• OXENFREE
  • App Reviews
  • OXENFREE App Icon
    OXENFREE
    by Night School Studio, LLC
    Average Rating: 9.6/10
    Reviews: 66
    Positive
    96%
    critic
    4%

    Please provide a rating and review of what you thought about the app by going to the App Store here.

    Find out what App Store users think about the OXENFREE App before you buy it. See the most helpful reviews written by users who played the game or used the application and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

    United States

    OXENFREE Positive reviews

    5 out of 5
    This game is pure art.

    I had initially watched Jack's let's play of this game and had it on my Steam wishlist until I saw it on the AppStore. I finished
    it in two days and am completely infatuated with it. Gorgeous art. Amazing plot. Perfect characters. 13/10 I love it.

    By Makenna_sugg.
    March 27, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Word can't describe my love for the game

    okay so, i already wrote a review once and it deleted, so i'll sum this one up. i absolutely loved it. it's a great interactive
    horror game that has amazing graphics and an entertaining plot line
    . i don't do reviews ever, but this one deserves the praise.
    definitely worth the money. i'm actually abo

    By Heyitishelena.
    March 27, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Fantastic. Incredibly memorable.

    Five stars hands down.

    By Alex4122.
    March 27, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Awesome!

    This game is amazing. It reminds me of a choose your own adventure novel. It's beautiful and eerie and I didn't want to stop
    playing!

    By Alicat526.
    March 27, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Does Not Disappoint!

    I bought this game shortly after reading the amazing reviews. I am so happy I purchased because this game was one of the best I've
    played in some time. The first thing I immediately noticed was how much I love the animation. It's not simple like your playing a
    game where they cut corners and everybo

    By Stefxc.
    March 26, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Buy it now!

    Oxenfree is simply amazing. Keeps you hooked the entire time and you won't want to put it down. Definitely has a stranger things
    vibe and a few jumpy parts. But seriously stop reading reviews and buy it already, you won't regret it!

    By lifewithJT.
    March 26, 2017
    5 out of 5
    :)

    this game was seriously incredible. the artwork was beautiful, the effort and thought put into it was so obvious and i had such a
    good time playing it!! i wish there were more games like this on the app store. if you're reading this, you should definitely buy
    it. it's worth every penny!

    By 10101010110193739.
    March 25, 2017
    5 out of 5
    A True Diamond In the Rough!

    first off, i almost never review games. but this is an exception. oxenfree is an amazing game with great graphics, a "groovy"
    soundtrack, wonderful characters, and great voice actors
    . i hope this game and its developers get what they deserve- lots and lots
    of love.

    yours truly,
    idealist

    By PitahChipz.
    March 25, 2017
    5 out of 5
    One of the best.

    Play this game. One of the best of all time.

    By bdmckeown.
    March 25, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Yes yes yes!!!

    This games replayabilty is intertwined with the game story and continues the storyline. Each time through, your choices affect the
    end. Love the scavenger hunt for *left out in case you consider it a spoiler* and the mysterious anomalies along the way.

    This story is very well thought out and put

    By KissChiss.
    March 25, 2017
    5 out of 5
    creative and captivating!

    oxenfree was the best game i have played in a LONG time. lets say, since undertale. i love how innovative and creative this game
    was, and the supernatural aspects of it. i love the ability to choose what to say, what to do, or what to NOT say OR do. the
    graphics were completely stunning, and the sto

    By Caroline1717.
    March 25, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Amazing Game!!!

    I just finished playing this game for my first time through....it is amazing!! A true choice and consequence feel to the story and
    I can't wait to play again and see how different choices may change the outcome. Please, please make more games like this! Not
    only was the storyline interesting, it tr

    By Hey Chickadee.
    March 24, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Great!!!!

    One of the best games I've played in awhile. It's weird and different and scary at the same time.

    By Poo😬.
    March 24, 2017
    5 out of 5
    New review...

    I don't think they could have made this any better then they did. It really pulls you in and keeps you captivated until the end.
    Then you can't start it over, or continue, fast enough. Really hoping for more from them, they know what their doing... awesome
    game...

    By seagul hunter.
    March 24, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Best game

    this game was simply mind blowing! i love the way every character has a whole set of lines to go with other time lines. not only
    was it made with a great story line but beautiful graphic work as well. i enjoyed having the ability to chose what i wanted alex
    to say in a conversation, changing the st

    By SleeplessPeople.
    March 24, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Interactive Story

    While listed as a game, this is more of an interactive story. Remember those books your used to read where you got to the end of
    the page and it asked something like, "If you want to open the library door, go to page 148. If you want to open the patio door,
    go to page 112." Well, this is that kin

    By madscntst.
    March 24, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Sleepy Time Gal

    It is worth the price. Dialogue and characters are the best part of the game. The amount of dialogue on display is admirable. Some
    problems I have are with the port. Dragging your finger across the screen to walk is unresponsive. VERY important to note. The
    game requires a newer device. My iPad Air

    By Ninjarylan.
    March 23, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Would purchase again and again

    I don't rate games... ever. But I just finished my first play through of Oxenfree and I was so blown away it deserved one.

    First things first- this is not an action packed game that requires a ton of skill. There are some minor puzzles but for the most
    part, it is a linear game with a Choose Your

    By Riskanything.
    March 23, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Spooky

    Gameplay was a little slow at times but the art and story are fantastic.

    By Bert382373.
    March 23, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Eerie and captivating!

    A huge fan of adventure games as a kid, I really haven't played video games since. I was blown away by this game, which had me
    captivated from beginning to end. Thank you for making the story and character development the focal point of the experience. I
    completely fell in love with Oxenfree!

    By GigiSchiappa.
    March 23, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Beautiful game!

    This game was worth every single penny! I've never enjoyed a phone app so much. Truly outstanding.

    By LNEichman.
    March 23, 2017
    5 out of 5
    SO worth it

    i've never reviewed a game honestly bc i think its a waste of time but this game was amazing i had to say how good it was. it was
    so captivating that i was thinking about it even when i wasnt playing! my only complaint is that i wish it was longer bc i want to
    play more😂 overall i would definitel

    By ryrynicole18.
    March 23, 2017
    5 out of 5
    not really a game, but really entertaining

    Oxenfree is more of a visual novel than a game -- you won't really be solving puzzles or anything like that. But the storytelling
    is excellent, the art is lovely, and the UI (walking and talking at the same time) circumvents the "stand and talk" nonsense with
    lots of adventure games.

    By Doodaddy.
    March 23, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Wow!

    Perfectly executed. This game was captivating from the very beginning. The scenery was gorgeous, the storyline was engrossing, and
    the original music scores were haunting and eerie. Just a beautiful experience from beginning to end.

    By RachelLove3333.
    March 22, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Hopefully there's more games like this to come!

    Awesome game! If you like games made by telltale then you're gonna love this one!

    By Kmood1.
    March 22, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Rip Apps ;-;

    Had 2 delete meh apps 4 game. Meh storage ran out. Apparently their is a biggr price 2 pay than the 4 bucks ;-;

    Here lies: roblox

    By Falcons3.
    March 22, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Amazing!

    i am very proud of this game so far. it has stuck an amazing story line and great music to make you more into the story. i would
    highly recommend this game, i'm still playing it uncovering the secrets of the game. get this game now!

    By Best horror game on AppStore:).
    March 21, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Scenery is magic

    The aesthetic of this game is all I needed to enjoy it. The artwork is absolutely fantastic. Besides that, character and plot
    development are very well executed and provide different endings based off of your own decisions. Much recommended to anyone
    looking for a new tale to transport to.

    By SnapchatEMA.
    March 21, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Wow! Just... wow!!!

    this game is truly a masterpiece! this is the first game that i stayed up for two days straight playing over and over again.
    beautiful, well thought out, great game play! do yourself a favor and buy this game!

    By Sw40c.
    March 21, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Spooky and it pulls you in

    so far i'm about 2 hours in and from what i have played so far the very first thing you'll notice is the great color pallet and
    art style
    . the soundtrack is soothing when it needs to be and spooky when it really needs to be. the voice acting is actually some
    of the best, it's telltale quality in its

    By Nametakentostop1234.
    March 21, 2017
    5 out of 5
    More like this

    I wish there were more games like this. I love the way the story is told.

    By guitaristangel.
    March 21, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Instant Classic

    i am not one to use hyperbole very often.
    but this game is by far the best i have ever played on ipad since ipad exists.

    i hate wearing headphones, but the sounddesign is so great it's a must.

    like others have mentioned, this is like being inside "stranger things", only playable.

    please, do not w

    By Redrioja.
    March 21, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Brilliant!

    This game kept me on my toes and is so addicting. I simply couldn't put it dowm. I highly recommend it.

    By Stbernardloved.
    March 21, 2017
    5 out of 5
    WOW LIKE WOW

    This is the only thing I've ever reviewed because it's the only time I've ever felt something was worth a review. The best game
    I've played with one of the best stories ever! Right up there next too the last of us and limbo also inside. This game blew my
    mind and even on the second play threw there

    By Fpfrankie.
    March 20, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Incredibly Good Game

    This game is amazing,the story, the visuals, and getting to chose your adventure. Defiantly worth buying and I hope more games are
    made like it :,)

    By JOHN719484762919.
    March 20, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Faboulous

    One of the best games I've ever played. The story just caught my attention in an instance and I spent the entire day on just
    wanting to see what happens next. Would recommend this to anyone and I would rate this more than 5 stars.

    By Yauber.
    March 20, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Love it

    I love this game!! It is so much fun!

    By Amyknapp.
    March 20, 2017
    5 out of 5
    The kids and I, up all night

    Wow. This is such a clever, engrossing game. You travel to a haunted (?) island with your friends (?), and you have the ability to
    choose your verbal reactions to them all through the adventure. You can be sincere, sarcastic, uncertain (the options vary
    depending on the situation), assuming that you

    By Clean Steve.
    March 19, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Slow story at times. Could be shorter and better.

    Honestly its beautiful - absolutely stunning artwork and lovely animation.

    The story is super cool. Very creative. Very worth the purchase.

    However the story could be condensed about 15%.

    Theres too much walking around.
    Im sorry but LifeLine has no visuals and no walking and the pacing is amazin

    By Anuntakennicknameokay.
    March 19, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Great

    Spooky and one of the best dialogue systems in any game ever. Be sure and play a 2nd time with the Continue Timeline option. It's
    so worth it!

    By Ragashingo.
    March 19, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Beautiful, haunting escapism

    This is a gorgeous game that I couldn't put down once I started it. I feel like it has a lot of replayability, too. Totally worth
    the $4, and I never buy iPhone games!

    By cobrastarfishing.
    March 19, 2017
    5 out of 5
    My New Favorite

    this game is so perfect. the characters are unique and lovable (still hate clarissa tho xd), the soundtrack is amazing, the art
    style is beautiful, but what really makes this game good is that it's one of those rare games where your choices matter more than
    you realize
    . everything effects the ending

    By Tydrus.
    March 19, 2017
    4 out of 5
    buggy but worth it

    Bugs aside, this game has a beautiful moody art style, an intricate thriller mystery, and believable, well-voiced characters that
    feel like old friends.

    Replay value is high: there are multiple endings to achieve, easter eggs to find, and multiple conversation paths to explore.

    The only downside

    By soundfanatic.
    March 19, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Wow. 5/5

    such a fun game. well worth the money.

    By CWMChapman.
    March 19, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Awesomeeee!!!!

    The game is so awesome! It's scary though but the concept, the story and graphic is so great!!!!! Recommend it! Really worth every
    penny

    By violet Q.
    March 18, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Great Buy

    I definitely like this game. It had me captured from the start.

    By Starbright84.
    March 18, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Beautiful

    I played the whole game in four sittings. The artwork is captivating, the story is interesting since you're not told everything
    even about the main character's past until the end, and since it is a choice game you can alter the outcome, but unlike most
    choice games you have the option to not say any

    By NeonDragoness.
    March 18, 2017
    5 out of 5
    GREAT STORY PLZ MAKE A SEQUEL!!!!!!!!

    the game is sooo good!!! i couldn't stop playing it. i played it til it was finished. took like 3 hours to finish😂. the only
    thing that confuses me is at the very end when it says continue the timeline. it's the exact same thing but somethings
    changed.😕 imma confused but besides that great app

    By EG da BOMB🕶💣😜.
    March 18, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Best game ever

    Like the title, you should try this game, just try it. I want you guys to experience it than tell you about its story. Even you
    are the guy who gets difficult to find a game that can make you fell in love like me, you'll love this game. In the end, I can say
    "Wow!" to this game. Thank you developer

    By Lee Scorpio.
    March 18, 2017
    5 out of 5
    I don't normally bother reviewing things

    But this game was super fun! And super cheap for the port to iOS. Glad to buy it again and support the developers.

    By Antprov222.
    March 18, 2017

    OXENFREE Critic reviews

    3 out of 5
    I hope "NIGHT SCHOOL STUDIO" reads these reviews a

    I've only just begun playing this "game" & i'm finding myself so annoyed by it I'm unsure if I care to play on. I know I'm not
    alone because other reviewers have expressed similar opinions.
    The background music is horrible. It's not like it even plays softly in the background, like background music

    By lilyhazel.
    March 24, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Great game, but add Virtual Joystick control and i

    Please add Virtual Joystick control. That'll make the game better.

    By Celestial Phoenix.
    March 24, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Awesome but not really a game!

    This thing is gorgeous and creepy in all the right ways. Simple "gameplay" with a simple but interesting storyline. Lots of story
    variations by choice.

    Unfortunately, two things make it a 3 star instead of 5.

    1. It is frustratingly slow without a fast walk mode. U walk around the same area over

    By HmmmmITHINK.
    March 23, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Way Overrated!

    It was decent, but definitely hyped up.

    By Nsmsnkflelbdk.
    March 21, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Too much talk

    I wanted to like. I think I still recommend it, it's a nice effort. But we fell asleep w/ my wife trying to play it. Maybe if you
    are 12 to 25 it is fun...I'll give it another try sometime else

    By preemption.
    March 19, 2017

    WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

    How do you rate this app? *

      1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
    Gameplay
    Graphics
    Price
    Total