• OXENFREE
  • App Reviews
  • OXENFREE App Icon
    OXENFREE
    by Night School Studio, LLC
    Average Rating: 9.6/10
    Reviews: 151
    Positive
    96%
    critic
    4%

    Please provide a rating and review of what you thought about the app by going to the App Store here.

    Find out what App Store users think about the OXENFREE App before you buy it. See the most helpful reviews written by users who played the game or used the application and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

    United States

    OXENFREE Positive reviews

    5 out of 5
    Love it πŸ’―πŸ’―πŸ’―πŸ’―πŸ’―πŸ’―

    The best

    By JAKElikescats02.
    May 29, 2017
    5 out of 5
    OMGπŸ˜³πŸ˜³πŸ’―πŸ’―πŸ‘πŸ˜±

    This game. This game crossed the line in terms of psychological horror. This game crossed the line in terms of advanced
    touch-screen controls. This game surpassed Limbo. This game is totally awesome and you should get it πŸ˜‚πŸ’―πŸ’―πŸ’―πŸ‘

    By S@m77423.
    May 27, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Finished in three days

    Such a beautiful, intriguingly dark, witty, humorous, fun, and entertaining game. I rarely spend money on games but I am so glad I
    did. I also never leave reviews but I want the developers to know how much I loved this game and create more like this!

    By livinoelle737.
    May 27, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Best Game Ever!

    This game is so exciting, with enough mystery and suspense to keep you playing for hours! With its multiple-choice gaming,
    OXENFREE will easily become one of your all-time favorites.

    By BassClef101.
    May 26, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Wow

    Amazing

    By HFCabral.
    May 24, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Ton of fun

    really enjoyed this game. great value here and the music and story were a blast.

    By iTunesFan2008.
    May 24, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Fantastic

    I have really enjoyed playing through this game. The decisions you make seem to carry a heavy weight, and even as I began to
    understand what was going on, I felt as though there was so much more that I didn't know, more to learn, or something I missed.
    I am eager to start my second play through.

    By Irranok.
    May 24, 2017
    5 out of 5
    everything's stunning

    that plot twist tho lol i'm playing it for the second time and the subtle differences in the games are amazing

    By fwowers.
    May 22, 2017
    5 out of 5
    It's like Fight Club, You have to play at least tw

    I don't know how to say what I want to say without spoilers, but never until now have I played a game that has legitimately given
    me goosebumps, made me laugh, made me cry, and felt so riveting. The lore and background story, the sound design (especially the
    use of number stations and other audio th

    By Zaraghast.
    May 21, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Wow.

    I'm usually upset after I purchase a game on my phone because it lacks something. This game was the exception. This game through
    me for a loop. ;)

    By Daddy mm.
    May 20, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Best game I've played in a while.

    If you're expecting button mashing, or mind bending twisting strategy or puzzles, this game is not for you. If you are into
    beauty, haunting atmosphere, poignancy, and active listening, you'll find this engaging.

    By ejanne.
    May 18, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Small Glitch

    I love this game to bits enough to want to play it again, however the very first time I played it in the app I went to get
    Clarissa first instead of Ren, then when I went to get Ren he wasn't anywhere to be found, so I went to start the game over. All
    an hall everything else is great.

    By LunaMoon02.
    May 18, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Outstanding

    unlike any other adventure game, this dialogue based point and click has a great story line, unique game play and literally hours
    of gameplay
    . totally worth the price. you'll want to play this through at least twice!

    By Antjeherbold.
    May 17, 2017
    5 out of 5
    In Love

    wonderful characters and captivating story. not too many bugs except for the occasional frozen characters but i'm sure that will
    be fixed soon enough 😊

    By the little critic.
    May 15, 2017
    5 out of 5
    LOST fans... this is a must play game

    The story and exploration was very entertaining... same eeriness as LOST but a completely different story. Replaying the game also
    has a unexpected twist. Cheers to the developers!

    By JefferRave.
    May 15, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Never taken the time to review a game before

    download it just do it! lol this was a pleasant surprise i was trolling the app store for something special and boy did i find it.
    it was a great story like some parts hit me right in the feels while others were truly creepy. the style was cool, visually and
    audibly for an app it was definitely abov

    By Oolong 20.
    May 14, 2017
    5 out of 5
    More story than game, but that's ok!

    this was an incredible game and engaging story. the voice acting is top notch, the story is eerily good and this is one of the few
    games that woke up wanting to pick up my ipad and start playing
    .

    i hope there is a sequel. i'd buy it without question.

    By Carl in Oakland.
    May 13, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Really good

    Like forget where you are kind of good. If you're on the fence, you won't regret it. I don't normally buy games but this was worth
    it.

    By izzy193.
    May 13, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Great storytelling

    i downloaded this game to pass the time on a transatlantic flight and it was fantastic. great story, character depth and simple
    mechanics
    . i would recommend to anyone interested in a memorable gaming experience.

    By Modest Cat.
    May 13, 2017
    5 out of 5
    The Greatest Game of 2016

    I seriously can not and will not ever understand why this game is so underrated. IT'S PERFECT IN EVERY
    WAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! First the characters: something about them just makes it feel like
    they're real. They're phenomenal!
    Now the plot: when you first read

    By OXENFREE Addict.
    May 11, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Great!

    this is such a great one! as a tip, save ren first!

    By LordBekah.
    May 11, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Unbelievable

    In the 6 years that I have been buying and playing apps I have never taken the time to write a review for a game until I played
    this.

    What an unbelievable story. The description of the game stated that the developers wanted your decisions to impact the plot, and
    it did. I can't even imagine how ma

    By Blakeyyyy.
    May 10, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Loss for words

    This game is everything I expect it to be. Totally worth the price

    By Chinootaku.
    May 10, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Best $5 I ever spent on an app!

    I. Love. This. Game! Bought it two nights ago and have played through it completely twice, continuing the timeline (definitely the
    way to do it). I can't wait to start a third time! The story keeps you on the edge of your seat, and the feeling the game leaves
    you with is so eerie and real. I love th

    By x7starryeyed.
    May 8, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Ourstanding!

    I'm not very far into the game, and since i just started playing-at the 9pm save mark-take my review with open eyes. i can't
    account for much but what i can account for is that their seems to be an overwhelmingly amount of dialogue far more than most
    games and it feels very natural. The environment

    By justin strong.
    May 8, 2017
    5 out of 5
    You can play the movie

    the game is like watching a movie actually it's like you complete the movie the game is awesome the plot is good the cost is
    also very extinguish

    By Crabladewing.
    May 5, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Excellent! You truly get lost in the world!

    These are the games that set the standard for gaming on iOS. Worth the price ten fold!!!

    By Yvvvvvvfsgh.
    May 3, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Good

    Nice

    By Shaosoldier.
    May 3, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Love It!

    I really enjoyed this. Very well done. I'm playing it again! Wonder what outcome I will get this time.

    If you don't like choice games this isn't for you.

    By HoneyPyo.
    May 3, 2017
    5 out of 5
    absolutely amazing, incredible, beautiful, [insert

    i'd been looking for a game that i could really get into because it's really hard for me to find a good game. i came across
    oxenfree, and immediately i knew i had to buy it. yes, it's five dollars, but it is worth every single penny. this game never
    ceases to amaze me. the art is stunning and the sc

    By Diver Dog.
    April 30, 2017
    5 out of 5
    At A Loss For Words

    my first review and im sure as hell that this game deserved it. where do i begin? saying this game is great would be an
    understatement
    . it's absolutely amazing, phenomenal. from the design to the dialogue and the plot and story this game beats any
    other in the horror department. it even showed a par

    By SaΒ₯aGe PANDA115$$&1.
    April 24, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Masterclass for iOS gaming.

    This is by far the best game for iOS that I have played. The story is original, gameplay is excellent, design is polished, and has
    replayability. I myself am a console gamer and have been disappointed in the quality of games that exist in the app store as many
    of them are throw aways. This game is t

    By ausnichols.
    April 24, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Amazing!!!

    this is a great game. just buy it. its so good. it gets you into it. and its interactive. there's a lot of story plot in it, and
    more ways to play the game. and end it to. truly amazing. get it.😊

    By clemmer777.
    April 24, 2017
    5 out of 5
    A love letter to coming-of-age horror

    This game is an absolutely masterpiece from start to finish. If you love Poltergeist, Stranger Things, Amblin movies, and John
    Hughes, go buy it. It's perfect in every way.

    By mobilewriter.
    April 23, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Awesomely scary but so cool!!!!

    OXENFREE is really thrilling and awesome, the map is quite difficult to use but I love it still!!!

    By NyanKittyCat05.
    April 20, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Leave Isn't Possible (for me)

    I never buy games on my iPad. I always find that it isn't worth it for a few short hours of gameplay, or for a couple hundred
    levels of the same thing.

    However, I was surfing through the App Store, and I came across OXENFREE. What first grabbed me was the art. As an animation and
    digital design stu

    By KBW1313.
    April 18, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Great game...

    great game, and i have played it three times now! yet, i don't think anything in the game preview can actually happen. i've tried
    the game three times, and every time, nothing changes even if i make a bad choice. kind of annoying, i wanted a different ending.

    By Epicowentofu11.
    April 17, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Captivating

    A beautifully made game that I couldn't put down until I'd played it all the way through. The storyline draws you in and you find
    yourself becoming personally invested in the characters. Well worth the download!

    By ~Tess~.
    April 17, 2017
    5 out of 5
    I love it!

    I love games that have an alternative ending and which you can play again if you want. I hope this company makes more games! I
    would definitely buy more for my phone.

    By Arby 101.
    April 16, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Very entertaining

    had so much fun playing it and has many surprises ! love it !

    By Hell ya I love dis appπŸ˜›πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜Š.
    April 15, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Extraordinary, but add a save feature

    This is one of the most enthralling games I've ever played. Truly one of a kind. That being said... for the love of god, add a
    fu***ng save feature.
    Each scene can take a while to compete, and if I have to put the iPad down for the night, I come back to find out I have to repeat
    the last 30 minutes

    By Marc_is_eating.
    April 11, 2017
    4 out of 5
    New favorite game

    this is the first review i've ever written, but this game was so amazing that i couldn't pass up the chance. the graphics are
    stunning, the characters are all pretty dynamic, and the dialogues are realistic and the things you say really affect the outcome.
    the radio was such a creative touch, i'd fi

    By omgitsmaddie.
    April 10, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Marvelous

    i've never seen such i great role play game before it was sad that the game had to and in four different ways, but i wish that
    they would make a oxenfree 2, it would be the greatest thing that would ever happen
    .

    By CleverGamerr.
    April 10, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Incredible game

    interesting plot and characters. good dialogue and choices.

    By Da GP.
    April 9, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Amazing in every way

    i never write reviews, but i felt like i had to congratulate the whole team of people behing this game, it's stunning and just
    everything i wished for a great gaming experience.

    By Efffy096.
    April 9, 2017
    5 out of 5
    GREATT

    i would really reccomend this to anyone who likes mystery, or anyone really. this game took me about 2hrs to play and was fun
    while it lasted i wish the game were even longer. the ending was a bit dissapointing but over all BEST STORYLINE EVER. i love how
    the game is so interactive and that you can

    By weird_is_missy.
    April 9, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Perfectly indie

    I loved it, I hope a lot more games come out as creative and detailed as this one.

    By llexicon.
    April 9, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Amazing story!

    This game makes you care about the characters, so that you genuinely questioned your decisions. If you take the easiest route, the
    ending is highly unsatisfying.

    I found myself playing through multiple times both to see the variety of endings and to try finding the elusive best ending.

    By Ponytail Prof.
    April 8, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Fantastic!!!

    This was brilliant, I need to replay to see what other outcomes there are.

    By Uhhhhhhhhhokay.
    April 8, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Slightly haunting, thoroughly engaging

    Bought if for the airplane, but now playing through a third time to see how my actions change the story line. Clever, captivating,
    easy to play and fun.

    By Eismoose.
    April 8, 2017

    OXENFREE Critic reviews

    3 out of 5
    Slightly Creepy, Beautiful

    i'll do a quick pro/con list:

    pros:
    beautiful artwork
    good character animation
    amazing atmosphere (i really felt like i was a teen wandering a deserted area, especially if played in the dark, alone)
    cool use of touch screen to use different sound gadgets

    cons:
    i found the voices to be slow, monot

    By Cvb177NoThanks.
    May 11, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Good and kind of dull at the same time

    The good: Excellent voice acting and dialogue, especially from the main character. Neat that alternate endings are an option. Very
    atmospheric.

    The bad: The only control the user has is walking side to side and selecting text options. Confusing story, the game should
    include a "notebook" to refer

    By TrentVano.
    April 26, 2017
    3 out of 5
    I feel rushed all the time

    good game, but i don't understand the design reason to rush the players.

    the dialog options starts to fate when other characters is in mid sentence, and completely fades before other characters can
    finish what they are saying. i don't even have time to absorb what other characters are trying to sa

    By Ender Bean Pi.
    April 23, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Lukewarm Gameplay w/ Beautiful Art

    this game looks and feels great -- but that's pretty much all it has going for it.

    fans of any classic point-and-click adventures will be thoroughly disappointed, as will anyone looking for somewhat of a
    challenge. this is no more than a "choose your own adventure" book -- granted with spectacular

    By JaviOMusic.
    April 4, 2017
    3 out of 5
    I hope "NIGHT SCHOOL STUDIO" reads these reviews a

    I've only just begun playing this "game" & i'm finding myself so annoyed by it I'm unsure if I care to play on. I know I'm not
    alone because other reviewers have expressed similar opinions.
    The background music is horrible. It's not like it even plays softly in the background, like background music

    By lilyhazel.
    March 24, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Great game, but add Virtual Joystick control and i

    Please add Virtual Joystick control. That'll make the game better.

    By Celestial Phoenix.
    March 24, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Awesome but not really a game!

    This thing is gorgeous and creepy in all the right ways. Simple "gameplay" with a simple but interesting storyline. Lots of story
    variations by choice.

    Unfortunately, two things make it a 3 star instead of 5.

    1. It is frustratingly slow without a fast walk mode. U walk around the same area over

    By HmmmmITHINK.
    March 23, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Way Overrated!

    It was decent, but definitely hyped up.

    By Nsmsnkflelbdk.
    March 21, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Too much talk

    I wanted to like. I think I still recommend it, it's a nice effort. But we fell asleep w/ my wife trying to play it. Maybe if you
    are 12 to 25 it is fun...I'll give it another try sometime else

    By preemption.
    March 19, 2017

    WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

    How do you rate this app? *

      1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
    Gameplay
    Graphics
    Price
    Total