• TypeShift
  • App Reviews
  • TypeShift App Icon
    TypeShift
    by Zach Gage
    Average Rating: 9.2/10
    Reviews: 105
    Positive
    92%
    critic
    8%

    Please provide a rating and review of what you thought about the app by going to the App Store here.

    Find out what App Store users think about the TypeShift App before you buy it. See the most helpful reviews written by users who played the game or used the application and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

    United States

    TypeShift Positive reviews

    5 out of 5
    Fun mix of crosswords and Boggle

    this game is fun and addicting. you won't be disappointed if you like word puzzles.

    By lizzard_head.
    July 12, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Very good

    This app works smoothly and logically. I have hit no glitches yet. The game eases you into more challenging yet still solvable
    puzzles. It is fresh and clever, and helps keep the gears in my 72-year-old brain running smoothly. I can recommend it to everyone
    who loves word games.

    By Granny nanny 71.
    July 6, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Play daily

    I play it daily and it is fun

    By Crankintosh.
    June 29, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Smart fun!

    a great game!

    By Calmdogs.
    June 25, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Challenging and fun!

    This game can be easy some days tough on others but always engaging and a delight to play!!

    By pamcnultyjr.
    June 24, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Great game...

    You have to think with this one. It makes sense; I'm just surprised it took so long for someone to come up with this idea. I'd
    give it five stars if it had a landscape mode for tablets (hint... hint...)...

    By collisionbend.
    June 24, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Great brain teaser

    I really enjoy the daily puzzle.

    By lkienzle.
    June 23, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Expands your mind

    this is a great game that makes you think and challenges you to find numerous words

    By Ksbyaya.
    June 23, 2017
    5 out of 5
    The only game I play daily.

    Seriously I play this game everyday because there is always another puzzle to solve. It's this generations crossword and I
    couldn't be happier.

    By Robomattic.
    June 23, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Fav

    My favorite Word Game. Ever. It's beautifully simple, but challenging. Very enjoyable.

    By BrownSugarBritches.
    June 23, 2017
    5 out of 5
    The best!

    Fabulous word game - and they're hard to find. As challenging as you want it to be. Try it!

    By **Ollie**1210.
    June 23, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Love this app

    Love this app. I play everyday. Suggestion: could you please add a notation on each puzzle how many possible words could be found?

    By Iluvtanzanite60.
    June 22, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Love it

    another great zach gage game. i have zero interest in crossword puzzles and yet i can't get enough of typeshift.

    By guffmonger.
    June 22, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Good Daily Brainteaser

    the games is fun and just challenging enough to be fun, although i must confess i don't often find all their words. i do find a
    lot of my own words though, and even more i've never heard of.

    By Bevgrey.
    June 22, 2017
    5 out of 5
    TypeShift is for Wordies

    Perhaps you are an English major? Maybe you enjoy crossword puzzles? Wordies will enjoy TypeShift.

    By C1T1ZEN.
    June 22, 2017
    5 out of 5
    I play it every day!

    Got to get those daily puzzles solved! Love it

    By Eddy. E.
    June 22, 2017
    5 out of 5
    A great daily diversion

    this is a well-crafted game and a great daily diversion from whatever i have going on. i look forward to the daily puzzle every
    day..never know what you're going to get.

    By wxlvr.
    June 22, 2017
    5 out of 5
    This is One You Can Play Anywhere, Anytime!

    as soon as it appeared it was a classic. great game to fit in those empty slots. trouble is the slots grow and you wonder where
    the time went.

    By Poof2subdivision3x.
    June 22, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Excellent!!

    I look forward to each day's new puzzle!!!

    By KMADAD -NOAH.
    June 22, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Engaging

    great game that's appropriately challenging for the moderately skilled word puzzle solver. love the modern elegant design. i find
    when i'm stuck that taking a break helps me see words i couldn't on the first try.

    By Krlnka.
    June 22, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Great game if you like words

    this is a fun and challenging game. most of the words are common, though a few are weird (like "baaing" -- i'd never guess that).
    hints are available, and you can watch an ad instead of paying cash for hints, which is nice. however, i don't like the game
    orientation for ipads (greatly prefer landsca

    By Hydrozoline.
    June 21, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Dynamite game

    Love the Stfj games! Some of the best word puzzles on iOS.

    By jeblucas.
    June 21, 2017
    5 out of 5
    I am ridiculously addicted.

    I'm like every other millennial. I download a game. I play it a few times. I get bored. I delete the game. I find a new one.
    Repeat. Yet somehow Typeshift remains, permanently taking up a portion of my precious 16 GB of storage. And I keep opening it up
    to solve "just one more puzzle". Thanks for th

    By rollalong.
    June 14, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Good game sort of

    it's a lot of fun and is a different concept to most games i've played. the only problem is this game froze and crashed more than
    any other game i've played recently. it's at the point i can't make it past the intro menu screen. a lot of fun when it does work
    though lol

    By John E. Yager.
    June 7, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Great game!

    I love the daily puzzle! Just right for morning break at work!

    By NeecieKC.
    May 27, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Best Word Fun

    truly fun and interesting to play quite better than most!!!

    By L'Zenki.
    May 19, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Excellent game!

    this is simple good word fun. difficulty of the daily games varies somewhat, which i enjoy.

    By Politicablue.
    May 10, 2017
    5 out of 5
    A wonderful word puzzler

    This game is the perfect combination of short and long play. You can spend a minute or an hour with the puzzles. Very fun!

    By JakobMalt.
    May 8, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Great game

    My sister recommended this to me and she was right, I love it!

    By Bora Hunja.
    May 8, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Absolutely addictive

    Scratches that word puzzle itch! Simple, beautifully designed, and challenging enough without being frustrating like Don't Torment
    Me, the Chasing Game That Really Frustrates.

    By iamnotree.
    May 5, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Daily Puzzles

    This is one of the best word games developed for any OS system. I enjoy the mental exercise the game delivers. May I ask the
    developers to find a way to archive the daily puzzles? I do not find the time to complete them everyday.

    😊🤗🙏🏾

    By Probowler 357.
    May 4, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Challenging

    This is my end of evening; relaxation game! It's challenging and fun!

    By Sweetangel_h.
    May 1, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Yay!

    good game!

    By marioincandenza.
    May 1, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Challenges the mind.

    Well mine, anyway! 😬 Really enjoy this game!

    By evalley.
    May 1, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Love this Game

    Very enjoyable. This is something you can play while waiting in line, sitting in a doctor's office or watching t.v.

    By Sar$tin.
    April 30, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Fun, fun, fun!

    great game and i'm learning new words.

    By KatmaiLynne.
    April 29, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Great twist on familiar genre

    I love word games an appreciate something different. This is challenging while simple to play.

    By GEG42.
    April 29, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Super fun!

    This is the best word puzzle game! 👍👍

    By Whatsinanicknameeh.
    April 29, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Love This Game!

    I've forwarded this game to both of my adult children - and we are all hooked. I love the different challenges - and look forward
    to the puzzle of the day. Keep it up!! Thank you!

    By Mama of the best boys.
    April 29, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Another great title from Zach Gage!

    I personally loved his previous games on the app store (check out Really Bad Chess and Ridiculous Fishing if you haven't already)
    and Typeshift does not disappoint! Like a bite-size crossword puzzle and word search put into one, it's perfect for anything from
    a 5-minute break to an hour-long brain t

    By jtgoen.
    April 28, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Fun word game

    Really enjoying this word game. It's challenging enough to be interesting but not enough to be discouraging.

    By Mlou365.
    April 28, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Really fun

    I'm enjoying this game quite a bit! It's part of my daily rotation. The clue puzzles especially are like all the best parts of a
    crossword puzzle with satisfying clicking action...

    By Andrexx.
    April 28, 2017
    5 out of 5
    A genius idea

    Easy to play with one hand, quick to pick up and put down, and a perfect concept / delivery. I can very highly recommend.

    By bwpatton87.
    April 28, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Different take on word puzzles

    typeshift has nearly everything you might want in a word puzzle. variety in both difficulty and vocabulary with a range of puzzle
    length allowing for a challenge to suit every player. great stuff!

    By Quietchat.
    April 28, 2017
    5 out of 5
    I love this game

    Almost as essential as crosswords themselves. A true classic work of genius. A perfect word game.

    By Ohio State Butt Guy.
    April 28, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Love, Love, Love

    Can't wait till next day to play!

    By Joannwalter.
    April 28, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Brain fun!

    I love this app. It is easy to use, which is always a plus. My teenager enjoys expanding his vocabulary.

    By MalefiKate.
    April 28, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Seriously good. Addictive

    this a a great game. just beware as it can be a real time sink!

    By Don S, NJ.
    April 27, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Amazing

    Love the clues puzzles :)

    By Totsboy.
    April 27, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Awesome before bed or during breakfast

    Really enjoyable and a wide range of difficulties

    By laserpilot.
    April 27, 2017

    TypeShift Critic reviews

    3 out of 5
    Great game, eats battery

    There's got to be a way for it to use less battery.

    By ck350.
    July 4, 2017
    3 out of 5
    New update freezes

    the new update occasionally freezes and may crash. i'm running ios 10.2.1 on iphone 7 plus. it was working great before update-
    never an issue
    .

    By dr dpz.
    June 22, 2017
    3 out of 5
    More clue packs please

    I played through all of them and am not into the non-clue puzzles enough to buy them

    By Glaucon81.
    June 14, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Cool

    good game. not sure how to use hints. they're not accessible in the game. instructions don't explain how to do so.

    By RafGar.
    June 1, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Good, but-----?

    Nice game, but it has one bad shortcoming:its own dictionary tells you that many of the words that succeed in the game aren't in
    the dictionary!

    Correct that glaring flaw and it scores five stars.

    By Heavisise.
    May 26, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Zach Gage

    sir, if you read this... you, or one of the other devs who developed ridiculous fishing needs to update that game so it is
    playable on future versions of ios. i realize y'all at vlambeer decided abandon one of the great mobile games ever for what reason
    no one will ever know
    . please. have whoever ca

    By Brawwwwwn.
    May 1, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Tough

    Not easy so not relaxing but it is addictive . I wish it gave hints

    By Marcy122.
    April 29, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Fun with reservations

    I enjoy this game because it doesn't require a huge time commitment. Here are my ideas for improvement:
    1. More puzzle packs please. I've already completed everything available.
    2. Add some kind of scoring system that lets you earn hints, i.e. how many words you find in each puzzle and how quickly

    By Lolcat Lisa.
    April 24, 2017
    3 out of 5
    No progress sync = Play limited to one device

    the game is very good, with occasional flaws (i've had a few "words" that are not actually words). but the lack of game center
    sync (what the developer calls icloud sync) is bad. i like to play games like this at different times of the day, which means i'm
    on a different device (iphone, ipad)
    . no sy

    By tookmyname.
    April 19, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Casual player

    nice concept, fun puzzles. makes my phone overheat - hot after a few minutes of play. make sure you close this one after playing.

    By uff da.
    April 13, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Fun game but more puzzles

    this game is a lot of fun. i love word games. i have spent some money on the packs, but only the .99 ones. i think $2 is a bit
    much for the clue puzzles and well i am terrible at crossword puzzles. is there any chance more puzzles will come out soon??!
    keep up the great work.

    By AveWave36.
    March 29, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Fun game but has some issues.

    I love doing the puzzles and it's really entertaining.

    Big problem is that it doesn't properly follow the progress. For example i finished the first pack, but when I reopened the app,
    the first pack was mark as not finished.

    If that were resolved, then 5 stars.

    By inhaler97.
    March 25, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Clue puzzles are great, but costly

    for me, the standard game mode got boring pretty quickly. i enjoyed the clue puzzle samples a lot, but $2 for a pack of 20 puzzles
    was more than i'm willing to spend. based on the time the first 5 took, i'm not willing to pay that much for about 2 hours of
    entertainment. but for those with deeper po

    By cait.d.
    March 23, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Well executed, but a bit thin

    Eventually it feels like you are just randomly scrolling the columns to find the last word. There isn't a real rewarding feeling
    when you solve a puzzle. It feels more like you brute-forced a combination lock.

    By Mark Jaquith.
    March 22, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Fun game play, wrong price model

    $13 all in for the game as it stands presently seems high. That is only the current content. Would have preferred a price that
    was 6-8 all in.

    By LIBeaches2011.
    March 19, 2017
    3 out of 5
    The Clue puzzles are fun and challenging, but...

    Some of the other puzzles feel like you're making random guesses with no direction and can get frustrating/boring.

    By Heuro.
    March 19, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Potential ruined by ads

    Either the developer needs to have more content to justify the presence of ads, or just charge for the game already. But the
    experience is ridiculous.

    By Andurin.
    March 18, 2017

    WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

    How do you rate this app? *

      1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
    Gameplay
    Graphics
    Price
    Total