Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

D&D Beyond Player Tools

by Fandom, Incorporated
Positive
82%
critic
18%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of D&D Beyond Player Tools by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of D&D Beyond Player Tools written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for D&D Beyond Player Tools

Reviews: 91Avg. Rating: 8.2/10

Positive reviews

5 out of 5
'The app is great'

'The application is amazing so far and is super useful but is there any possibility you can add beyond 20 support so that we can
use it to roll dice on discord.'

By Zombie Nebula.
September 19, 2020
4 out of 5
'Wonderful app'

'I love this app and use it often. A few small things I wish it had were the ability to add and remove equipment and the ability
to do dice rolls in the app. Even more amazing would be creating characters and rolling stats in the app.'

By Flogmonkey.
September 18, 2020
4 out of 5
'It’s a great app but dice rolling needs fixing'

'The dice on my iOS device does not roll anymore and it just freezes'

By John1211728401.
September 14, 2020
5 out of 5
'App is amazing.'

'Suggestion: can you guys add a hit die shortcut to the app? Preferably, where the health is shown..'

By RedOdin.
September 7, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great help, but there are a few problems in Beta'

'So I love the D&D beyond website for making characters for my campaigns, but since the app is still in it’s sort of early
stages, there are some (but not many) problems I’ve had, more or less just tedious little things. \nOne thing, not currently
able to edit anything on a completed character,

By Canaan Collins.
September 3, 2020
4 out of 5
'I wish you could delete characters'

'This is an amazing site! I was in the middle of making my character, but then my phone ran out of battery. After I charged it and
opens the app back up, I have no way to edit it again or delete it. I would like an easily accessible option to delete it,
please.'

By AlleywayTrashcat.
August 28, 2020
5 out of 5
'Getting better with each update'

'Why don’t I have the option to choose where by modifiers go? As someone who uses the small box for mods and the large box for
scores. It takes me a long time to pull up these stats. Please either synch it to the selected option on the site. Or offer an
option on the app to fix it. As or right now

By SwampyMetal9849.
August 27, 2020
4 out of 5
'How to DELETE?'

'I made a character to try and understand the app but it’s not a character I want to keep. So how to I delete a character. I’m
tired of seeing it on the screen. I’m OCD like that.'

By Hahenrkdoie.
August 27, 2020
4 out of 5
'Good but'

'The ONLY thing is that they don’t have all of the sub classes for all of the classes other then that it’s a great app, but I
would also like to be able to edit on the character sheet instead of having to go “see character on website” other then that
it’s 5 stars'

By dnd fanatic.
August 21, 2020
4 out of 5
'Dice Rolling Please'

'If you could roll dice, it would be the perfect player app. Looking forward to further developments.'

By bit_troupe.
August 20, 2020
4 out of 5
'A great start!'

'This makes it easy to view your DND Beyond characters as a quick reference. I can’t recommend it enough for people who are
already using DND Beyond. \n\nThat said, two things are missing:\n1) A way to level up in the app\n2) A way to roll for
actions/damage etc. in the app\n\nBoth of these can be

By Dilisnya.
August 15, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great app!'

'This app streamlines the dnd beyond character sheet. It is quick and easy to switch between areas of the sheet to find what you
are looking for. Also DnD beyond updates this app about every week. Must have if you use DnD Beyond.'

By Thebig2six.
August 12, 2020
4 out of 5
'Update needed due to theros'

'I’m writing this because there needs to be a way to add select information like deity given feats at lvl 1, also would be nice
to have a selected area for theros based characters. App is great, a little irritating having to go to the secondary form to add
spells but not to difficult to do.'

By Monkeyc7.
August 8, 2020
4 out of 5
'Very good, only one problem'

'I use D&D Beyond a lot to draft up my NPCs and possible PCs, so I really like this app. It’s a convenient way to access and
create new characters. However, I have a major problem with it. Once you’ve created the character on the app, or bring it over
from the website, you can’t edit the chara

By BleepBloopYourSongIsntPoop.
August 1, 2020
5 out of 5
'This is just getting better and better!'

'The app is everything I waited for! I love the sleek design and the easy navigation. I love how it keeps true to the website’s
design too.\nThis is a very new app so it hasn’t got EVERYTHING, but it’s getting there and I just can’t wait!'

By Could466.
July 30, 2020
4 out of 5
'Great app, needs one feature.'

'I love this app, ive waited a long time to have an easy to use character creator to help my players make new characters, only
problem is it needs the new dice roller function to be added.'

By Anonymous person people.
July 27, 2020
5 out of 5
'Why are people upset it isn’t the website yet?'

'The app itself may not be to the point I would use it at the table myself, but I don’t think many people realize that the code
written to make the browser application to work and the new mobile application are not the same code. Not remotely. \n\nIf some
people took a moment to actually look, at

By TreyjThornton.
July 14, 2020
4 out of 5
'Looking forward to the upgrades!'

'It would be awesome to get these registered and connected so as a DM, I can keep an eye on stats without having to ask the PCs
directly and alert them to possible.\nIt would be awesome to have the ability to add things to their inventory, so as not to let
the whole group knows if one character find

By JayBeebs.
July 13, 2020
4 out of 5
'I like it.. but...'

'I love the idea. It’s great to have my characters available. But it should definitely just be a part of the other D&D Beyond
app, or at least have virtual die.'

By Nighttail of ThunderClan.
July 13, 2020
4 out of 5
'Could be better'

'I think this app as a lot of greatness but I think if you could edit and delete characters it could be better. But without that
the only use I use for it is when I have a character idea so I use the app and put it on paper later. I would use the app more if
it worked out a couple of the problems.'

By I like D&D.
July 12, 2020
4 out of 5
'A great start'

'This is a nice program. Things I would suggest \n1. The ability to edit character sheet in app- Currently you must click the
little window for the character sheet and then it opens a sub window. \n2. Have the ability to roll dice in the app. Currently you
can’t go gear free, must still carry the

By violante de luca.
July 12, 2020
5 out of 5
'Looks promising!'

'Definitely looks like it’s shaping up to be a essential tool in any players pocket! \n\nThe only major gripe I have is that
while you can give a character equipment, you can’t actually equip it and see what attacks you can do! \n\nWon’t give it less
than 5-stars because it is very clear with

By Unimpressed Tonight.
July 9, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great Start'

'As a reminder for everyone, this app is not complete! But it’s a great start and preview for how it will look/work. I just
wanted to leave an encouraging review and state my hope that dice rolls will make their way into the app!'

By H Town Boogie.
July 9, 2020
4 out of 5
'Phone is great, iPad could use layout optimizatio

'This is a really great character sheet app, especially for the first release, but I can’t help but feel that there’s a lot of
wasted space on the iPad. I’d love to see a layout more similar to the web version, so that I don’t have to keep switching
tabs to see stats and spells. Keep up the

By PreCalc Student.
July 9, 2020
5 out of 5
'Only needs dice added'

'Just add the dice and a way for DM to send char to another app user'

By jd11290.
July 9, 2020
5 out of 5
'Adore it'

'This app is amazing. It explains everything in such understandable detail, and it’s easy to navigate and use! \nCouple of
suggestions; pictures and more in-depth explanations of some items would be wonderful, as well as a walkthrough of the menus. It
took me a couple of minutes to figure out how

By KrazyCatMeow.
July 8, 2020
4 out of 5
'Awesome!'

'This is what we’ve needed! If they add the new dice roller feature to this, it would be close to perfect.'

By Maxman5957.
July 8, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great Companion App'

'My only ask would be to give it similar UI and cosmetics as the mobile browser version, which is also very well put
together.\n\nA note to the creators - I participated in the player testing and I just want to say that even the alpha/ beta
versions were more bug free than most production release ve

By Tfoster2501.
July 8, 2020
5 out of 5
'Solid; Can’t Wait for DM version'

'This is a solid app to help you create and run your character. \n\nWhile I still wish I didn’t have to buy my books all over
again, there is no real replacement for how well this does with character management. \n\nThat said, I can hardly wait for a DM
version of this app that I can run campaigns

By ScribeLife22.
July 7, 2020
4 out of 5
'Good in phone but huge missed opportunity on IPad

'iPad had a lot of promise, can’t wait to see how the app can take full advantage of it'

By leo-medina.
July 7, 2020
4 out of 5
'DndBeyond character app'

'This is a great start, has all the basic that you need. But would love to be able to click on spells, gear, items and read what
they do. Also would like to see the dice roller on here if possible.'

By dndJason.
July 7, 2020
4 out of 5
'Getting There'

'Been waiting for this for a long time. Still some things I know they are working and some things that I hope they are working on
that I wish were in the app, but it’s almost there. Hope they add the ability to customize character sheets.'

By Ads4200.
July 7, 2020
5 out of 5
'Dope!!!'

'Gotta add spell and item descriptions asap tho'

By JRad504.
July 7, 2020
5 out of 5
'Totally worth it'

'The major thing I love about this app is its ability to overcome the 5 character maximum on the site. Of course, don’t think
this is a replacement for the site. However, it still works pretty well.'

By Caracal429.
July 7, 2020
4 out of 5
'Great app. Needs edit sheet button and Pally Subc

'Dope app great info and layout just need more subclasses UA content and PLEASE let me edit my character sheets'

By TheNightAngel27.
July 7, 2020
4 out of 5
'Looks promising'

'Essentially a beta or view only demo, but it looks like it’s heading in the right direction. \n\nBesides the obvious need for
being able to manipulate the sheet and view item/spell details, it would be great to have a text size option. The web site is
great on desktops but has terrible resizing o

By BlizzyPop.
July 7, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great app'

'Great job designing and building this app. Looking forward to future updates!'

By hnkmrtn67.
July 7, 2020
4 out of 5
'Amazing! Just wish it had dice incorporated'

'This app has everything I need, except for the dice rolls that are added to character sheets on DnD Beyond. It’s such an
amazing feature that to not have it in the app make it feel lackluster.'

By BeeRagan.
July 7, 2020
5 out of 5
'Exciting new app'

'I can’t wait till you implement the rest of it. Looks great.'

By Jgseyhbff.
July 7, 2020
5 out of 5
'After years of waiting...'

'After years of waiting for this simple app to get developed, it’s finally here. Seems like it is working as it should as I
haven’t came across any issues yet.'

By K-Hens.
July 6, 2020
4 out of 5
'Good Start!'

'From the way it’s set up you can easily tell it’s still in early development. People need to give them time to develop and
polish it further. There’s not much to this app but I can see a lot of possibilities going forward. Just getting this app is a
sign that the ball is moving forward.'

By cMotz.
July 6, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great app! . Hope they add dice'

'Great app!. Hope they add dice'

By Cats go meow67.
July 6, 2020
5 out of 5
'Love it!'

'I think for a day-one release, this is wonderful. It is very well-suited for my phone and even though some of the features have
yet to be added, there is an internal link to the website for your character, where all features are waiting. I imagine that the
missing features will be included in a fut

By Erik Soong.
July 6, 2020
4 out of 5
'Outstanding right out of the gate'

'The only thing I can think of keeping it from a 5th star is there being some way to see the full wording of spells.'

By TheCon66.
July 6, 2020
4 out of 5
'Great tool for Streamers'

'It’s a great start to mobile character sheets and creation! I’m part of a group that streams our games and we depend on my
end to run the stream. So as it is, I use a dual setup to monitor the stream and talk with the party. With the app, I can use my
phone to look at my character sheet and sti

By Kaymy19.
July 6, 2020
5 out of 5
'Well worth the wait!'

'I am so happy this is finally available. The UI is clean, stylish, and easy to navigate. I am excited to use this during my
group’s game. Being able to use a tablet or phone, rather than a laptop, feels more natural and engaging. A great start, I
can’t wait until all the features roll out!'

By Mike Matts.
July 6, 2020
5 out of 5
'DDB Characters!'

'I can see my characters in app! I’m glad to see they are going to be updating more! I love the dark mode!'

By jollygreengiant53.
July 6, 2020
5 out of 5
'YAAASSS!!!'

'I’m so glad you finally made the app and can’t wait for the other things that you add to it! It does the bare minimum I need
which is to see my character and edit when I use things, plus it looks amazing.\n\nKeep up the good work!'

By Arrufat13.
July 6, 2020
5 out of 5
'Work in progress, but great start.'

'Always a fan of dndbeyond and their tools. This is a nice, simple, and clean app. For what is there, it seems to function
properly and it’s easy to cycle around. I cant seem to manage from the app to “prepare” spells, so I’d have to go to the
website and come back, resolving that would be n

By RWick1.
July 6, 2020
5 out of 5
'Finally!!'

'My initial review right off the bat is gonna be 5 Stars because I have been waiting and waiting for the ability to do this
without using the internet browser on my iPhone/iPad. This will automatically make my game significantly more streamlined!'

By ukun9113.
July 6, 2020
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
'A good app that could be great'

'This app has many fantastic reasons to use it but needs way more quality of life improvements to be a great app that I would
recommend over a paper character sheet. The ability to edit on the app and delete characters is something that is beyond required.
I understand you can go to the site and mak

By Shadowlucario.
September 13, 2020
3 out of 5
'Great Start'

'Missing a few to many key features of the site but still a great start of an app with a lot of potential. Still feels to much of
a beta.\n\nNeeds:\n- offline support\n- money management (auto convert?)\n- spell details on attack page\n- pinned navigation on
side (landscape) or bottom (portrait)\n-

By scotepi.
September 5, 2020
3 out of 5
'Good but things missing'

'This character sheet is basically perfect but there needs to have three more things really to make it worthwhile. \n\n1. A place
to put your XP \nWhen I got this app I thought there where absolutely going to be a place to put your XP nope. I think there going
to put it in extras but for right now i

By tylersaunders3.
September 1, 2020
3 out of 5
'Good but needs work'

'Just got the app. I love it except I can’t really edit my characters. I wouldn’t be able to change the AC unless I had a
different set of armor unless there’s something I’m missing. It’s kinda annoying, and I don’t really like it. Other than
that it’s a great app and I would highly re

By swedbjork.
August 21, 2020
3 out of 5
'HP levels'

'Love the app! I’m new to D&D and this was my first time using the app in a session. It really helped in the battle, keeping
track of my HP and my attacks... BUT after a long rest, for some reason it set the HP of my 3rd level Barbarian to 9/9HP. It’s
supposed to be at 35 and I can’t figure ou

By Jambalaya-underscore.
August 21, 2020
3 out of 5
'No Circle of the Moon Druid or Hermit background'

'It seems cool, but only if you have a certain character that fits all the boxes.'

By no_no_from_roro.
August 20, 2020
3 out of 5
'Better than it was'

'The recent changes have made considerable improvement to the user experience. The best change since launch has been the addition
of speed descriptions when they’re selected. Not having to reach for additional resources is my biggest “must” in a
character sheet application. I would note that s

By Adamsquishy.
August 20, 2020
3 out of 5
'Somewhat unsatisfied'

'Ok first of all, in terms of user interface this is basically just a web browser that only goes to DND beyond’s website.
Editing a character is fairly difficult, requiring several steps to even add an item into the inventory. Near as I can tell it
also just doesn’t translate character backgroun

By Mike901120.
August 10, 2020
3 out of 5
'Minimum Viable Product'

'It’s getting there. Barely enough features to show the character sheet. Takes some getting used to for navigation. If you have
a decent internet connection just use the web app. Needs campaign access. This is minimum viable at best. A DM can’t this to
manage her adventurers. Keep going, team! I

By FreakboyNW.
August 9, 2020
3 out of 5
'No Oath of Vengeance'

'Tons of play test stuff and other non basic D&D stuff but you can only pick Oath of the Ancients for a Paladin????? It’s in the
PHB why not here?'

By Fytnsu fan.
July 20, 2020
3 out of 5
'Needs a review'

'I forget how to math sometimes but you may want to look at your modifier calculations for new character builds. If you look
closely, using standard array method, the modifier for base point 8, has a modifier of (-1) which should bring your total score to
7; however, the issue is that the app sees i

By Sdmf87.
July 15, 2020
3 out of 5
'Quality of Life'

'Easy 5 star if I was able to view what my spells do while in spells tab.'

By Scholunk.
July 15, 2020
3 out of 5
'Could use some work'

'This app has a lot of potential, and it does a lot of things right. But there are a lot of glaring issues that really need
solving:\n\n1: while you can keep track of equipment, there is no way to view the stats of your weapons, armor, or spells without
opening another app or just going to the D&D B

By JackOfMN.
July 15, 2020
3 out of 5
'Love the app but'

'It would be extremely nice if you could edit xp and levels from the app that way you don’t have to hot view website every time
you want to level up. If there is a way to do this and im just stupid than please let me know.'

By Andrew Forss.
July 13, 2020
3 out of 5
'Website UI is way better.'

'I used this app to start a campaign with some newbies. I have used the website with my school club before but the app is lacking
compared to the website. I’d recommend using the website but keep the app to access your characters without connection.'

By Garrett Ranger H.
July 13, 2020
3 out of 5
'Decent has some notable flaws'

'I used this in my groups last session on 7/7/20. I was really loving it during roleplay and exploration. When combat started it
all fell apart. So I play a wizard. Went to cast spells... there was no spell description. Unacceptable I used\n dnd beyond all
the time and love it. Thank goodness I had

By Jimlong3223.
July 10, 2020
3 out of 5
'Limited features and way to spread out'

'Firstly, it only has most of the features and doesn’t even allow for easy editing of existing characters.\n\nSecondly, trying
to play over quarantine has been a nightmare because there’s multiple sheets with info that needs to be available but forces me
to send a half dozen screenshots'

By Bored Onlooker.
July 9, 2020
3 out of 5
'Awesome start! It still needs a lot of work, howe

'As soon as it is finished, I will change my review to 5 stars, but for now, I’d say 3. I LOVE this app, it is a wonderful idea,
the best character sheet app I have ever seen. I know the app is brand new, and I hope that more will be added soon.\nAn option to
delete characters would be useful, I a

By TheCarsonKid.
July 8, 2020
3 out of 5
'Please read why I’m only giving 3 stars.'

'I want to start off by saying I LOVE the layout. I’ve always wanted D&D Beyond as an actual character creation app, and this
works fantastically! It is D&D Beyond, so of course you have to purchase the books to use the content, that’s just to be
expected. I honestly think this could become the

By TheLoneTenno.
July 7, 2020
3 out of 5
'Incomplete but hopeful.'

'Pros: You have your character sheet if the WiFi goes out and you can’t access cellular data. \n\nCons: If you have WiFi or
cellular data, the online version is vastly superior. \n\n3 Stars: Additional features will make this great but until then it’s
basically a digital version of a printed cha

By Naro27.
July 6, 2020
3 out of 5
'Very nice but..'

'So far this looks to be pretty nice. Shifting between pages seems to be really smooth not a problem. \nThe only real detriment at
the moment is You cannot adjust your inventory. For instance if you want to use your sword and shield And you do not have them
already equipped, you have to go to the on

By Xes the first.
July 6, 2020
3 out of 5
'Pretty cool for starting out'

'This is a cool state for a brand new app but could it be made so that users could type in things that aren’t on the app?
Example: my bard is proficient with musical instruments that aren’t listed in the app like the harp and rebab. This type of
functionality across the app would make it easier

By Pandaemonium93.
July 6, 2020
3 out of 5
'Good start. Need a lot of work.'

'Out of the gate the menus are easy to work with. So far I’m unable to use any of the digital content on the D&D Beyond app
which I was hoping this was going to be added to so I can’t make my characters 100% do to much of the content I need isn’t
available on this app or I’m simply missing s

By ShadowGear93.
July 6, 2020
3 out of 5
'Digital vs Physical'

'Unfortunately because I prefer physical copies of my handbooks and guides, this app is all but useless. I’m playing a Tabaxi
and bought Volos guide physical copy, but because there is no way to ‘register’ that physical copy to my account, it’s like
I don’t even own it and would have to re

By KaiRedfern.
July 6, 2020
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total