• OXENFREE
  • App Reviews
  • OXENFREE App Icon
    OXENFREE
    by Night School Studio, LLC
    Average Rating: 9.6/10
    Reviews: 236
    Positive
    96%
    critic
    4%

    Please provide a rating and review of what you thought about the app by going to the App Store here.

    Find out what App Store users think about the OXENFREE App before you buy it. See the most helpful reviews written by users who played the game or used the application and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

    United States

    OXENFREE Positive reviews

    5 out of 5
    Save button (SPOILERS)

    Hi, I am almost done with the game. So yesterday I had to go to bed, and went up to the part where )SPOILER ALERT)
    Clarissa was possessed in the house and told Alex that she should help them. Well today I wanted to start playing, but it restart
    to the place where they just found the house. I am fin

    By Smillllllleeeeeeyyyx.
    September 25, 2017
    5 out of 5
    This game is pretty good

    I have played this game so many times over and it’s great, highly recommended

    By MetallicGary21.
    September 24, 2017
    5 out of 5
    New Favorite Game, AMAZING

    1st of all, this game is crazy amazing. I never expected what I was getting. I bought it's because it looks cool, I usually don't
    like games from afar but this one did not disappoint. Not one bit. From the beautiful artwork to the relationships you get to
    make, this game has me amazed that it's only

    By Blah blah blah blah gshxh.
    September 24, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Creepy but Amazing!

    One of the most unique games I've ever played.

    By Dudette985.
    September 22, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Buzzfeed

    Got this game cause of buzzfeed "worth it"... and will leave a better review once I have played haha

    By Sisao.
    September 21, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Fantastic story driven game

    i've just finished my first play-through. this is one of the best ios games i've seen in awhile. it looks beautiful, has an eerie
    soundtrack, a great story, and the decisions you make actually do matter. it is basically an interactive story. there are other
    ways that you can delve deeper into the

    By Mobile Holmes.
    September 21, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Amazing. Sticks with you.

    I played this game to the end months ago, and I find myself still thinking about it. I think about the characters and the story
    often. Normally I’m not the type to replay a game, especially a long one. But knowing that you can choose different prompts and
    paths to take makes me want to jump back i

    By Lolapee.
    September 20, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Cool game, but...

    I really like the story, but it got a little preachy with comments like "..they're like toys that can kill" when referring to
    firing a gun. I play video games to get away from the FB echo chamber. I'm only a bit of the way through but it's a bit of a
    turnoff. Would have had five stars otherwise.

    By mcgski.
    September 18, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Charming

    This is one of the most charming games I've ever experienced in my life. Love it. Hearts.

    By McConnellx1.
    September 16, 2017
    5 out of 5
    A MAZE INGGGGG

    So this game has the best storyline i have ever seen before!!! This game is worth $5. Honestly it is the best story game ever. Ive
    been recommending this game to all of my friends and i hope to whoever reads this, to buy it Now because there are not enough
    words to explain how amazing this is... pea

    By Rsfgyvyhhmgvexrv.
    September 13, 2017
    5 out of 5
    A must buy!

    i usually don't enjoy mobile games but this, this is an absolute masterpiece. it is a walk and talk game that has a great story/
    great twist/ and apparently multiple endings
    . oxenfree is worth every cent and more. i highly recommend this game!

    By Loganroks.
    September 11, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Frickin AMAZING

    Like what the what!? Best game ever. I hate mobile gaming a friend recommended this now I need another!! Soooo GOOD!

    By Jadablaze.
    September 10, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Creepy, Suspenseful, Amazing

    This was probably one of the best games I've downloaded on my phone

    By mountainbuddy.
    September 9, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Really well done

    great writing on the story

    By Dani18215798.
    September 9, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Best game Ever!!

    I love this game and would play it for days!!

    By Narwhel80.
    September 9, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Don't pass this up

    I've never played a game like this in my life. It's worth every penny and I would have regretted not playing this game for the
    rest of my life. Amazing story telling and characters. A definite must play.

    By This has gone far enough.
    September 9, 2017
    5 out of 5
    One of a kind... Playing it again and again

    This is one of those game that you'll never forget playing. I've been playing this over the summer on PS4 and just HAD to buy it
    on iOS so I could play it again, which you'll TOTALLY want to do after you finish it for the first time. Mind blowing. This game
    is worth almost 10x its price on here. Thi

    By uhhlaurenyeah.
    September 8, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Different but in a good way

    this game was a very good one, very detailed and very well made. i do think there should've been more time allowed for some
    decisions but i suppose that's where it gets some of its charm. all in all i can't wait to see all of the other potential
    outcomes!

    By holkjgd.
    September 8, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Best game you will ever play

    Absolutely love the game! You really feel a connection to the characters and the story is just amazing! I would recommend this
    game to everyone and anyone! Best game ever!

    By Twinsfan1228.
    September 5, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Perfect

    The story, the dialogue, the alternate endings everything was perfect

    By DaisyGeek from PC.
    September 4, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Freaking fantastic

    Simply amazing, been hooked and playing through a second time

    By cordovamx.
    September 4, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Love this game.

    In fact I love it so much I have it on mac and PS4 lol. Absolutely beautiful and thrilling at the same time. I'm constantly
    recommending it to my friends.

    By Lori34500.
    September 2, 2017
    5 out of 5
    AMAZIN

    I SERISOUSLY CANT DESCRIBE HOW ADDICTED I AM I FREAKING LOVE THIS

    By Kitty mewmewmew 🐱.
    August 31, 2017
    5 out of 5
    I didn't like

    not for me. to each their own, i like certain games that others wouldn't. if it was a buck or two i probably wouldn't have left
    a review, but the five bucks i spent left a serious hole in my wallet. ;) 5 stars anyway, because the concept was good.

    By Sap357.
    August 31, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Loved the story

    If you are reading this and haven't downloaded the app yet, do it. I mean if you want. This game is the bomb and it has choices
    and secrets I have yet to discover. Can't wait! Animation and graphics are great!

    By Mom iPhone.
    August 28, 2017
    5 out of 5
    I hate spending $ on apps but....

    holy crap is this game amazing. i've been wanting to try it for a while, but didn't want to dish out the $20 it costs for the mac
    version. once i saw it on the ios platform, i was astounded. the colors are so rich, the graphics are crisp & the storyline is so
    much fun and very realistic. i find that

    By harajukubeauty.
    August 27, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Oxenfree#obsessed#love it!!!

    I am totally obsessed with this game and I can't stop thinking about it! It's about a haunted island and it gives me the creeps
    but it's amazing! Personally I think that some subjects when the people talk aren't appropriate for younger children and I'm 11! I
    think that kids under 11 or 12 shouldn't

    By Marty Martin.
    August 26, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Very mysterious

    i like the mysterious nature of this game, it's really cool. i'm kinda sad that i finished this game in one day but that's my
    fault for kinda rushing it i guess.

    By Eren Castro.
    August 24, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Best Point and Click Adventure Game in IOS

    The story is awesome and I love the Stranger Things theme they kinda have going on. Awesome sound track especially when s**t hits
    the fan. I love the replayabilty, if you haven't replayed this game yet I recommend it highly. But if you do, DO NOT DELETE YOUR
    OLD SAVES!!!! Trust me! Plus $4 is a majo

    By Bomber man2000.
    August 23, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Awesome!!

    Didn't want it to end. I fell in love with the characters and the whole story was so interesting. I think this would make a great
    movie too. Excellent adventure game.

    By Karen18670.
    August 19, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Deep storyline, fantastic voice acting

    i don't normally bother reviewing game but this one i felt compelled. great and deep story where you can really influence the
    outcome
    . fantastic voice acting. awesome art. really a great game. must buy!

    By simba007.
    August 18, 2017
    5 out of 5
    MINDBLOWING

    The best game you can ever play on your phone, it's such an amazing game

    By Assgrsz.
    August 17, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Buy it

    great game with great quality especially for a phone app. i highly recommend it

    By SMichelleOte.
    August 16, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Fantastic!

    Oxenfree is a modern masterpiece. I have played both its PC iteration and phone iteration and it is endlessly replayable! A
    fantastic triumph of creepy video games!

    By olivia r. o.
    August 14, 2017
    5 out of 5
    ✨One of the best games EVER✨

    Where to start?! This game is so incredibly creative. I can't believe the dimension they were able to bring to each
    character—such attention to detail for each personality and backstory... the dialog was the first in a game that I didn't roll
    my eyes at; it's feels so incredibly natural and real.

    By mitzr6.
    August 12, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Stranger Things mixed with Poltergeist

    it's indie, storytelling, and filled with horror in between static time loops. this was one of the best $5 i've ever spent, and i
    couldn't have asked for a better and scarier game. while every frightening, but fun scene was stuck at a cliffhanger, i couldn't
    help but ask myself "how did anyone think

    By WolfHowingAlpha.
    August 11, 2017
    5 out of 5
    LOVE THIS GAME

    This game is different, think of the goonies/thriller but you have control. I love it, the choices effect your ending (and there
    are multiple endings) i own the game on console and bought it on my phone so i can explore while im on the road. True
    brilliance!!!

    By Mwills01.
    August 11, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Terrifying And Beautiful

    Play. This. Game.

    By Dark Lord Satin.
    August 7, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Sooooooo good!

    amazing "point and click" adventure game with some horror thrown in. not really challenging but def a great story.

    By Ovik.
    August 3, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Omg

    I loooooovr this game! Wish I could have alllll the endings!

    By Recoculos.
    July 28, 2017
    5 out of 5
    It was perfect

    This game was amazing. For an app I expected little but this game proved me wrong and I have felled in love with it. I really want
    them to create another one of its kind or a sequel because it was just phenomenal.

    By 1234 gingerbread lane.
    July 25, 2017
    4 out of 5
    GET REN FIRST. (Clarissa first story line broken.)

    Users: (minor spoilers that might save you frustration) At one point you have the choice to go get Ren or Clarissa. Go get Ren
    first. If you go get Clarissa first and then proceed by the most obvious northern route from Fort Milner to Relay Point to get
    Ren, he won't be there. You can fix this by go

    By by the wind sailor.
    July 24, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Unique experience

    Awesome plot that changes based on dialogues that you choose. Gameplay goes deep with so many extras. Hours of fun!!

    By parrotlt.
    July 23, 2017
    5 out of 5
    The best iPhone game on the App Store

    I never ever leave reviews for apps, unless they're terrible enough or fantastic enough, and so far Oxenfree is the only game i've
    found worthy of a five star review.
    When I was traveling in Spain, walking 10km every day with a large group of people, the only thing I wanted to do when we finally
    sto

    By Norse War Cleric.
    July 22, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Astonishing

    oxenfree is a very great game! that's not even how much i adore it- the graphics are amazing and it incorporates player
    choices
    ...like what you decide to have your character say. throughout the game, you get to know the whole story- but to know all
    of need to pay attention to what the characters ar

    By lobo8275.
    July 21, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Honestly Beautiful

    I just finished this game like.. two hours ago. Cheated. Let's be honest.. I got stuck at the part where you find Ren. 😒
    ANYWAY! It was amazing. Gorgeous graphics and story, dialogue and character relations driven by player choices.. it's all worth
    it.
    The ending. I cried. I did. Oh my. God.

    By xariaxx.
    July 17, 2017
    5 out of 5
    The Most Original Game I've Played In Recent Memor

    I can't wait for Night Studio next game. I'm currently re-downloading this game for a fifth play-through because the game is just
    that fun.

    By JordanDidIt.
    July 17, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Brilliant

    Just like Nona and her master plan, this game is awesome. I was looking up "best IOS games" and this really caught my eye. As soon
    as I started playing it I couldn't stop because it truly hooks you with the haunting past and the interesting present with all the
    characters. Fantastic game!!

    By footfairy18.
    July 16, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Love, love, love

    If you're torn about whether or not to make that purchase... JUST DO IT!

    Love the characters... Love the development... love that once you finish the game and start a new one that secret bits play out
    into the next...

    Would love to play more and I hope that in the future there will be more games

    By BailehGreh.
    July 15, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Astonishing game with quality unexpected of a mobi

    This is an amazing adventure in every aspect. The game does a spectacular job of immersing you as Alex, you feel a personal
    connection to the character while projecting yourself into her, with many ways to interact and converse with the other characters,
    who are unique and interesting. Some meant to

    By THEPINKMENACE.
    July 14, 2017

    OXENFREE Critic reviews

    3 out of 5
    Good game, buggy

    i got it because of buzzfeed, it's a good game with great story. i kept running into glitch. first time running, after alex
    thought she saw ren drown, ren and nona just stood there and didn't interact, while second time i played, they talked to me. a
    few times i couldn't get off stairs, it kept ma

    By Kurotsubasa.
    September 13, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Kinda cool I guess but it gives me headaches

    maybe it's all the radio noise, but it was giving me a bad headache playing this game. it's written pretty nice, i was playing
    this in the dark and it freaked me out a few times
    .

    By Rainiemai.
    September 4, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Beautiful Game But ...

    I'm absolutely in love with this game don't get me wrong, but it seems to be that the game bugged out and has me stuck at the
    Adler Estate. I've investigated everything and done everything I can do but it won't let me leave the area, I don't even get the
    option to. Every forum I've read has told me

    By NAHHH FAM LETS NOT.
    June 5, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Slightly Creepy, Beautiful

    i'll do a quick pro/con list:

    pros:
    beautiful artwork
    good character animation
    amazing atmosphere (i really felt like i was a teen wandering a deserted area, especially if played in the dark, alone)
    cool use of touch screen to use different sound gadgets

    cons:
    i found the voices to be slow, monot

    By Cvb177NoThanks.
    May 11, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Good and kind of dull at the same time

    The good: Excellent voice acting and dialogue, especially from the main character. Neat that alternate endings are an option. Very
    atmospheric.

    The bad: The only control the user has is walking side to side and selecting text options. Confusing story, the game should
    include a "notebook" to refer

    By TrentVano.
    April 26, 2017
    3 out of 5
    I feel rushed all the time

    good game, but i don't understand the design reason to rush the players.

    the dialog options starts to fate when other characters is in mid sentence, and completely fades before other characters can
    finish what they are saying. i don't even have time to absorb what other characters are trying to sa

    By Ender Bean Pi.
    April 23, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Lukewarm Gameplay w/ Beautiful Art

    this game looks and feels great -- but that's pretty much all it has going for it.

    fans of any classic point-and-click adventures will be thoroughly disappointed, as will anyone looking for somewhat of a
    challenge. this is no more than a "choose your own adventure" book -- granted with spectacular

    By JaviOMusic.
    April 4, 2017
    3 out of 5
    I hope "NIGHT SCHOOL STUDIO" reads these reviews a

    I've only just begun playing this "game" & i'm finding myself so annoyed by it I'm unsure if I care to play on. I know I'm not
    alone because other reviewers have expressed similar opinions.
    The background music is horrible. It's not like it even plays softly in the background, like background music

    By lilyhazel.
    March 24, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Great game, but add Virtual Joystick control and i

    Please add Virtual Joystick control. That'll make the game better.

    By Celestial Phoenix.
    March 24, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Awesome but not really a game!

    This thing is gorgeous and creepy in all the right ways. Simple "gameplay" with a simple but interesting storyline. Lots of story
    variations by choice.

    Unfortunately, two things make it a 3 star instead of 5.

    1. It is frustratingly slow without a fast walk mode. U walk around the same area over

    By HmmmmITHINK.
    March 23, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Way Overrated!

    It was decent, but definitely hyped up.

    By Nsmsnkflelbdk.
    March 21, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Too much talk

    I wanted to like. I think I still recommend it, it's a nice effort. But we fell asleep w/ my wife trying to play it. Maybe if you
    are 12 to 25 it is fun...I'll give it another try sometime else

    By preemption.
    March 19, 2017

    WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

    How do you rate this app? *

      1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
    Gameplay
    Graphics
    Price
    Total