• Card Thief
  • App Reviews
  • Card Thief App Icon
    Card Thief
    by Arnold Rauers
    Average Rating: 9.4/10
    Reviews: 98
    Positive
    94%
    critic
    6%

    Please provide a rating and review of what you thought about the app by going to the App Store here.

    Find out what App Store users think about the Card Thief App before you buy it. See the most helpful reviews written by users who played the game or used the application and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

    United States

    Card Thief Positive reviews

    5 out of 5
    Fun for hours

    I love the game... just one question...
    To upgrade the black jack card I need to use it 3 times in one heist... but it can only be used 2 times ....... so ... what's up
    with that !!???

    By alexsomahigh.
    September 24, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Great game!

    Smart game design and beautiful graphics. If you liked Dungeon Raid, you'll enjoy this!

    By quasifuturist.
    September 15, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Fun

    Lots of fun

    By SmellsMcgee.
    September 10, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Love the Art

    this game has exquisite art design. i fist got it because i love the art, and i wanted to see what the gameplay was like. not
    surprisingly, it was absolutely magnificent. i recommend this game for anyone who loves strategy or a wonderful art design

    By McMillan the third.
    September 9, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Awesome game.

    One of my favorites.

    By methnen.
    September 9, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Good game but short

    the game is very fun and rather addictive, but it lacking in content. it kept me busy for a couple hours of playtime, but after
    you've completed the 4th dungeon, there's nothing left to do but upgrade your cards, if they're not already done. after that
    there's not much reward for playing

    By BladeBoy0326.
    September 8, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Great game. Great developer.

    Love this game and this dev. What are you waiting for? Get it!

    By Farseer Orso.
    September 7, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Great follow up to Card Crawl

    Really interesting take on a card based dungeon crawler. Also nice to see the dev support the game with FREE content update.
    This is a premium game with no free to play nonsense, no IAPs, and no secondary currency/timer gates.

    By Giuliani .
    September 7, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Help!

    Loved the new update, until it broke! I was doing the daily challenge, when the game crashed. I thought, "oh well, I'll just
    reopen the app." When I tried to reopen the app it continued to crashed even after restarting my phone. I did leave the game
    ruining on the daily challenge in the background f

    By Thecoolest000.
    September 6, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Ingenious Gameplay + Tiny Touch Tales = Card Magic

    Beware young thief, the treasure you seek rests in protected quarters. Use your guile and outwit the guards that litter the
    treasure laden dungeons of Card Thief! Move stealthily or perish...and do all of this with cards in Arnold Rauers' Thief inspired
    Card Thief.
    Ingenious gameplay works so smo

    By AmesMoore.
    August 10, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Sofa King good!!

    this game is worth $5 if you ask me. it's so fun and actually has a challenge to it. i would highly recommend

    By ThaRedHood.
    July 25, 2017
    5 out of 5
    The best

    I love this game and would love more content. I would throw 50$ on this game if it means I can have more.

    By Super-nuke-sentry.
    July 10, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Stylistic Well Executed

    I enjoy this game a lot. I was thoroughly confused after going through the tutorial the first time. But after playing for about
    an hour, I went through the tutorial a second time and at that point finally understood how the game worked. The game has an
    interesting aesthetic and skilled execution

    By aepryus.
    June 22, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Well Crafted & Very Fun! A must buy!

    if you are a fan of card crawl, this dev's other card game, then you'll like this. it's a well-crafted, fun, good looking and
    interesting
    . the art, animations, and sound design are fantastic. the gameplay is really well done, and the game is worth all of
    what they are asking. i'm well into the last

    By Graphite Tiger.
    June 20, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Ignore the bad reviews

    People who rate this game poorly aren't the right people to listen to. This game is so mechanically and strategically sound I
    jumped right in and got hooked. Buy it.

    By SixeySixSleeves.
    June 2, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Worthy sequel of Card Crawl

    Although I prefer Card Crawl, Card Thief is excellent and I love the exciting gameplay and replayability it offers. It is more
    "thinky" than Card Crawl, and that is why I prefer Card Crawl. Nevertheless, you will put a lot of time into this game and not
    regret it.

    By Big boomer201.
    June 1, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Great core gameplay

    This game is a lot of fun. It has some uniquely cool mechanics that simulate thieving techniques in interesting ways.

    The only downside is the game becomes a bit of a grind. You keep replaying very similar levels over and over.

    I wish there was a little more to the campaign, such as unique items

    By Hotairraccoon.
    May 29, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Rogue Strategy Fun

    been having a lot of fun with this game. it is the game i keep coming back to, and see myself playing for years to come. very
    thoughtful game mechanics and unique art tied together with rewarding strategy make this game worth the one time payment.

    By Rodhya.
    May 25, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Good Game

    Enjoyable, relaxing and no annoying ads or in app purchases.

    By Dragonlancer7.
    May 18, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Great Compulsive Fun

    at first it felt like a lot of rules to absorb, but despite losing game after game i found it really fun and addictive. gradually
    i got the hang of it and it just got better and better. i rarely play anything for an extended period, but this has had me coming
    back again and again. great art style

    By Barliesque.
    May 14, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Great strategy card game

    card thief is such a pleasurable game but it needs more content.i liked the previous card game (card crawl) that you guys created
    and i like this even more but there is one really ennoying bug for me that sometimes when i try to open the chest,the game crashes
    and when i come back to the game the ch

    By N0 Way!.
    May 10, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Great fun solitaire type game

    Really like this game. Especially the challenges to upgrade the gear. The tutorials made it easy to understand. Looking forward
    to new content!

    By SmurfsUp.
    May 10, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Best game I have played.

    One of the best and most addictive games I have ever had the pleasure of playing.

    By DJJ29577.
    May 9, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Great, will be amazing with more content

    this game is still in the early stages, but i know from having played card crawl that the creators will continue to fine tune this
    already wonderful game.

    By Kirahazen.
    May 9, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Fun little card based strategy game

    Nice little collection of mechanics make for an entertaining card game with strong physical placement and path finding mechanics.
    Definitely recommended.

    By universedave.
    May 9, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Love the progression

    Cool game, I really enjoy making the cards more powerful.

    By Djheffer.
    May 9, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Clever fun

    i actually like this game a lot. i play this more than its counterpart “card crawl.”

    it would be great to see some more content compelling play beyond the set goals built into the game… it's still fun but there is
    nothing new to achieve
    .

    i would recommend this game to anyone who likes a goo

    By mufungo.
    May 9, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Really dig it!

    Stealth solitaire, it's great. Would purchase again.

    By Dan12345989846.
    May 9, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Great game from the makers of card crawl

    it's fun challenging and takes a little bit of whit. i would give it a 5 star rating if they had added a bit of deeper card detail
    and a solid faq.

    By Mystic1031.
    May 9, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Yeee

    Boiii

    By Hackeesackr.
    May 9, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Very addictive

    A surprisingly well done stealth card game, which will seem very strange at first, but give it a short while, and you realize how
    deep the mechanics go, and before you know it, it really does feel like you're sneaking through a castle. Very well animated and
    put together.

    By Jollybarracuda.
    April 29, 2017
    5 out of 5
    awesome

    i love it. very good as an offline game to play around with. the tutorial is kinda weird but if you have a brain you will get the
    game quickly.

    By Zorthios.
    April 23, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Amazing charming simple addictive

    I love this game. Can't say enough nice things about it!

    By Greybeard312.
    April 22, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Wonderful and addictive!

    absolutely great game. lots of little bits of strategizing to learn so you are constantly pushing yourself to do better, but the
    game has an appropriate learning curve so you're not left failing because you aren't picking up on the details fast enough.

    By TempestBrewer.
    April 14, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Perfect game with no IAP

    My only complain is that it makes my iPad Air too hot and drains battery fast.

    By Bubbly Banana Phone.
    April 13, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Beautifully Done!!

    from the second the game opens it pulls you in with its whimsical art, eerie music and clever card animations. i throughly enjoyed
    discovering all the nuances of game play. the game strategy is challenging, but extremely fun to learn. i cannot wait until the
    developers add more content and a purpose

    By Hippotoe.
    April 11, 2017
    5 out of 5
    love "card thief" or go give someone evil $99 in I

    an aesthetically lovely yet graphically simple display of card-like turn-based mechanics with a non-intrusive rpg-like progress
    element that makes for a perfectly challenging yet stress-free gaming experience. it supports airplane mode yet connects players
    through a daily challenge on a level playin

    By neeg-the-black-niggie.
    April 11, 2017
    5 out of 5
    love "card thief" or go give someone evil $99 in I

    an aesthetically lovely yet graphically simple display of card-like turn-based mechanics with a non-intrusive rpg-like progress
    element that makes for a perfectly challenging yet stress-free gaming experience. it supports airplane mode yet connects players
    through a daily challenge on a level playin

    By karakira.
    April 11, 2017
    5 out of 5
    So deep and fun

    Absolutely loving this game. Played it for hours on a plane flight. I especially love the equipment upgrade quests. Will be sad
    when those are all complete.

    By Skellt.
    April 10, 2017
    5 out of 5
    I was wrong this game is good.

    Once you figure it out it's fantastic.
    The only problem with the game is that a certain number of power up cards should be single use and purchased from the guild master
    with gems earned on heists.
    The insignias are cool but the trash loot is not. Give me a reason to want gems other than score.

    By Skip Deluca.
    April 6, 2017
    5 out of 5
    A pleasant surprise

    Originally I thought this game would get boring quick, but after playing a few sets, I realized the maps were all random and you
    could add equipment adding to the outcomes of each game. A neat idea would be to hopefully add more thieves in the game, perhaps
    give each thief a special ability or passi

    By xXEuphymiaXx.
    April 5, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Good once you figure it out

    The game as a steep difficulty curve as others have said, but it's worth it once you get the hang of it. Two tips: 1) You can get
    away with anything if you have stealth points. You're only in trouble once you run out. 2) Play conservatively, you only need to
    make 2 moves per turn, so there's no need

    By Amgrey.
    April 5, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Excellent and Worth the Effort

    It's rare that I would offer an app a full 5-stars -- really rare. But Card Thief is worth every pointed star.

    Admittedly, there is a learning curve. Even after playing through the tutorial a couple of times, I was still left questioning how
    some of the card values changed, as well as how some of

    By music-meister.
    March 31, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Great

    good stuff.

    By zeroin123.
    March 31, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Good fun good price!

    probably the best two bucks i've spent on the app store! great art, fun concept

    By CinderSlash.
    March 31, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Amazing!!!!

    Actually the game doesn't have a steep learning curve as stated by a couple of reviews. Many videos in You Tube available.
    Be aware that game is extremely addicting and one of the best I have played in a long time.

    By Mike194669.
    March 29, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Great!

    This game is much better than card crawl. The owls are so cute. Definitely worth the 2 dollars
    Also the upgrades missions are fun

    By Whiskers the cat7.
    March 29, 2017
    5 out of 5
    You're Smart

    Want a game that makes you feel smart, but you have to work for it a bit? This one.

    By SlightlySarcasticPlayer.
    March 29, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Thanks for the update!

    i left a great review for the initial release and the update has polished things up a bit. great game! 5 stars

    By Corbondallas.
    March 28, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Great game, must try!

    great for a little downtime. little bit of a learning curve, but awesome afterwards!

    By AnAmericanSaint.
    March 28, 2017

    Card Thief Critic reviews

    3 out of 5
    Fun but has some issues

    pros:
    - the graphics, sounds, and music are all well done.
    - this is a fun strategy, solitaire game. sometimes you can win sometimes you lose.
    - well worth the price for the game.
    - i love that this is a game that doesn't require in-app purchases.

    cons:
    - for someone with poor vision, it is difficu

    By Reitveld.
    July 12, 2017
    3 out of 5
    It's Ok

    if you find the description of "solitaire style" appealing, don't buy it. it's not like solitaire. however it is fun and
    addicting
    . i really like the mechanics, strategy and art. i find that the equipment cards are unnecessary and detract from the
    game, but since they aren't required you can just ig

    By Smarder.
    June 21, 2017
    3 out of 5
    It's alright

    for the price, it's a fun little time waster. one of those things you'll get good at quick enough but competing for the high
    scores could take time to master.

    the problem is, after unlocking all the gear and upgrading it, getting higher and higher scores doesn't feel appealing.

    add it that much o

    By Lukas The Dead.
    June 2, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Great game, keeps losing my progress

    i love the game and it's aesthetic. it's really terrific. this would be a five star app, no question, except that it has reset my
    progress twice with no warning. still fun to play, but frustrating to have to unlock the same parts over and over.

    By amnesiack.
    March 25, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Fun, but crashes a lot.

    a super fun game when the app doesn't crash.

    By Wooderson603.
    March 25, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Random losses that don't match the "rules"

    apparently the tutorial leaves some aspects of the game out because i lose randomly and have no clue why. my thief is not adjacent
    to lit cards or guards and yet i get caught somehow. very fun game when it makes sense.

    By AaronCP.
    March 21, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Needs work.

    The learning curve is too steep. The tutorial is useless, and in actual play it seems like you just lose at random. Lights get
    dropped in after you clear cards and you just lose. Can't recommend.

    By nicknamesolelybecauseIhavetohaveone.
    March 21, 2017

    WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

    How do you rate this app? *

      1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
    Gameplay
    Graphics
    Price
    Total