Reviews & Ratings - Australia

App Icon

Ecosia

by Ecosia
Positive
88%
critic
12%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of Ecosia by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of Ecosia written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for Ecosia in Australia

Reviews: 59Avg. Rating: 8.8/10

Positive reviews

4 out of 5
Absolutely love Ecosia, great update, but a reques

Can we have a page-search feature implemented so we don’t have to switch back to native safari when filtering large texts?
This would be incredibly helpful!
Thanks for your awesome work otherwise😊

By EarlMrEarlyBird.
July 10, 2021
4 out of 5
New update

Always loved this app but really dislike the new update. The dark theme is great but the old layout was so much better

By jasminn.w.
June 15, 2021
5 out of 5
Love the app and the search engine

Remember you can use google operators to find content using this search engine. Also devs please add dark mode

By Notsure 9000.
February 19, 2021
4 out of 5
Practical, as good as google & great for the plane

Fabulous, highly recommend. but please add dark mode, so that later in the evening it isn’t so bright
BETTER THAN GOOGLE, HELPS OUR PLANET

By Ggvhdd39.
February 19, 2021
5 out of 5
Dark mode please

Great app but where is the dark mode??

By Jacobs89.
February 5, 2021
5 out of 5
Great app!

Could you please add dark mode though? I’m sure a lot of other people want it.

By jeffanokii.
December 19, 2020
4 out of 5
A couple things to add

Not being connected to maps is annoying I can’t see opening times or call from the app which is a massive feature google has
over this please fix this as I’ve installed google chrome again just to get this feature for when I need to know where something
is or their hours.
Works fine but the search engine will put weird pages up instead of just the standard pages.

By Joelx1000.
October 22, 2020
5 out of 5
Great Concept!

I love the idea that my searches are working towards more than just ad revenue for other companies! It’s so easy and makes you
feel so positive.

By JaydoMono.
September 28, 2020
5 out of 5
Awesome πŸ‘πŸ»

Great secure search saving the planet & without google advertising SH#T! Great!!!
We need to be carbon negative now let alone neutral by 2050. The worlds forest will be cinders by then.

By ozopa.
September 28, 2020
5 out of 5
'Amazing idea, user friendly, heart feels every ti

'Fantastic app I love this so much! In the beginning it’s a bit annoying after using Google because it doesn’t know your
preferences but I have found as you use it more and more it gets β€œsmarter” and now it’s just like Google. Such an easy way
to do some good, an amazing idea, if only all search engines did something similar!'

By March3.0.
August 17, 2020
5 out of 5
'I LOVE THIS SOOO MUCH OMGSGSGSGSGSGSGSGSOSMSD S'

'I love this so much and it’s really good for the environment you shud def get this app and rate it 5 stars it is soo good I lov
eittttttttttt.πŸ₯°πŸ₯°πŸ˜πŸ₯°πŸ₯°πŸ˜˜πŸ₯°πŸ’•πŸ’˜πŸ’—πŸ’“πŸ’–πŸŽ€πŸ’πŸ’žπŸ’—πŸ’“πŸ’žπŸ’˜πŸ’•πŸ’–πŸ’˜πŸ’“πŸ’žπŸ’—πŸ’˜πŸ’“πŸ’—πŸ’ž
πŸ’˜πŸ’“πŸ’—πŸŽ€πŸ’—πŸ’˜πŸ’—πŸ’žπŸ’•πŸŽ€πŸ’—πŸ’˜πŸ’—πŸ’–πŸ’“πŸ’•πŸŽ€πŸ’•πŸŽ†πŸ’˜πŸŽ†πŸ’“πŸ§«πŸ’—πŸ’–πŸ’“πŸ’•πŸŽ†πŸ’•πŸŽ†πŸ’•'

By mixedzoz.
July 20, 2020
5 out of 5
'Love Ecosia'

'I love this app so much!! Saving the world by each searc'

By Viet Nam Champion.
June 26, 2020
4 out of 5
'Genius. Please add Google Translate + Annotate we

'Thank you very muchπŸ–πŸŒˆπŸŒΈπŸŒžβ€οΈβ™»οΈβ™Ύ'

By jihop6u.
June 14, 2020
4 out of 5
'Almost perfect!'

'This is a great app that plants the trees and help the environment while you search. I have a sort of β€œwishlist” of things I
hope the app/search engine developers can improve on:\n\n- design: this aspect has been improving. The more modern, attractive,
quick, simple, accessible, the better. Keep up the good work. It also catches eyes and makes people want to stay on this browser
as opposed to others.\n\n- dark mode (mobile and PC): this would be great for this app for many reasons, not just

By yeti_spaghetti.
May 25, 2020
5 out of 5
'OMG'

'I love It !! How do you plant your trees so fast?'

By pppppppputfddfgurdryfhtfth.
May 17, 2020
5 out of 5
'Feel good searches'

'I’ve already planted 7 trees by just lifting one little finger to search the internet. The search results are relevant and
private so I don’t then get bombarded with ads like when I use google. \nI’ve put the Ecosia app where Safari was so my thumbs
muscle memory takes me there without thinking.'

By Backend kicks an.
April 22, 2020
4 out of 5
'Great App and initiative but....'

'but it needs to be bit more user friendly. The URL bar needs to be bit more responsive. I think the linkage between the
β€œhistory” and β€œURL bar” needs to improve. Like if I try β€œfb” automatically from history it should open fb.com webpage
instead of searching fb.com. Also the when clicking on URL bar the entire URL should get selected and upon long pressing
β€œpaste” option should appear instead of β€œselect/select all” \nI think these small changes will make it super great. \nTh

By ShreyasDas.
April 9, 2020
5 out of 5
'A zero effort way to improve the planet'

'A zero effort way to improve the planet'

By nickname 29796.
April 3, 2020
5 out of 5
'OMG GREAT!'

'Love it though the search bar is a bit annoying but I\'m getting used to it!πŸ˜πŸŒ²πŸŒ²πŸŒ²πŸ€'

By KatnissE77.
February 9, 2020
5 out of 5
'A good cause'

'I love that this app plants trees so we can help fight climate change'

By livvy005.
February 7, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great, but'

'Great but please fix the tab issue. We need to be able to open more than one tab in an easier way.'

By Om a Hung.
January 3, 2020
5 out of 5
'All it needs is a dark mode'

'As a non for profit kind of thing I’m happy with how well it works and it does it’s job. I would just really like a dark mode
please!!'

By ShellyFreak.
December 9, 2019
5 out of 5
'Bad bad'

'The app is bad because it is a lie when it says how many trees are planted on every phone. The searches are not as good as other
apps. Btw the rating is a lie I only give this app a 3.2'

By 5)3??:($/&/'wiwol.
November 30, 2019
5 out of 5
'Awesome web browser!'

'Great app and great cause!! Would recommend this app to anyone who cares about the environment and it’s as easy as substituting
your normal search engine with this one. Great Job Ecosia!'

By Riley Ellem.
October 11, 2019
5 out of 5
'DOWNLOAD THIS APP TO SAVE THE EARTH'

'I thank you for making this app.I first found out about this app when my teacher (credits to Mrs ********) when she was teaching
environment class and she had planted 50 trees.AMAZING right!please keep this app running so our future is brighter.I am only very
young and already very passionate about saving our environment .I have not planted any trees yet but I always use this app.If you
search up how many trees are in our earth you will be surprised that only 3 trillion trees are in our earth

By Lucas268.
October 10, 2019
4 out of 5
'Love the app'

'App is awesome purely based on the profits being used for good! \nThe search bar issue is a very annoying bug though where the
whole thing isn’t highlighted when you click on it to type, very annoying. I’m amazed it hasn’t been fixed though and is the
only reason it doesn’t get 5 stars. Time to fix it Ecosia team!'

By samcolman.
September 26, 2019
5 out of 5
'A sustainable company :)'

'I love ecosia, it’s a pretty well designed app and it’s actually transparent with its business practices etc. Please add dark
mode to the app!'

By ash (s).
September 7, 2019
4 out of 5
'Love it.'

'This is a great app and I love the idea of using the profits to plant trees. There is one feature I would love it if you could
add: The option to use split screen. Other than that it’s my favourite search engine!'

By Galactic bookworm.
September 4, 2019
4 out of 5
'AMAZING'

'Need to start using non-stop given the Amazon is on fire. SAVE EARTH'

By vyleesi.
August 22, 2019
5 out of 5
'OMG IT IS SUCH A GOOD APP'

'I have finally planted my first tree and it\'s good because it helps stop air pollution'

By leigh harpur.
August 21, 2019
5 out of 5
'Yay trees!'

'Thank you for helping our planet!\nI will be using this instead of Google now because of their censorship of natural health
pages.\nGo Ecosia!'

By zoe.e.d.
July 2, 2019
5 out of 5
'Great App'

'I want to be able to see the progress across my platforms though. Please make a way I can sync my computer and phone together so
that I can see my overall impact \n\nThanks heaps'

By Goose 9872.
June 18, 2019
4 out of 5
'Great idea, but a work in progress'

'I love this app and what it stands for but there are a few things that don’t compare to my previous search engine. It needs
features such as bookmarks, where you can create subfolders et cetera. It also needs a function where you can open links in new
tabs and a β€˜verbatim’ search filter. An incognito mode would also be appreciated by some. However the news and projects
features are enlightening and easily accessible. This app has great potential.'

By tuxsass.
May 24, 2019
5 out of 5
'Love this app!!!'

'Such a wonderful app. Works well and plants trees!!!!!'

By FatenaAtef.
April 6, 2019
5 out of 5
'Search Bar is a bit annoying'

'Great app! The update is so much better but the search bar is annoying. When you click on it when it\'s not empty it should
highlight what you have in there so you can start typing your new search straight away. The search bar now is frustrating because
every time you put something in there it adds to whatever address was there in the first place and your search doesn\'t come up
because the original address hasn\'t cleared.\nOther than that the history and tab thing is soooo much better. I neve

By Bsjfandmdn.
March 31, 2019
5 out of 5
'LOVING THE RECENT UPDATE!!!'

'The app is heaps faster since and more user friendly. I can see my bookmarks and history way easier!'

By whoaphoebe.
March 27, 2019
5 out of 5
'This app is brilliant!'

'I highly recommend everyone to stop using whatever search engine they are using and use this instead. There are only a couple ads
that you can scroll past and then it’s the same as any other browser but those adds help plant trees.'

By Haha first.
December 7, 2018
4 out of 5
'Great Idea and App, but improvements needed!'

'Plant a tree for every search, definitely something that is needed!\n\nBut pleeeaasse: \n- Don’t keep all the pages open that
I’ve looked at! If I leave a page and don’t want it saved in a window!\n- The closing button for a window is too small. I
always click on it by accident! Make it easier to close windows please!\n- Don’t automatically delete what I’ve typed into the
search form when I try to edit it or add details to my search!\n\nKeep up the good work :)'

By Saaaaaaaaraaaaaaahhhh.
November 27, 2018
4 out of 5
'great app'

'I love ecosia and wholeheartedly support it\'s cause! For the most part, it is a great browser. However I do wish there was an
option to open links in new tabs rather than either manually copying the link, pasting it into a new tab yourself. Sometimes it is
a bit slow / freezes and sometimes the search results aren\'t as accurate as others like safari, but for the most part it\'s
great. Would also like to see a \'top hits\' kind of function where you start to enter a URL and the browser predict

By Eliza De Vries.
November 22, 2018
4 out of 5
'Love using it, but...'

'I really wish there was a \"Open in new tab\" button. I use that so much on other browsers it\'s just second nature. I really
enjoy this, I\'ve got it on my iPhone and iPad. Little different to other browsers but so is the cause behind it, it\'s refreshing
to try something different :)'

By pinkchatterboxer.
July 16, 2018
4 out of 5
'Great App'

'Might be a little picky but I’m hyper sensitive meaning I get headaches when viewing apps/websites with a lot of white/bright
colours. I’d totally give this app 5 stars if this had some sort of dark/night mode. But all in all love the premise and the
things the organisation behind it does, keep up the good work!'

By Marlowwwwwwwwww.
July 13, 2018
5 out of 5
'AMAZING'

'you should definitely get this app!!it shows amazing love for the environment, my only concern is that some people ARENT USING
IT!! πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒ'

By Squishy Writer.
June 15, 2018
5 out of 5
'Wonderful idea'

'A great user-friendly app that allows you to do some good. Not only does the app allow you to do some good while you have those
useless , weird searches (like the definition of word!), but the team behind it are extremely open and transparent with how they
are spending their money and what projects they are working towards. Totally awesome app!'

By Occasionallymotivated.
May 4, 2018
4 out of 5
'Passwords'

'Great, just want to be able to save passwords for sites.'

By LuwalhatiMahal.
February 22, 2018
5 out of 5
'Great!'

'I love the idea behind this app! The fact that I can subconsciously use it and help our planet is a really wonderful concept.
Definitely recommend πŸ‘'

By Kymma S..
January 30, 2018
5 out of 5
'Great idea for a great cause'

'This is a great idea for a great cause we need more people to use this each and everyday to help save the environment'

By Olie5383.
November 15, 2017
5 out of 5
'Beats Google'

'Who cares about a few ads at the top of your search!! Nice app!'

By FinleyB.
November 8, 2017
5 out of 5
'L'

'I discovered this app through a YouTuber and have been very inspired since. It’s truly amazing that the simple use of it does
such a good cause to the environment! Love it'

By Missuniversevj.
October 23, 2017
5 out of 5
'What a business should be'

'Great that the profits go to a worthy cause. The app itself could do with an upgrade to make searching more efficient. But
overall worthwhile using over the other browsers and search engines.'

By Cast0087.
September 27, 2017
5 out of 5
'Yea boi'

'βœ…βœ…βœ…βœ…βœ…βœ…βœ…βœ…βœ…βœ…βœ…βœ…βœ…βœ…βœ…βœ…βœ… really good!! βœ…βœ…βœ…βœ…βœ…βœ…βœ…βœ…βœ…βœ…βœ…βœ…βœ…βœ…βœ…βœ…βœ…'

By App lover 7060101112.
September 14, 2017
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
Shutdowns when I open YouTube

Each time I open YouTube it shuts down taking me back to my Home Screen. I’ve deleted and downloaded it and the same thing
happens.

By sammmmmmmmiiiiii.
June 20, 2021
3 out of 5
update has worse improvements

new design is visually unpleasant - with excess icons and margins. previous layout was cleaner - easily accessible for mobile
users and had less errors.

double tap onto screen incurs a mini zoom function instead of highlight to select text.
app has a delay to open tabs, overall works slower than previous version.

bookmarks are also made difficult to manage in new design.

ya gotta revert it back to keep it simple.
if it ain't broken, then don't fix it.

By Kaelon Caieru.
May 22, 2021
2 out of 5
The new update

I got the new update yesterday and now when ever I try open the app it instantly takes me out of it. I tried deleting it then
reinstalling but that didn't work. Oops.

By Frediwinks.
November 17, 2020
3 out of 5
Great concept but

needs an option to enlarge text size. Disappointingly small.

By percpie.
August 4, 2020
3 out of 5
Needs extension to Safari and Dark Mode

Safari has a dark mode, saving power.
Why isn’t Ecosia dark mode only.
Needs extension or Settings option to be default browser in Safari

By Paul Reid.
February 9, 2020
2 out of 5
Want to be able to open links in a new tab

That’s probably the only thing that’s preventing me from using this browser. I enjoy convenience and efficiency and it’s
annoying having to redo searches and further clicks in new tabs when you want to access more information on a number of products -
this is compared to safari where I can open up a number of pages in new tabs from the one web page. Love what you do and stand
for, but you need to make it more user friendly to attract more users!!

By thatzgold.
August 27, 2019
2 out of 5
Not a robot?

I’ve done about 3 searches on the app after downloading it and now it won’t perform any searches without stating there is
unusual activity and asking me to confirm I am not a robot by selecting tiles with certain images on them. Only problem is, I
select correctly and hit submit but then it all just refreshes to β€œconfirm you are not a robot and select the following tiles”
again. Thought I had clicked the wrong pictures at first but after repeating that another 10 times it became clear ecosia was

By Ru$$i4n M4fi4.
June 6, 2019
3 out of 5
Only use because of how they help the environment

This app has a great moral but it just doesn’t fulfill. I have done a lot more searches and it claims I have only done 56. A lot
of the time I will google something and it goes something went wrong. This is really annoying and I get really sick of it. I
switch back to safari because of these errors and as soon as the are fixed I will go back

By Buddyslim26.
January 12, 2019
3 out of 5
Great Aims, Needs improvement.

I downloaded the app as I use the Ecosia search engine on the computer and support the idea behind the company, to raise money to
plant trees. I had been using this app for a few months more but have recently gone back to using Google Chrome. As a consumer, I
will use what is the most efficient for my needs. This App needs improvement, the extra adds don’t bother me as that is how they
raise money, yet the format and layout of the App needs work. I hope it can be improved as I would love for my

By Pepperskin.
January 9, 2018
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total