Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

EPA AIRNow

by United States Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA)
Positive
80%
critic
20%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of EPA AIRNow by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of EPA AIRNow written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for EPA AIRNow

Reviews: 25Avg. Rating: 8/10

Positive reviews

4 out of 5
Good app

Good app but would be better if you could choose to be notified if air quality dropped to a certain level and once it was good
again.

By Alexw13579.
December 12, 2020
5 out of 5
'EPA has great explanations'

'Look throughout the website for definitions. Great info. Just look. All weather apps get their info from EPA and US weather
service.'

By Ribin B.
September 26, 2020
4 out of 5
'Good start, but could be better'

'I would love to get a notification when air quality in my area exceeds thresholds that I set (or returns to healthy level). I
would also like to see the area map like you can on the website.'

By shiwala.
September 17, 2020
5 out of 5
'EPA AIRNow app suggestion'

'EPA AIRNow app developers: \n\nGreat App! \n\nThanks for providing such an informative and easy to use tool, especially useful
for this current west coast air quality event. \n\nSuggestion: Display the zip code in addition to the City name. \n\nWhy? When
the AirNow user is monitoring multiple l

By Loy43.
September 17, 2020
5 out of 5
'Easy to use'

'I chose this app after trying the two air quality apps with the highest star ratings. This app was the easiest to use, and I like
that I don’t need to create an account to use it. I have been recommending it to friends and family.'

By Lilla425.
September 16, 2020
5 out of 5
'Reliable and Fast'

'I definitely recommend this if you often check websites for information. It’s much faster to get information and I have checked
with other sites to make sure it is accurate and so far it is. I am confident in this app and I really appreciate the forecast and
summary of the week they give. It real

By Ciscolover147.
September 14, 2020
4 out of 5
'Incorrect Resolving of Location'

'My Zip is closer to the Port Angeles monitor than the one at Port Townsend. And it would be nice to see a local map as on the web
site.'

By Mark from Sequim.
September 14, 2020
5 out of 5
'Click “Detail” to see the time reading was ta

'Great app, easy to use. Just make sure you press “Detail” to find out the time the reading was taken'

By ponpomom.
September 10, 2020
4 out of 5
'Great improvement, please rotate 90’ for ipad!'

'I have been using this app for several years now, especially during FIRE SEASON on the west coast. Now it will save/display
multiple locations on the same page. Huge improvement!! Please make the app capable of rotating on the ipad, iphone view only is
not an improvement, hence 4 stars. I appreciat

By SantanaRio.
September 7, 2020
4 out of 5
'Needs zip code, sub-town name and time options.'

'I like the app. \n\nBut it needs a way to put in a \n- zip code showing with the town name\n- sub-neighborhood name \nas the
zip codes are very large and general here.\n\nIt would be nice to have a TIME the AQI update last happened. \n\nAQI ranges are
obvious but wouldn’t the ranges be nice? \n

By oyamiam.
September 7, 2020
4 out of 5
'Another Update'

'Yet another update:\n\nThis app does NOT give real-time, there are articles online that explain why. It\'s not a bad app, but I
guess it does the job of presenting epa\'s official aqi?\n\nSERIOUS UPDATE:\n\nTO ANYONE IN CALIFORNIA READING THIS, USING PURPLE
AIR (browser) INSTEAD OF THIS APP. The vi

By Scslckje.
August 27, 2020
5 out of 5
'Much more accurate than AirVisual'

'Tried out both apps during recent CA wildfires in SF Bay Area. AirNow was solid EPA data that was consistent with changes in
smoke levels due to winds. AirVisual by comparison was often wildly off by orders of magnitude. AirNow is the keeper and I deleted
AirVisual.'

By 7$tring.
August 24, 2020
4 out of 5
'Functional but could be more'

'Simple functionality: it shows you your current AQI and AQI forecast for locations of interest. That’s it.\n\nIf this app also
could also display the associated AQI map like they do on the website, I would give this five stars.'

By profoundquiet.
August 22, 2020
5 out of 5
'Excellent design, works well'

'The visual presentation is super: you immediately see the air quality and what the health ranges are. I used the website in past
years and it had the same information, but not as well presented. The current websis like this app, but the app is easier to use.'

By Charlie Howard.
August 22, 2020
4 out of 5
'How to delete a place'

'I really like this app and in general it is easy to use. It took me awhile, though, to figure out how to delete a location from
the “places” list. To delete a location, tap “Places” at the bottom right of the home screen. The next screen will be a
list of places and an option to add a new p

By Poppy CA.
August 21, 2020
5 out of 5
'Excellent little air quality app!'

'This app is simple but fantastic !! I live in an area with routinely good air, so bad air quality is something that happens only
during wildfire season...which is right now. \n\nI\'d gone to the airnow.gov website in past years, and it was a little slow
clunky and felt like it was designed 20 year

By Qwertiop8.
August 19, 2020
5 out of 5
'Useful,'

'Especially during current nearby wildfires. However it’s use coarse not course for particulate size'

By Aldo2333.
August 19, 2020
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
Great first steps!

This app is a good start, but it is not providing the full picture.... thus creating a false sense of security. PM 10 and PM
2.5 particulate matter is shown, as is ozone. But there are no measurements for NO2 or VOC. The app may show great air quality,
showing low particulate matter - but what

By Master Coder.
October 9, 2020
3 out of 5
Doesn’t update AQI very often

Not very much information given and sometimes it flat out gives “not available” especially right when the air quality makes a
huge shift. making it impossible to keep up with current air quality levels at the most critical times.

By blooolp.
October 2, 2020
3 out of 5
Spelling Error!

Simple easy to use app, but there is an OBVIOUS spelling error: should be “COARSE” particles, not “COURSE” particles.
Annoying.

By truthfulannie.
September 30, 2020
3 out of 5
Typo

“Course” particles? Should that not be “Coarse” particles?!?

Come on, man...

By jojosmojo.
September 17, 2020
3 out of 5
Problem!

iPad version persists in portrait view. Cant rotate to landscape. ???

By hsoler11.
September 15, 2020
3 out of 5
No update times

Sensors don’t always update promptly. It’s important to know when the posted data was updated (at least if it’s
significantly out of date).

By BrooksEDavis.
September 15, 2020
3 out of 5
Almost great

Downloaded this app to keep track of the local air quality. Seeing the current condition is great but it would be even better if
the daily forecast worked or if you had a prediction map so I could plan my days.

By kandiane.
September 15, 2020
3 out of 5
Forecasts are useless

The current AQI data is relevant, but the forecast data has no bearing on reality. Either do something to improve the forecast
data or simply remove the feature.

By BobP63.
September 13, 2020
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total