Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

Chess Sudoku

by Nick Carney
Positive
92%
critic
8%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of Chess Sudoku by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of Chess Sudoku written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for Chess Sudoku

Reviews: 30Avg. Rating: 9.2/10

Positive reviews

5 out of 5
Great Software and Top Notch Challenge

After discovering CTC from YouTube, its safe to say I knew this app would be worth the price. The mechanics of center and corner
notes, coloring, and multiple cell selection makes playing these intricate puzzles so much smoother. Not to brag but the easy
puzzles were a breeze, as they should be. The

By Adog1233.
November 25, 2020
5 out of 5
A must buy!

I would highly recommend this app for anyone who has ever liked sudoku. Personally I was very into sudoku many years ago but
admittedly got a tad bit bored of it. These puzzles offer a very fresh and interesting twist on classic sudoku puzzles that has
rekindled my interest in sudoku.

By Bones2424.
November 22, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great App'

'This is a fantastic app. The puzzles are good, and train you to work your way up to the hardest ones. The variants add a
tremendous amount of fun. There are three different types of puzzles, queen restriction, knight restriction, and king restriction.
The solving interface is also fantastic. I high

By SomeNickname42.
August 15, 2020
5 out of 5
'Amazing App (and Amazing Channel)'

'This app is amazing. The rules are interesting. The puzzles are engaging. The creators are awesome. I’ve got hours of fun out
of this, and for $5, it’s easily worth it. \n\nIf I had any feedback, it would be that I’d love more puzzles in the current
categories, especially more difficult ones.

By Asteroidfor2020.
July 13, 2020
4 out of 5
'Comment on hints'

'I tried Queen sudoku today and for games 2 and 3 Queen rules do not seem to be followed in the final solution.'

By V T R.
July 3, 2020
5 out of 5
'Perfect'

'This app works so well, it is really smooth compare to other sudoku apps. I really like it. The variant chess sudoku is my
favorite. The only thing I wish was different is the corner notation for the 5 cause they go to the middle which can be confusing,
but this is really nitpicking. Great app!!'

By Loupdovic.
July 3, 2020
5 out of 5
'Queen?'

'Love the app, but the first Queen puzzle seems to be just plain old sudoku'

By LouKReviews97.
July 2, 2020
5 out of 5
'Knights version is my fave of all your apps'

'I have all of your apps and love them! Thank you Mark and Simon!'

By Scarlet3121.
July 2, 2020
5 out of 5
'Love the app but....'

'The queen sudoku has errors forcing you to break the queen restraint.'

By Mattress Swayze.
July 2, 2020
5 out of 5
'iPad App'

'Previously left a 4 star review due to no Landscape mode on IPad up, and it appears that has been updated along with addition of
Queen Sudoku. A+ guys, thanks!'

By twhp17.
July 2, 2020
5 out of 5
'I enjoy this immensely'

'If you’re a fan of sudoku mixed with other logical constraints, this app will given you many tens of hours of fun.'

By TheMonkeyestJoe.
June 21, 2020
4 out of 5
'I want more!'

'When can we expect new puzzles?'

By Tomcringle.
June 15, 2020
5 out of 5
'Mind bending puzzles with some fun logic!'

'Knight and King sudoku offer new and interesting logic to the classic puzzle. Regardless if you are a beginner or have been doing
puzzles for years, these puzzles will keep you entertained for hours. I can’t wait to see what else they release! Let’s get
cracking!'

By DylanJuliusRoss.
June 7, 2020
5 out of 5
'Check out their YouTube channel!'

'Love the game(s). If you haven’t, check out their YouTube channel. Thanks Simon and Mark'

By Lancetbj.
June 5, 2020
5 out of 5
'Excellent app'

'I\'m not a huge sudoku fan as I find them quite tedious, and I\'ve probably only done easy sudokus in newspapers. However, I got
inspired to try out this app after watching the YouTube channel. \nTo my surprise, I tried and successfully completed all the
sudokus in the King mode without too much di

By Anand111.
May 31, 2020
5 out of 5
'great puzzles & hints'

'really nice puzzles! the hints especially are very helpful in teaching — I do feel like I’m getting better over time/learning
the tricks!'

By elliegoldgar.
May 25, 2020
5 out of 5
'Phenomenal App'

'Great interface, far better than free sudoku apps. And the hand set puzzles are quite nice. Really like the chess constraint as
well. \n\nThese would definitely be over my head if I hadn’t watched your channel a few times, but probably not too many
beginners would pay 5 dollars for an app.'

By Dr. Stange.
May 20, 2020
5 out of 5
'Such a good app!'

'This app is so much better than any other free sudoku app on the App Store. I was hesitant to buy it, but being a unique Chess
variant sudoku and everything about the app being better, it’s definitely worth the money.\n\nSome of the best things about the
app are the different ways to note blocks

By LIk3Aball3r.
May 13, 2020
4 out of 5
'All ready pretty good, can be even better'

'The 5\'s are the same for both notations making it kinda awkward.\n\nSelecting specific tiles can be awkward when you can only
select tiles that are connected. A possible fix would be a way to highlight and lift your finger. A possible toggle mechanism
maybe. \n\nNotation is not beginner friendly a

By OlimpioChris.
May 11, 2020
4 out of 5
'Pretty nice.'

'My critiques would be; \n\nThe number buttons are too small. It is awful when it enters the wrong digit and shows red, feels bad.
My phone certainly isn’t the smallest supported model even. Could easily double the size of them by using staggered rows.
\n\nThe entry modes weren’t really clear, a

By jwadamson.
March 30, 2020
5 out of 5
'Cracking the cryptic Rocks!'

'I love all of their apps. Thanks for getting me back into sudoku and turning me on to chess sudoku. \n\nPlease do a thermo sudoku
soon!'

By Cafe Americain.
March 6, 2020
5 out of 5
'Worth'

'I got this app despite seeing lots of free sudoku apps on the App Store because I’m a fan of the Cracking the Cryptic team and
wanted to support them, but in fact I believe it’s more well-designed than any other. I love it'

By Downwithpazzo.
March 5, 2020
5 out of 5
'Super fun puzzles'

'Cracking the cryptic have done something great here. They deserve all the support for what they’ve accomplished. Keep it up
guys!'

By NiNjAnArWhAl.
March 4, 2020
4 out of 5
'Wonderful app, but buttons are strangely placed'

'I’ve never been a huge sudoku fan on a basic premise, as they all just felt basic. After watching the Cracking the Cryptic
YouTube channel, I got this app. This app, as well as their channel, took a twist that is new to me. The app is very well done,
the puzzles varying in difficulty. Only issue

By awesomechild3398.
March 4, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great Puzzles'

'Cracking the Cryptic does it again!'

By pzzles.
March 3, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great Puzzles, Great Team'

'I’ve loved their YouTube channel, and their puzzles, and these don’t disappoint. A few minor UI issues with the app, but
they mostly don’t impact gameplay. It can sometimes be hard to read the settings/menus with transparent backgrounds, and the
lack of a header to whatever menu you’re on

By dado3212.
March 3, 2020
4 out of 5
'Great, but poor button optimization'

'Cracking the Cryptic are one of the premiere puzzlers and these puzzles meet expectations.\n\nMy one complaint is that button
placement and size is not optimized based on how frequently you use them. The number buttons are the smallest and the farthest
from the puzzle, meanwhile, buttons like delet

By FoamInator.
March 3, 2020
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
Multiple solutions

Puzzles number 30
In the knight sudoku has 2 solutions.

By Flyingjudas.
December 25, 2020
3 out of 5
Queen’s move errors

Several other reviews have stated it already, but the puzzles don’t seem to follow the queen’s move restrictions very well.
One review listed a few and the very first one had multiple contradictions. I love the app but the devs should probably take a
look at this.

By Derpy13.
November 30, 2020
3 out of 5
Very Frustrating Buttons

I got this app because I play on the web version all the time and wanted one for my phone rather than just my computer. The user
interface on the app is very frustrating. It’s virtually impossible to toggle between highlighting colors unless you hit them
just right. Buttons are too small and confusi

By Sdog99.
June 23, 2020
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total