• TypeShift
  • App Reviews
  • TypeShift App Icon
    TypeShift
    by Zach Gage
    Average Rating: 9.2/10
    Reviews: 77
    Positive
    92%
    critic
    8%

    Please provide a rating and review of what you thought about the app by going to the App Store here.

    Find out what App Store users think about the TypeShift App before you buy it. See the most helpful reviews written by users who played the game or used the application and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

    United States

    TypeShift Positive reviews

    5 out of 5
    Great game!

    I love the daily puzzle! Just right for morning break at work!

    By NeecieKC.
    May 27, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Best Word Fun

    truly fun and interesting to play quite better than most!!!

    By L'Zenki.
    May 19, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Excellent game!

    this is simple good word fun. difficulty of the daily games varies somewhat, which i enjoy.

    By Politicablue.
    May 10, 2017
    5 out of 5
    A wonderful word puzzler

    This game is the perfect combination of short and long play. You can spend a minute or an hour with the puzzles. Very fun!

    By JakobMalt.
    May 8, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Great game

    My sister recommended this to me and she was right, I love it!

    By Bora Hunja.
    May 8, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Absolutely addictive

    Scratches that word puzzle itch! Simple, beautifully designed, and challenging enough without being frustrating like Don't Torment
    Me, the Chasing Game That Really Frustrates.

    By iamnotree.
    May 5, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Daily Puzzles

    This is one of the best word games developed for any OS system. I enjoy the mental exercise the game delivers. May I ask the
    developers to find a way to archive the daily puzzles? I do not find the time to complete them everyday.

    πŸ˜ŠπŸ€—πŸ™πŸΎ

    By Probowler 357.
    May 4, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Challenges the mind.

    Well mine, anyway! 😬 Really enjoy this game!

    By evalley.
    May 1, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Challenging

    This is my end of evening; relaxation game! It's challenging and fun!

    By Sweetangel_h.
    May 1, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Yay!

    good game!

    By marioincandenza.
    May 1, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Love this Game

    Very enjoyable. This is something you can play while waiting in line, sitting in a doctor's office or watching t.v.

    By Sar$tin.
    April 30, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Great twist on familiar genre

    I love word games an appreciate something different. This is challenging while simple to play.

    By GEG42.
    April 29, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Super fun!

    This is the best word puzzle game! πŸ‘πŸ‘

    By Whatsinanicknameeh.
    April 29, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Love This Game!

    I've forwarded this game to both of my adult children - and we are all hooked. I love the different challenges - and look forward
    to the puzzle of the day. Keep it up!! Thank you!

    By Mama of the best boys.
    April 29, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Fun, fun, fun!

    great game and i'm learning new words.

    By KatmaiLynne.
    April 29, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Really fun

    I'm enjoying this game quite a bit! It's part of my daily rotation. The clue puzzles especially are like all the best parts of a
    crossword puzzle with satisfying clicking action...

    By Andrexx.
    April 28, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Fun word game

    Really enjoying this word game. It's challenging enough to be interesting but not enough to be discouraging.

    By Mlou365.
    April 28, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Another great title from Zach Gage!

    I personally loved his previous games on the app store (check out Really Bad Chess and Ridiculous Fishing if you haven't already)
    and Typeshift does not disappoint! Like a bite-size crossword puzzle and word search put into one, it's perfect for anything from
    a 5-minute break to an hour-long brain t

    By jtgoen.
    April 28, 2017
    5 out of 5
    A genius idea

    Easy to play with one hand, quick to pick up and put down, and a perfect concept / delivery. I can very highly recommend.

    By bwpatton87.
    April 28, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Different take on word puzzles

    typeshift has nearly everything you might want in a word puzzle. variety in both difficulty and vocabulary with a range of puzzle
    length allowing for a challenge to suit every player. great stuff!

    By Quietchat.
    April 28, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Love, Love, Love

    Can't wait till next day to play!

    By Joannwalter.
    April 28, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Brain fun!

    I love this app. It is easy to use, which is always a plus. My teenager enjoys expanding his vocabulary.

    By MalefiKate.
    April 28, 2017
    5 out of 5
    I love this game

    Almost as essential as crosswords themselves. A true classic work of genius. A perfect word game.

    By Ohio State Butt Guy.
    April 28, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Outstanding attention to detail

    this is a fun word game to be sure, but what sets it apart is the clear effort made to sweat the design, gameplay, and details.
    the game plays so smoothly and beautifully. i also like the two modes of play, with and without clues; the variation is quite
    nice.

    By Round Robin.
    April 27, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Awesome before bed or during breakfast

    Really enjoyable and a wide range of difficulties

    By laserpilot.
    April 27, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Simple concept, so much fun!

    Intuitive and addictive. My only complaint is that I've been tearing through the available packs, both free and paid, and I want
    more! I can't get enough of this game.

    By jlsgaladriel.
    April 27, 2017
    5 out of 5
    One of THE TOP games on iTunes!!! πŸ‘

    If you love words and doubly, love your brain, THIS is the game for you and gets those brain cells flowing! Keep those games
    coming y'all!!! πŸ˜ŠπŸ‘πŸ˜ŠπŸ‘πŸ˜ŠπŸ‘πŸ˜Š

    By Pooh.
    April 27, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Seriously good. Addictive

    this a a great game. just beware as it can be a real time sink!

    By Don S, NJ.
    April 27, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Amazing

    Love the clues puzzles :)

    By Totsboy.
    April 27, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Ommmmmmmm!

    Every daily puzzle makes me...
    ... happier
    ... smarter
    ... smilier
    ... prouder
    ... like a two-minute meditation, backrub and SAT course in one.

    By PopePat.
    April 26, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Awesome

    So many words

    By Gillnet.
    April 26, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Cool concept, executed flawlessly

    Thumbs up!

    By SJaustin.
    April 26, 2017
    5 out of 5
    So many words, so little time

    typeshift is great, but the reasons why it's great aren't obvious. one problem with most word-finding games are that the rewards
    are kind of arbitrary; spotting some kind of obscure word might be cool to you, but it's often not worth that many points; or they
    go too far the other direction, and you

    By Timzania.
    April 16, 2017
    4 out of 5
    Beautiful but a battery drain

    Typeshift is a beautiful and carefully crafted game. It's challenging, engrossing, and loads of fun, but it is a battery killer,
    even with the battery conserve option turned on! 30 minutes of play accounted for 25% of today's battery usage. That seems
    incredibly high for a game with 2D graphics. A b

    By Photo42.
    April 12, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Great presentation, lovely evolution of crosswords

    The "clue" puzzles are friggin' great.

    By immaturetony.
    April 11, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Best Word Game EVER

    I absolutely love this game. If you like word games, puzzles, crosswords, etc this is all of them in one. So good. I'm addicted.

    By GreenPony.
    April 7, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Negative reviewers are boorish cheapskates

    the core game is pretty good, not great, where this game shines is the "clue puzzles"-combining the core game with crossword
    clues
    .

    one reviewer agreed with me, yet gave the game only two stars because s/he was unwilling to pay $1.99 for two hours of fun,
    because that's a bad deal, apparently. (my

    By Uncoolcentral .
    April 4, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Love

    Love the game. Need more packs now please!

    By Kblockistan.
    April 3, 2017
    5 out of 5
    a perfect word game

    innovative, beautiful, delightful, and perfectly bite-sized. been playing this every day since it came out.

    By wintermute62.
    April 3, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Fun game

    interesting game concept, definitely worth a couple of bucks. i didn't realize originally that ads were removed if you bought any
    of the in-game content. i'm happy to pay for a good experience, so once i figured that out, my opinion of the game improved quite
    a bit
    .

    By BuckeyeJL.
    March 31, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Thoughts

    I had deleted this earlier today, I was frustrated with a few things.....words aren't saved, so you can't really replay to find
    the missed/ replay value is important....also words that should have worked didn't sometimes and some of the solutions included
    really obscure words.
    However.....I realize

    By BethArific.
    March 29, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Love it!

    The game is simple and amazing. I love the way it helps one discover new words! 10 stars

    By DMONEY!!.
    March 25, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Love!!!

    I LOVE this game!!! I'm so proud of you Zack!! Your games are awesome 😁 I'm so honored to say that we went to high school
    together!!

    By Melissa Mitzner.
    March 24, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Nice.

    i like how it is linked up with merriam-webster's dictionary to look up words. very nice.

    By iBourbon.
    March 22, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Amazing game!

    i like this game a lot. the clue game is extremely challenging.

    By ilove this game!.
    March 21, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Simply Excellent

    Clever and compelling word game.

    By G u i s e.
    March 21, 2017
    4 out of 5
    A Crossword For a New Age

    pros:
    slick, modern interface
    great for learning new words; webster supported
    the sliding mechanic is fun
    lots of free content
    the puzzles where you need specific words are challenging in the best way
    fair amount of bonus content for the price

    cons:
    ads after every round, very easy to accidentall

    By T W B W U.
    March 21, 2017
    4 out of 5
    love it! But I wish there were more puzzles!

    i absolutely love this game! to me it was very entertaining! i wish there were more puzzles then the one already provided.. but
    overall great brain teaser!

    By JesyMaee.
    March 21, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Love it ... want more CLUE puzzles

    what a fun game!!!
    it's a great combination of crossword puzzle and word game
    .
    my faves are the clue themed puzzles ... please release more!

    By jaycourt.
    March 21, 2017
    5 out of 5
    Good job

    i like it

    By tomhenson85.
    March 21, 2017

    TypeShift Critic reviews

    3 out of 5
    Good, but-----?

    Nice game, but it has one bad shortcoming:its own dictionary tells you that many of the words that succeed in the game aren't in
    the dictionary!

    Correct that glaring flaw and it scores five stars.

    By Heavisise.
    May 26, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Zach Gage

    sir, if you read this... you, or one of the other devs who developed ridiculous fishing needs to update that game so it is
    playable on future versions of ios. i realize y'all at vlambeer decided abandon one of the great mobile games ever for what reason
    no one will ever know
    . please. have whoever ca

    By Brawwwwwn.
    May 1, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Tough

    Not easy so not relaxing but it is addictive . I wish it gave hints

    By Marcy122.
    April 29, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Fun with reservations

    I enjoy this game because it doesn't require a huge time commitment. Here are my ideas for improvement:
    1. More puzzle packs please. I've already completed everything available.
    2. Add some kind of scoring system that lets you earn hints, i.e. how many words you find in each puzzle and how quickly

    By Lolcat Lisa.
    April 24, 2017
    3 out of 5
    No progress sync = Play limited to one device

    the game is very good, with occasional flaws (i've had a few "words" that are not actually words). but the lack of game center
    sync (what the developer calls icloud sync) is bad. i like to play games like this at different times of the day, which means i'm
    on a different device (iphone, ipad)
    . no sy

    By tookmyname.
    April 19, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Casual player

    nice concept, fun puzzles. makes my phone overheat - hot after a few minutes of play. make sure you close this one after playing.

    By uff da.
    April 13, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Fun game but more puzzles

    this game is a lot of fun. i love word games. i have spent some money on the packs, but only the .99 ones. i think $2 is a bit
    much for the clue puzzles and well i am terrible at crossword puzzles. is there any chance more puzzles will come out soon??!
    keep up the great work.

    By AveWave36.
    March 29, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Fun game but has some issues.

    I love doing the puzzles and it's really entertaining.

    Big problem is that it doesn't properly follow the progress. For example i finished the first pack, but when I reopened the app,
    the first pack was mark as not finished.

    If that were resolved, then 5 stars.

    By inhaler97.
    March 25, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Clue puzzles are great, but costly

    for me, the standard game mode got boring pretty quickly. i enjoyed the clue puzzle samples a lot, but $2 for a pack of 20 puzzles
    was more than i'm willing to spend. based on the time the first 5 took, i'm not willing to pay that much for about 2 hours of
    entertainment. but for those with deeper po

    By cait.d.
    March 23, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Well executed, but a bit thin

    Eventually it feels like you are just randomly scrolling the columns to find the last word. There isn't a real rewarding feeling
    when you solve a puzzle. It feels more like you brute-forced a combination lock.

    By Mark Jaquith.
    March 22, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Fun game play, wrong price model

    $13 all in for the game as it stands presently seems high. That is only the current content. Would have preferred a price that
    was 6-8 all in.

    By LIBeaches2011.
    March 19, 2017
    3 out of 5
    The Clue puzzles are fun and challenging, but...

    Some of the other puzzles feel like you're making random guesses with no direction and can get frustrating/boring.

    By Heuro.
    March 19, 2017
    3 out of 5
    Potential ruined by ads

    Either the developer needs to have more content to justify the presence of ads, or just charge for the game already. But the
    experience is ridiculous.

    By Andurin.
    March 18, 2017

    WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

    How do you rate this app? *

      1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
    Gameplay
    Graphics
    Price
    Total