Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

Cinescope

by Poster Child Pictures Inc.
Positive
88%
critic
12%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of Cinescope by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of Cinescope written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for Cinescope

Reviews: 34Avg. Rating: 8.8/10

Positive reviews

4 out of 5
'No guiding lines'

'hard to maintain perfect horizon line with it.... cuz app doesnt have any 3x3 guides , otherwise its a good app'

By alizap1991.
June 8, 2020
4 out of 5
'Weird bug'

'Patch coming soon to fix odd stretching of images when formatting? I’ve upgraded to lastest iOS; deleted and re installed app
and other solutions but nothing solves issue. Please fix'

By Streching Bad.
October 21, 2019
5 out of 5
'Great app!'

'Fun to image the world in different aspect ratios. Great for explaining to non-camera folks what aspect ratio is.'

By abbylinne.
March 12, 2019
5 out of 5
'This is a great app'

'This app is great and the upgrades in the new version make it even better. I am a cinematographer and find it very helpful to
photo storyboard and weigh the pros and cons of aspect ratios with a director.'

By BrianEdw.
March 12, 2019
5 out of 5
'This video producer loves it'

'It’s a great app for point and shoot moments for people who want to throw a little extra flavor on the video or picture. It’s
not a full on camera app. There are plenty of apps for that. This is for the people who want to choose the aspect ratio for their
memories and maybe toss in a few other

By Dad and daughters.
March 4, 2019
5 out of 5
'Finally a way to take pics using the whole phone

'I was looking and hoping for an app like this when Rachel Morrison announced it last year. I’ve been using it for months and
it’s really great. I was hoping they would update it to make it easier to adjust exposure and looks like they have. THANK YOU
FOR MAKING THIS! I used to use the FB Messen

By veronicamiles.
March 4, 2019
5 out of 5
'Thank you!'

'Thank you for the long-awaited update, guys! It’s looking great. I’ve had CineScope on my home screen for a long time and
have used it often. The increase in video resolution, options for RAW photos and slow motion, frame rates, etc.. these are all
very welcome upgrades. One question: is it pos

By lhommesansnom.
March 2, 2019
5 out of 5
'The best camera for different aspect ratios'

'This 2.0 update brought every single thing I would want. I can enter custom aspect ratios and adjust by typing in what I want, I
can shoot in whatever frame rate and resolution I want, the UI is still excellent. I am happy to have waited this long for this
update.\n\nIt may not have the powerful ma

By ScrapperAlex.
March 2, 2019
4 out of 5
'1080p?'

'I am absolutely in love with the app and how it allows you to create professional looking narratives, though I am running into a
problem when recording: I am only able to shoot in 720p and you can imagine the frustration I (and I assume many others) are
facing. You have mentioned that you are worki

By L. Houser.
March 12, 2018
4 out of 5
'Needs Updates'

'This is an incredible app. I truly utilize, and take advantage of this app in all it’s capabilities, however, there are some
updates that are long overdue. I’m aware they’re working on a 2.0 Version, which hopefully will include the addition of manual
controls. Having the ability to control t

By MattMacedo.
December 30, 2017
5 out of 5
'I Love This App!'

'No I\'m not the apps developer or anything trying to trick you haha\nI actually am a person who uses this app and I Love
It\nIt\'s awesome for making Short Films And Youtube Videos! I Love It!'

By Eddyfuntime.
February 11, 2016
5 out of 5
'Love it!'

'This is a great app! and the updates are superb. Being able to shoot in a wide variety of aspect ratios with my phone and having
manual focus is awesome, it makes me want to shoot a short film with my iPhone :)'

By Gabe Redder.
February 10, 2016
5 out of 5
'Great app for the up and coming cinematographer'

'I\'m glad they fixed the sound, it\'s like we can now film actual movies with an aspect ratio without having to do it in post
production! Keep up the good work, I always use the custom feature to make 1.43 (IMAX) pictures or videos!'

By Nick Sowmick.
July 8, 2015
4 out of 5
'Wish they fixed sound earlier'

'I\'m expecting Apple to input the aspect ratio feature soon so I\'m a little disappointed this app hasn\'t been as responsive as
I would\'ve liked. I didn\'t know the no sound issue was a bug, I figured the how the app is! Bummed because I could\'ve had so
much more footage documented by now. Ah we

By Zboy919191.
July 1, 2015
5 out of 5
'Great app!'

'Highly recommended! Everything is better in widescreen!'

By Jfiii ska.
October 6, 2014
5 out of 5
'Finally'

'An app designed by a cinematographer FOR cinematographers. This is the exact type of app that will not only take great native
photos--it will also streamline communication on set. Creatives use their iPhones for just about every step of the production
process. Now we add finding/framing shots to th

By Justonefilm.
July 30, 2014
5 out of 5
'Incredible'

'Absolutely beautiful app and simple to use. Love it.'

By Cinema Samuel.
June 5, 2014
5 out of 5
'Straight forward approach to cinema aspect compos

'Before to get a widescreen scope aspect or even 16x9 shot I would have to crop my iPhone pics with a different app after
shooting. CineScope allows me to compose specifically for those Aspects (1.85, 2.39, 1.78) It\'s fast and straight forward and a
much better approach to composing your shots. Sin

By Alejo678.
June 5, 2014
5 out of 5
'Awesome'

'Works great for any application'

By Jeremiah korfe.
June 5, 2014
5 out of 5
'Finally...'

'This app is so awesome. I’m constantly using my phone as a research reference tool, and always dismayed not to have a choice of
aspect ratio…kind of what I’ve been waiting for. Plus I like the IG ready functionality. Fersure worth $3.99...'

By BeEasySh.
June 5, 2014
5 out of 5
'Fantastic and easy to use'

'The iPhone and its associated apps have become indispensable tools for today\'s Cinematographer. While there are a few
viewfinder type apps out there, none of them are as simple and efficient to use, and the point of these apps is to make our work
simpler and faster. I just used this app on a loc

By JayCroDoP.
June 1, 2014
5 out of 5
'Great product'

'Absolutely love. Great simple interface. Finally I can post pictures of my kid and the food I eat in whatever aspect ratio I
want!'

By Josephwhitedp.
June 1, 2014
5 out of 5
'Just right.'

'Finally : something that is simple, efficient and user-friendly. \nFor location scout pictures (i.e. in quantities) no app was
ever adequate or able to simplify my workflow. This will.'

By Caroline Aragon.
May 31, 2014
5 out of 5
'Great!'

'Love this app! Allows for more versatility & creativity when taking photos. Easy to use & well worth the $3.99 price.'

By Christy mw.
May 31, 2014
5 out of 5
'Nailed it'

'Glad I can do this natively on my phone now! -JANDY'

By ANDJOE1.
May 30, 2014
5 out of 5
'CineScope'

'As a cinematographer, I\'m always looking for useful tools for scouting locations and prepping projects. Since discovering and
playing around with CineScope, I\'ve made it part of my tool kit. I love CineScope\'s simple and elegant UI, high resolution pics
and full range of aspect ratios -- all of

By Adam McDaid.
May 30, 2014
5 out of 5
'Great App!'

'Simple, easy to use and with great performance. A must have in any photographer’s arsenal.'

By a.a.brown.
May 30, 2014
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
Stabilization needs to be fixed

I wish you could change the ratio in the built in app but you can’t, so I use this app. It’s great except the stabilization is
trash. Please fix it and I will give it 5 stars...

By Z-Terris.
March 3, 2021
3 out of 5
No 4K 24p support

I like being able to shoot in 2.20:1 widescreen on my phone. The issue I have with this app is that I can’t shoot in 4K at 24fps
which my iPhone is capable of doing. So I have a choice of shooting in 1.78:1 in full 4K 24p or reduced quality at 30p. Hope
someday soon this app will allow full 4K 24p v

By Music and Film Fanatic.
May 22, 2018
3 out of 5
Import

It's a great app,but it would be nice if you could import videos as well.

By Dee Tisdale.
September 26, 2015
3 out of 5
potential..

being able to shoot 2:39:1 video could be awesome, but…not without sound. if that’s fixed, this becomes a 5-star app...

By fisherKing3k.
May 21, 2015
3 out of 5
.

I really enjoy this app.. but why is there no audio for videos? this made recording videos very frustrating because it would be a
lot better if there was audio to the videos

By Lux Vadakan.
January 1, 2015
3 out of 5
fix camera mode?

I would love to have the regular camera mode instead of video because the field of view is wider than the native video mode or a
upload from camera roll would be great. thanks

By Just+.
December 1, 2014
3 out of 5
NEEDS A FIX: Update

Also I have a few suggestions for the app:
-LED flash support
-Slo-mo (60,120 FPS) support
-Front Camera Support

Update:
The option to see photos and videos from camera roll has been updated because of a new iOS 8 update. What needs to be added is a
way to upload an existing video from camera roll

By dudetato.
September 28, 2014
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total