Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

Dream Quest

by Peter M Whalen
Positive
94%
critic
6%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of Dream Quest by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of Dream Quest written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for Dream Quest

Reviews: 41Avg. Rating: 9.4/10

Positive reviews

5 out of 5
One of the best mobile games

It’s a bold statement, yes it is. I fully believe that it is. I’ve owned this game for many years, and while it’s not
updated (besides to update functionality), I still enjoy coming back to it now and then. It’s a challenging game but one I’m
sure would blow up if it had a bit of attention.

If y

By Don't bother >>.
April 17, 2021
5 out of 5
Surprisingly Very Fun!

I was skeptical at first but decided to give it a try. Glad I did! One of my favorite purchases now!

By Herpy Derpity.
January 31, 2021
5 out of 5
So good

People see the graphics and move on but this game is frickin awesome. If you like rogue-like deck builders, this game deserves a
lot of love!

By Nabzalot.
January 16, 2021
5 out of 5
Playing for years and I cannot stop

I laugh every time I see the graphics, but I have been playing this game for years with no updates and no problems. It is a
really nicely balanced game at times with some extreme challenges. I simply create a new profile and start from scratch whenever
I get bored and want a real challenge again.

By ToENuFF.
December 27, 2020
5 out of 5
'2 years for every class to beat lord'

'I played this game for about 2 years. Some people would argue the game is unbalanced. It is true. Some classes are naturally
weaker than others in terms of probability of beating the final boss. However, it doesn’t mean they are weak when you get all
key cards for them. Warrior and paladin are ha

By Myquist.
August 19, 2020
5 out of 5
'Don’t let the graphics fool you'

'This game is top tier!\n\nTons of depth and replay ability. Worth every penny, a must buy if you like deck building RPGs.'

By salesninja.
July 24, 2020
5 out of 5
'Don’t judge a game by it’s cover!'

'This game has amazing depth to it, especially after unlocking the more special rule-changing classes, braving the hardest
difficulty to take on a very ultimate endgame boss. \n\nIt may seem difficult at first, randomly unfair and you will get stuck in
unwinnable situations. But endure, spend your a

By Luminar_Vega.
May 28, 2020
5 out of 5
'Amazing game but...'

'This is an amazing game, highly recommended. However, devs, please ad more content!!'

By 2000 volts.
April 12, 2020
5 out of 5
'Fun game, great value'

'This game is a robust dungeon crawler with combat resolved via decks that are customized from a starting class over the course of
a 30 minute adventure. \n\nThe plot is nonexistent, but the game systems are fun and it has tons of replay value-there’s much
variety between classes and within each c

By frfiallo.
March 16, 2020
4 out of 5
'Exceptional'

'Not much to look at, but this is a deep, challenging roguelike deck builder. Dropped one-star only because difficulty is
primarily due to rng which results in impossible to win games that no matter how carefully and thoughtfully you play, you will
lose.'

By GmatterG.
January 19, 2020
5 out of 5
'Love this game'

'I’ve been playing it a few years and keep coming back to it. Start over unlock each class and card again. So simple and so
perfectly designed. It did take me a TON of try’s to beat lvl 1 the first time but great challenge. What a gift to see the dev
return to this project with an expansion or s

By Wastedgrace03.
December 20, 2019
5 out of 5
'Brilliant but brutal'

'This game is so clever that people have made a living selling Dream Quest knock-offs. Not sure why Peter has not made a sequel.
Maybe he is too busy rolling around in his well deserved money. I have died more times playing this game than any other yet I
can’t stop playing. Buy this game if yo

By Samizdat5150.
October 26, 2019
5 out of 5
'Love this game'

'You can see when playing the Hearthstone Dungeon run where a lot of the creative talent is coming from. Very simple and also
very complex game design. I got this game as soon as I saw his name and have only regretted the life I have sacrificed to play
this instead.'

By Alter292.
October 24, 2019
5 out of 5
'The best.'

'Best roguelike AND best card game I\'ve played. Thoroughly solid mechanics. Just enough random chance that you do better in some
runs than others, but that I\'ve never screamed at it in dejected frustration. If I\'m rolled a bad game, nonetheless it seems
\"fair\" somehow. And for a game with so mu

By Bob middle.
September 18, 2019
5 out of 5
'The best roguelike on the App Store!'

'Slay the Spire was TOTALLY informed by Dream Quest. Like another reviewer said, I too have passed by this game dozens of times
while searching for a new rpg/roguelike fix. I finally took a chance after playing dozens of others and bought it. Holy crap, this
is hands down the best rpg/card/roguelike

By AlpineBroAlpine.
August 4, 2019
5 out of 5
'Best iOS Game Ever Made'

'This is, bar none, the greatest iOS game of all time. I’ve dumped hundreds of hours into it since 2014 and I still regularly
reset the achievements and do it all from scratch again.\n\nThere have been many imitators but there is only one Dream Quest. Best
dollar-to-gaming-enjoyment value ever in

By Confuzzl3d.
May 17, 2019
5 out of 5
'This is my top played game, for years now.'

'Read the other reviews for a sense of the awesomeness that is this game. No less than the creator of Magic: The Gathering,
Richard Garfield, has blessed this game with his seal of approval. \n\nAnd even the graphics have a heartwarming story - the
designer wanted to involve his young daughter in

By J.chen32.
April 22, 2019
5 out of 5
'Best iOS game'

'I’ve played through this game hundreds of times. Maybe even nearing a thousand. The only negative thing about this game is that
it’s so unique, I can’t find anything else to fill the hole this game has left. The bad graphics add to the charm and
uniqueness of this game. I rarely leave reviews

By Snl820hdnfnjdjrjdjejdj.
February 18, 2019
4 out of 5
'What a great game'

'This game is amazing. It’s got practically everything you can ask for. Long Term Progression, Card Collection, Rogue-like,
Achievements, Exploration, Classes, and easy to understand game mechanics. The game itself doesn’t have beautiful card art but
honestly it makes me enjoy the game a little

By magic00.
January 21, 2019
5 out of 5
'Best game on iOS'

'I\'ve been playing this off and on for years now and it\'s never lost any of the fun. Rogue like plus deck building is a great
combo.'

By hypergoof.
January 10, 2019
5 out of 5
'How can I convince you to buy this?'

'I passed by this game dozens of times in the App Store, always convinced that the lousy art told the whole story. How good could
it be if it was just stick figures? ALL OF THE GOOD! How can this be the only game this guy has made? I’ve never seen a
rouge-like with such perfect balancing, mechanic

By FutureBoy23.
November 21, 2018
5 out of 5
'Surprisingly good game'

'One of the most fun games on mobile. If Ascend had a baby with a rougelike, this would be the result.'

By Jaaaaameeeeeeeeeeeees.
June 30, 2018
5 out of 5
'Among my favorite games of all time'

'No other game has delivered as much value for my money.'

By hellokelley.
June 27, 2018
5 out of 5
'Best iOS game'

'It\'s been years now, and I am still playing this game. The graphics are hilarious, the gameplay is incredibly deep and
merciless, but there are so many achievements to unlock and each one improves the game experience just a little bit more. If you
love a well-crafted game, have a sense of humor, a

By resin007.
June 27, 2018
5 out of 5
'Best roguelike on iOS by far'

'This game is pretty much perfect, save for some UI sizing.\n\nI’ve played it for well over 100 hours by now, and my only ask
would be a sequel <3'

By Fritzguy.
June 27, 2018
5 out of 5
'Fun game'

'Came across this while reading the updates to Ascension. Saw the reviews so figured it was worth a shot. Like other say, don\'t
let the graphics fool you. It\'s a real deep game in the genre of Slay the Spire though this game is older than StS. My only
concern is that it hasn\'t been updated in awh

By Oleoay.
June 9, 2018
4 out of 5
'Don’t let the graphics fool you!'

'So there I was looking for a cheap game on the AppStore and I had a few bucks. Wasn’t sure what to get so I saw this and it’s
graphics and simply had to find out what this was about, there was no way it could be good, right? Wrong! This game is an absolute
blast. The mechanics are fun and makin

By Gertpert.
June 5, 2018
5 out of 5
'Must get this game!!!'

'This game is awesome! The only thing that would make this game better is if the dev or someone would port it over to Android.
The only bad thing I can say about this game is that it will eat up your time, so play wisely!'

By My latest review.
May 22, 2018
5 out of 5
'A true masterpiece'

'I love this game. Despite the weak graphics, it’s actually quite excellent and if you enjoy deck building games, this one’s
awesome. The RPG elements are icing on the cake.'

By AlexMA-363553.
May 15, 2018
5 out of 5
'Amazing'

'Just like slay the spire. No in app purchases. Beat the game over 30 times. Amazing'

By Reed Stiles.
April 6, 2018
5 out of 5
'Wow, fantastic!'

'Like other reviewers I am quite a fan of this game. I would have payed more than 2.99 for it. The balance in this game is
incredible but begs to be played intelligently. I’ve grown quite fond of the simplistic art and honestly enjoy it just as much
as some other games on the market with very deta

By Mertisem.
March 30, 2018
5 out of 5
'Seriously impressive'

'Do NOT be fooled by the art style: Dream Quest is the real deal. The game design of this deckbuilder rivals anything out there.
If you’re looking for a deck building game packed with interesting mechanics, this is absolutely for you.'

By Aloiiv.
March 19, 2018
5 out of 5
'Excellent'

'I’ve played too much of this. My family is concerned for me. I’d tell them it’s no big deal, but I haven’t found my way
out of the dungeons yet. I’ll keep trying and hopefully see my children again. Someday.'

By DaBoozyOne.
March 10, 2018
5 out of 5
'Absurdly compelling'

'There are a few other games out there that aim for this same formula (though honestly, not _that_ many, I wish there were more),
but Dream Quest is still the king of it\'s unique little genre. If you like a game that rewards experimentation and strategy, and
with loads to discover, this is for you.

By philomory.
January 18, 2018
5 out of 5
'Really good'

'This dude deserves every cent he makes on this. It’s really good.'

By RichfieldTimm.
December 12, 2017
5 out of 5
'Wow!'

'Don’t let the graphics put you off on this wonderful game. ( I actually like the simplicity) This card/rogue/board game is so
amazing I’ve been playing for days straight... clear a level close the app and reopen again later. The progression is spot on
and the different cards are fun. And FRE

By Bhaald.
November 11, 2017
5 out of 5
'Great game'

'I have downloaded and deleted this game 4 times. Each time I deleted it was because I couldn’t stop playing. Superbly done! The
value is incredible. My one wish would be a mode after unlocking everything that you could just fight dreamer with a deck you
choose to build.'

By kstarm.
November 10, 2017
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
No XS Max support

This game deserves 5-stars, no brainer. But this game literally is played on the half of the screen on XS Max. Not even Plus size,
literally half of the screen. Not sure what the deal is but needs an update. Crazy thing is, it’s optimized for the big iPad
Pro. As soon as it’s updated, I’ll give it 5

By changing magic.
July 3, 2019
3 out of 5
zero updates

not that it needs it but what u pay for is what u get. if an iOS update makes this unplayable then good luck. this dev has not
touched this app once in the last several years. that said, it’s not half bad if u don’t care about graphics

By Vlouie.
December 10, 2018
3 out of 5
Fun, but not fair.

I’d love to rate it higher, but it’s not a fair game. Some situations there are no solutions, and there always should be.
Otherwise it’s a complex and enjoyable game to play.

By Cabreview.
May 25, 2018
3 out of 5
Addicting to play

When you first download the game, you will likely be a little turned off by the graphics. However, if you play through a few
times, you will overlook the graphics and really enjoy the game play. I love deck builders and play board games (Clank!, etc.)
frequently. It’s my favorite type of game. Howev

By JesD.
March 18, 2018
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total