Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

D&D Beyond Player Tools

by Fandom, Incorporated
Positive
84%
critic
16%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of D&D Beyond Player Tools by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of D&D Beyond Player Tools written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for D&D Beyond Player Tools

Reviews: 153Avg. Rating: 8.4/10

Positive reviews

4 out of 5
Fix the Extras section

You have to go into website to view extras.

Come on it still says Work in Progress!!

By Kurt_13.
July 8, 2021
5 out of 5
Awesome !!

Very good product that’s very easy and convenient to use.

By Uncle T7.
July 5, 2021
4 out of 5
Great

But the lack of campaigns is quite upsetting

By natalie paries.
June 27, 2021
5 out of 5
Confused but intrigued

It’s cool but I’m still confused on what it’s supposed to do, am I able to join lobby’s and play online or is it just a
tool for irl dnd playing? Ima noob at dnd so I was tryna look for a easy way to get into the mix

By kiddarkness1234567.
June 25, 2021
4 out of 5
Better-ish than the last app + a bug

Much better at loading content, sorting things, and looks sleek.

One layout problem, switching between monsters, classes, spells, etc is pretty annoying partially because it’s right next to the
filter button (which I wish wasn’t hidden when you scroll) and partially because it always defaults back

By Would you mind?.
June 23, 2021
5 out of 5
I love D&D Beyond!

The app is incredibly useful for using D&D Beyond on mobile, and the tool itself is AMAZING. D&D wouldn’t be the same without
it!

By Schnauzer Power!!!!.
June 19, 2021
4 out of 5
I need Help

How do I level up my characters? How do I delete my characters?

By Jonas Phippen.
June 3, 2021
4 out of 5
Much Better Than Before

This app is significantly better than it used to be! The new UI makes a lot more sense and searching is easier than it was before.
Very slick, faster, and way more convenient than two apps.

The things I wish they put in most are being able to modify your characters from the app and syncing your boo

By Noneya3854.
May 27, 2021
4 out of 5
Campaign manager

I’m The DM for my campaign and we just shifted to using D&D beyond, could use a campaign manager in the app so I can look at my
players sheets without grabbing a computer

By Sammi the Druid.
May 27, 2021
4 out of 5
No tabaxi

Great app does have all the races sadly :(

By troublet420.
May 26, 2021
5 out of 5
Very Helpful

Great app, makes keeping track of characters, campaigns, and source material easy. If you know someone who keeps losing their
character sheet then this fixes everything. With online notes it’s far easier than keeping up with paper.

My only concern is that the d100 reads wrong: the percentile is cor

By HighCapacityFreedom.
May 20, 2021
5 out of 5
My favorite app ever!!!

At first when I got this app I loved it except I could not edit and delete characters. Now I can. It’s perfect and my favorite
app of all time!!!

By Heatheragogo.
May 16, 2021
4 out of 5
Great for players, especially new players

I would be overwhelmed by the amount of into i have to track and add up if it wasn’t for D&D Beyond and the app seems stable and
well executed. The only negative feedback I have is that there is no way to edit your characters on the app, or at least not in an
obvious way.

Please add that option 😩

By jadajeificsomethingrandom.
May 12, 2021
4 out of 5
Spell Management

Still not a feature, so 4 stars until then.

By SN0WRAVEN.
April 26, 2021
4 out of 5
Reaching for the stars.

The D&DB team has done an amazing job so far at the app they’ve now consolidated and updated, all content easily reached player
sheets and all are working great, as well as listings for all spells equipment and more...

I just hope soon itll have app access to the homebrew side of things, while the

By MrTwistyFilms.
April 25, 2021
5 out of 5
Great for online play!

This is an excellent app to use for online play, such as discord. It’s been beneficial on the go!

By QuarterBackKing.
April 23, 2021
4 out of 5
Love watching it grow

But I am confused at why android users seem to be able to manage their spell list/prepare smelts for the day while on iPhone you
can’t what’s that about

By fjdksjvuudhshjckf.
April 23, 2021
5 out of 5
So much easier

Being able to keep track of my character’s stats and inventory is awesome

By dndnerd.
April 22, 2021
5 out of 5
Bug that I noticed

I’ve used the d&d beyond app in the past and had no problems with it, but after the merge that happened between the two apps,
there appears to be a bug. I downloaded sourcebooks, and according to my phone, I still have 26 GB of available space. However,
every time I click to open a book in the app,

By Dzdd.
April 22, 2021
4 out of 5
Better...but still missing the campaigns

Include a manager of my campaigns, then y’a get the five stars.

By Monkafust.
April 22, 2021
5 out of 5
Great for playing

It might be a bit confusing for first timers, but if you have players with experience then it’ll be easier to tackle. Definitely
fun to go through as a party as well.
Character builder is easy and informational
Interactive playing as well as player log is 10/10
I just wish I could edit my character

By Can you imagine dragons?.
April 22, 2021
5 out of 5
Some ideas

Under race yo should have the ability to cross races like an tefling elf or a human dwarf

By vanpiregod.
April 21, 2021
4 out of 5
Good, but lacking for DMs

For a player, this is great. For a DM? Not so much. You can’t browse any homebrew content. You can’t make or view custom items
or spells that you create from a desktop/laptop device. The website and mobile platform are very different in scope. You can’t
view encounters either. I still give it a four

By Bulldogmmw.
April 21, 2021
4 out of 5
It’s missing a lot

I get that it’s probably never going to have the same features as the website, but it would be really nice to be able to see all
the campaigns and homebrew content that you’ve created. That being said, I think it’s a good alternative to lugging a laptop
around to your sessions (not that we’re really

By Fuzzy kitty 1234.
April 21, 2021
4 out of 5
Great having everything in one place but isn’t ver

I love this app and the fact that I can have all of my books in the same place as my character sheets. My only complaint is that
the character does not work well with screen readers such as JAWS and Voiceover. When making a character I can only get to the
point where I can pick my race and then I’m

By Your everyday blind guy.
April 21, 2021
4 out of 5
Certain books not downloadable

Some books, like Waterdeep: Dungeon of the mad mage and The explorers guide to wildemount say that there are errors in downloading
the book

By yer mum mate.
April 21, 2021
4 out of 5
Edit: Working

Had a rough start but things are getting ironed out it seems.

By BearLawrence.
April 21, 2021
4 out of 5
Good app bad update

New update has logged me out and won’t let me log back in.

By Chaosfox79.
April 21, 2021
5 out of 5
Most used app on my phone!

I am a dungeon master and player, already loved DnD beyond, but the app and improvements made to it are so handy. I've spent all
kinds of to.e building characters and even the little things I have issue with( not being able to roll multiple dice in a single
ability, a few troubles with Homebrew item

By Docolos94.
April 21, 2021
5 out of 5
Love it

The improvements have made this a great app. Look forward to what’s next. 😁

By Zac. Attack Attack.
April 21, 2021
5 out of 5
Absolutely amazing

This is a great app for anyone who plays d&d whether it be online in a group chat or in person.

By evilg99.
April 20, 2021
4 out of 5
Very good

It’s very good, but editing your character is bit confusing.

By Jdnenejisoxiss.
April 13, 2021
5 out of 5
It’s a great app

All in all, besides a few things, it’s a great app, everything I usually need for DnD in one app. The only problem is being
unable to edit anything to do with any part of my characters in the app. But besides that and a few other very minor things that I
have found, it’s an amazing app that I will m

By Dragon Deli.
April 8, 2021
5 out of 5
Great!

Overall this is an amazing way to manage your DnD characters, however I believe there are some things missing, for instance the
paladin only has one oath available instead of the variety that you could have should you do these by hand.

By Nickname.exe_IsTaken.
April 2, 2021
4 out of 5
No way to edit finished characters or spell sheet

The ability to make characters and design them on the go is fun. Problem with the app is there is no way to edit the character
once it’s been fished being made and there’s no way to edit spells or add them to a character’s spell list. That’d be the
number one improvement I would say they need to add

By Thelen67.
March 12, 2021
4 out of 5
Back button.

This app desperately needs a back button.

By ggigax.
February 28, 2021
4 out of 5
Finally Usable for Some Characters.

With the addition of currency adjustment the app is finally usable for an entire session on one of my characters. I have a monk
who doesn’t pick up equipment and I could use this for him. Equipment manipulation is not available so that means I need the
browser version any time I pick up an item. As

By ThomasCStl.
February 15, 2021
5 out of 5
Awesome app for characters

Love this app. It’s very intuitive and continues to improve. I like how you can almost play a game with just this one app. I’m
hoping to one day see map functionality (maybe separate app or integration?) to compliment this app. A D&D Beyond version of
Roll20 would be sublime(hint hint). I’d pay mone

By Russodragon.
February 9, 2021
5 out of 5
Two steps to perfections.

Please add Extra tab and in app editing. Basically perfect.

By amillustrator.
February 3, 2021
4 out of 5
Notes

The app works really well but I wish I could write in notes without having to open the site.

By 🤩😎🤓🤪.
January 27, 2021
4 out of 5
Frustrated that I can’t see my players character s

I’m DMing for two fledgling players right now and spend almost as much time looking at their character sheets as they do.
Unfortunately, at the moment, I am stuck with the web version since there is no way to do this in the app.

It does not seem like it would be too hard to add this feature which i

By Rehabilitated addict.
January 26, 2021
5 out of 5
Absolutely love the app

I love the app, it’s magnificent and easy to use during game session. It is a brilliant addition to both dms and players alike.
One thing I might want to request in future updates to both the app and the website, is the ability to categorize characters. As
someone who is both a dm and a player, all

By Eevee-Pixie.
January 23, 2021
4 out of 5
Best D&D player app BUT...

This is the perfect D&D player app I have used. It has everything for the player but missing some small features which are:
-Sharing your character with other players.
-Change/edit equipment and money.
If this happens then, this app will be a must for all DND players.

By AKAThaBoss.
January 17, 2021
4 out of 5
Works great but few bugs

You guys should take into account the battle master class with the improved criticals and half orc adding more damage dice.
Besides that I love the app

By Burnoutblue.
December 15, 2020
5 out of 5
Awesome Player App

It’s a fantastic player tool. I’m so happy to see that dice were added (Bet/Alpha) and look forward to Extras getting added.

By RyDry.
November 29, 2020
4 out of 5
Review

This app is super helpful, I heard about it from HighRollers and have been using it ever sense and it’s nice to finally have an
app, however it has problems. 1 it doesn’t have the dice rolling feature. 2 you can’t use Apple Pay for purchases which is
also a problem I have with the website (even thou

By OILSKULL17.
November 22, 2020
4 out of 5
Nice app

Would love the ability to change my currency amount in the app. Right now I have to switch to the browser version any time we buy
or sell anything and then the app doesn’t always refresh even after closing the app and reopening it.

By blackinferno130.
November 7, 2020
5 out of 5
Great and awesome

This is a great app for me being a beginner in the game, the only thing it’s missing from its website version is the dice rolls.
I can’t wait for that to be available in the app

By Blessedofs.
November 7, 2020
4 out of 5
One issue

This app is absolutely perfect in every way, BUT it’s totally inconvenient that you can’t delete characters you’ve made. I
have like a whole long list and have to search through it for each of my characters.

By bobsbunyan.
October 29, 2020
5 out of 5
Love the app. One suggestion.

I love this app. I would use it for all my games except for one missing feature. I would like the ability to roll dice from the
app.
It is very nice to have my VTT on my iPad while I have my character sheet on my phone.

By Gypsyzzzzzzz.
October 28, 2020
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
Good, but static

The only things you can modify in the app are spells/abilities used and currency. Otherwise you have to have the app open the
website in the app.

Unfortunately, the spells used sometimes hangs or forgets that you used a slot. Even worse, the currency does too. So you can’t
trust that it will give

By Anyfreenicknames?.
July 10, 2021
3 out of 5
Not Very Intuitive

The app is a nice looking way to keep track of your character for 5e but it needs a lot of work. It’s such a pain to have to
open your sheet on the website just about every time you want to manage experience, levels, items, etc. Trying to find things half
the time brings my campaign to a crawl as I

By ClassicalCyrano.
July 2, 2021
3 out of 5
Frustrated

The app does not allow me to add anything to my equipment, notes, or anything like that. I basically cannot play unless I am on
the website online. The app has major issues

By Uncle T.O.M.
June 7, 2021
3 out of 5
Lost important data due to bugs

I want to love this app, but it doesn’t save ANY changes I make during a campaign!!! I’ve lost all my loot and skill upgrades
from my previous campaign. Also, I can’t “manage equipment” on my character sheet without opening up the website, and even
then it’s questionable.
Make the offline and onlin

By KBiz13.
June 6, 2021
3 out of 5
Not bad but could be improved.

It does the job but it has its quirks. One big annoyance I found is that you can read source books or adventures in light mode
with adjusted font size, but when you tap on links the linked item comes up in dark mode with small font size. (Example - tap
Sword of Zariel in Descent Into Avenue). I twee

By robaustin.
May 1, 2021
3 out of 5
Not a bad start

The website has a lot more material that I wish had found its way into the app. Encounter planning, homebrew creation, and the
ability to view my players’ character sheets.

By ShadesBU.
April 24, 2021
3 out of 5
No delete or edit features to characters?

Its fine its just that when i tried making a character it said there was an error and it closed me out. Now i permanently have an
unfinished character in my character list. I can’t find the option to edit or delete it because i got far enough in the
character creation that the character is considere

By Hachihachoochoo123456789yeah.
April 24, 2021
3 out of 5
Adding content is a plus but...

A download all button would have been a huge quality of life improvement. Hitting that download button 50 times sucked. Especially
when you already had it downloaded in the old app. Other than that rolling in the reader app seems like a good idea.

By Kaikanpanda.
April 21, 2021
3 out of 5
Offline Mode?

Woah, spent my mid-day downloading the books. It worked for a moment then went back to work. Pulled up the app after work,
received a loading screen, then it defaulted to the background color. Why have the option to download the content if it’s only
available online? Hope this gets resolved.

By Live Life for God.
April 21, 2021
3 out of 5
Great for New Players

So this app is fantastic as an app. I find it fluid and the aesthetic is great. Compared to the old character app I used that
looks like a classic green screen this app is a huge step into the future. That said, my key complaint is that you have to buy the
content/books. They use a separate company

By Jehdbdnkdv.
April 20, 2021
3 out of 5
I wish they wouldn’t make you pay money for races,

I really wish this app didn’t make you pay for the stuff that you use to make your character like you have to pay just for all
the rest of the races, classes, weapons, armor, etc! But other than that it’s a great app and I understand you need a way to
make money but if you make people pay for what I

By KingofSharks101.
April 17, 2021
3 out of 5
Useful, but a bit clunky

Very useful and neat, but a couple gripes. First and foremost, the UI is confusing or unnecessary. It’d be infinitely more
useful if you didn’t have to scrounge through the menus to be able to edit your character, and being able to access character
levels straight from the character sheet would be a

By Barandon L.
March 15, 2021
3 out of 5
So close to perfection, and yet not close at all

The app does a great job at functioning as a character sheet, and is a great tool for new players (like myself) to create
characters with help. But unfortunately it loses its luster after the character creation phase. To make any modifications to the
character’s level, inventory (minus currency), sp

By GimmickMusik.
February 28, 2021
3 out of 5
Solid start

There are still too many conveniences missing from the app for me to switch over from the website. Hope they keep up the work on
it.

By Sessha51.
February 15, 2021
3 out of 5
Good to see this coming along but can’t use it yet

I’m glad to see this experience taking shape and I really look forward to seeing it evolve. However, in truth, you can’t
really make any use of it yet. Without the ability to edit equipment, level-up a character or generally make any meaningful
edits, you’ll need a paper character sheets of other

By lmcfarlin.
January 23, 2021
3 out of 5
Needs a iOS update

I’m have an IPhone 6, so I can’t update my phone past IOS 12.4.9, and the app only works for 13 and up. I love Dnd, but this
is unfair, I’m not going to buy a new phone, just to get this app. That’s just a waste of money.

By 25294829.
December 2, 2020
3 out of 5
No dice

This app is great it really helps you create your character easily and helps new players immensely however the biggest thing I
would change is I would add free digital dice to the app outherwise it is a great app.

By dnjehhdvwbkdjxnd.
November 19, 2020
3 out of 5
Good but......

I like it but I can’t delete my characters so they will hoard memory
And it will not let me print the sheets so I have to copy it down which is annoying so pls make a update to let me print it out.

By frog 422.
November 11, 2020
3 out of 5
Website great, app meh.

You can do almost no updating of the character in the app itself. You can’t add spells, equipment, even gold. You can do it on
the website, so why not in the app?

By RichStephens.
October 11, 2020
3 out of 5
A good app that could be great

This app has many fantastic reasons to use it but needs way more quality of life improvements to be a great app that I would
recommend over a paper character sheet. The ability to edit on the app and delete characters is something that is beyond required.
I understand you can go to the site and make

By Shadowlucario.
September 14, 2020
3 out of 5
Great Start

Missing a few to many key features of the site but still a great start of an app with a lot of potential. Still feels to much of a
beta.

Needs:
- offline support
- money management (auto convert?)
- spell details on attack page
- pinned navigation on side (landscape) or bottom (portrait)
- themes
-

By scotepi.
September 5, 2020
3 out of 5
Good but things missing

This character sheet is basically perfect but there needs to have three more things really to make it worthwhile.

1. A place to put your XP
When I got this app I thought there where absolutely going to be a place to put your XP nope. I think there going to put it in
extras but for right now it ha

By tylersaunders3.
September 1, 2020
3 out of 5
HP levels

Love the app! I’m new to D&D and this was my first time using the app in a session. It really helped in the battle, keeping
track of my HP and my attacks... BUT after a long rest, for some reason it set the HP of my 3rd level Barbarian to 9/9HP. It’s
supposed to be at 35 and I can’t figure out how t

By Jambalaya-underscore.
August 22, 2020
3 out of 5
Good but needs work

Just got the app. I love it except I can’t really edit my characters. I wouldn’t be able to change the AC unless I had a
different set of armor unless there’s something I’m missing. It’s kinda annoying, and I don’t really like it. Other than
that it’s a great app and I would highly recommend!

By swedbjork.
August 21, 2020
3 out of 5
No Circle of the Moon Druid or Hermit background

It seems cool, but only if you have a certain character that fits all the boxes.

By no_no_from_roro.
August 20, 2020
3 out of 5
Better than it was

The recent changes have made considerable improvement to the user experience. The best change since launch has been the addition
of speed descriptions when they’re selected. Not having to reach for additional resources is my biggest “must” in a
character sheet application. I would note that spell an

By Adamsquishy.
August 20, 2020
3 out of 5
Somewhat unsatisfied

Ok first of all, in terms of user interface this is basically just a web browser that only goes to DND beyond’s website. Editing
a character is fairly difficult, requiring several steps to even add an item into the inventory. Near as I can tell it also just
doesn’t translate character background abi

By Mike901120.
August 10, 2020
3 out of 5
Minimum Viable Product

It’s getting there. Barely enough features to show the character sheet. Takes some getting used to for navigation. If you have a
decent internet connection just use the web app. Needs campaign access. This is minimum viable at best. A DM can’t this to
manage her adventurers. Keep going, team! It’s b

By FreakboyNW.
August 9, 2020
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total