• Old Man's Journey
  • App Reviews
  • Old Man's Journey App Icon
    Old Man's Journey
    by Broken Rules Interactive Media GmbH
    Average Rating: 9/10
    Reviews: 54
    Positive
    90%
    critic
    10%

    Please provide a rating and review of what you thought about the app by going to the App Store here.

    Find out what App Store users think about the Old Mans Journey App before you buy it. See the most helpful reviews written by users who played the game or used the application and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

    United States

    Old Man's Journey Positive reviews

    4 out of 5
    Cute game

    Not sure how to get past the part after where he sleeps in the hotel....

    By uptowngirl48.
    May 29, 2017
    5 out of 5
    So glad I bought this!

    A game with heart and beauty. It isn't a test of how well you can shoot a gun or properly twist your fingers, it's simply a game
    of puzzles and reflection. I've never enjoyed a game this much.

    By Lloydian.
    May 29, 2017
    5 out of 5
    A game for grieving

    My father recently passed away and I had no idea what the game was about before going into it. Coming out, I'm just full of
    emotions.

    Easily one of the most beautiful and moving games I've ever played.

    By Herman Elliott.
    May 29, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Beautiful tale

    First off, this is not some wicked challenging puzzle game. The graphics and feel of the game is unique and very lovely. If your
    looking for a challenging puzzler, this is not it. If however you are looking for a touching and tear filled story to hike through
    in an afternoon, you will truly enjoy th

    By Nuclearsn8ke.
    May 28, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Worth the $

    don't understand some of the negative reviews. great mechanics and art with a good story. very relaxing. nice to have a relaxing
    game that isn't just rapid button mashing. it is like going on a relaxing hike with memories. thanks so much to the developers for
    putting this on ios.

    By Newportlocal.
    May 27, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Unique and beautiful

    I wasn't to sure about the game because of the price, but it was well worth it! I have never played a game anything like this
    before. The artwork was beautiful and so was the story that went along with it. I enjoyed every moment of this game.

    By 12345678910987654321countdown.
    May 26, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Price point

    I agree with everyone that loved this game! But I also agree with those who believe that this Cadillac of a game comes, with a
    Bentley price tag.

    By Lefron.
    May 26, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Gorgeous and moving

    Beautiful beautiful worth every penny

    By Annoyed erica.
    May 25, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Artwork is awesome..........great story......

    I wish there were more games like this one. To me, The story and artwork in the game were primary: the gaming aspect was
    secondary- it was something I had to do to in order to advance the chronicle. It is astonishing to see such creativity.

    By Themooman.
    May 25, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Beautiful graphics, basic skill, rather short play

    The animation / graphics are excellent, pleasing to the eyes for certain.
    Skill level is low, maybe medium for younger kids (my 4-yr-old is playing now, she understands the movements & goals ... needs a
    bit of help, suggestions for the more complicated puzzle paths).
    I took time to touch everything

    By bfree68.
    May 24, 2017
    5 out of 5
    AMAZING

    AMAZINGLY AMAZING

    By M.K._614.
    May 24, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Superb Storytelling

    I honestly don't understand the reviews. If you are looking for a hard core puzzler, this isn't it. If you are looking for a
    heartbreaking story, gorgeous animation, and a novel movement mechanic, though, it cannot get better than this. I loved it and
    can't wait for another offering from this dev

    By Kathykx3.
    May 24, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Delightful

    The artistry and thought provoking journey is set up to be more savored than rushed. Something we are all probably lacking these
    days. It has interesting and unique navigation along the way. It could easily have expansion staying in theme like the Room games
    have done. This is a brief game so a tad

    By PapaBeee.
    May 24, 2017
    5 out of 5
    It's a moving story

    I am not done with it yet. However, I'm glued to it. I don't want to finish it in a day so I'm waiting a bit. I just finished the
    part where the Old Man descended into the lake after walking on a water fall.

    There is so much symbolism in this story.

    It's not action pact. It's not filled with scary

    By Jessiek691787.
    May 23, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Great game but,

    this is an amazing game with an amazing story. it's fun, challenging and, overall pretty great. the only reason i'm giving this
    game a 4 star is that, for five dollars, this has very little gameplay. i was able to complete it in an afternoon, but that's the
    only bad thing about it.

    By AWESOMEJ27.
    May 23, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Beautiful Story game

    As some have mentioned this game is short and no super hard, but the story is moving, and the art and animation is stunning! Loved
    the game play. It's unique and relaxing, allowing you to sit back and enjoy your time playing.

    If you will spend money to watch a movie for an hour or two, why not supp

    By JasonQuiz.
    May 23, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Beautiful but short

    I wish the game was longer I finished in just over a day but it is a beautifully made game. A beautiful story and art and puzzles.

    By Stephw1128.
    May 23, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Liked it a lot

    the game is quite unique, and has a highly emotional element.

    i did find it frustrating that the settings were so hard to locate, but overall it was an excellent, immersive experience — and
    great art!

    By Babbo11.
    May 23, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Short and sweet

    A pleasant, low pressure, light diversion. Wouldn't mind a longer game, but the quality is superb.

    By Karl Armstrong.
    May 23, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Yes

    Love it

    By H34DHUNT3R.
    May 22, 2017
    5 out of 5
    I personally LOVED almost all of it...but...

    First, it is beautiful. Some of the scenes are like lovely watercolors. It is not easy, and not hard, it just requires you to
    think differently. If you get stuck you really, really just need to think outside of the box. I still gave it 5 stars even
    though I SO, so, so wish it had an alternate en

    By PendragonHouse.
    May 22, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Really nice

    Would be even nicer if you would create more stories to though. This games needs to have continuous play. Hopefully this is in the
    works.

    By A1champ.
    May 22, 2017
    5 out of 5
    You know what is nice?

    To not be interrupted with ads and asked to buy more. People will balk at the price, but these same idiots will get a " free" game
    and act surprised when they are asked to pay , or are inundated with ads

    By Fvchkhxschbgdchhcx.
    May 22, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Clever concept and nice graphics

    The concept is clever and the graphics are beautiful. However, I found the description of the game to be a bit misleading because
    it sounded like it was a puzzle adventure. Note that all the puzzles are essentially of the same type, adjusting the landscape so
    that the old man can navigate the hills

    By Lightly Salted.
    May 21, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Beautiful. Short.

    It's like an interactive animated film. A short film, unfortunately.

    The "puzzles", like the story, are simple in nature though do present enough effort to not cheapen the experience.

    Speaking of, look at the price as if you are getting a beautiful animated short and an engaging puzzle in one. I'd

    By settsu.
    May 21, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Super pretty but otherwise nothing special.

    The art for this game is so, so beautiful and I am happy to pay the $5 for that alone, but I wish I had been warned that the
    gameplay is just "fine", nothing to write home about, and the story is lackluster and predictable, not the "heartwarming
    tear-jerker" it's touted to be. Still, beautiful game

    By PegasusSongs.
    May 21, 2017
    5 out of 5
    worth good game

    very nice game 10/10

    By moria7979.
    May 20, 2017
    5 out of 5
    I adored this game.

    those complaining about the simplicity of this game are missing the point. this is somewhere between a game, a story and a
    meditation. it's like a wonderful meal: you don't wolf it down like an animal. i cried at the end. the art is beautiful and very
    responsive to the player's touch and i loved ve

    By bexplanations.
    May 20, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Beautiful Game

    The graphics and music are absolutely beautiful. The storyline is thoughtfully done and kept me interested. The game play is a
    little clumsy at times, but mostly because I played it on my phone rather than a tablet. The game isn't exciting...but it isn't
    meant to be. It is a thoughtful game that can

    By Main1051.
    May 20, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Take it to heart

    It's more than just a game. Yes it is simple, not complicated... but that allows you to relax and enjoy the journey. The story of
    an old man remembering life; the story was worth the $5 for me! The graphics are beautiful and the story touching. If you feel the
    need to have some big explosions at the

    By SilverSapphire.
    May 20, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Charming and Whimsical Game

    I've never written a review for anything before, but this game was such an unexpected delight, I felt compelled to review. The
    puzzles are relatively simple, but the design is lovely, and the play-through is charming. It was an unexpectedly thought
    provoking and whimsical game.

    By fredthetabby.
    May 20, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Touching story

    I love how people are harping on a game that can be finished in a few hours when back in the day we pumped quarters into machines
    for bite sized games. Very well designed and worth the money.

    By crbtre.
    May 20, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Playable art in its true form

    Ive not had a chance to play alot the first 5 scenes so far but I can tell already its a master piece and is playable art. This
    game follows a old man and his journey. It is very emotional game and that is what makes it so impressive you get no instructions
    either and that is how it should be the pl

    By Toolofopiate.
    May 20, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Work of Art!

    If you are looking for hard, challenging puzzles this is not the game for you.

    If you are looking to be moved and immersed in a beautiful storybook world this is your game. This is one of those rare gems that
    perfectly defines and redefines what the smart phone can deliver in casual gaming. I was

    By bookemdano92.
    May 20, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Great but needs more content

    This was a pleasure to play. The 'puzzles' were easy, but I was completely absorbed in watching the old man's story unfold in
    front of my eyes. It was a unique experience, but I'm not entirely sure the 25 minutes of gameplay was worth the 5 dollars. I
    don't regret it, but I do hope the dev adds addi

    By george_was_curious.
    May 19, 2017
    5 out of 5
    A Short Gentle Game

    Beautiful art and music. Easy puzzles, but I didn't mind. Took me maybe 90-120 minutes to play through.

    The game crashed twice on my iPad Pro 12.9", during the 5th scene and near the end of the 12th scene.

    By Chip Vale.
    May 19, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Beautiful

    Love the story and visual style. Such a beautiful story and one of the first iOS games to make feel something. It's a beautiful
    portrayal of humanity; spanning feeling of sadness, joy, discovery, loss, and hope. Don't expect anything fast paced or super
    challenging. That's not the point. Relax and e

    By alexandersprtrmp.
    May 19, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Beautiful, Inspiring, and Emotional

    Lovingly crafted down to the last detail, this game will transport you to a beautiful world, and make you want to stay there
    forever. All elements of the game, from the simple puzzle mechanics to the music and gorgeous art style mesh together to create an
    incredible atmosphere, the likes of which no

    By macaddict17.
    May 19, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Unique, thoughtful, fun.

    what a great game. the art and music is delightful. the gameplay is unique, fun, and at times slightly challenging. the story is
    fun to follow and you start to feel connected to the old man. highly recommend this game!

    By JoeW723.
    May 19, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Beautiful in every way

    This game is perfect. It's gorgeous and touching and not too difficult but still makes you think. I loved it. I would recommend it
    for all ages.

    By Thegirlwholovedpink .
    May 19, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Beautiful

    Simply beautiful. The artistry is wonderful, the music is charming, and the story will drag you in. Extremely simple, easy
    gameplay, highly compelling, and will tug at your heartstrings. Wonderful!

    By Tgmaxwell.
    May 19, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Gorgeous and sentimental

    First rate artwork and music. The puzzle mechanism isn't terribly challenging, but it is novel and eventually becomes a nice
    psychological metaphor. Loved the (probably unintentional) edgy postscript wherein the old man seems to have fathered a child with
    his own daughter and the three have sailed o

    By martin doudoroff.
    May 19, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Beautiful, but not a game

    beautiful to look at, wonderful soundtrack but calling this a game with puzzles is pushing it a little. this is more of a heads up
    just for anyone anticipating a puzzle filled game. my only complaint is that it's a bit expensive.

    By ScottyRobotty.
    May 18, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Beautiful Sadness

    A sublime journey of mature theme and existential wonder.

    By iZozobra.
    May 18, 2017
    5 out of 5
    The most beautiful game ever created?

    Truly a visual treat. The watercolor set, delightful sound effects, and gorgeous soothing soundtrack combined with soothing
    scenery, and an emotional storyline. Like a short animated film that you just happen to get to play. A heart tugger, short and
    sweet, and totally worth the download. Truly a ma

    By Sxswparticipant.
    May 18, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Ok WOW - the graphics and art design are just flaw

    jaw-dropping beautiful graphics great in every area you explore, which includes some of the prettiest looking flashback
    cutscenes
    ...good lord, a game that has completely taken gorgeous on the ipad pro to the next level (the graphics also look very
    nice on my itouch 6)...you could seriously just wand

    By Dubs1.
    May 18, 2017

    Old Man's Journey Critic reviews

    3 out of 5
    Good, but too expensive.

    Cute and fun, but no WAY is it worth $5. It's a one trick pony with maybe an hour of gameplay.

    By bluewaterpig.
    May 27, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Sad af. No sense of accomplishment.

    i really wanted to adore this game, mainly due to the endearing old man, cute music, and lovely graphics. but, i don't. it's an
    incredibly short game, and game isn't exactly what i would call it. it's a bit more of a click-through story, which is great if
    that's what you're looking for, as it's done

    By lenalandmine.
    May 26, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Weak storyline, just a collection of puzzles

    Feel not worth the money. Didn't reach my expectation. Puzzles are good, an interesting mode. Storyline is weak though, pretty
    bland.

    By Althea J. Yeats.
    May 25, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Should not be that expensive

    Sweet storytelling, but not a very challenging game at all. I went through it in one day and was never stumped.

    By astriddawson.
    May 25, 2017
    3 out of 5
    A must play... if the price drops.

    game art is beautiful, story is touching, and gameplay is fun and intriguing. but, with a play time of barely an hour or 2,
    certainly not worth the higher price tag. in the end, it feels almost more like a demo then a full game.

    By Steeljaw72.
    May 25, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Not an adult puzzle game

    This is certainly a beautiful game, but I think it would only be considered a puzzle game by a child.
    Not much to the actually game play, so for me it was a poor purchase - especially for the price.

    By Herbie the Dentist.
    May 20, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Only pretty

    I hope the artist got paid well because that's the only nice part. I was hoping for puzzles and not only walking. I would NOT
    consider this a puzzle game but a story with no words. It's also frustrating to encourage interactivity by touching things but
    constantly struggling not to confuse it with as

    By jblessing3.
    May 20, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Too expensive for what it is

    Nice graphics and unusual interface that interestingly uses 2D to its advantage. But fairly short and puzzle solving gets
    repetitive. I also didn't love the underlying story, it's not as sweet and heartwarming as reviews made it seem - it's just sad
    and irresponsible.

    By Jtdmom.
    May 20, 2017

    WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

    How do you rate this app? *

      1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
    Gameplay
    Graphics
    Price
    Total