Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

COVID Alert NY

by New York State Department of Health
Positive
96%
critic
4%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of COVID Alert NY by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of COVID Alert NY written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for COVID Alert NY

Reviews: 64Avg. Rating: 9.6/10

Positive reviews

5 out of 5
Great app for everyone

Only improvement would be to use it in vaccine distribution.

By Dan's man.
January 5, 2021
5 out of 5
Nicely Done

This is a very informative and useful app that becomes more and more effective as additional users are added. Just think how
quickly we could beat this thing if everyone in the US with a smartphone had something like this on their phones!

By CalmDown72.
December 9, 2020
5 out of 5
Covid app

Love getting the updated county numbers daily. Also blue tooth makes it privacy sensitive so if you get covid it tells your
contacts over 14 days. Would be great if everyone used it.

By cmc2022.
December 9, 2020
5 out of 5
Have been using for months - great app

The app is a great resource for info on the latest COVID numbers in New York and it’s so reassuring to know that I have a tool
in my pocket to help me stay safe whenever I leave my apartment. Highly recommend downloading it!

By Yanks242.
December 9, 2020
5 out of 5
Best place to check County by County stats

One of my favorite features is the ability to check county-by-county stats to see how my county is faring vs the state. It’s
easy to check daily test positivity, total daily confirmed cases and total # of people tested.

You can’t really get this info easily elsehwre without checking Twitter and

By RickyMtnez.
December 9, 2020
5 out of 5
Easy to read

My county has the most confusing Covid statistics. Their website is very concerned with how many people have recovered which is
GREAT but I’m also looking for the same metric everyone else uses, how many new cases a day. This app gives me this info. I hope
more people will download it so that we hav

By Starafish.
November 8, 2020
5 out of 5
An app to share! (Suggestion)

I love this app and this really needs to be spread around. I just wanted to suggest that on the NY Covid Data screen, it would be
fantastic if we could choose the time scale. I would like to be able to compare the numbers from November with September, however
the app limits you to a month of hindsig

By Xt3m.
November 8, 2020
4 out of 5
Simple to use - but terrible drain on battery.

I’m using an iPhone 12Pro and I’m seeing ~25% battery utilization.

By JMPNY.
October 27, 2020
5 out of 5
Excellent

This app is well designed and easy to use!

By aov201.
October 27, 2020
4 out of 5
The only down side I see

I Live in Poconos in PA and you would be surprised how many families from NY and NJ I see getting out of cars to go into the
stores in this area before hitting the hotels and ski or water park areas. Some have summer houses here and come up over the
summer and hunt in the winter. If these apps were

By Armygurl1997.
October 26, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great app'

'Easy to use. Interesting stats. A good way to contact trace!'

By ##anonymous##.
October 23, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great but wish it showed positivity by zip code t

'If it could show my zip code then i would see positivity rate at 8 percent not 1.8%. And maybe that would make more people more
preventative. Love this app.'

By SLC_Doc.
October 21, 2020
5 out of 5
'Five stars because we believe in science'

'Five stars because we believe in science . Do it the right way, NY!'

By Cswatyings.
October 13, 2020
5 out of 5
'The most important app a NYer can get'

'This app will provide a huge boost to our contact tracing program. In my experience it is incredibly easy to use, uses very
little battery, and does not encroach on privacy at all as it only uses Bluetooth. Huge fan.'

By techcat1.
October 12, 2020
5 out of 5
'Open source, respects privacy'

'This app doesn\'t track your location, lets you double check that it doesn\'t by viewing the source code, and even if you decide
to use the exposure logging tool (the most innovative part of the app), you won\'t share your identity or receive anyone else\'s
identity information; they\'ll/you\'ll ju

By Isabella, Destroyer Of Worlds.
October 10, 2020
5 out of 5
'Open source, respects privacy'

'This app doesn\'t track your location, lets you double check that it doesn\'t by viewing the source code, and even if you decide
to use the exposure logging tool (the most innovative part of the app), you won\'t share your identity or receive anyone else\'s
identity information; they\'ll/you\'ll ju

By Isabella, Destroyer Of Worlds.
October 10, 2020
5 out of 5
'Open source, respects privacy'

'This app doesn\'t track your location, lets you double check that it doesn\'t by viewing the source code, and even if you decide
to use the exposure logging tool (the most innovative part of the app), you won\'t share your identity or receive anyone else\'s
identity information; they\'ll/you\'ll ju

By Isabella, Destroyer Of Worlds.
October 10, 2020
5 out of 5
'Open source, respects privacy'

'This app doesn\'t track your location, lets you double check that it doesn\'t by viewing the source code, and even if you decide
to use the exposure logging tool (the most innovative part of the app), you won\'t share your identity or receive anyone else\'s
identity information; they\'ll/you\'ll ju

By Isabella, Destroyer Of Worlds.
October 10, 2020
5 out of 5
'the right thing to do'

'If you live in New York, please install this app and enable blue tooth so we can all have the most and best possible information
about our exposure. Be safe!'

By livrstrat.
October 9, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great App'

'Simple concept and easy to use. This will save lives and should be rolled out nationally ASAP.'

By Last.Dead.Mouse.
October 5, 2020
5 out of 5
'Easy while prioritizing privacy'

'Explains privacy controls in great detail and is a major asset in NY

By l2282891.
October 5, 2020
5 out of 5
'Just Moved to NYC'

'I just moved to NYC and was super scared about getting Covid. This app, if enough people download it, will be able to accurately
tell me if I

By TimAnderson27.
October 4, 2020
5 out of 5
'I

'I wear my mask ( over both my mouth AND nose) for you and now I downloaded this app for you too, and I hope you will return the
favor. \nThis will only work if we all download it and allow for alerts. Wouldn

By soyouwanttobecanadian.
October 4, 2020
5 out of 5
'So glad NYS finally has one!'

'I\'ve been waiting for this app for awhile. Much more convenient than Novid, one of the early apps.'

By Brooklyn mom of one and a cat.
October 4, 2020
5 out of 5
'Please just downlaod this'

'It literally takes 2 minutes and protects us all. Stay strong New York ?'

By Tpixelminer.
October 3, 2020
5 out of 5
'Safety with Privacy'

'What a wonderful and rare combination: like peanut butter and chocolate. Such a clever way they made it using digital tokens: you
don

By Mark Saf.
October 3, 2020
5 out of 5
'Please just downlaod this'

'It literally takes 2 minutes and protects us all. Stay strong New York ?'

By Tpixelminer.
October 3, 2020
5 out of 5
'Would love more info'

'App is simple and nice. Pleasant dashboard of county-level test data as well.\n\nWould love to see a running tally of other
phones it

By Jacob Ford.
October 3, 2020
5 out of 5
'Awesome idea'

'With the uptick I feel more secure having this app.'

By mamas148484848.
October 3, 2020
5 out of 5
'Please just downlaod this'

'It literally takes 2 minutes and protects us all. Stay strong New York ?'

By Tpixelminer.
October 3, 2020
5 out of 5
'Please just downlaod this'

'It literally takes 2 minutes and protects us all. Stay strong New York ?'

By Tpixelminer.
October 3, 2020
5 out of 5
'Easy set up & secure'

'It took a while, but it

By Alejandropf44.
October 3, 2020
5 out of 5
'Private and no fuss'

'This app does not collect location data. It is well thought-out and provides a good overview of relevant COVID-19 information in
addition to helping you know if you

By flipper1378.
October 2, 2020
5 out of 5
'??Good App'

'I hope everyone will download the app and help to stop the spread of Covid-19. It is a community health program and we all should
feel responsible about it. The way to get rid of the coronavirus problem is acting together and caring for each other.'

By AYSIN-NYC.
October 2, 2020
5 out of 5
'??Good App'

'I hope everyone will download the app and help to stop the spread of Covid-19. It is a community health program and we all should
feel responsible about it. The way to get rid of the coronavirus problem is acting together and caring for each other.'

By AYSIN-NYC.
October 2, 2020
5 out of 5
'Good app, uses the Exposure framework'

'It

By Logamos.
October 2, 2020
5 out of 5
'Will work

'This app does NOT use location tracking, only the Bluetooth technology that people use for wireless connections, such as wireless
earbuds. \n\nIt even works with devices having some other states

By Eugene Pagano.
October 2, 2020
5 out of 5
'It takes a community'

'If you

By Zimsboy.
October 2, 2020
5 out of 5
'Good App'

'Loving it so far. Best of all it doesn

By BrooklynsVeryOwn.
October 2, 2020
5 out of 5
'Seems like a good effort'

'I like that the app does not store data and is explicit about how it works. It

By wtbhikgdjjbhllm.
October 2, 2020
5 out of 5
'Simple and Safe'

'Very simple app that will make me feel a little safer. Doesn

By Tomak00.
October 2, 2020
5 out of 5
'COVID-19 is far from over'

'Granted, NY State I doing well, but this app will help keep our numbers low, unlike many other states in the nation.'

By Michael3259.
October 2, 2020
5 out of 5
'No reason not to.'

'Just do it, and pull your mask up off your chin.'

By treMD.
October 2, 2020
5 out of 5
'Covid alert app'

'This is a smart mover for us New Yorkers!!'

By JOYGB.
October 2, 2020
5 out of 5
'Thank you!'

'Thank you for getting this going. Hopefully everyone gets on board!'

By bunkrich.
October 2, 2020
5 out of 5
'Omg finally'

'Superficially seems fine, or better than expected for government software. Uses apple api thank goodness'

By steff782.
October 2, 2020
5 out of 5
'Impressed with this app'

'It took just a couple of minutes to set up the app and the directions and information was very nicely presented. Privacy is fully
protected. Nobody gets your name if you get an alert, so it

By QualityPlease.
October 2, 2020
5 out of 5
'So easy to use'

'Very easy to load and use. Gives me comfort to have this for me and others. \n\nThanks NY State!'

By VTMarin.
October 2, 2020
5 out of 5
'Thank you for respecting our privacy'

'Open source, privacy respecting software to help us move on.'

By Tim Van.
October 2, 2020
5 out of 5
'App looks good!'

'App looks good and I hope that it helps everyone.\n\nQuestion - any plans to adjust the app so it can be used by folks with older
devices that can

By Claudio914.
October 2, 2020
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
Vaccine?

Here is an idea. How about you reward the people that actually use this app and add information on how to schedule the vaccine?

By meecrob247.
January 14, 2021
3 out of 5
Uses a lot of battery

I had it installed but then noticed it was one of the primary reasons my battery was getting drained, so I uninstalled it. If I
went out more I’d keep it installed because it’s a good idea. But the battery use is a problem IMHO.

By jay5r.
December 12, 2020
3 out of 5
Seems ok

Seems simple enough to report symptoms without disclosing the personal stuff, but I think it would work better if more New Yorkers
were actually aware of it and used the app.

By hero2know.
December 4, 2020
3 out of 5
Battery drain

Had no battery issues until I downloaded this app. Please fix. Exposure Notifications at 58%.

By ed342.
October 7, 2020
3 out of 5
Better late than never + questions

Not clear on how the app will know if people around you are sick or were tested positive??? Is it self reporting in the app ?
Please comment. Thanks

By Human0000.
October 2, 2020
3 out of 5
Location settings does not work

I had to download and delete the app 3 times before it installed correctly on my iPhone. Kept getting message that I was not
connected to internet, when my WiFi strength was excellent.

By Miraleh.
October 1, 2020
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total