Reviews & Ratings

Positive
96%
critic
4%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of Carrier Battles 4 Guadalcanal by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of Carrier Battles 4 Guadalcanal written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

Positive reviews

Showing 1-46 of 60 reviews (positive). Show all reviews
5 out of 5
Outstanding War Game

This is an accessible old school war game with a good mid level of strategy. It really captures the tension and drama of these
battles as you balance the risk / reward of different approaches. For me this is a bargain at the price and the IAPS are worth the
additional investment. Unlike a lot of the

By PJPJ7686.
May 22, 2021
5 out of 5
Great Game!

I grew up playing the classic hex/counter games covering the Pacific War like “Carrier” from VG and am really impressed with
this game.

I’ve had it for a while and the Developer continues making improvements, adding new content/scenarios/options and listening to
player feedback.

5-stars!

By travcrouse.
April 21, 2021
5 out of 5
Great Game

Has constant support and is continually improving. Game also plays fine without the DLCs, its a complete game even without them,
but they’re affordable and provide further replay-ability. Is quite easy to play but is a really detailed depiction of carrier
warfare

By Clive111111.
January 29, 2021
5 out of 5
Love the game

This game is AWSOME!!!! Hours of fun spent playing this game I bought everything 10/10! A recommendation you could possibly add is
sandbox mode I’ve seen it in a ton of other war games it would be very nice to see that option in this game

By jimmybiscuit82.
December 26, 2020
4 out of 5
Had a crash bug, fixed in 1 day

Game was rock solid then an update introduced a crash bug. Reported and fixed in one day.

Great replay potential, huge what ifs. More!

By umbrellaumbrella.
September 22, 2020
4 out of 5
Goodish

Good game but incredibly frustrating when it does not work

By hi by see you later.
September 18, 2020
5 out of 5
'Actually Amazing'

'I have downloaded and deleted so many games. This game WILL NOT join the others in the trash. It is very entertaining to play.
The decisions you have to make are thrilling. Any person who is interested in WW2 pacific fighting will love this game. Do
yourself a favor and get it.'

By ww2dude.
September 10, 2020
5 out of 5
'This is my favorite iOS game'

'Endless replayability. So much more than he’d and counter nostalgia—but it’s got that too!'

By JT in PDX.
September 1, 2020
5 out of 5
'Tora Tora Tora!'

'Been playing games of all types for over 50 years now. Always on the prowl for a game that captures the drama of the Carrier
Battles in the Pacific 1941-1943. Then one day I find this magnificent simulation. Has all the chrome and detailed mechanics a
gamer could ask for but is exceedingly playabl

By Blacksox.
June 29, 2020
5 out of 5
'Phenomenal war game'

'Like others have mentioned, this reminds me of the old AH Flattop game I used to play in the 80s. I’ve played this game
constantly for the last four months being either the US or IJN. What’s great is that you can play the same scenario multiple
times and end with vastly different results every

By joelusaf.
June 27, 2020
5 out of 5
'If you like strategy, get this game'

'This game is one of the best strategy games on iPad. It is highly realistic and the developer listens to feedback. If you tell
them an issue, they will fix it or help you figure out what to do. the gameplay is exciting and rewards you for using clever
strategies. Furthermore, the missions never get

By DasBoot2099.
May 5, 2020
5 out of 5
'Perfect Flattop game App'

'I loved playing Flattop game from Avalon Hill back in the mid 80s\n\nThe only issue was that your opponent had to see your
onboard search planes in order to be able to reveal the ships you found.\n\nThe best solution was and Admin game with three
different boards, where only the game master would s

By Fire jet.
February 18, 2020
5 out of 5
'My favorite game to play'

'Carrier battles 4: Guadalcanal is definitely one of the best games that I have played during ever since I got into history. The
Ships involved and their positions during the beginning is on point and the aircraft used are accurate. The scenarios are really
fun to mess around with (albeit at a price

By TheTankGeneral.
December 10, 2019
5 out of 5
'Continues to deliver'

'CB4G continues to improve its player experience from its already impressive standing. This is certainly a game any 20th century
naval warfare enthusiast will enjoy, and new updates further refine the playing experience above and beyond anything else on the
market. Without a doubt the best game on t

By Gfhgjdjejdh.
October 23, 2019
5 out of 5
'Great adaptation of hex based war game'

'I’ve always thought that hex based war games would translate very well to computers and iPads as it can automate much of the
tedious calculating. There are relatively few, well done games like this on iOS. Carrier Battles 4 Guadalcanal is definitely one
of them. It does a great job of capturing

By Jimery.
August 23, 2019
5 out of 5
'Carrier Battles 4 Guadalcanal'

'How do you access the screen to buy the Pack of add-on’s?'

By wlpii.
July 3, 2019
5 out of 5
'Reviews criticizing IAP'

'Excellent game, well worth the money, and I will buy any in app purchase as they are released. I love games that continue to grow
and add fresh experiences through new scenarios! Developer is engaged with user base and any defects are quickly resolved. \n\nI
take exception to players that criticize

By Robert5180.
June 17, 2019
5 out of 5
'Amazing Game, hard to play but that’s the fun,

'To start off, like many other people, this is a hidden gem of the app store. I do not use this term lightly. It’s heavily
accurate down to the number of elevators on the aircraft carriers (awesome detail btw). \nBut the main problem is the community,
not that they’re bad or mean, but theres lit

By Shokaku-class Carrier.
June 12, 2019
5 out of 5
'Amazing high quality old-school wargame'

'This is not just an excellent wargame for iOS. It compares very favorably with the absolute best wargames ever made on the
subject (Pacific War WW2). The author wisely chose the only real “competitive” period of the war (where both sides had a
chance of winning). The game mechanics produce hist

By Kondor999.
June 10, 2019
5 out of 5
'Ohhh Myyyyy Goshhh❣️'

'Update: Response to developer. There’s too many concerning 1 & 2 star reviews about the Kickstarter project (not so much the
app). So I deleted that app. I do need to send you an email as IAP seem to be missing a lot. I see only the four original sim add
ons. Japan and US AI & alternatives and mu

By Eriptron.
June 5, 2019
5 out of 5
'Great game'

'I play every day. First class.'

By jwc1951.
March 27, 2019
4 out of 5
'Carrier Battles for Guadalcanal'

'I can’t turn on the options in the Coral Sea scenario? Have they been disabled?'

By Sagrev 2160.
February 26, 2019
5 out of 5
'Great game'

'This is just like the game Flat Top, I use to play when I was younger. I am waiting for the 2v2 player version. Keep up the
awesome job with this game.\n\nDec 7, 2018\nThere seems to be some confusion, the website said we had until 5:30pm, Dec 7 to make
our purchase. Guess it was wrong 😂...

By Beer Man 66.
December 7, 2018
5 out of 5
'Makes Carrier Based naval warfare interesting'

'Fun game to play. I am a ww2 buff, but pacific theatre Carrier supremacy seemed obscure to me, both tactically and strategically.
This game is a ton of fun, and has opened my curiosity up to this part of history, which I will dive into deeper. This game is
fun, and it will make me smarter. Thank yo

By Cyfi_.
November 17, 2018
5 out of 5
'The Absolute Best Hex & Counter Wargame'

'This game has everything you could ask for. Numerous scenarios, great AI, and asynchronous multiplayer. The game itself does an
awesome job of simulating WWII carrier battles. This app will probably never leave my iPad.'

By CoreyB1234.
October 1, 2018
4 out of 5
'A very good, old school board game'

'This game very much follows the old military, hex and turn based formula. I played these extensively in the late 70s early 80s so
I very much like the style. It reminds me of a game called “Flat Top” if I remember correctly. It plays in the same theatre
and time span, dealing exclusively with n

By Mkersey.
September 4, 2018
5 out of 5
'Love this game'

'Just got the iPhone version and notice a problem when sending out search planes. You can not adjust the search radius, because
the window only displays partial information. I am sure this will be fixed, as this developer has been on the ball with steady
updates.\n\nProblem corrected, as I was very

By Bigdaddy87.
July 8, 2018
5 out of 5
'Carrier Battles 4 Guadalcanal'

'Keeper. Probably forever.\n\nThis is an outstanding strategy game that is well worth the time to master. In my youth, I enjoyed
reading all of the historical accounts of WWII in the Pacific theatre and this game has brought that back to life for me. Every
setback suffered in gameplay has been a

By Ray_O..
July 8, 2018
5 out of 5
'What is amazing about this game'

'This game is constantly evolving new features and new scenarios are being released on a regular basis. Bugs when the occur are
fixed almost as soon as they are reported. This is a superb WWII Naval battle game. The evolving nature means that the game
continues to require a evolving approach to

By mpm227.
June 16, 2018
5 out of 5
'Still being updated!'

'I have reviewed this game 3 times. It is still one of the best strategy war-games on IOS, if not the best. The developer STILL
updates regularly. A must have for strategy ww2 fans. Bravo Msr Jarnot.'

By Sailorgiff.
March 27, 2018
5 out of 5
'Best Carrier Strategy Game For The iPad'

'For those of you who played the old board game Carrier will absolutely love this game. And for those of you who are new to turn
base war games, you\'re in for a treat!\n\nCarrier Battles has taken an old school WWII carrier battle board game called
\"Carriers\" and has given it a modern update. And

By Awcowa.
November 9, 2017
5 out of 5
'Modern Day Old School War Board Game...WOW!'

'If you played any old school Avalon Hill, Victory Point or SPI games...especially Carrier, then you will love this. I\'ve got
hours of game play in and am loving it. The tutorials are top notch. Replay ability through the roof and I have yet to buy the in
app purchases...but I shall. WOW!'

By Armedmedic.
October 16, 2017
5 out of 5
'Terrific naval wargame'

'Captures the tension and uncertainty of carrier warfare - searching for the enemy, making decisions about fueling, and armament
load-outs for the aircraft. Reminiscent of classic PC wargames like SSG’s “Carriers at War” and SSI’s “Carrier
Strike” and boardgames like “Flat Top.”'

By squeezil1.
October 16, 2017
5 out of 5
'Finally, A Great Wargame on Mobile'

'If you liked Flattop Midway, you’ll love this. Way better visuals than FT. Easy to play, hard to master. It’s easy to move
ships and planes around, but to be successful you need to dig deeper, and this game has lots of depth, which is where your ships
will be if you don’t study the differe

By BullSeye56.
October 12, 2017
5 out of 5
'Not Easy'

'This game is one of the hardest game to figure out how to play.\n\nGive you 5 stars for getting back to me. I will try
playing the tutorials again maybe I will have better luck....'

By Qdth.
October 11, 2017
5 out of 5
'Best Naval Game Ever'

'There are so many WWII tank and infantry games but this is truly unique. Plus, the game is so incredibly historically accurate. I
loved this game before but the recent update somehow made that love stronger. Hidden gem.'

By jhanley96.
October 11, 2017
4 out of 5
'Midway'

'I love this game, as I have previously said. I look forward to the multiplayer coming out in a few months, along with new
scenarios, etc. I have a couple of suggestions for scenarios: Philippine Sea, Leyte Gulf, and Ten-Go. Anyway, back to the subject.
In the Midway scenario, there is extremely lim

By I am dudusjiskssk.
June 12, 2017
5 out of 5
'Outstanding'

'Nothing else like it! Just like the old SPI game Carrier Strike! Love it! Please more scenarios!'

By cjprjpdaddy.
April 29, 2017
5 out of 5
'Carrier War'

'A superb turn based strategy and tactical carrier game that reminds me of Flattop and the Carrier board games of long ago. The
tutorials are wonderful and easily help you learn and master the game. Has to be the best app that I have.'

By GeneralEsor.
February 24, 2017
5 out of 5
'Fantastic'

'Both as a game and as a game interpreted for the \'Pad. Not hard to pick up, especially if you played paper war games. It\'s a
must-have for the hard core grognard.'

By Ishmael2014.
November 16, 2016
5 out of 5
'Exceptional !!'

'A superb example of the types of war-games I\'ve played at the Air Command and Staff College and the Armed Forces Staff
College.\n\nAn exceptional game for anyone who wants to play (and think) at the operational level of warfare.\n\nThanks to the
developers for this jewel of an app.'

By BHI Tai Chi.
November 3, 2016
5 out of 5
'Splendid wargame'

'Really feels like a good board wargame, but the critical importance of searching and detection in carrier battles make it the
perfect subject to benefit from an electronic treatment. It may seem bewilderingly complex to someone with no knowledge of
wargames, but it has a good tutorial system to te

By Orcalaw.
October 25, 2016
5 out of 5
'Excellent naval combat wargame'

'I\'ve played most of the carrier warfare boardgames over the years, and this ranks up there with the best of them. Well thought
out interface, simple but evocative graphics and solid play by the Japanese AI. \n\nPlaying on on iPad Pro with latest iOS and I
haven\'t had any crashes or hangups.\n\nCo

By davhoe.
September 2, 2016
5 out of 5
'Very engaging game'

'Carrier battles is a very engaging \"just one more turn\" kind of game that does an excellent job of simulating WW 2 carrier
battles in the Pacific theater. It\'s not for the casual gamer, but rather for WW 2 buffs who already know some of the background
history of the Pacific theater, and would l

By BDK45.
June 1, 2016
5 out of 5
'Good implementation on a tough gaming subject'

'I was overjoyed to find this title. This subject area was one of my favorite in the boardgaming arena. The challenge was
dealing with tons of minutae, which this games takes care of for you. This game is not for everyone, but if you enjoy a
thoughtful WWII strategy game, this one is pretty goo

By fcoolman.
May 27, 2016
5 out of 5
'A Great Game!'

'This game is all it claims to be and more. It\'s a serious model of the battles that actually happened, with the same ships and
planes that were actually there (well, a little variation in the Japanese ships and their locations), with the historical
capabilities of those ships and planes, with VERY

By Phil Gaskill.
May 13, 2016

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total