Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

Camera for OBS Studio

by Will Townsend
Positive
92%
critic
8%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of Camera for OBS Studio by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of Camera for OBS Studio written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for Camera for OBS Studio

Reviews: 64Avg. Rating: 9.2/10

Positive reviews

5 out of 5
This makes OBS go from good to GREAT !

This app is what OBS needed! It’s an unbeatable value for the price! Your phone already has the best quality webcam available,
and now it can be used as such in your stream for 1/10th the cost of a regular one. I would buy this app twice ! I’m rating it 5
stars only because there aren’t more.

By jfmonod.
January 10, 2021
5 out of 5
Works great!

I have been using OBS camera to live stream on YouTube. It really works great and I’ve gotten a lot of compliments on the
quality of my stream. I wanted to have the same experience with Reddit streaming, which is based on OBS as well. The developer was
very helpful in pointing me to a very simple fi

By J.R. Santana.
January 6, 2021
4 out of 5
Close

I’m generally pleased ... but the lag while on using a band-new iPhone 12 and brand-new MacBook Pro is still an issue ... I hope
future updates make wired connections closer to real-time.

By The Real JSP.
January 4, 2021
4 out of 5
Good

It would be great if we could:
- Lock landscape orientation directly from the app
- Keep streaming when leaving the app

By Ernesto Rivera.
January 2, 2021
5 out of 5
Customer service helped me out.

I had a problem getting my iPhone to connect by usb. Customer service sent me a list of things to try. I had to reset the network
settings and now it works perfectly. Using an iPhone as a camera is much better than my webcams.

By Martin Basset.
December 30, 2020
5 out of 5
Works Wonderfully!

I was having an issue with my computer not recognizing my phone, until I read through the instructions on the obs.camera website!
I needed to install and run iTunes since I was running Windows, and it ended up working! The app is running perfectly, and I
can’t wait to stream with it!

By Kitty-Meow-Meow.
December 14, 2020
5 out of 5
Literally a GAMECHANGER

I’ve been tweaking my OBS setup for a month now and getting everything in order. As a Mac user it’s been a task to try and
find plugins and things that work with the Native Apple OS. OBS Camera makes it all worth it. The Logitech C922 “Pro Stream”
is $100 for quality that is frankly....trash. With O

By BrandonSuperbia.
November 21, 2020
4 out of 5
Works well but a bit confusing

I use this with OBS to use my iPhone as a webcam. The instructions on the site are very clear but the camera will only work when
iTunes is open. I’m not entirely sure if there is a way around this. I will be testing more options to see if I can find a
proper explanation.

All around fantastic app w

By 3647()$(:.
November 20, 2020
5 out of 5
Banger

Im on the internet like the Lawnmowerman!

By RACISTRAPIST.
November 15, 2020
4 out of 5
Does what it says

This app is pretty good at doing what it says it can do. I’ve tried many paid and free apps that claim to be web cam solutions
inside OBS. I’ve also worked with NDI and NDI-Hx. I think the only app that gives more camera control is Camo which is an
annual price of 39.99 (at the time of this review)

By mgbspeedy.
November 13, 2020
5 out of 5
Help with an update issue

I’ve been using OBS for live streaming my fitness platform for the last couple months and absolutely love it!

About 3 weeks ago, after an update, the voice settings were off and somehow my voice tone was lowered significantly. I had no idea
what was going on and tried everything on my end to fix it

By movementbymegan.
October 29, 2020
5 out of 5
It works!

I’ve been using this app to use my iPad Pro and my iPhone SE as cameras for livestreaming. It works very smooth with OBS. I’m
writing this review after using this app for a few months. Highly recommend it!

By Oretnom18.
October 26, 2020
4 out of 5
'Works well, but could use some more options.'

'Love the app and it works well. I sometimes have issues connecting or the video freezing, but I’m not sure if it’s the app,
cable, computer, or OBS application. But connecting and turning things on in different orders usually solve the problem. Overall,
it does work well and has a bunch of grea

By tumok.
October 17, 2020
4 out of 5
'USB Connection'

'Make sure you keep iTunes open if you want the USB connection to work. iTunes must remain open the entire time you are using the
app.'

By Staggs22.
October 8, 2020
5 out of 5
'This app is astonishingly useful'

'This is my go-to when I need a webcam. I *own* a real webcam and this is much better. have had a couple connection issues on
occasion, but they are few and far between. One thing I would ask for is to somehow reduce the computational load that VirtualCam
uses, because it affects my stream quality s

By makeminemaudlin.
October 6, 2020
5 out of 5
'Fantastic app'

'Everything works as expected and has amazing customization including quality and bitrate. \n\nThe only downside is the price. If
you can stomach that you have a great app that works well with OBS.\n\nAlso the support is very quick to reply to emails.'

By 5rock4.
September 28, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great App!'

'I just discovered OBS and wanting to use my iPhone camera I found this and it works great! I am curious if it would be possible
to add support for using AirPods as a wireless microphone?? That would be amazing!'

By porterror.
September 27, 2020
5 out of 5
'App Works'

'App works. Disregard my last review'

By Dem bubba.
September 26, 2020
5 out of 5
'Perfect for recording straight to the Mac'

'I’m trying to make YouTube videos again, and using OBS on my Mac with this plugged in with high quality settings on both
devices records good quality videos. This beats the heck out of recording my video and transferring it to the Mac to edit it. I
can record and get straight to editing.'

By ZekethatGeek.
September 25, 2020
4 out of 5
'Usually works, recently had some issues'

'Hello! I bought this app over a month ago and for a while it worked fine! I tried streaming a couple days ago and since then the
app doesn\'t realize I have a USB connected like it used to. I recently updated my phone to iOS 14 so maybe that made issues with
it? I also connected it to a different c

By bridgetarena.
September 25, 2020
5 out of 5
'Excellent product, and excellent customer service

'Are use this all the time to connect my iPhone and iPad to my Mac and use the two devices as cameras with OBS studio. It works
great and the support team has been very helpful.'

By Jmo11.
September 24, 2020
5 out of 5
'refund pls'

'i cannot use animoji pls i want a refund.'

By Machi Mavz.
September 5, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great app!'

'Reliable and does exactly what I need!'

By araeaerseaefaerfaea.
September 4, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great app!'

'Reliable and does exactly what I need!'

By fflotilla.
September 4, 2020
4 out of 5
'Overall best result for my situation!'

'As a new streamer I initially began using OBS and looked into using my iPhone XR as my webcam, and sure enough I found OBS
Camera. Took a gamble on $20 bucks. I added a 3rd party wide angle lens attachment and I am more than happy with the image
that’s produced. There was a few bumps at first and

By AtxQuintero.
August 30, 2020
5 out of 5
'So far so good; responsive developer is a relief'

'So far this app has performed as well as can be expected. I’ve been using my old iPhone 6+ as a webcam for about 10-15 hours
now with few problems. I’ve had some freezing and frame drops but that might be my hardware or internet. I’ve updated and
performed some tweaks so we’ll see if things

By Leo4422.
August 22, 2020
5 out of 5
'What an image'

'This is a must for recording or streaming with OBS Studio. I really wanted this to work to avoid spending $ on another webcam.
The ones I have don’t produce nearly as good an image as my XR. I haven’t streamed yet but the recording is top notch and
works really well in low light situations. Upd

By guitarbeau.
August 8, 2020
5 out of 5
'No problems for me!'

'This worked great for my wife and I. We were doing a very simple live for her business and this app did the trick for us. Very
straightforward. Plugged it in and the app recognized it immediately. No issues at all. Worth every penny.'

By B3_lover.
August 1, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great app'

'This app is so great ! Makes shooting videos easy ! I don’t need to buy a professional camera or anything ! Makes everything
easy! Hope they add the flashlight option to the camera though !'

By jireyjay07.
July 30, 2020
4 out of 5
'Recently more lag'

'I’ve been using varying bitrates, resolution, and keyframe settings, and have had 8-9 successful 90-min live-streams in OBS
(with multiple cameras and interface sound at a render delay of 3-10ms, with good results) \n\nThe last 3 streams, epoccam has had
only 2-3ms latency, my DSLRs are great, bu

By Shookarino (nickname taken?).
July 30, 2020
5 out of 5
'Major progress! Mature and Reliable'

'There was a major update in which the UI changes. This is huge progress and it’s been working great. Definitely recommending
this over any web cam, any day.'

By gunz2k.
July 27, 2020
5 out of 5
'Works well for me, full quality to zoom'

'The order is important, have to open both OBS on computer and the phone app, BEFORE connecting the phone. If you do the wrong
order you have to close the app on the phone, disconnect the phone, reopen the app and then reconnect. Sometimes it take a few
clicks of “reconnect to this device” in OB

By DID IT CHANGE.
July 25, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great support - USB connection is best - no laten

'We use 5 iPhones (all connected through usb with extenders) and it works great. It took some emails to get us there but customer
support is fantastic and our issues were related to horrendous internet speeds (less than 2 upload) but he helped us find optimal
settings to where we’re able to have t

By Hawaiian Pastor.
July 21, 2020
5 out of 5
'👍'

'Works seamlessly via USB; great quality too! The creator was also very helpful and patient with my setup questions'

By dara hirsch.
July 8, 2020
5 out of 5
'Life saver!'

'I’m pretty sure the bad reviews on this app were for a previous version, cause this thing works great for me. They have helpful
tools and resources to get you off the ground. Thanks for a great app for OBS.'

By Micah Dailey.
June 24, 2020
5 out of 5
'Fantastic, useful'

'This app is a must-have if you’re an artist like me who’s been pushed to doing all shows virtual/streaming because of current
events. The app makes OBS much more usable with very little expense. The camera settings are now quite configurable. As a nod to
whatever negative comments here in the

By soundanswer.
June 17, 2020
4 out of 5
'So far it’s working'

'Working in OBS without a hitch. Would be nice if this app could run in the background so I can still use my iPad to do other
things while still streaming. Solid so far for me though!'

By Jym N.
June 16, 2020
5 out of 5
'It Works Although a Bit Tricky to Setup'

'The app is reliable. Just needs to be turned on before connecting to the computer.'

By AlphaStunner.
June 16, 2020
5 out of 5
'Used to work.'

'Had not used in a while. Got in contact with tech support and they were able to guide me to have the app work again. Great buy.
Saves a lot of money since the phone cameras are so good nowadays.'

By Neill1986.
June 15, 2020
5 out of 5
'I had this running within minutes.'

'Follow the instructions. It can be tough to get iOS to play nice with Windows. I had quick success after reading. I know, it
hurts to read...\n\niPhone has such a nice camera compared to the most expensive webcams. Webcam industry is wayyyy behind. Apple
is not in regards to phone cameras. For $16,

By Ultrus.
June 13, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great Quality!'

'A HUGE improvement over my laptop camera. I got so much commends about how HD my camera was. Setup was simple.\n\nFor those who
want to use this app for zoom/Skype/team etc, you need the “iOS Camera Plugin” and “VirtualCam Plug-in” on top of your OBS
in order to work perfectly.\nHighly reco

By BBQSauce1234.
June 11, 2020
4 out of 5
'A learning experience'

'I’m editing my previous review. I had initially given this a lower rating. \n\nThis app promises a lot and I was excited to try
it, even at the high cost. At first I was disappointed because it wasn’t working right. Turns out it’s a little more
complicated than I was prepared for. \n\nI’m u

By Meekness Counts.
June 8, 2020
4 out of 5
'Works great, but there’s room for improvement.'

'I’d like to see a future update with more in depth settings. For example, having the option to always have the microphone
muted. I use a headset with another mic and I sometimes forget to mute the mic on the app. So there will be echo’s on stream.
Please update'

By PhishStyx420.
June 7, 2020
5 out of 5
'Phenomenal app, works flawlessly'

'I never wrote a review for an app before, but I’ve been looking for a solution for my “camera-less” and “mic-less” Mac
Mini for a while, and this app is perfect.\n\nSome people complained that there is lag or whatever over wifi, but thats just
because they didnt configure it properly: set

By luizberti.
June 5, 2020
5 out of 5
'One of the best apps ever!'

'I purchased this app about a week ago while trying to get an app to use my old iPhone as a camera for OBS while I stream on
twitch. After a little install and a few instructions this app was up and running. During these times where webcams are crazy over
priced this app is the go to if you are in n

By eMUlated_.
June 3, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great app and fast support'

'Powerful app with fast support team if you run into any issues.'

By epsteinla.
June 1, 2020
5 out of 5
'Easy Setup'

'Downloaded in the morning was streaming a couple hours later. Most of that was just messing with settings in OBS. Really easy
setup and does what it says it will connect your device’s camera to your laptop. Worked with both my iPhone 7 and my 2019 iPad,
at the same time, (yes you can connect more

By djluminous.
May 25, 2020
5 out of 5
'Awesome solution for iOS video'

'This app is great, especially because it offers hardwire connection via USB! There are other OBS solutions for iOS that use NDI
over Ethernet, but this can quickly lead to bandwidth problems and force you to sacrifice stream quality. (I personally use a
bunch of other many media protocols over Ethe

By streamer_dude.
May 25, 2020
5 out of 5
'It does work'

'Why are there reviews that say it doesn’t? It works with the plug in'

By reckonerv.
May 24, 2020
5 out of 5
'working on mac, windows, and linux!'

'the quality is superb... if you’re a streamer and you want a high quality camera, this is the best solution without having to
buy a webcam or a dslr camera...i have used it in mac and windows... the developer provides the source code for the plugin, do you
can literally compile it to work in linu

By homelessWTF.
May 21, 2020
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
Issues for stream

I hade downloaded it for dj stream, I have an iPhone 12 pro max and a hop laptop and I can not connect with the laptop, I have
downloaded the iTunes and it still does no recognize it, it does not appear in the laptop as a device

By djdifussond.
January 9, 2021
3 out of 5
Fix the audio settings!

Bought a new computer and couldn’t wait to try out streaming using my iPhone and OBS. Old laptop couldn’t handle it.

Several friends gathered for a Christmas party to play music and stream it for our regular audience. I spent several hours turning
our living room into a place for a quality soundin

By gracisus.
December 23, 2020
3 out of 5
Great app but,

I seem to be having a problem whenever I switch to wide angle mode....the entire thing just freezes only mode that works is dual
camera however I know my phone does have wide angle mode IPhone XS Max. Any help with this would be appreciated.

By Just A guy with info.
November 22, 2020
3 out of 5
iPhone 12 Support?

Having challenges on mine. Anyone else?

By Edward Aten.
October 29, 2020
3 out of 5
Was Working Great........At First

When I first downloaded this app, it worked great. I didn’t want to buy a camera for OBS yet, so I found this app after tons of
research. There was no lagging and the picture was great. Maybe 2 weeks ago, my live videos started sounding off. The voices were
lagging and you could hear several pops, l

By adh2814.
October 10, 2020
3 out of 5
Need better directions for NDI connection

I’ve scoured the web on help and resources on connecting my iPhone using this app to connect with OBS on my Windows 10. I have
downloaded OBS v25.0.8 and this app v3.0.3 and the NDI plug in v9.0. I still can’t find my phone as the source under NDI in the
studio. I made sure that I’m on the same n

By Fshnslv.
September 18, 2020
3 out of 5
Save your money and buy a webcam.

It works as described but for the price there shouldn't be nearly this many bugs. Ive ran into OBS crashing when the iOS app is
closed out and OBS not launching if iPhone is plugged in.

By studio bo.
July 13, 2020
3 out of 5
Latency

Easy to interface with OBS, but seems to have some high latency. Curious if others are experiencing this as well?

By Needafuxkingnickname.
July 6, 2020
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total