Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

Crying Suns

by Humble Bundle
Positive
96%
critic
4%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of Crying Suns by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of Crying Suns written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for Crying Suns

Reviews: 82Avg. Rating: 9.6/10

Positive reviews

5 out of 5
Great, but tiny text

The game is amazing, but I almost didn’t play it because of how small the text is on the phone. Please allow for an increase in
text size.

By Kimbobinator.
February 9, 2021
5 out of 5
Fantastic!!

I wasn’t sure if I would enjoy this, so I held off on purchasing it.
And then they gave it away on the EPIC store for free during XMAS. I fell in love, decided i had to have it on my phone as well,
wound up grabbing it here in the AppStore so I could play the game no matter where I am. And really, i

By syntheticvoid.
February 5, 2021
5 out of 5
Buy Now

This game deserves more praise. So well thought out, and sleek design/graphics. Honestly can’t speak highly enough about this
game. If you are a fan of FTL you will love this game.

By RyHav.
February 4, 2021
5 out of 5
FTL but totally different?

I had stumbled across this after getting crying suns for free on pc, hearing it was similar to FTL, one of my favorite games. It
has many influences of FTL, but it’s an entirely different game with a lot more depth and complexity. That is both good and bad.
FTL was so simple to learn but hard to mas

By BigD2k.
January 28, 2021
5 out of 5
FTL but better

It’s what FTL should’ve been. More in-depth story line and more strategy

By Necro1783.
January 20, 2021
5 out of 5
Great and honest

Like a good story and some real time strategy? If so then this game is for you. They did a fine job integrating it to mobile just
like their description said they did. The combat (exclusively spaceship battles) is interesting and fleshed out. You’re also
consistently presented with something new whe

By O Jules.
January 19, 2021
5 out of 5
希望能出个多人对战

如题,打多了的话容易腻,不过也是一款不错的策略游戏

By 玩家616648.
December 17, 2020
5 out of 5
Love this game!

Excellent game! Very engaging even though it’s Herbert-esk to its very core. That is what makes it so endearing I think. Worth
every penny and replay value is great as well.

By William1992.
December 9, 2020
4 out of 5
Please add controller support 🙏

Please add controller support 🙏

By trytobereasonable.
November 6, 2020
5 out of 5
This game was everything

I wanted real time strategy, I got it. I wanted resource management, yep! I wanted my decisions to have consequences, got that
too. Seriously be prepared to spend hours with this game.

By Johnnyhonaker.
November 5, 2020
5 out of 5
Great game

Loved the game, loved the story.

I played through on normal, and found it to be fairly mild. Only had a few deaths and a few really close battles. Anyway it was
perfect for me, if I wanted to sweat the whole way, I guess I could have tried the hard mode.

By Vicarelli will rise again.
November 2, 2020
5 out of 5
FTL meets an elaborate sci-fi novel.

This game is great. Highlights are the excellent soundtrack, the hex-based combat system, and a story that’s engaging and
especially elaborate for a strategy game. The advanced tactics update makes it even better. I own the game on steam, and I own
the game on iOS (playing the game on iPad Pro 12

By the_guardian_legend.
November 1, 2020
4 out of 5
Good

Enjoy the game. Challenging yet rewarding. After this most recent update however I have been experiencing game crashes and a reset
to the previous thing I accomplished.... sadly this has happened twice in “through the looking glass” on the acts final boss.
Please look into this....

By Thorbeza.
October 31, 2020
5 out of 5
'Fantastic!!!'

'I bought this to have something new to play while I was at home on vacation, and man, oh man.....I’ve had this game not even
two days, and I’ve dropped HOURS into it. I’m not always a big fan of this genre of game (rouge-lites), but the reviews online
kept telling me that I needed to give it

By railsplit3r.
October 20, 2020
5 out of 5
'Text'

'If only the text were not so small. Great game!'

By Hoodaspank.
October 18, 2020
5 out of 5
'Best game'

'If you like pixel games and strategy games then this is best game. I love this I played this nonstop the art style is great the
game play is great and this is one of the best games I have found in a while. Keep it up ??'

By .Random. .name..
October 13, 2020
5 out of 5
'Best game'

'If you like pixel games and strategy games then this is best game. I love this I played this nonstop the art style is great the
game play is great and this is one of the best games I have found in a while. Keep it up ??'

By .Random. .name..
October 13, 2020
5 out of 5
'Best game'

'If you like pixel games and strategy games then this is best game. I love this I played this nonstop the art style is great the
game play is great and this is one of the best games I have found in a while. Keep it up 👍🏻'

By .Random. .name..
October 12, 2020
5 out of 5
'Engaged'

'I’ve always hated how I could not play FTL on my phone. This is way better.'

By LiquidCamouflage.
October 1, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great!!!'

'Really enjoying this game. Playing on iPhone 8. Sure it’s a little small but not an issue like others have stated.'

By Hitailz.
September 28, 2020
4 out of 5
'B'

'Suicide units are annoying and that’s about it the rest is great'

By Bread0102.
September 27, 2020
5 out of 5
'Stunning'

'It’s really incredible art work of this caliber has come to an iPad game and it truly looks incredible on the iPad pro. Game
mechanics and choices are overwhelming in the beginning but becomes quite fun'

By SobiborTreblinka.
September 24, 2020
5 out of 5
'I never thought I would be sitting for over 6 hou

'I this is one of the best games I ever played man thank you for this game? you guys put so much story and badassery it

By Asked_Alexandria.
September 22, 2020
5 out of 5
'I never thought I would be sitting for over 6 hou

'I this is one of the best games I ever played man thank you for this game? you guys put so much story and badassery it

By Asked_Alexandria.
September 22, 2020
5 out of 5
'Possibly the best game on iOS'

'Outstanding gameplay, storyline, graphics, and polish. Well written with addictive replay ability. Can’t say enough good things
about this game.'

By Mani_.
September 6, 2020
5 out of 5
'One helluva narrative'

'Playing this and immensely enjoying the experience on an iPad.\n\nIt seems there have been many attempts to replicate FTL’s
fantastic balance in mechanisms - but so much so that people seem to forget about that game’s other best asset, the little
narrative fragments woven into the roguelike str

By squeezymat.
August 14, 2020
5 out of 5
'Worth it!'

'This game is really fun! \n\nThe battle AI is really well-designed. Playing through on normal mode is just hard enough to be a
fun challenge and just easy enough to not be frustrating. \n\nThe story Is decent with a well thought out realistic ending.'

By Player3.1415.
August 11, 2020
4 out of 5
'Great game ruined by terrible ending'

'This is a fantastic game with a lot of depth that is well worth the price and does not force you to spend after your initial
purchase. My one complaint is that after working so hard to beat it, you get three potential endings, all of which are depressing
and unsatisfying. It’s really a shame beca

By Soonerjbd.
August 11, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great indie title. Lots of atmosphere.'

'It’s in the title. Support indie games!'

By NoClass81.
August 11, 2020
5 out of 5
'Tutorial missing key concepts!'

'This game is cool, especially because as you play and re-play you unlock more buffs in the form of specialists. \n\nHowever, I
nearly gave up because the tutorial skilled one SUPER IMPORTANT concept: upgrades.\n\nBefore you change sectors, you will see a
small blue bar near the upper left that says

By my nickname for me.
August 9, 2020
5 out of 5
'Well made game and worth it'

'Many things are happening along the way which is really what makes this game addictive and wanting to play some more. Awesome
game'

By Meowlaola.
August 7, 2020
5 out of 5
'Similar to FTL but way better story'

'This is a good game with one of the best storylines I’ve had the pleasure to have finished. The gameplay style is very much
like FTL (and if you don’t know what “FTL” is then educate yourself) but a bit more simple. FTL is actually better in terms
of the ship-to-ship combat experience, and

By Lancey-pants.
August 7, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great Premium Port'

'I will always support developers who port great games with no IAP. This game is perfect for a quick play or longer session. The
lore is fantastic and the art is amazing. My only complaint is it’s a little hard to read some of the text on iPhone, but
that’s probably my eyes and not a fault of th

By im_in_my_salad.
August 5, 2020
5 out of 5
'Love it'

'One of my new all time favorites. It’s tough, but stick with it and you won’t regret it.'

By N_A_K.
August 4, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great space tactical game'

'The story was just engaging enough to keep you wanting more but the game-lay was a breath of fresh air. There are very few space
tactical games and this is one of the best. The difficulty ramped up at a good pace and each run was slightly different so as to
not be boring. The only time I got frustr

By Nickname951a.
August 3, 2020
5 out of 5
'Wow!'

'So far, so great. Mashup of FTL, Out There, Foundation, Dune, and several other sci-fi influences. Great to finally see such a
polished FTL spiritual successor.'

By rhaining23.
August 1, 2020
4 out of 5
'Had me hooked!'

'It’s really well made, if a little repetitive. This is greatly mollified by the engaging story which I simply HAD to finish.
Having said that, it has an overwhelmingly pessimistic outlook on life. It is apropos to the atmosphere they tried to build, and
it certainly borrows from a number of boo

By Atriace.
July 31, 2020
5 out of 5
'Fabulous'

'Played it in beta, played it now, love it!'

By supertrekkie.
July 31, 2020
5 out of 5
'Pretty good app'

'Idk what to say. ITS JUST GOOD'

By djdvoedbdjbddj.
July 29, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great for both PC and Mobile ???'

'I played on PC and now I am planning on the mobile version now I can play my favorite game on the go instead of waiting to come
back home on my PC.'

By BioWolfXD.
July 26, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great for both PC and Mobile 👍🏽🤩'

'I played on PC and now I am planning on the mobile version now I can play my favorite game on the go instead of waiting to come
back home on my PC.'

By BioWolfXD.
July 26, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great game'

'I like the game, but there’s one bug where my Omni just isn’t present on my screen. I have to re-open the game again
sometimes to fix it.'

By 97102.
July 26, 2020
5 out of 5
'Better and more depth than FTL'

'Crying Suns is a rogue-like game with a definite FTL vibe to it, although where FTL has you micromanaging a ship with various
compartments and your crew, pretty much staying in space as you take on the unfriendly skies, Crying Suns not only takes you
through systems and between systems as you work

By Abukoff.
July 26, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great for both PC and Mobile ???'

'I played on PC and now I am planning on the mobile version now I can play my favorite game on the go instead of waiting to come
back home on my PC.'

By BioWolfXD.
July 26, 2020
5 out of 5
'Definitely worth it'

'Just picked this up and been playing it for an hour. Definitely a great mix of rogue, RTS, FTL, and strategy games all in one
package. Highly recommend!'

By Ocdink.
July 25, 2020
5 out of 5
'Crying suns'

'Excellent game, great art style if you love FTL, or dungeon of the endless, you will love this game very very replayable. Have
been looking for something like this.'

By Darb73splarg73.
July 24, 2020
5 out of 5
'I never thought I would be sitting for over 6 hou

'I this is one of the best games I ever played man thank you for this game🥺 you guys put so much story and badassery it’s
just so fun and challenging you build up good stuff and lose it when you die so you go again and each time you never know will
this pay out or will my crew and I die? Is mac

By Asked_Alexandria.
July 22, 2020
5 out of 5
'Awesome'

'Excellent game. Very challenging. I keep playing! Love it!'

By CheetoGS85.
July 21, 2020
5 out of 5
'Played through 3 times so far..'

'Very engrossing, elegantly designed, hauntingly beautiful art direction.'

By Van ??.
July 21, 2020
5 out of 5
'Played through 3 times so far..'

'Very engrossing, elegantly designed, hauntingly beautiful art direction.'

By Van ??.
July 21, 2020
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
Interesting story, but...

... not very engaging. Starts out as a mystery, ends with repetitive system grinding. Yawn.

By xv1kterx.
October 6, 2020
3 out of 5
Good but

I want to like the game but I can’t stand the all upper case dialogs

By Ender Bean Pi.
August 3, 2020
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total