Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

Ecosia

by Ecosia
Positive
92%
critic
8%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of Ecosia by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of Ecosia written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for Ecosia

Reviews: 113Avg. Rating: 9.2/10

Positive reviews

5 out of 5
Great! But...

This is by far the best browser app, especially with the latest update. It is transparent, has a good cause, dark mode, ad and
tracking blocker... and lots more. But I do have one problem with it, when I go to add a website to my “bookmarks” it puts it
in a big long list with the others. There needs

By The GARDER Reviews.
June 17, 2021
4 out of 5
One problem

Only problem is the night mode sometimes inverts images, like this app otherwise

By StormDragon7.
June 16, 2021
5 out of 5
NEW UPDATE IS EVERYTHING ❤️

Reader mode, dark mode, top sites on home page, ect!! Thank you!

By Emily Hidalgo.
June 14, 2021
5 out of 5
New update A+!!

This new update makes the mobile app actually usable for me. I always wanted to use it before but kept going back to firefox
because it had more useful features, now I can use ecosia with ease! Thanks, ecosia team!!

By Buckeye_Spartan.
June 14, 2021
4 out of 5
Good

Love this search engine so much!! Not really a fan of the newest update layout though.

By GhostTook.
June 12, 2021
5 out of 5
Fantastic new update and sleek as ever

I absolutely love the sleekness of the newest update, the dark mode is awesome. The reader view is a great addition, I love the
settings/extras tab on the bottom now for the phone edition. Private browsing is also a huge plus. All in all, I have no
complaints at all and love using your browser and s

By Samkrahn22.
June 12, 2021
5 out of 5
Awesome !!!

Please just add icloud backup!!!

By waterybread.
May 30, 2021
5 out of 5
Yay Dark Mode!

Now we just need to get a dark mode option for the browser version.

By alanroberts91.
May 20, 2021
5 out of 5
Congrats!

Congratulations Ecosia! I’m a fan of yours now. To me, that’s definitely saying something because I typically do not like the
internet and wish that we could go back to 1985 when there was no internet! So much has changed with the advent of the Information
Age. People are more greedy, selfish, deman

By zachary dachary doc.
May 10, 2021
5 out of 5
Love the cause!!

Can Ecosia have a dark mode please? It helps reduce energy consumption and some people have sensitive eyes !(:

By Meepssssss.
May 3, 2021
5 out of 5
It’s my favorite!

With Ecosia I get a beautiful easy to use SE that helps me research everything! I also get to plant trees to make this world
glorious and healthier! I use this so often I must have a small forest somewhere on Earth.

By kodiwodi.
April 30, 2021
5 out of 5
hello world

this is your golden boy letting you know its 2524 BE. How or whatever parallel exists. You can still EMD or EAD for free

By 3IiOpen4u.
April 27, 2021
5 out of 5
Just rating to help

Hopefully this 5 stars will help bring attention to this organization, great app.

By Djqock.
April 24, 2021
4 out of 5
I love the app! Could we have a dark mode?

I like the app but it doesn’t really fit into the dark my scheme of my computer.

By Rubaloob.
April 18, 2021
5 out of 5
Perfect

Honestly this is perfect for whatever it is I even need online

By gouuferu.
March 30, 2021
4 out of 5
No dark mode

The app, ams search engine, is great but still lacks dark mode. Once that’s added, it’ll be perfect.

By Analog gibes.
March 27, 2021
5 out of 5
Great app, easy to use, helpful, works

They really do plant trees, app is simple to understand and I could Google things easily

By gostrs.
March 19, 2021
5 out of 5
Nice app

I’m giving it a five star review because it works really well. I can use it to search and it works just as good as a normal
browser. The only thing it doesn’t have is a request desktop site feature and that’s the only reason I still use other browser
with ecosia search.

By hijast.
March 10, 2021
5 out of 5
I love this app

The idea that such a big change can happen by such a small on part seems almost poetic.

By PilotPierce.
March 7, 2021
4 out of 5
One thing.

There is one thing I need from this and it’s a darker theam that’s all I want.

By YLI OF.
March 6, 2021
5 out of 5
Great app but where’s the dark mode

I love the idea of this app and have used it as my main search engine. I was just surprised that there is NO dark mode option,
which seems commonplace for apps nowadays. Please, make this a feature!! Thank you guys for your work!

By tzepol.
March 5, 2021
5 out of 5
Great cause

I love this search engine. Very smooth and helpful to our planet!

By ahshdbuebs.
February 22, 2021
5 out of 5
Great app! But where is my country?

Hello! I loved the app but I have a small question, if my country is not among the countries when I wanted to select it in the
adjustments section, that means that they do not have a team to plant trees here? Or it means that the app is justo not adapted
for my country? I'm from Bolivia

By shabanaje.
February 18, 2021
5 out of 5
I love it and it’s great but

I’ve been using the app for just over a year now and I use it for mostly everything. I love how the windows don’t close like
in other browsers when you spend too much time away. Overall it’s easy to use and highly recommend.

However if I could change one thing I would give it a dark mode setting. I

By TeethApple.
February 16, 2021
5 out of 5
Love it!! But can be impractical

Love the app it’s a great cause!! But I think some things could be improved.
-The way different tabs are organized can be inconvenient and confusing. It would be a bit better if they were organized more like
safari or google.
-The search results could be more current and the way images are organize

By boop888.
February 12, 2021
5 out of 5
Amazing Cause, Great App

Let's be honest. We're human beings. We enjoy convenience, instant gratification and money. In all these things, that comes at a
cost, and it's destroying our planet. It will kill us too, if we don't work to repair the damage we're doing.

Ecosia is an amazing organization and its cause is just. The

By Rooster Tim.
February 9, 2021
5 out of 5
TYSM

I really like this app. It’s simple to use and I appreciate your contributions and efforts to trees as well as your users.

By goodomen5.
February 8, 2021
5 out of 5
There is no downside!

You give up some functionality for a good cause. I have this as my main browser and have another as back up when i need a
particular feature. Thank you to How To Save A Planet for mentioning this App!

In a future update I hope they add the ability to stay on the current page when I “open in new tab

By IonizedIan.
February 5, 2021
5 out of 5
Love the Cause!

I love the message behind this company, and it works! It’s not a scam even though it seems too good to be true! There are some
kinks that I think need to be ironed out. For reference, these issues are on my IOS phone with the lad test IOS update.
1.) Because Ecosia is my default browser opening cert

By 14mir.
January 29, 2021
4 out of 5
Great on the computer but not so much on mobile

I use this on both my phone and my laptop. On my laptop everything is fine and I really like using it. It is obnoxious to use on a
phone and honestly if it didn’t help plant trees I probably would use google instead. It’s just a bit hard to navigate
that’s all.

By Katie_Kitty.
January 23, 2021
4 out of 5
browser history

it's really annoying that every time i open the app i cant go back a page to backtrack on anything i looked up with more ease

By 1loganw.
January 17, 2021
5 out of 5
LOVE

Amazing, not only is it helping me but it’s helping our planet!

By AdddieF.
January 12, 2021
5 out of 5
Great work!

I remember trying to use this app when it first came out and it needed a lot of work. You did it! Now it works great, it is my
only internet app now! I hope some day I can get Siri to go right to Ecosia ! Thank you!

By Pigscz.
January 10, 2021
5 out of 5
Overall Amazing! My suggestion...

This works amazing (for me at least) I can’t seem to find a problem with it but something that would help more people actually
want it is to make its design and overall use slightly similar to other browsers. For example maybe on a laptop/computer version
you could make the plain white background be

By ItzYoGirlRuthy💜.
January 10, 2021
5 out of 5
Love it- just one suggestion

This app is so awesome. However, Safari offers a few more features that makes their browser more appealing. Most notably the find
on page feature. I would really love it if this app could implement something similar.

By no.nokay.
January 4, 2021
5 out of 5
So far really good

I made this my default browser and so far no problems

By gggdyxoisodoeih.
January 3, 2021
4 out of 5
Neat

It’s a good cause, and it works well but just two things.

1) I have not found an incognito mode

2) the back button doesn’t work very well because it can’t take you out of a site

Otherwise great stuff 👍

By 146895327.
January 3, 2021
5 out of 5
Brilliant, but please make improvements

This app is wonderful and everyone, and I mean everyone should be using this instead of google. I am giving it 5 stars for being a
wonderful invention but I want to use this opportunity to ask the developers to work out some bugs, allow for higher quality
organization, search results, speed and usab

By danilazocedre.
December 30, 2020
5 out of 5
amazing cause

i rlly hope the trees are actually being planted

By me--uh.
December 29, 2020
5 out of 5
Ecosia is definitely worth it :>

For starters, I’d just like to say the fact that Ecosia as a browser is helping to save the Earth simply through our use of the
internet is amazing. The money generated through ad-revenue is used to plant trees, and that alone is what convinced me to
download this application. I think if you want to

By +Vitalli+.
December 27, 2020
5 out of 5
Amazing!!!

Works just like google but wayyyy better for the environment

By rachdrenckpohl.
December 26, 2020
5 out of 5
It gets 5 for the cause not for the search results

Seriously amazing cause, but why bing? Sorry but Bing’s algorithm is trash.

By AJRMarine.
December 26, 2020
5 out of 5
Pls have a dark mode

It would be awesome if Ecosia had dark mode.

By Aarush:).
December 21, 2020
5 out of 5
This app is great

It’s a decent search engine and i appreciate that the ads i’ll be forced to look at on any app will go to good use here :)
Ecosia lets you see the progress in tree planting and other climate efforts, so you know it’s the real deal.
Ecosia is definitely underrated.

By Delilah+cats=heaven!!!.
December 19, 2020
5 out of 5
extraordinary!

could i set the language of chinese?when can i use it in China?its easier to use than baidu that includes many advertises when
searching for questions.

By cfhy18¥.
December 11, 2020
5 out of 5
Amazing Idea

I know nobody will see this, but this is an amazing idea. Completely agree with the idea.

By SlenderMan8.
December 8, 2020
5 out of 5
5 Stars

I love your apps transparency, and contribution to climate. I can say I trust you, especially more then Google whilst getting just
as many results through your search engine with no glitches thus far. I’ve made it my default search browser. I do think a dark
mode would be cool.

By Pres A.
December 6, 2020
5 out of 5
love,, HOWEVER

i love that i can use this somewhat more sustainable option to search the internet :) i would like to use this app more however
there are a couple of glitches including:
- images don’t load fully when you click on them
- a reader view option would be great
- possibly an automatic definition/synonym

By Sharms04.
December 1, 2020
5 out of 5
Love it for casual searches

I've been using Ecosia for maybe a year and have gotten 3,297 searches. I love the idea of planting trees and supporting local
communities where they can benefit from Ecosia's sponsorship. While I don't use it for schoolwork, I use it for casual searching,
like things I'm mildly curious about throug

By splok2.
November 23, 2020
5 out of 5
Dark mode

Awesome browser, just wish there was a dark mode.

By Holy_Hobo.
November 18, 2020
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
Love Ecosia, don’t love the new layout

I’ve been using this app for a while (have contributed to almost 50 trees!) and loved having it as a dedicated search app. If I
found something I’d want to keep for the future, I’d open it in my browser. But now Ecosia wants to /be/ the browser? That’s
not what I want to use it for.

I miss the Ecos

By hannahspixels.
June 14, 2021
3 out of 5
Log in is bad

I suggest creating ecosia mail..like gmail that we can sign in with its easy for us to keep track of our progress with instead of
sending a link to our emails to sign in. Image searching is bad please work on these two other than that we support you. 🌳 🌎

By M:..
June 13, 2021
3 out of 5
Good app but

Simply put, this app is good, and has been my go to browser for some time now. However recently it has started to have problems.
Specifically refreshing the page will crash the app and make it so that it refuses to open itself again. This has really killed
its perpose for me and is why it has its lo

By twee6241.
June 10, 2021
3 out of 5
Has potential, but would not recommend

I love the idea of the app and how it helps our environment however, it’s very difficult to navigate and there’s no photo or
video tab.

By L&L dance.
June 1, 2021
3 out of 5
Recommendations & Criticism

Pros:
- I like the "Projects" screen which details the active efforts through using the app for searches;
- I like the simplicity of the browser;
- I like that you can view the financial reports from Ecosia, to see where the funds are going and who the partners are;
- I like that it informs you of

By Baffled Teletubby.
May 11, 2021
3 out of 5
Great idea, browsing experience lacking

I think the idea behind Ecosia is great.

However, every other day I have to fill out a lengthy CAPTCHA before I can do any search, because I get:

“ Our systems have detected unusual traffic from your computer network. This page checks to see if it's really you sending the
requests and not a robot.

By Nervously.
January 22, 2021
3 out of 5
Needs Dark Mode

I love the idea and i really want to support it, and i very well could regardless, but not just the app, but the browser needs a
dark mode. I use DuckDuckGo for that very reason. I am visually impaired, so for someone like me, dark mode isn’t just a cool
feature, it is very important to help contrac

By Ldeiner Productions.
November 15, 2020
3 out of 5
Bugs

There was an issue with the auto search on the regular safari webpage. I tried to turn it off and it wouldn’t. I downloaded the
app thinking it would fix the issue and still after turning off auto search it shows me search suggestions.

By Idot123.
October 2, 2020
3 out of 5
Poor Searches and Sharing

I wanted to like this app but after having it for well over 6 months I find I don’t even use it anymore and just deleted it.
Unfortunately the search is bad and results are usually pretty far off. For example before deleting I just tried to search for
“286000 INR to USD” which in any other search wi

By Kickingplants.
September 15, 2020
3 out of 5
Meehhhhh..

Ecosia as a search engine.. INCREDIBLE!!

Ecosia as an app is absolute garbage.. Saving and managing favorites has been a nightmare, as you can’t change anything once
you’ve added it. Don’t like the position, wanna change the name? TOUGH! This update WHIPED all of my favorites and saved
tabs.. I ca

By Mok$ha.
August 4, 2020
3 out of 5
Nice, but has some bugs

They need to fix the bugs people are reporting in their reviews. Also a “find” feature that scans the page for words would be
great. Thank you!

By Lemon taffy.
July 24, 2020
3 out of 5
I really wish I could like it more

I use ecosia on my laptop and it works well, not as well as google but they’re a multinational corporation with a lot more money
for development so I’ll excuse it. This app though... is bad. Functioning most the time, but bad. About 1/4 the articles I click
on don’t load fully and I have to switch t

By Fhefhyuchvv.
July 17, 2020
3 out of 5
Great Concept, Bad Execution

I love the concept of the app, I love supporting my plant but after a couple days the search is just not what I want it feels
glitchy and unrefined

By frick6669.
June 21, 2020
3 out of 5
Great concept! Not great execution

I love the idea of this app! Its just hard to use

By a.peice.of.trash.
June 11, 2020
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total