Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

Dark Noise

by Charlie Chapman
Positive
96%
critic
4%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of Dark Noise by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of Dark Noise written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for Dark Noise

Reviews: 73Avg. Rating: 9.6/10

Positive reviews

5 out of 5
Love this app!

Simple yet thoughtful design. App has been super useful to play white noise (for a newborn hoon through the usual growth spurts)

By a non techie.
February 19, 2021
5 out of 5
Great; no subscription!

This app delivers! It does exactly as advertised and the different sounds are good.

You can set a timer for 23hours 59minutes if you need that long. We use a 12hour timer.

No subscription!!!
In a world of increasing monthly subscriptions this is a real find. THANK YOU to the developers for

By another dm fan 9,877.
February 18, 2021
4 out of 5
Needs more sounds

I like this app, it’s a great app and I just love the design, but it definite needs more sounds like rain tubes, (those tubes
full of beans that you turn upside down to make a noise), and I have recently had a problem where sound shuts of after about one
or two minutes occasionally

By kittykittycatt.
February 15, 2021
5 out of 5
Love this app!

This is the perfect app to study to! I do hope you add more sounds soon! Like “library sounds” “classroom ambiance”

By basically im hay.
February 15, 2021
5 out of 5
Best Modern Sleep Noise app!

I used to be satisfied with a sleep sound app that just made some white noise to give me a blank canvas for sleep. That was the
olden days of iPhones, a simpler and more innocent time.

I’ve used a different sleep sound app happily for many years. It’s been collecting strikes as iOS moved forward an

By FM_M.
February 14, 2021
5 out of 5
A MUST HAVE FOR POOR SLEEP

If you have trouble sleeping for whatever reason, you need to get this app. For me it has been a life changer. There are very
very few apps I can say that about.

I suffer from sever chronic pain and my ability to sleep is completely compromised by the pain. I always have some type of music
playin

By Musical Dinosaur.
January 19, 2021
5 out of 5
Great app! Easy to use!

A lot of options - the Beach may be my favorite - but so many to choose from!

By Edwards9.
January 18, 2021
5 out of 5
Best noise app I’ve ever tried!!!

I have previously tried many noise apps before dark noise and all of them where simply dreadful. But this app is well made and
simple. Plus the developer clearly listens to a lot of the same podcasts I do haha

By G.Skinner.
January 6, 2021
5 out of 5
🚨🚨🚨🚨🚨🚨🚨🚨🚨🚨🚨🚨

This app desperately needs Binaural sounds please add it makes so much sense to add them to this app

The sound never changes on Binaural Beats so that makes it easy to loop and they can be very short file won’t take up much space
on our devices

But please no popping sounds on loops it’s extremel

By Greg.ni.
December 25, 2020
5 out of 5
Well designed

I have been using this app for hours every day, mostly because it has Shortcuts functionality. That feature alone makes it more
useful than other noise apps. The drawback for me is the sound library. As a person with tinnitus, some days I need different
blends of sounds, and rain is best for this, b

By BigDaddyCatan.
December 22, 2020
5 out of 5
Best white noise app

It’s got all the features, it’s a good price, and there seems to be ongoing support. I’ve tried a few and this one is my
favorite.

By kevinsc.
November 25, 2020
5 out of 5
Dark noise is the only noise

I have eight words for you all...

Coffee shop. Thunderstorm. Heavy rain. Cat purring. Fireplace.

^ Those make the best custom noise mix of all time. Dark Noise is the only app that can give me this.

Dark Noise 4 Life

By joshdholtz.
November 25, 2020
5 out of 5
Great app :)

Could you add alpha and beta waves? Thanks

By Lofi Digital Monk.
November 23, 2020
5 out of 5
Pretty Much Everything

All the sounds you want and More!!! My wife and I used Apple Music until I found this App, but the tracks always fade out. With
this, there is no gap between your white noise, just ONE LOOP! Couldn't have asked for a better app.

By Apple Thunder.
November 10, 2020
4 out of 5
New update removes sound mixes

Warning! The newest update removes all sound mixes. I no longer have my sound mixes, they’re all gone. I was wondering what was
missing from the app and then I realized. Beware of this update!

By Djdixhdnjakakdoekenjririfj.
October 18, 2020
4 out of 5
'Beautiful design but disappointing sound'

'This app is gorgeous and thoughtfully designed with excellent widgets and Shortcuts integration, and the variety of sounds is
impressive (5 stars). However, the quality of the majority of sounds is frankly just average, which is disappointing, considering
that sound is the app\'s entire purpose (3

By Secular South.
October 17, 2020
5 out of 5
'Always the perfect app for my mood.'

'Fireplace for reading, waterfall for sleeping, I love Dark Noise!'

By Jon Music.
October 13, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great Premium Noise App'

'I really like the selection of sleep or relaxation sounds in this program a lot. If I need something to listen to, to be able to
sleep or just to de-stress, Dark Noise, is what I inevitably choose almost every time.\n\nAlso, I cannot thank the developer
enough for offering this app as a premium pro

By Joshua D..
October 12, 2020
5 out of 5
'The absolute best'

'The absolute best paid app on the store, hands down. I’d pay for this over and over again! I love the ability to mix audio with
Spotify, PLEASE never get rid of this. Also, being able to set the volume separately is huge for listening to rain and music at
the same time. \n\nOverall this app is qu

By RedBeered.
September 22, 2020
5 out of 5
'FINALLY'

'I found one of these that isn’t some ridiculous subscription model. Great UI, customizability, AND it connects to my Sonos
(with only the occasional bump)! Also the ad on Reddit was adorable.'

By Snekuls.
September 21, 2020
5 out of 5
'Best ambient noise app'

'I’ve probably been through a dozen noisemaking apps over the years and this one is by far the most polished and enjoyable.
Every little things sets it above the competition. My favorite thing (that has nothing to do with the excellent sounds) is the
subtle little animations. It just shows the dev

By Mikeyhead.
September 19, 2020
5 out of 5
'Such a great app!'

'I absolutely love this app, and I’m grateful that Charlie Chapman keeps up on it so regularly. 100% wonderful.'

By TheTaintedOne.
September 18, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great app & amazing interface'

'This app is amazing. The developer keeps adding more nosies. Maybe even eventually we’ll get noises you hear when in a boat on
an lake/ocean.\n\nThe interface is phenomenal and easy to use. I would highly recommend this app. And overall sound quality of
almost all the noises is very good and you

By Eustace_Y.
September 8, 2020
5 out of 5
'Huge variety of sounds'

'And if you dont find what you want, mix your own sounds. My son loves this and has his own mix of sleep sound effects.'

By mrarlen.
September 6, 2020
5 out of 5
'Excellent App!'

'This app does exactly what it’s suppose to. In a nice clean package. Love the navigation, little Easter eggs and icons. \nWell
done.'

By S_J_S.
August 22, 2020
5 out of 5
'Attention to Detail'

'The sounds here are nice but where this app shines is on its attention to design and detail. It’s a beautiful app.'

By Fly4Him17.
August 15, 2020
5 out of 5
'Fantastic. This is everything I need'

'I would love a watch app that could function as a remote to choose and play mixes. When a mix is playing the “now playing”
appears on my watch but I cannot initiate mixes or launch the app on the phone\n\nAll that to say this is fantastic.'

By Antiduplicity.
August 14, 2020
5 out of 5
'fantastic design and so useful'

'One of the best designed apps I’ve ever used – really great sounds - so useful - love the new Sound Mixer - thank you to the
developer Charlie'

By Rex 6878.
August 14, 2020
5 out of 5
'Absolutely perfect!'

'I love this app, it\'s perfect! I am blind, and love different sounds, so it\'s amazing.'

By skiptastic22.
August 1, 2020
4 out of 5
'Love the app... Possible battery issue'

'I’d like to say that this is a very well-designed app. Love the look, feel, and sound options. Last night was the first night I
used it all night. I had Space Engine running for about 5 hours on my iPhone 11 Pro Max. Screen was off. Battery went from around
90% to 9% in five hours of running. Is

By Magus Snide.
July 27, 2020
5 out of 5
'The BEST noise app!'

'And it has the best interface by far, too!'

By MasPollo.
July 20, 2020
5 out of 5
'You won’t be disappointed'

'This app is so good, I am shocked the developer didn’t charge for the upgrade by deploying as a new app. \n\nVersion 3 should
deploy as a new app and charge again. It worth paying for...'

By Ultra Man 7.
July 20, 2020
5 out of 5
'Excellent, and no subscription!'

'I love the variety of sounds, and I am thrilled that there is no subsection fee! Kudos!'

By Lecter.
July 20, 2020
4 out of 5
'Need more themes'

'Can there be a library sound added. I’m a college student and use to spend many days studying there but cannot now due to
COVID-19. I terribly miss those days.'

By tayyabahh.
July 12, 2020
5 out of 5
'Beta user during COVID'

'Special shout out and support to this dev. \n\nThey allowed users to join their beta free of charge during the COVID-19 outbreak
and still continues to do frequent updates all for free. I bought the app not for access but to support them and show my
appreciation for a continuous level of support, a

By Harrpooned in the Eye.
July 2, 2020
5 out of 5
'MY CHANGED LIFE'

'FANTASTIC APP. Cured my insomnia. Tried every drug possible-only dark noise worked!'

By Dr. Casey Jr..
June 7, 2020
5 out of 5
'Definitely the BEST ambient sound app'

'Definitely the BEST ambient sound app- please add mixing sounds together in the future!'

By BabyPopDipstick.
May 1, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great sound and Responsive Developer'

'So this might get lost in the reviews but i wanted to review and rate this app ASAP. I\'ve been a beta tester for this app for
awhile now but had no reason to rate it until today. My dad has difficulty getting to sleep, and uses a white noise app on his
phone. Tried to convince him to switch to Dar

By doc n training.
April 29, 2020
5 out of 5
'I love this app'

'The sounds are great. The design is perfect. The app icons with references to ATP, Relay.fm shows are just *chefs kiss*'

By Anthony Parrott.
April 20, 2020
5 out of 5
'Elegant'

'My favourite so far. Reasonably priced and very Apple-like. I hope the developer will eventually add the ability to mix sounds,
e.g., thunderstorm while in a cafe.'

By ghoetker.
April 12, 2020
5 out of 5
'This is the best background noise app'

'This app is in a league of its own.'

By Varun Pramanik.
April 11, 2020
5 out of 5
'Stay focused'

'I put on noise cancellation headphones with Thunderstorm and I can stay focused for hours.'

By Jack Hallam.
March 17, 2020
4 out of 5
'Really nice, but needs multiple simultaneous soun

'Sometimes I want to play multiple sounds together. Please add.'

By kyarbro.
March 3, 2020
5 out of 5
'Love it!'

'Airplane interior is my favorite sound to fall asleep to. For some reason that sounds better than actual white noise. I love the
variety of sounds and the app developer clearly loves and cares about this app. Looking forward to future updates and ones that
will hopefully include sound mixing. :)'

By sarahtonin16.
February 14, 2020
5 out of 5
'I love the spaceship engine noise'

'Sometimes when I have to get a lot of work done I turn on the Spaceship Engine and play it thru the HomePods. It is just like
being on a spaceship and sometimes under high velocity it rattles in exactly the way you would expect. It is totally awesome and I
love it.'

By Ggirton.
February 6, 2020
5 out of 5
'Perfectly serves its purpose'

'Well made ambient noise app with a lot of personalization options. 10/10'

By PooterPotamus.
February 6, 2020
5 out of 5
'Thank You'

'The only app I’ve found that helps with focus and concentration. Its great for loud offices, and combining it with noise
canceling its a win. Kudos!'

By Razr31.
February 5, 2020
5 out of 5
'Pretty much Feature-Complete'

'Fantastic app: it does exactly one thing background noise and it does that one thing exceptionally.\n\nI would love to see (and
purchase!) more sounds if they are ever added in the future. But as it exists, currently, incredibly worth the value. I use it
almost daily!'

By user_uncertain.
February 2, 2020
5 out of 5
'A wide variety of sounds'

'There are many different white noise sounds that you can play, even if other apps are running. Has a timer and color options as
well. Great app.'

By LaurainBusan.
January 30, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great UI!'

'Love this app because I can no longer sleep without noise, and when I am on the road this app works perfectly. The UI is as easy
as it gets. And the variety of sounds is great. Excited to see what new features come in the future.'

By damazynk.
January 27, 2020
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
Cant hear mixes while making them

This app is beautiful and the sounds are great and well organized but why cant I hear the sounds which I may want to add to the
mix I’m making while making the mix.

This is pretty much the only thing that really bothers me about the app. It’s like half its functionality is seriously flawed.

By RustVel.
November 28, 2020
3 out of 5
Background Usage

After this update on iOS 14, the app seems to be running in background although it’s been closed. Have to reboot the phone to
prevent this app from going rogue.

By ur_mum53.
September 20, 2020
3 out of 5
[Almost] all sounds are monaural

[2.0 update below] The app design is lovely, and the sounds are of a fine quality … except there aren’t any stereo sounds as
far as I can tell. I’m a sounds app connoisseur (yes, that’s a thing), and of the six sound apps I use, even the free ones,
this is the only one I have that has no stereo soun

By scampercom.
July 22, 2020
3 out of 5
Overall a nice app but its not without issues.

I’ve been using this app for about 2 months now and although I love the overall design of the app, there are a couple of
frustrating issues I’ve been unable to resolve. First, I tried creating a Siri shortcut to start playing Brown Noise on my
HomePod but Siri only responds that I need to continue o

By jstene.
May 8, 2020
3 out of 5
Nice little app, wish I could mix sounds together

It’s be nice to be able to mix multiple sounds together in the app. I’d love to be able to play rain and city sounds at the
same time for example. It’s a nice app, but that feature will push to five stars for me

By justin zym.
February 10, 2020
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total