• OXENFREE
  • App Reviews
  • OXENFREE App Icon
    OXENFREE
    by Night School Studio, LLC
    Average Rating: 9.6/10
    Reviews: 194
    Positive
    96%
    critic
    4%

    Please provide a rating and review of what you thought about the app by going to the App Store here.

    Find out what App Store users think about the OXENFREE App before you buy it. See the most helpful reviews written by users who played the game or used the application and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

    United States

    OXENFREE Positive reviews

    5 out of 5
    It was perfect

    This game was amazing. For an app I expected little but this game proved me wrong and I have felled in love with it. I really want
    them to create another one of its kind or a sequel because it was just phenomenal.

    By 1234 gingerbread lane.
    July 25, 2017
    4 out of 5
    GET REN FIRST. (Clarissa first story line broken.)

    Users: (minor spoilers that might save you frustration) At one point you have the choice to go get Ren or Clarissa. Go get Ren
    first. If you go get Clarissa first and then proceed by the most obvious northern route from Fort Milner to Relay Point to get
    Ren, he won't be there. You can fix this by go

    By by the wind sailor.
    July 24, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Unique experience

    Awesome plot that changes based on dialogues that you choose. Gameplay goes deep with so many extras. Hours of fun!!

    By parrotlt.
    July 23, 2017
    5 out of 5
    The best iPhone game on the App Store

    I never ever leave reviews for apps, unless they're terrible enough or fantastic enough, and so far Oxenfree is the only game i've
    found worthy of a five star review.
    When I was traveling in Spain, walking 10km every day with a large group of people, the only thing I wanted to do when we finally
    sto

    By Norse War Cleric.
    July 22, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Astonishing

    oxenfree is a very great game! that's not even how much i adore it- the graphics are amazing and it incorporates player
    choices
    ...like what you decide to have your character say. throughout the game, you get to know the whole story- but to know all
    of need to pay attention to what the characters ar

    By lobo8275.
    July 21, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Honestly Beautiful

    I just finished this game like.. two hours ago. Cheated. Let's be honest.. I got stuck at the part where you find Ren. 😒
    ANYWAY! It was amazing. Gorgeous graphics and story, dialogue and character relations driven by player choices.. it's all worth
    it.
    The ending. I cried. I did. Oh my. God.

    By xariaxx.
    July 17, 2017
    5 out of 5
    The Most Original Game I've Played In Recent Memor

    I can't wait for Night Studio next game. I'm currently re-downloading this game for a fifth play-through because the game is just
    that fun.

    By JordanDidIt.
    July 17, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Brilliant

    Just like Nona and her master plan, this game is awesome. I was looking up "best IOS games" and this really caught my eye. As soon
    as I started playing it I couldn't stop because it truly hooks you with the haunting past and the interesting present with all the
    characters. Fantastic game!!

    By footfairy18.
    July 16, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Love, love, love

    If you're torn about whether or not to make that purchase... JUST DO IT!

    Love the characters... Love the development... love that once you finish the game and start a new one that secret bits play out
    into the next...

    Would love to play more and I hope that in the future there will be more games

    By BailehGreh.
    July 15, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Astonishing game with quality unexpected of a mobi

    This is an amazing adventure in every aspect. The game does a spectacular job of immersing you as Alex, you feel a personal
    connection to the character while projecting yourself into her, with many ways to interact and converse with the other characters,
    who are unique and interesting. Some meant to

    By THEPINKMENACE.
    July 14, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Incredible

    Makes you want to keep playing over and over until you think you've won and I just love that

    By Gabe7494.
    July 13, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Without a doubt the best game

    This is the best game I have ever played on my phone. It's insanely good.

    By RodriguezLine71.
    July 13, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Worth. It.

    Everything in oxenfree like the characters, plot, the atmosphere, etc., is really amazing. If u prefer story telling games like
    telltale, I would really recommend this to you. Oxenfree is the best story telling game in IOS in my opinion.

    By Vovox.
    July 12, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Holy Crap

    The night I got this I spent hours playing it. The only thing that got my eyes off my phone was that I had to go to bed. I got up
    first thing in the morning and played. Get it.

    By Fathom7811.
    July 11, 2017
    5 out of 5
    This game.....

    This game was beautiful! The story was fantastic and I don't know how many times I've replayed it but each time was as fantastic
    as the next! The choices are sometimes a little to quick and you may miss a chance to speak if your not careful. I myself, have
    found this to not be worth the money you pa

    By RawrImAweirdo.
    July 11, 2017
    5 out of 5
    LOVE!

    ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

    By Jojeeh.
    July 10, 2017
    5 out of 5
    MY FAVE GAME

    I made the mistake of playing this game at nigh in pitch black darkness, AND IT WAS SO FRIGGIN SCARY AND I LOVED EVERY MOMENT!
    This game is so worth paying for! It's a perfect mix of horror and mystery, and I fell in love! The game is amazing, and every
    character is so lovable! The soundtrack is lit

    By ToupsSc.
    July 10, 2017
    5 out of 5
    One of the best games I've played.

    This game was absolutely amazing in every way. The art was beautiful, the story line was intriguing and the voice acting was spot
    on. I would recommend this to everyone. Definitely worth the $5.

    By Iwantonethatsnottaken.
    July 6, 2017
    5 out of 5
    👍🏼

    altogether it was a good game it was a good game, but i wish it were longer. i finished it in a few hours.

    By iiuodfsghoevsnouigbv.
    July 3, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Such a good plot!

    i have never played a game quite like this! it was enticing and very very spooky, definitely recommend this amazing story to young
    adult readers who love a good point and click game!

    By The_Mini_Mangle.
    July 1, 2017
    5 out of 5
    I've played this at least 10 times

    I've played this at least 10 times. I want more games like this!! Just get the game, it's worth it.

    By Eloise Mccluer.
    June 27, 2017
    5 out of 5
    This game is amazing

    this game really is a masterpiece. i had a great time playing it the story is wonderful it's very interactive and the animation is
    flawless
    . this game is definitely worth the money.

    By #LoveWhatYouHave.
    June 25, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Amazing and exciting!

    This game was an incredible experience start to finish. Going through all these different settings was such a thrill. Amazing,
    amazing game and I want to play more of these games!

    By Mermer606.
    June 24, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Amazing !

    Love the graphics, the storyline, everything about it !

    By Trillgoddess201.
    June 23, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Whew!

    Very unique, creepy (had to put it down as darkness fell) story. Had a couple of crashes and had to backtrack a bit bur really
    enjoyed it.

    By Newbie app user.
    June 23, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Brilliant.

    Thoroughly enjoyed this game.

    By theladymie.
    June 21, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Trippy

    it's such a good game. totally worth $5. controls need some work but the feel of the game is soooo good. it feels like a scary
    game but lighthearted at the same time.

    By dude18388.
    June 15, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Great Game, Great Potential!

    If you like mysteries and/or paranormal thrillers, this is a worthwhile game to play!
    I'm playing on my iPhone 6 but for the BEST experience, a phone with a bigger screen will work best! (6 Plus, for instance! My
    screen is a bit small)
    The game's haunting atmosphere just takes the paranormal cake,

    By Tessa M(:.
    June 13, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Amazing game!

    Don't hesitate buy this game! Best game I've played in a long time.

    By chrisnewport.
    June 12, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Thanks for the Story

    Thank you for this nice little story told through a game. I have played hundreds of games and this is the first one in a long
    time that I could not put down. The magic is in the story and the characters. Part horror, part thriller, part suspense, but
    mostly about people, their decisions, and the

    By Kaizersouse.
    June 12, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Amazing Game

    This game is awesome. Shut up and download it.

    By Mizlizerickson.
    June 11, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Wow. Literally, just wow.

    This has been an amazing game. I've only played it once, but I'm excited to just play it through again and again to see if there
    are different endings. I absolutely love the characters, thought I only have one complaint. I wish that the choice bubbles were
    slightly more specific. When I meant to say

    By Gxkcoycoycyo.
    June 9, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Great Game

    I was looking for a story based game like this. Definitely worth the price, probably the best one out there. I'm playing it a
    second time and it's different too, crazy.

    By JeffThaCher.
    June 8, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Amazing! WORTH IT.

    if you're interested in these types of games (life is strange , until dawn) this may be the type of game for you! this game is
    about what happens in the plot of a horror island and how you pick wisely about you're decisions! very fun awesome game!
    recommend of all things!!

    By Yennettly.
    June 7, 2017
    5 out of 5
    stunning.

    amazing storyline, brilliant art, and terrific characters.

    By moonlightvrs.
    June 5, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Not your typical game, that's a good thing.

    For those that don't get the concept or are just used to fps and rpg games. There used to be a time when 'point and click' games
    or 'choose your own adventure' games made sense. Graphically games were 8 bit/32 bit and inferior in substance and story telling.
    Some folks were looking for provocative g

    By SK8SKISM.
    June 4, 2017
    5 out of 5
    I Did My Very Best, And Had Fun!!!

    this game is very interesting. i mean the graphic design and the the plot. its really amazing. the game had challenging choices i
    had to make, and i think that i made my choice of what i think is better. i want to play this again. great work!!!

    By DunkedOreos.
    June 4, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Wonderful Game

    i really enjoyed this game. the designers did a great job with the creepy, frightening atmosphere. it was exciting without being
    too depressing. the story was engaging, and the tasks were not too easy or difficult. i hope the developers continue to create
    entertaining games.

    By Gloss1.
    June 1, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Everything I wanted and more

    great game

    By Biggins339.
    May 31, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Beautiful yet Creepy

    this was one of the best games i've ever played, it has a great storyline, the artwork is amazing, and the characters are
    memorable
    . the creepiness of the game was definitely a win as well, it will take me awhile to find a game like this.

    By Vickiegm.
    May 31, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Great interactive story

    No, there isn't much game here, but the experience is phenomenal regardless. Fantastic voice acting with real, interactive
    conversations. Creepy storyline to boot. Loved it!

    By SkahT.
    May 31, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Love it 💯💯💯💯💯💯

    The best

    By JAKElikescats02.
    May 29, 2017
    5 out of 5
    ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

    Playing through the second time. I love that it "remembers" what I did the first time. So creepy and fun.

    By Nennbienn.
    May 29, 2017
    5 out of 5
    OMG😳😳💯💯👍😱

    This game. This game crossed the line in terms of psychological horror. This game crossed the line in terms of advanced
    touch-screen controls. This game surpassed Limbo. This game is totally awesome and you should get it 😂💯💯💯👍

    By S@m77423.
    May 27, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Finished in three days

    Such a beautiful, intriguingly dark, witty, humorous, fun, and entertaining game. I rarely spend money on games but I am so glad I
    did. I also never leave reviews but I want the developers to know how much I loved this game and create more like this!

    By livinoelle737.
    May 27, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Best Game Ever!

    This game is so exciting, with enough mystery and suspense to keep you playing for hours! With its multiple-choice gaming,
    OXENFREE will easily become one of your all-time favorites.

    By BassClef101.
    May 26, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Wow

    Amazing

    By HFCabral.
    May 24, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Ton of fun

    really enjoyed this game. great value here and the music and story were a blast.

    By iTunesFan2008.
    May 24, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Fantastic

    I have really enjoyed playing through this game. The decisions you make seem to carry a heavy weight, and even as I began to
    understand what was going on, I felt as though there was so much more that I didn't know, more to learn, or something I missed.
    I am eager to start my second play through.

    By Irranok.
    May 24, 2017
    5 out of 5
    everything's stunning

    that plot twist tho lol i'm playing it for the second time and the subtle differences in the games are amazing

    By fwowers.
    May 22, 2017

    OXENFREE Critic reviews

    3 out of 5
    Beautiful Game But ...

    I'm absolutely in love with this game don't get me wrong, but it seems to be that the game bugged out and has me stuck at the
    Adler Estate. I've investigated everything and done everything I can do but it won't let me leave the area, I don't even get the
    option to. Every forum I've read has told me

    By NAHHH FAM LETS NOT.
    June 5, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Slightly Creepy, Beautiful

    i'll do a quick pro/con list:

    pros:
    beautiful artwork
    good character animation
    amazing atmosphere (i really felt like i was a teen wandering a deserted area, especially if played in the dark, alone)
    cool use of touch screen to use different sound gadgets

    cons:
    i found the voices to be slow, monot

    By Cvb177NoThanks.
    May 11, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Good and kind of dull at the same time

    The good: Excellent voice acting and dialogue, especially from the main character. Neat that alternate endings are an option. Very
    atmospheric.

    The bad: The only control the user has is walking side to side and selecting text options. Confusing story, the game should
    include a "notebook" to refer

    By TrentVano.
    April 26, 2017
    3 out of 5
    I feel rushed all the time

    good game, but i don't understand the design reason to rush the players.

    the dialog options starts to fate when other characters is in mid sentence, and completely fades before other characters can
    finish what they are saying. i don't even have time to absorb what other characters are trying to sa

    By Ender Bean Pi.
    April 23, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Lukewarm Gameplay w/ Beautiful Art

    this game looks and feels great -- but that's pretty much all it has going for it.

    fans of any classic point-and-click adventures will be thoroughly disappointed, as will anyone looking for somewhat of a
    challenge. this is no more than a "choose your own adventure" book -- granted with spectacular

    By JaviOMusic.
    April 4, 2017
    3 out of 5
    I hope "NIGHT SCHOOL STUDIO" reads these reviews a

    I've only just begun playing this "game" & i'm finding myself so annoyed by it I'm unsure if I care to play on. I know I'm not
    alone because other reviewers have expressed similar opinions.
    The background music is horrible. It's not like it even plays softly in the background, like background music

    By lilyhazel.
    March 24, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Great game, but add Virtual Joystick control and i

    Please add Virtual Joystick control. That'll make the game better.

    By Celestial Phoenix.
    March 24, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Awesome but not really a game!

    This thing is gorgeous and creepy in all the right ways. Simple "gameplay" with a simple but interesting storyline. Lots of story
    variations by choice.

    Unfortunately, two things make it a 3 star instead of 5.

    1. It is frustratingly slow without a fast walk mode. U walk around the same area over

    By HmmmmITHINK.
    March 23, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Way Overrated!

    It was decent, but definitely hyped up.

    By Nsmsnkflelbdk.
    March 21, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Too much talk

    I wanted to like. I think I still recommend it, it's a nice effort. But we fell asleep w/ my wife trying to play it. Maybe if you
    are 12 to 25 it is fun...I'll give it another try sometime else

    By preemption.
    March 19, 2017

    WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

    How do you rate this app? *

      1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
    Gameplay
    Graphics
    Price
    Total