Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

CodeWords

by Misquamicut Technologies LLC
Positive
90%
critic
10%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of CodeWords by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of CodeWords written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for CodeWords

Reviews: 32Avg. Rating: 9/10

Positive reviews

5 out of 5
The remove ads portion doesn’t work

I want to remove the ads, but it doesn’t take me to the payment

By Jeff Miao.
January 23, 2021
5 out of 5
Great game to pick up briefly or really chow down

I’ve been playing for over six months. It’s been continually improving too! Everything you’d want in a code word game. I
decided to leave a review for the customer service I received, my game had a rare glitch that no one else was having, within a day
my account was back and I didn’t lose the games

By DeluxeFlame.
November 28, 2020
5 out of 5
Great

I love this game. I’m obsessed I wish more of my friends would download.

By ContentDomo.
November 16, 2020
4 out of 5
Very addicting

I love this game but I came write a review to point out a few things that would improve it.
1. Please consider using a wider variety of words. For some reason it seems the same words are used over and over.
2. Each time a play is successful you have the forced option to “post” it on social media o

By Bonnie Baer.
November 1, 2020
5 out of 5
'Fun but tough'

'Great way to stay connected to friends and family. Better when you’re playing with people who have similar background and/or
education as you.'

By tumblewind.
July 4, 2020
4 out of 5
'Absolutely amazing! Suggestion to improve'

'1) add a zero and infinity for advanced play. \n2) add this to android if you can so we can get more plays\n3) the app seems to
really lag out my iphone 10 if I play for more than 15 minutes. No other apps cause this problem\n4) I rarely see intentional
cheating, but if this game gets really popula

By CreativiTimothy.
June 10, 2020
4 out of 5
'Near clone of Codenames'

'I’ve gotten most of my close friends and family members hooked on this app. There is definitely a learning curve and a need to
explain (and even send screenshots of) the official Codenames rules to every player before the games are fair and competitive.
First criticism - the ability to go beyond

By DamonHillBand.
June 3, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great app! A few suggestions'

'This is an amazing app. Code Names the board game is one of my favorite new games and this app does a great job bringing it to
the app scene! \n\nHere are my two suggestions: \n\nOnce you’ve started a game you can’t end it unless you finish, which can
be kind of annoying if, at the end of the p

By Shauntennis789526.
May 22, 2020
4 out of 5
'Love the Quick Play'

'I wish people would play normal games quicker, but that’s part of the appeal - you can play at your own pace! The Quick Play is
a nice non-commital way to get your Code Names fix, but the back button doesn’t work properly when looking at the game history.
It kicks you back out to the main Quick

By RNL-9.
May 12, 2020
5 out of 5
'A Quarantine Lifesaver'

'This app is singlehandedly getting me through my Quarantine. I can’t get enough of it. Only suggestion is to find a way to pick
up the pace of gameplay - some people sit on games for days, and they don’t delete for 7 days. If someone doesn’t play for 24
hours, there should be an option for an

By Rem0605.
April 21, 2020
4 out of 5
'Great game'

'Great game! Needs to be a bit more user friendly between games and setting them up. Otherwise, the only problem is that more
people aren’t playing.'

By islandsr.
April 4, 2020
4 out of 5
'Fun game'

'This is the fun game and they did A good job for the most part. The only thing is there is no way to end a game when players you
don’t know stop playing. The games show up as active games even though no ones playing anymore.'

By Greg M MD.
March 26, 2020
4 out of 5
'Very good'

'Is there a way to get rid of ads? I don’t see a purchase option.'

By samwiseb.
March 23, 2020
5 out of 5
'HELP HELP HELP'

'We need more players....... come on people..... download and play with us...... looks like it will be fun if the pace picks
up...... and that will only happen with more players........'

By Itortto.
February 25, 2020
5 out of 5
'Addictive'

'This is the only phone game that is so addictive, I opt for notifications. This is so challenging and interesting, it never gets
boring.'

By Mtfwaltham.
January 30, 2020
5 out of 5
'So fun'

'CodeWords= best app for games with friends but also I like flying solo games with random other players! Those are more
challenging since you don’t have shared history but that makes it all the more interesting.\nQuick plays are nice too although
there you’ve also sometimes got people who are un

By Zynga something.
January 27, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great fun with family and friends!'

'For those who like CodeNames, this is the best mobile version of that game. You can play with family and friends that live far
away or you can all play together while sitting in the same room! You can also play games with total strangers. The daily guesser
is always fun and you get to see how you d

By Rbfid.
January 2, 2020
5 out of 5
'Pretty perfect ❤️'

'I love this app. It’s simple to use and does a great job explaining the game play. My only complaint is the 3 clue cap. Maybe
I’m missing the option to allow more than 3 and if so, someone please educate me! I’d also love an option to block players due
to people abusing the openness of the ga

By AlaskanHunk.
December 9, 2019
5 out of 5
'Challenging and fun'

'I like Code words a lot. It really makes you stretch your brain. Plus it’s different from other games. 😉'

By 3penny.
November 2, 2019
5 out of 5
'Really fun game'

'You can play this really fun game 2 min a day and be satisfied. It’s addictive but doesn’t take over your life. And it’s
great for friends trying to keep in touch over long distances.'

By Jim1000.
October 18, 2019
5 out of 5
'Totally recommend!!!'

'My friends and I have become addicted to this app. We usually have four or five games going at the same time. It’s so much fun
to keep me connected with good friends that live far away. Love hearing the recognizable ding telling me that it’s my turn.
Great game to stretch your brain and think o

By Mbm625.
September 25, 2019
5 out of 5
'Highly enjoyable'

'I don\'t have a lot of friends to play games but with this app, I can play whenever with people who actually want to play code
words'

By Kazz55.
August 26, 2019
5 out of 5
'game changer for us!'

'Codenames has been a sacred addition to our game nights. We’ve literally played several thousand hours in person, on tabletop
simulator, on a web app. It’s the perfect game. This is sick. This helps us stay connected when we can’t make physical
meetups. Thank you! Going to tell every single f

By Shawn486533.
August 5, 2019
5 out of 5
'Awesome!'

'Codewords is great - I love playing with friends and the design of the app!'

By hang10ear.
July 11, 2019
5 out of 5
'So fun!'

'Love this game! So fun to play with friends and can do it asynchronously, which is awesome. 💯 recommend 👌'

By gggaret.
June 25, 2019
5 out of 5
'Really fun'

'Supreme app. This game requires you to get three friends or family to play together. It’s an imaginative game that takes skill
to play well. I’ve really enjoyed this game.'

By poiboybf.
June 25, 2019
5 out of 5
'Awesome game to play with friends!'

'I love the board game Code Words, so I was excited to learn about this new app version. I have 6 games going right now with
various friends and family members and it’s a blast! It’s fun to be both the setter and the guesser (and it helps to be paired
with someone that knows you well). I’m def

By Swingline22.
June 24, 2019
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
Asks for reviews endlessly

So here is the review. Don’t do this anymore.

By b00tang.
May 26, 2020
3 out of 5
Good, but needs refinement

I love that this game is an app, but the current implementation has the absolute worst battery drain of any app I’ve used. As a
comparison, 2 hours of CodeWords used 2.5 times the battery of 3 hours of YouTube! No text-based game should ever even come close
to the strain of video streaming!

By bkloef.
March 24, 2020
3 out of 5
I can’t log back in

I was playing a game and after we finished we started another, but when I went back to the home screen, it logged me out and
wouldn’t let me play. I suggest not even needing to log in to anything in order to play

By toosoon321.
March 19, 2020
3 out of 5
Needs a privacy/delete game option

Love the game but don’t like not having the option to delete games. Just wanted to play with my group of friends that I added
not random people.

By aort45.
January 13, 2020
3 out of 5
Great game until iOS 13

Fun game with great online multiplayer options, however the bus with iOS 13 lock up, game chat that’s illegible in dark mode,
and odd UI crashes when switching between chat, game play, and home with multiple games open are frustrating and disincentivizing.

By clifster.
October 30, 2019
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total