Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

Environments

by The Numero Group
Positive
92%
critic
8%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of Environments by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of Environments written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for Environments

Reviews: 45Avg. Rating: 9.2/10

Positive reviews

4 out of 5
'Great sounds and choice'

'I like the favorites lost that can be created. The low freq wind-chimes are very relaxing as is the soft surf sounds. And the
arctic cold actually helps make environment feel cooler. \n\nGood for the price and very good for quality and ease of use.'

By Fiddle$ticks.
June 5, 2020
5 out of 5
'Incredible immersive sounds - worth the $3!'

'I bought this app 5 minutes ago and I already feel more relaxed. The ocean sound I’m listening to right now makes me feel like
I’m sitting on the Maine coast watching the tide come in! There’s even an occasional foghorn (and no weird fake-sounding
seagulls, which is a feature that’s always

By louisa86.
April 18, 2020
4 out of 5
'Wonderful yet loud'

'I enjoy the tracks here. I noticed how the tracks are set at a high output level so it’s difficult to play them quietly on my
iPhone. I would love to see an update where the tracks were at a lower output or the app had a volume control.'

By Poppamando.
November 12, 2019
5 out of 5
'Environments'

'Great application. I first heard about these recordings more than 40 years ago. I remember falling to sleep to the ocean
shoreline album when I was a teenager. I love the cornfield sounds, rain storms, ocean waves and the blizzard recordings. I have
recommended this app to several people looking fo

By Teacher925.
October 4, 2019
5 out of 5
'Essential'

'Excellent with high quality headphones. Looking forward to more well done tracks and hi res audio.\nAlso navigation needs to be
simplify.'

By Only Essential Apps.
September 27, 2019
5 out of 5
'if you can’t collect the vinyls get this baby'

'hey awesome!\nthey added the slow version!\n\nwhen I first bought this I asked if they could put in a varispeed control...but
this is good\n\nI used to take two copies of intonation and make chords\nsounds cool\n\ntry it!'

By gretagrain.
August 12, 2019
5 out of 5
'Pays you back'

'These recordings of actual natural sounds are unlike anything a computer generates using algorithms or even guided by humans. The
app will pay you back the first time you use it! Luscious soundscapes for relaxation, motivation, sleep, wake and everything
else!'

By @expore360.
August 12, 2019
5 out of 5
'Tried finding an alternative but this is the real

'Before finding this app, I had been looking for the recordings online or something like it for years to no avail. I had one of
these records when I was a teenager and wished I still had it. I’ve tried lots of other options, but the recordings were short
or had music playing over them and nothing

By MissSeattlr.
June 30, 2019
4 out of 5
'Wonderful app but the first couple of recordings

'I love the environments series but the first couple of recordings can be played at 16 and 78 rpm as well and it unfortunate that
that option is not available for listeners to utilize'

By Hippieking1398.
May 13, 2019
5 out of 5
'Nearly #1 worthy'

'add easy access to the track list and the ability to scroll through each recording. the flawless quality of the recordings
warrants a flawless UI - and it’s not that complicated!'

By Palste.
May 12, 2019
5 out of 5
'The best'

'I don’t write many reviews but wanted to take the time for this one. I love sounds of nature and enjoy any moments I can hear
it in real life. With my work schedule it’s hard. I have downloaded many apps to help me relax. Always disappointed. This one is
just what I was looking for. The sounds

By Jelly4Coco.
April 30, 2019
5 out of 5
'Look no more for a nature sounds app!'

'This is everything I have been looking for in a nature sounds app! Very straightforward and easy to use. Press play and walk
away. I absolutely love it!'

By JeremiahEnder.
April 29, 2019
5 out of 5
'Unique sounds'

'I enjoy ambient sounds in general. This app is different than the others I have. Easy to use and unique it is well worth the
cost. I appreciate the story behind the tracks—lots of work and love went into each recording. It sounds like I have the
windows open in my house now even when the weat

By GingerDVM.
December 2, 2018
5 out of 5
'This is a real gem'

'I seldom (if not never) write a review but this app is simply a gem. They are real ambient recordings engineered and stored in a
simple but sublime way. \n\nI especially like its Central Park recording, which reminds me of the good old days when I first came
to New York City and lived near the park

By Nickname of Nick.
November 9, 2018
5 out of 5
'An Impressive Collection'

'Excellent as a white noise and background track without being distracting, but also can create a soothing atmosphere when you are
in need of a change of environment or to concentrate on work.\n\nAlso good mood music for writing, you can change your audial
environment to suit the scenes you\'re writ

By Crisses.
November 5, 2018
5 out of 5
'Beautiful, long and deep'

'One of the things I can’t stand in many nature sound apps or nature recordings these days is the obnoxious overlaying of tacky
spa music, or clips that only last 4 or 5 minutes, or ones that are clearly faked with overlay after overlay of separate sounds.
This is the real thing. Unvarnished, unin

By ElegantScience.
November 4, 2018
4 out of 5
'Please Add Ability to Use Alarm'

'I love this app. Please add the ability to use it as an alarm like you can do with Pandora, for example. I would love to use
these sounds as a morning alarm-would be so much better than the built-in phone ringtones or music from my playlist.'

By Sj7396437.
October 19, 2018
4 out of 5
'Truly wonderful, needs Chromecast support'

'As fantastic as it is, I’m giving this app 4 instead of 5 stars because it lacks Chromecast support. If you’re making an
audio app in 2018, you’ve got to at least throw a bone to the millions of people who aren’t completely bought in to the
Appleverse.'

By Cuad Cosgrove.
October 19, 2018
4 out of 5
'Sensitivity area of “Play” button to be impro

'Greate app and sounds. One downside though. Sensitivity area of navigation buttons “Play” and “Information” should be
improved. Very easy to miss even with fairly precise touches.'

By 19Jonny71.
October 16, 2018
4 out of 5
'GREAT App— only one complaint'

'I love this app! The music/sounds are amazing to listen to, and it also doesn’t screw up your Spotify Discover Weekly picks
(because listening to study music on Spotify causes some confused algorithm robots). My only complaint is that the app should have
a landscape version! It only has portrait,

By HawkDancer.
October 10, 2018
5 out of 5
'Sweet Dreams'

'Pick a place to hear Earth’s cheerleading teams. Birds, frogs, crickets...'

By Seewater.
October 1, 2018
5 out of 5
'Beautiful Sounds'

'I love this app, I was worried I might be disappointed by the sound quality despite the good reviews but I’m happy to report it
is just as gorgeous as I hoped. I’ll definitely be using this app everyday. I’m in school and really wanted music for
background noise when I study and this is perfe

By BBrooke002.
September 27, 2018
5 out of 5
'Sublime'

'Best thing I’ve downloaded in years. Absolutely beautiful. I hope there will be more recordings released in the future.'

By AubsVT.
September 26, 2018
4 out of 5
'Should add speed adjustments'

'I love reading about the field recording and Teibal’s techniques/influence, but would be great to be able to adjust the speed
as he intended with the original LPs.'

By Gracefacekillah.
September 17, 2018
5 out of 5
'I knew Irv Teibel!'

'Many long years ago in Austin, a magazine sent me to do an article on Irv Teibel and his recordings. He was a fascinating,
delightful gentleman, very generous of time and spirit, and we stayed in touch for years. I still have the albums he gave me, and
his thunderstorms have always been my favori

By 909Carol909.
September 17, 2018
4 out of 5
'Great content, but UI is meh'

'The sound recordings in this app are excellent, and I love that they are stored on the device so you don’t have to be online to
listen. But navigation is limited. There is a track list, but you have to swipe through all the apps to get to it, so what’s the
point? A shortcut button to the track

By krismouse.
September 17, 2018
5 out of 5
'Amazing!'

'Head \nand shoulders above anything else in this category.'

By Yuki the Dog.
September 10, 2018
5 out of 5
'Waited 20 Years For This App!!!'

'I’ve been a fan of Syntonic Research and Irv Teibel since my introduction to these Environments recordings in the early
1980’s. These recordings are the standard all other environmental recordings are measured against. At $2.99 for all 22
recordings, this is an absolute steal! Cheaper than o

By Savin'The World.
September 1, 2018
5 out of 5
'Fabulous for Business Travel'

'When I use this app, I stop hearing all the hotel noise. It also helps me relax by visualizing the beach or the thunderstorm and
that slips into my dreaming about the beach or vacation thunderstorms.\n\nThe longer lengths are great. You can set it to loop
indefinitely.'

By Neefer Duir.
July 27, 2018
5 out of 5
'I have been waiting a LONG time for this'

'Thanks so much for getting all these Environments tracks in one place and for a more than fair price. I bought many of the
cassettes for these back in the day and used them all the time for sleep and meditation until they were literally unusable. I have
been looking for years for CDs to replace the

By Pakopi.
July 14, 2018
5 out of 5
'Highly recommended!'

'I love this app! Listening to the soothing, calming sounds of ocean waves from the ultimate seashore is the perfect way to get a
good night’s sleep.'

By Jokubas M..
June 21, 2018
5 out of 5
'Fantastic presentation of these fantastic recordi

'I gotta hand it to the Numero Group, this app is great. When acquiring the Environments series, rather than doing a
CD/Vinyl/Download reissue like their other releases, they had the thought to update for the 21st century and make an app. \n\n22
long form, stereo analogue audio recordings of nature

By Captian Awesome.
June 2, 2018
4 out of 5
'Good app/needs a tweak'

'I love the app, so does everyone that learns about it. But it badly needs two fixes:\n\n1. The infinite loop button doesn’t
work\n\n2. Every time a text or phone call come in, the track does not come back on once the notification is finished. I need to
manually go to my device and press play agai

By Misterblacbird.
May 2, 2018
5 out of 5
'I Normally Don’t Do This'

'Rarely do I review anything. However this app is an exception. A lovely idea flawlessly executed! Do yourself a huge favor and
get it.'

By JohnAmes.
April 30, 2018
5 out of 5
'Best APP'

'MT Coast says best app ever created and I agree with MT Coast, this is the best app ever created! Thanks MT Coast!'

By MT Coast.
April 17, 2018
5 out of 5
'Simply Wonderful'

'My entire family uses his app — including my wife and outer two boys.\n\nForget about what people are saying about “noise.”
These are analog recordings and that’s unavoidable.\n\nBut to listen to ACTUAL sounds from our world, from over 40 years ago is
amazing and VERY meditative.\n\nHIGHLY

By Babbo11.
April 5, 2018
4 out of 5
'Great app, I\'d personally like a few minor tweak

'I really love the concept of the app! I had been starting to collect the LPs although rarely played them but use the app most
every night. A few improvements would be great. First a dedicated button to the track list would be helpful rather than swiping
through. Also since many of these field recor

By JonBoulay.
March 28, 2018
5 out of 5
'Stunning & useful'

'Perfect! Great for yoga, easing the mind during illness or pain, calming a fussy baby, quieting or focusing the mind. Beautifully
designed and easy to use!'

By sewswan.
March 1, 2018
5 out of 5
'Another hit from the Numero Group'

'Numero Group have constantly been innovators in the reissue game. Innovators both in the work that they reissue but also in the
form in which they release it. From records with hardback books of photography to LP/DVD sets celebrating short live dance TV
shows, they’ve done it all. And they’ve c

By EdCorcoran.
February 17, 2018
5 out of 5
'I sleep like a baby now'

'Some night I sleep to a summer rain storm; other nights I let the sounds of the ocean waves caress me to sleep. This app has
provided me with the best nights of sleep that I have had in years.'

By Future Mimi.
February 16, 2018
5 out of 5
'Heard'

'I had no idea who Irv Treibel was until I saw his name on a Numero Group Instagram post. Turns out Irv is exactly who I need in
my life. I spend hundreds of hours per year on airplanes trying to ignore/drown out/avoid the din of travel - and this app is
EXACTLY what I’ve been looking for. Ofte

By BlackFrancisFan.
February 16, 2018
5 out of 5
'THE app for relaxation and sleep assistance'

'If you’re like me, silence is deafening. I can’t fall asleep at night without some sort of white noise/sfx type thing
playing. During the day, i need the same sorts of thing to quiet my mind. This is the best app of its kind, hands down.
\n\nBesides having hours and hours of beautiful, natural

By The John is John.
February 7, 2018
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
'Space hogger'

'While I like this app,it takes up a ton of space,and I don’t use it all that often,so I’d like to be able to offload it, but
I can’t seem to do that with this app.'

By aunt ninny.
April 24, 2019
3 out of 5
'Sounds great, UI ouch'

'The sounds are great but the UI needs some work. For example, if I’m listening to a track and then go to my playlist and
select a different track, and then close the playlist, the sound track switches to my new selection but the app still shows the
wallpaper for the previous track. I want the ap

By NuttinAtAll.
January 12, 2019
3 out of 5
'No waterfall'

'Can’t imagine why there is no waterfall on this app.'

By Beer_zaygy.
March 16, 2018
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total