Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

Chess Openings Pro

by Tom Ashmore
Positive
90%
critic
10%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of Chess Openings Pro by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of Chess Openings Pro written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for Chess Openings Pro

Reviews: 36Avg. Rating: 9/10

Positive reviews

4 out of 5
'Good app, flakey navigation'

'Like the app overall but navigation back and forth through a line doesn’t work well. It’s frustrating trying to push that
tiny move font to get the position to reset. Simple nav buttons with a “go to beginning / go to end” would be most welcome.
I’m not sure if it’s my thick fingers or

By Diatomica.
August 25, 2020
5 out of 5
'So helpful'

'I spent a fortune on private lessons many years ago and really didn’t get much out of it, not to mention the many books and
other programs (remember Fritz, ... “sneaky, sneaky, sneaky”.. lol). This has really helped me become a better player. I
strongly recommend!'

By A. Knox.
August 17, 2020
5 out of 5
'iPhone Experience -Near Perfect'

'Whether I’m using my iPad, YouTube, or a book, when I’m studying a chess Opening it helps to be able to step through the
parent and basic variations quickly and systematically. Having a straightforward tool like thisin the palm of your hand
(especially on iPhone) is invaluable. \nAdd the abilit

By CA Casper.
July 25, 2020
5 out of 5
'Very intuitive'

'Great opening trainer. Does not force you to learn a specific variation but rather allows you to see openings and variations and
associated stats. Easy to navigate back and forth. Additional resources are needed to understand openings but this is an excellent
practice tool.'

By _NM_.
June 18, 2020
4 out of 5
'Cool app but does not rotate'

'It would be much more convenient if the app rotated for ipads.'

By Llllap.
June 6, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great Chess App'

'This is a great way to study chess openings for a beginner. It’s probably an excellent resource for more advanced players too.'

By xdehjjj.
May 9, 2020
4 out of 5
'Great,!'

'Very helpful! Better than ever!'

By Neamul Neru.
April 22, 2020
5 out of 5
'Innovative way to learn chess openings'

'I especially enjoy the quiz option where it rates you based on the moves you make in the different openings add played by
thousands of better players than. Very raid learning this way'

By JayKarr.
April 20, 2020
4 out of 5
'Cool'

'Could you change the icon . It is horrible !!! Also the iPod view is messed up'

By habavonc.
October 12, 2019
4 out of 5
'Very helpful'

'I wish there were buttons to make moves with..other than that it’s a very helpful app!'

By Chuck812.
July 15, 2019
4 out of 5
'Good but quiz mode is really odd'

'Overall good but like 30-50% of the time in quiz mode it’ll say something to the effect of “what’s the most popular
move?” or “what’s the statistically best move?”, but then say the most popular/correct answer is incorrect.'

By Poirpoise.
June 20, 2019
5 out of 5
'Great for Openings'

'I think this is a great app. All the major openings are covered and has a chess engine for sidelines. Nicely done.'

By Ando07450.
February 13, 2019
4 out of 5
'Needs current support!'

'Great app! My favorite openings explorer app. But just wish we’d get new support for it!'

By PanicInMyAttic.
February 10, 2019
5 out of 5
'A very useful repertoire app'

'This is a simple and straightforward repertoire app done right! I am rated approximately USSF 2000 and I detest opening study!
This app makes entering and practicing your repertoire almost like a fun activity. If only I could add notes against each move,
this app would be perfect.'

By Bjkaria.
December 9, 2018
4 out of 5
'One little thing...'

'I love it, but on my iPad, the file letters are spread out to the left, misaligned and all outta wack for some reason. This just
an iPad thing? Otherwise, I really like it. My chess game needs all the help it can get.'

By MinimumFalcon.
November 23, 2018
5 out of 5
'Great App'

'Great application that provides comprehensive coverage of a very large number of openings plus an engine that computes best moves
at the end of each line. It is very easy to use and works terrific on the iphone. Highly recommended.'

By ManceRayder.
November 20, 2018
4 out of 5
'Excellent tool for chess learning'

'I use this app all the time and it delivers what it promises. If you are serious about chess, you will get your money’s worth
in the paid version.\n\nOne thing that would make for a better user experience would be some sort of buttons or gesture controls
to parse through moves. (The SmallFish iOS

By Cubigami.
July 27, 2018
5 out of 5
'Good app'

'This is good apps but it\'s perfectly if you put motor chess engine strong'

By amihicham.
June 18, 2018
5 out of 5
'Turned out to be a great purchase'

'No bugs, clean interface and you can do engine analysis too. It’s a perfect app for both experts and beginners to memorize
opening lines.'

By Neiio.
April 19, 2018
5 out of 5
'Perfect Chess Opening App'

'I really love this app. It offers extensive information on opening variations. It’s easy to use, especially when looking for a
particular opening or variation.'

By GoPokes4866.
November 23, 2017
4 out of 5
'Excellent trainer and teacher.'

'Let’s you learn the best variations for your own playing style. Excellent app.'

By Artie412.
November 21, 2017
5 out of 5
'Best Chess App Yet!'

'The best chess app ever. I could use an update but still I LOVE IT'

By ChessMaster06.
September 13, 2017
4 out of 5
I hope you still intend to upgrade the design…

This is a very good app for learning chess openings. There is a very wide selection of variations also.

Mr. Ashmore, Kudos for your passion, love for chess AND for making this app. I’ve been very critical of this app in the past,
but now you’ve made it a VERY GOOD preliminary openings book app, an

By Free-thinker.
August 3, 2017
5 out of 5
FUN • HELPFUL • EASY TO USE

I am learning so much about openings in my chess games I have become addicted to this app. Well not quite addicted, but it can do
some serious exercises that are as specific or general I want to make them. This app is easy to master which then lets you choose
the opening that is important to you. Us

By CraiGGGN.
May 27, 2017
5 out of 5
Five Stars!

There are a few chess moves you absolutely need to know before controlling the center of the board throughout the game while
simultaneously anticipating your opponent's next move. This program shows exactly how to do that. Concentration is the key on what
is being said about these proven Chess Open

By HarleyNiteRider.
May 27, 2017
5 out of 5
Incredibly useful

How nice it is to have this app with me on my iPhone day or night wherever I go. It becomes so easy to research openings.

By HarryDem.
May 20, 2017
5 out of 5
Player

Best chess program. Seamless integration of the opening book with the quizzes. A great way to play through openings.

By Heydrude.
March 10, 2017
5 out of 5
Great app!

Very good app for opening training!

By Gaucho_97.
February 6, 2017
5 out of 5
Bad

I played the computer. If I promoted to a knight, it was mate. The program only let me promote to a queen.

By Richieslayer.
January 26, 2017
5 out of 5
Useful reference

In studying games I've played online, it identifies the opening within the first couple of moves. Accurate and helpful. Thanks to
the developers.

By Here-and-Now.
January 21, 2017
5 out of 5
Exactly what I wanted

Have just started learning openings and this is great!

By Faltryka.
January 18, 2017
5 out of 5
Exactly what I wanted

I was looking for a database of openings that I could easily study in spare moments. I have some books which talk about opening
theory and variations, these are interesting but I am not yet at that level. The most useful things I have found are videos from
the Saint Louis Chess Club and this app. Qu

By aranpura.
December 3, 2016
4 out of 5
Love the app

One of the only one out there that let you search and learn the openings, see win loss draw frequency, and test the your play
against the engine. Worth it!

By Bjacksizzle.
November 25, 2016
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
Will not allow London Opening move

Quiz mode doesn’t permit Bf4 opening for the London System

By JimPartain.
December 22, 2019
3 out of 5
I was hopeful

I just purchased this app, the rank and file notations are offset, which is really annoying! Please fix!,

By Briknblok.
January 25, 2019
3 out of 5
Letters

The letter on the bottom of the board are off and it annoys me

By OUEFOUEFOUEF.
December 8, 2018
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total