit? This one.

    By SlightlySarcasticPlayer.
    March 29, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Take the time

    i didn't fully understand this game for a while, but then it clicked. now i can't stop playing. i play a lot of ios games, and i
    typically rate them in terms of replayability. this game has replayability. in case i'm not clear, i like it. i suspect i'll still
    be playing it for many months to come. f

    By chezfugu.
    March 28, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Awesome game, steep learning curve.

    Like other reviews here, game is outstanding but the learning curve is steep. A few hints:
    1: touch and hold a card to see tool tips.
    2: Guards attacked from their blind side, in the dark, the stealth cost is 0.
    3: if you end a turn at 0 stealth or less, it's possible you will get caught if your thi

    By greenvalor.
    March 28, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Great game, must try!

    great for a little downtime. little bit of a learning curve, but awesome afterwards!

    By AnAmericanSaint.
    March 28, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Thanks for the update!

    i left a great review for the initial release and the update has polished things up a bit. great game! 5 stars

    By Corbondallas.
    March 28, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Fun, complicated yet simple

    This game is extremely well done. The games mechanics are somewhat complicated yet it is still simple enough to get started
    playing. Understanding how the game works makes it even more fun.

    By Glitchy!!!.
    March 28, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Most impressive...

    On top of the already fantastic art, this game is well polished and plays well.

    It's surprisingly deep for a card/board game with only 9 spaces on the board - this game scratches the tactical itch much more
    than Card Crawl, which was mostly about maximizing the impact of your cards.

    Lots of great

    By Drelbs2345.
    March 27, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Great Buy!

    full disclosure: i've played card crawl since it's inception, loved it, and have gone back to play every update, and then some.

    thief is a whole new level of single player, card-rpg-fun! the graphics are fun and engaging. the game play, while simple in
    concept is difficult in actual play. the contr

    By TechAdict.
    March 27, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Entertaining and Replayable

    The rules are a little hard to learn and the tutorial doesn't cover everything, but this is a nicely complex game with lots of
    replayability. The tutorial is worth running through again after you have played for a bit.

    By Amphian.
    March 27, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Excellent Game

    this game is great. really solid and intelligent base mechanics surrounded by great art, atmosphere, and progression (being a huge
    step up from card crawl; rewards for time and then for specific achievement make it very satisfying)
    . very few bugs as well.

    By Tranj.
    March 26, 2017
    5 out of 5
    This is a logic & reasoning game? Wuuuuut?!

    Let's start off by saying this game requires you to think. If you think scumming RGN is a viable strategy, you're going to have a
    bad time.

    It's a title that's par for the course with this independent German game developer, and it's far from your typified, derivative
    games forum fare.

    TTT tested t

    By HarlequinDomination.
    March 24, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Great take on card games

    Well worth the flatter! Having finished most of the game (my only incentives are to max out the final equipment, which I can't do
    right now), I can honestly say that Card Thief is a worthy journey. My only gripe is that the difficulties of some of the upgrades
    are inconsistent. Sometimes the descrip

    By BenDayDot.
    March 24, 2017
    5 out of 5
    gorgeous relaxing puzzler!

    Love this beautiful puzzler! The art is fantastic, the gameplay is simple strategy, so it's quite relaxing to play. Very
    inventive, I look forward to seeing how where the developers take it. Worth every penny.

    By Gbtrex.
    March 24, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Excellent so far but...

    I usually don't go in for the card game genre, but this game looked so interesting I had to try. So far, I really love the game!
    The animation,sound, and overall presentation is very cool and gameplay is truly a brain teaser. My only wish on this game is a
    little more balance on difficulty. It still

    By Nuclearsn8ke.
    March 24, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Nice one

    Very nice game. I hope the developer will continue to add content.

    By Pwetosaure.
    March 24, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Very fun but tricky

    I wish it did a little better job of explaining how to play and what the cards do. But it is very addicting and challenging

    By Bc123456890.
    March 24, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Great game

    Awesome

    By Birdman9876.
    March 22, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Deep, Challenging, Unique, & Fun

    I have been playing this A LOT since I bought it a week or so ago. On the one hand, it didn't take long to unlock the first reward
    and the 2nd location on the map. On the other hand, I still don't fully understand the game mechanics and definitely am still
    working on strategy. It's one of those 'eas

    By QuirkyCarter.
    March 22, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Steep learning curve, but great when you finally g

    the gameplay is a little difficult to learn at first and the tutorial was a bit daunting. i almost gave up on it, but decided
    against it because of the good online reviews. i'm glad i took the time to figure the gameplay out because it really is quite fun.
    you have to just jump in the deep end and p

    By thegirlnamednico.
    March 22, 2017

    Card Thief Critic reviews

    3 out of 5
    Great game, keeps losing my progress

    i love the game and it's aesthetic. it's really terrific. this would be a five star app, no question, except that it has reset my
    progress twice with no warning. still fun to play, but frustrating to have to unlock the same parts over and over.

    By amnesiack.
    March 25, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Fun, but crashes a lot.

    a super fun game when the app doesn't crash.

    By Wooderson603.
    March 25, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Needs work.

    The learning curve is too steep. The tutorial is useless, and in actual play it seems like you just lose at random. Lights get
    dropped in after you clear cards and you just lose. Can't recommend.

    By nicknamesolelybecauseIhavetohaveone.
    March 21, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Random losses that don't match the "rules"

    apparently the tutorial leaves some aspects of the game out because i lose randomly and have no clue why. my thief is not adjacent
    to lit cards or guards and yet i get caught somehow. very fun game when it makes sense.

    By AaronCP.
    March 21, 2017

    WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

    How do you rate this app? *

      1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
    Gameplay
    Graphics
    Price
    Total