• TypeShift
  • App Reviews
  • TypeShift App Icon
    TypeShift
    by Zach Gage
    Average Rating: 9.2/10
    Reviews: 138
    Positive
    92%
    critic
    8%

    Please provide a rating and review of what you thought about the app by going to the App Store here.

    Find out what App Store users think about the TypeShift App before you buy it. See the most helpful reviews written by users who played the game or used the application and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

    United States

    TypeShift Positive reviews

    4 out of 5
    Nice word app.

    the user interface is very nice and clean. very challenging and fun game.

    By TRICKorDEVICE.
    September 21, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Great way to waste time!

    Type shift is an excellent puzzler to mess with in the quiet moments

    By Manwith0utplan.
    September 20, 2017
    5 out of 5
    What a word game

    between the regular and the clue puzzles i am always entertained. sure you can watch videos for hints when you are truly stuck but
    where is the fun in that? most word games are too hard, too easy, or get tedious, and i have been nothing but happy with this one

    By Ch3ma.
    September 20, 2017
    5 out of 5
    A++

    Very Intuitive

    By NoseyMinotaur.
    September 18, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Great fun! But not all words in the dictionary!!

    I will give this the only 4-stars bec ause quite a few of the words are not really words and not in the dictionary. Some are
    just grammatically incorrect.

    I have started clicking on words I don't recognize and there is no definition for quite a few of them. But - the game is still
    fun! I play i

    By RayLinStephens.
    September 17, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Play Everyday!!

    I LOVE this game. I start my day playing TypeShift - the Daily Puzzle.

    By urnymom.
    September 17, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Outstanding little puzzles

    App is easy to use, puzzles are pleasingly tricky.

    By Lorrainess.
    September 17, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Excellent word game with lots of content

    Sliding letters to form words is much more clever than it sounds, and the provided puzzles vary between pleasingly light games,
    solvable tricky puzzles requiring thought, and bogglingly hard obscure sets. My favorite are the clue puzzles, which feel like a
    cross between crossword puzzles and anagra

    By CaplinROUS.
    September 16, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Amazing!

    This game is great! I look forward to the daily puzzle and trying to lower my average time every day!

    By belgarath35.
    September 16, 2017
    5 out of 5
    My new crossword

    This is one of the few app games I have played where I genuinely feel I am using my brain and not just pressing a button over and
    over. The word puzzles really make you think and the clue puzzles add an element similar to a crossword puzzle that is both as
    interesting as it is challenging.

    By Marc173648.
    August 12, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Great Word Relaxation

    This is a really nice meditative word game. Some days I just work through the daily puzzle, which has the NYT Crossword style of
    being quick and easy on Mondays and challenging by Sunday. When I'm in the mood for a less stressful mobile game or a little
    vocabulary exercise the puzzle packs are nice.

    By UltraNurd.
    August 6, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Love oddballs

    More clue puzzles- oddballs was the best, perfectly challenging

    By Rujebeshnrvr.
    August 5, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Amazing title

    since apple erases the reviews with each update, i have to keep coming in here and leaving a good score so other people can
    experience it
    .

    By Lopid Jim Fibrizill.
    August 3, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Addictive and Fun!

    great game to exercise your vocabulary and learn new words. it also helps me think about patterns in ways words are constructed.
    would like more information on how to use hints. rarely hangs up.

    By cabritofrio.
    August 2, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Best puzzles ever!

    Play every day to keep everything bad away

    By DumbMonkey.
    August 2, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Smart, fun and highly addictive.

    definitely a great brain exercise.

    By Gingersnapmama.
    August 2, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Great game, one problem

    this is a clever game that is a great time killer, but i'm having the same problem as others: after every puzzle, i have to quit
    and reenter the app to solve the next one
    . one fix and it's five stars- a very fun game overall.

    By thematt28.
    August 1, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Challenge

    This is my daily brain tease....sometimes it REALLY teases me!!

    By Harp gal.
    July 30, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Enjoyable!

    This app is part of my morning ritual. I enjoy the earlier in the week ones most. I'll continue to support this app. ☺️

    By Sally Kelly.
    July 30, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Fun way to start each day

    i enjoy words and word puzzles. this is very entertaining and i like to see how quickly i can solve and make some "new" words!

    By SCgloterp.
    July 29, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Simple and smart

    Type shift takes the clutter out of word games and puts a new spin on puzzle solving. I love the various clue options and the
    straightforward format. Plus ads are at a minimum!

    By ivygrower8916.
    July 28, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Challenging and Satisfying

    great challenge and good way to learn new words.

    By IowaCityProf.
    July 28, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Great little game

    some are hard, some are easy. overall it's a simple, great little word game.

    By Anneflo.
    July 28, 2017
    5 out of 5
    TypeShift

    TypeShift is challenging and fun; not your ordinary word game, but something new.

    By Phil9877.
    July 28, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Great game, needs help

    I really enjoy the game. It makes you think about words and word structure. It can also broaden your vocabulary. But it has a bug.
    It crashes after every completed puzzle for me. Using the latest 7 plus so it's not the phone. This would be 5 stars if that is
    fixed, and until this is fixed it should

    By technicalmarketingandsales.
    July 28, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Keeps me coming back every day

    great game! fun twist on word finding that all word game fans will love! challenge your friends with each daily to see who's
    fastest!

    By ArmunnBith.
    July 28, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Very Fun, Bad Word List

    this is a very fun word game, a good time killer. the only negative i have about it is that you can often form words that aren't
    really words. i save them to my favorite word list if it'll help fix it. only once or twice though were the words part of the
    necessary answers, but it does make things

    By Hunterman328.
    July 27, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Excelente aplicación

    Mantiene la mente activa y es una diversión también, gracias

    By machi_.
    July 27, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Excellent word game

    If you haven’t tried this puzzle/game, give it a whirl. It’s easy to learn and asks you to assemble words by moving vertical
    strips of brown letters until a word reads horizontally across the strips, at which point the letters in that word turn green.
    When all the letters are green, the game end

    By Victor Maurice Faubert.
    July 27, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Fun mix of crosswords and Boggle

    this game is fun and addicting. you won't be disappointed if you like word puzzles.

    By lizzard_head.
    July 12, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Very good

    This app works smoothly and logically. I have hit no glitches yet. The game eases you into more challenging yet still solvable
    puzzles. It is fresh and clever, and helps keep the gears in my 72-year-old brain running smoothly. I can recommend it to everyone
    who loves word games.

    By Granny nanny 71.
    July 6, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Play daily

    I play it daily and it is fun

    By Crankintosh.
    June 29, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Smart fun!

    a great game!

    By Calmdogs.
    June 25, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Challenging and fun!

    This game can be easy some days tough on others but always engaging and a delight to play!!

    By pamcnultyjr.
    June 24, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Great game...

    You have to think with this one. It makes sense; I'm just surprised it took so long for someone to come up with this idea. I'd
    give it five stars if it had a landscape mode for tablets (hint... hint...)...

    By collisionbend.
    June 24, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Great brain teaser

    I really enjoy the daily puzzle.

    By lkienzle.
    June 23, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Expands your mind

    this is a great game that makes you think and challenges you to find numerous words

    By Ksbyaya.
    June 23, 2017
    5 out of 5
    The only game I play daily.

    Seriously I play this game everyday because there is always another puzzle to solve. It's this generations crossword and I
    couldn't be happier.

    By Robomattic.
    June 23, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Fav

    My favorite Word Game. Ever. It's beautifully simple, but challenging. Very enjoyable.

    By BrownSugarBritches.
    June 23, 2017
    5 out of 5
    The best!

    Fabulous word game - and they're hard to find. As challenging as you want it to be. Try it!

    By **Ollie**1210.
    June 23, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Love this app

    Love this app. I play everyday. Suggestion: could you please add a notation on each puzzle how many possible words could be found?

    By Iluvtanzanite60.
    June 22, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Love it

    another great zach gage game. i have zero interest in crossword puzzles and yet i can't get enough of typeshift.

    By guffmonger.
    June 22, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Good Daily Brainteaser

    the games is fun and just challenging enough to be fun, although i must confess i don't often find all their words. i do find a
    lot of my own words though, and even more i've never heard of.

    By Bevgrey.
    June 22, 2017
    5 out of 5
    TypeShift is for Wordies

    Perhaps you are an English major? Maybe you enjoy crossword puzzles? Wordies will enjoy TypeShift.

    By C1T1ZEN.
    June 22, 2017
    5 out of 5
    I play it every day!

    Got to get those daily puzzles solved! Love it

    By Eddy. E.
    June 22, 2017
    5 out of 5
    A great daily diversion

    this is a well-crafted game and a great daily diversion from whatever i have going on. i look forward to the daily puzzle every
    day..never know what you're going to get.

    By wxlvr.
    June 22, 2017
    5 out of 5
    This is One You Can Play Anywhere, Anytime!

    as soon as it appeared it was a classic. great game to fit in those empty slots. trouble is the slots grow and you wonder where
    the time went.

    By Poof2subdivision3x.
    June 22, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Excellent!!

    I look forward to each day's new puzzle!!!

    By KMADAD -NOAH.
    June 22, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Engaging

    great game that's appropriately challenging for the moderately skilled word puzzle solver. love the modern elegant design. i find
    when i'm stuck that taking a break helps me see words i couldn't on the first try.

    By Krlnka.
    June 22, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Great game if you like words

    this is a fun and challenging game. most of the words are common, though a few are weird (like "baaing" -- i'd never guess that).
    hints are available, and you can watch an ad instead of paying cash for hints, which is nice. however, i don't like the game
    orientation for ipads (greatly prefer landsca

    By Hydrozoline.
    June 21, 2017

    TypeShift Critic reviews

    3 out of 5
    Fan Puzzle Pack has spelling errors

    the pumpkin puzzle pack is very fun and challenging, but there are at least two answer words that are misspelled, and not as part
    of the the puzzle's trickiness
    . barnacle, not barnicle, and gerrymander, not jerrymander. the puzzles are difficult enough without
    errors!

    By IowaElement.
    September 16, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Great game but ads are a problem

    I'd give this game 5 stars, but the ads consistently crash the game. I deal with ads on other favorite games as that's how the
    developer makes their money. But when I can't finish the puzzle because the ad won't close - even after waiting 30 seconds -
    that's just annoying. So much for keeping my str

    By Mr. Blammo.
    September 14, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Fake words. Lots of them!

    consistently uses made up words that can't be found even in the app's own dictionary!!! "headles"?? "conding"???
    pretty annoying, to say the least.

    By Larkin Barkin.
    September 1, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Same ad over and over

    I really enjoy this game, and I know that purchasing packs will remove ads. And even in the free packs there aren't ads all the
    time.

    But recently I've been getting the same Friskies ad after EVERY puzzle, and entering information and submitting doesn't do
    anything. The inconsistency of when ads sh

    By Navitach.
    August 15, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Great game, eats battery

    There's got to be a way for it to use less battery.

    By ck350.
    July 4, 2017
    3 out of 5
    New update freezes

    the new update occasionally freezes and may crash. i'm running ios 10.2.1 on iphone 7 plus. it was working great before update-
    never an issue
    .

    By dr dpz.
    June 22, 2017
    3 out of 5
    More clue packs please

    I played through all of them and am not into the non-clue puzzles enough to buy them

    By Glaucon81.
    June 14, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Cool

    good game. not sure how to use hints. they're not accessible in the game. instructions don't explain how to do so.

    By RafGar.
    June 1, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Good, but-----?

    Nice game, but it has one bad shortcoming:its own dictionary tells you that many of the words that succeed in the game aren't in
    the dictionary!

    Correct that glaring flaw and it scores five stars.

    By Heavisise.
    May 26, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Zach Gage

    sir, if you read this... you, or one of the other devs who developed ridiculous fishing needs to update that game so it is
    playable on future versions of ios. i realize y'all at vlambeer decided abandon one of the great mobile games ever for what reason
    no one will ever know
    . please. have whoever ca

    By Brawwwwwn.
    May 1, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Tough

    Not easy so not relaxing but it is addictive . I wish it gave hints

    By Marcy122.
    April 29, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Fun with reservations

    I enjoy this game because it doesn't require a huge time commitment. Here are my ideas for improvement:
    1. More puzzle packs please. I've already completed everything available.
    2. Add some kind of scoring system that lets you earn hints, i.e. how many words you find in each puzzle and how quickly

    By Lolcat Lisa.
    April 24, 2017
    3 out of 5
    No progress sync = Play limited to one device

    the game is very good, with occasional flaws (i've had a few "words" that are not actually words). but the lack of game center
    sync (what the developer calls icloud sync) is bad. i like to play games like this at different times of the day, which means i'm
    on a different device (iphone, ipad)
    . no sy

    By tookmyname.
    April 19, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Casual player

    nice concept, fun puzzles. makes my phone overheat - hot after a few minutes of play. make sure you close this one after playing.

    By uff da.
    April 13, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Fun game but more puzzles

    this game is a lot of fun. i love word games. i have spent some money on the packs, but only the .99 ones. i think $2 is a bit
    much for the clue puzzles and well i am terrible at crossword puzzles. is there any chance more puzzles will come out soon??!
    keep up the great work.

    By AveWave36.
    March 29, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Fun game but has some issues.

    I love doing the puzzles and it's really entertaining.

    Big problem is that it doesn't properly follow the progress. For example i finished the first pack, but when I reopened the app,
    the first pack was mark as not finished.

    If that were resolved, then 5 stars.

    By inhaler97.
    March 25, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Clue puzzles are great, but costly

    for me, the standard game mode got boring pretty quickly. i enjoyed the clue puzzle samples a lot, but $2 for a pack of 20 puzzles
    was more than i'm willing to spend. based on the time the first 5 took, i'm not willing to pay that much for about 2 hours of
    entertainment. but for those with deeper po

    By cait.d.
    March 23, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Well executed, but a bit thin

    Eventually it feels like you are just randomly scrolling the columns to find the last word. There isn't a real rewarding feeling
    when you solve a puzzle. It feels more like you brute-forced a combination lock.

    By Mark Jaquith.
    March 22, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Fun game play, wrong price model

    $13 all in for the game as it stands presently seems high. That is only the current content. Would have preferred a price that
    was 6-8 all in.

    By LIBeaches2011.
    March 19, 2017
    3 out of 5
    The Clue puzzles are fun and challenging, but...

    Some of the other puzzles feel like you're making random guesses with no direction and can get frustrating/boring.

    By Heuro.
    March 19, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Potential ruined by ads

    Either the developer needs to have more content to justify the presence of ads, or just charge for the game already. But the
    experience is ridiculous.

    By Andurin.
    March 18, 2017

    WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

    How do you rate this app? *

      1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
    Gameplay
    Graphics
    Price
    Total