Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

Evolution: The Video Game

by North Star Games
Positive
88%
critic
12%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of Evolution: The Video Game by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of Evolution: The Video Game written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for Evolution: The Video Game

Reviews: 39Avg. Rating: 8.8/10

Positive reviews

4 out of 5
Really fun, but really buggy

The strategy of the game isn’t immediately apparent until you start going against more human opponents. I do think Carnivore
play throughs on multiplayer is way harder than Cooperating Herbivores with tons of defenses. Maybe add more Carnivore Attributes?
At the end of the day, I think I really enjo

By Jacksgotrippedoff.
June 24, 2020
5 out of 5
Overall pretty good

This game was nice and I play it often the only main problem I can think of is the fact in the campaign sometimes when you finish
a level and close the app and then come back a little later the work you did on those previous levels disappear and you have to do
them again it gets really frustrating w

By haixhdbnsh.
July 23, 2020
5 out of 5
Just like the board game!

I recently bought the Evolution board game and love it! However space and opponents are limited, although the game lacks the awe
inspiring scale of the art and effort put into the physical game, the app is great for practicing and getting better for when I
have opponents in the future! Great for lea

By Rainbowgirl7.
August 16, 2020
5 out of 5
Best Strategy Game

I love this game. I’ve been playing it for more than a few months and I still haven’t lost interest, with each perfectly
balanced expansion pack bringing more fun to the game. And the new stained glass cards are so beautiful! You can tell a lot of
time goes into testing and development for this game

By KingShpoo.
August 26, 2020
5 out of 5
Fantastic digital implementation of a physical boa

Really enjoy the game and appreciate the work put into converting it to the digital format! Also, I appreciate the ability to try
the game out before needing to pay for access. It makes it easy to recommend to others. Thank you for all the hard work and I hope
the app continues to receive updates fo

By Gakkyun.
August 30, 2020
5 out of 5
Great game, have some ideas to make it even better

There should be an extinction game mode, where you start out with all five species, and can spend cards to keep them there, but if
or when you lose all five, you lose the game. It would be a survival type thing, where you only win by being the last one
standing. 7 rounds is not enough to satisfy my

By R4¥.
November 3, 2020
5 out of 5
Don’t like the changes

I love Evolution (physical and digital), but I used to play with my wife and we liked to add in a few AI players. Now, it seems
like we can’t add in AI players, and with two players we’re limited to two traits. Please bring back the old system.

Edit: Thanks for the response. Love the game!

By rabbinoland.
December 1, 2020
5 out of 5
I love this game.

Evolution manages to be even more fun than the physical game, an area in witch many digital board games fail. My only complaint is
that I cannot get enough of it. Maybe more promo cards in the future would help, as well as certain levels and challenges that
could unlock "secret" cards. The 17 base c

By gytshark4.
January 21, 2021
4 out of 5
Very fun game—but expect occasional crashes in mul

I love Evolution and can’t wait for climate to come out. In fact, I convinced 3 of my friends to download too. We’ve had fun,
but unfortunately every 1/3 matches crash in online aysnc multiplayer. We thought the issue was because I was playing on the
switch and all of them on iPads and iPhones, but

By Justin1414.
February 12, 2021
5 out of 5
Amazing Digital Board Game

This is one of the most robust adaptations of a board game to the digital/app format I’ve ever seen. The only thing I wish they
would have done is implement a better more detailed log. Sometimes stuff happens and I don’t know why. I think that issue does
mean that I can’t recommend it to less savvy

By ph349397.
February 20, 2021
5 out of 5
Conexión

(Spanish) el juego me gusta lo e jugado casi todos los días pero un problema cuando no ay internet no puedo jugar con cartas
bitrales y con las que compro y pues deberían de arreglar eso y creo que es la única reseña en español pero eso es todo lo
demás me gusta

By juanmayo2013.
August 4, 2021
4 out of 5
One of the best games

BUT, it is annoying how limited it is (JUST BRING THE ONLINE BACK FOR FREE PLEEEEEASE).

Ps. Love the sketch, pls more kinds!

By Marshmarloe.
July 15, 2021
5 out of 5
Amazing!

Good from both the board game and this game definitely worth the full game! Lots of fun!

By SolarAstro284.
February 27, 2021
5 out of 5
Alas!

Got the board game when it feet came out and absolutely loved it; now that it’s mobile, all my worldly dreams have come true

By TheDooMesiter.
January 17, 2021
5 out of 5
Amazing strategy game

In my opinion this is an excellent game it really makes you choose a strategy depending on how things turn out my favorite card is
fertility since it lets your species keep up with food supply

By The personator.
November 24, 2020
5 out of 5
Awesome and Addicting

Fun game. Played the mobile version for a while then went and bought the physical card game. When are we gonna get the climate or
flight expansion on mobile?? Patiently waiting

By DittmerMayor.
November 28, 2020
5 out of 5
Possible bug?

So I bought the venom card (the individual one) and for some reason it also gave me the other promo cards, I don’t think it was
supposed to happen.

By Roddylotl.
November 29, 2020
4 out of 5
?

I like the game but why does it have to cost money I mean your board game cost money why can

By 117772255.
March 19, 2020
5 out of 5
Best game ever but

This game is really good but I would like more new species to discover(sorry if I said that already u don

By hanklaster45.
June 30, 2020
5 out of 5
'What’s the difference?'

'Hi developers, I like evolution. I think it is very unique in its own way, but anyways, what is the difference between evolution
and evolution education edition'

By Trackzilla.
October 16, 2020
5 out of 5
'Hard'

'This game is hard that makes it fun'

By dogfacejk.
September 30, 2020
4 out of 5
'Updated review as promised.'

'It took some time to get where it is at today, but Evolution is a fun game and the app is pretty slick.'

By TheMirefox.
September 23, 2020
5 out of 5
'Fantastic just like the board game'

'Very fun, just a hard to see on a phone. Best played in a tablet.'

By 1 pound.
September 23, 2020
5 out of 5
'Excellent Game Wonderfully Adapted'

'I’ve probably played over 300 board games, this is one of my favorites! Great way to stay in contact with friends :)'

By mfargeorge.
September 26, 2020
4 out of 5
'Pretty Great Game!'

'This game is very addicting. The strategy is amazing for a simple game like this. I might consider getting the physical game!'

By tricky0828.
September 11, 2020
4 out of 5
'Greatish'

'I’d give it 5 stars if you didn’t have to pay to play the rest of the game but besides that I love it'

By PsYcHoKRIEG.
September 14, 2020
4 out of 5
'Neat Concept!'

'I am really digging this smart lil strategy card game that is a play on science. I noticed it crashes quite a bit, but seems
enjoyable so far. Just wish you could give up.'

By Sephrial.
September 22, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great and fun!'

'As close to the board game as any game app can get!!!'

By Greeedo 4.
September 7, 2020
5 out of 5
'A fun game'

'This app is very true to the tabletop game. It’s fun to have this easy to learn mechanic whenever you have a little extra time
with no need to set up the game—it’s all there on your device!'

By Traveler Reader.
September 28, 2019
4 out of 5
'Fun and simple'

'This is a good fun game, simple, with just enough strategy to keep you thinking. Would like to see the expansions, as well as
some additional game types. Longer games, different challenges.'

By MattieA1.
October 25, 2019
5 out of 5
'Just like board game'

'Accurate Play with smart opponents and good multiplayer for nice price no pay to win here'

By NMRDaddy.
October 29, 2019
5 out of 5
'Extremely unique concept.'

'This game is one of the most unique things that I’ve ever played. It’s concept is so amazing. I have never played a game
where I actually build up an ecosystem to go head to head against three other actual players.'

By RestingOcean7.
December 18, 2019
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
What is this nonsense?

While I enjoy the game, I resent the last 6 updates seemingly just being used as advertising for your new referral program. If
things were fixed let us know. I'd be cool with the referral thing being mentioned once in an update and even if added to the
game's description, but to have it copy paste

By Lord Gek.
July 22, 2020
3 out of 5
Educates you about Glitches!

This game is so educational! I never knew there were so many ways to glitch! The last update made all the difference. We got like
50 new glitches - free!

It really arouses your curiosity when you see things like turn timers that keep resetting or won’t stop so the computer takes
your turn, or not

By Kari21631.
July 2, 2021
3 out of 5
Great game, but so many glitches

This is honestly one of my favorite games...ever. But this app needs serious work. Despite countless complaints, they still
haven’t fixed the multiplayer bugs. Usually 1 out of 3 games crashes. Would have been a 5 star review, but the bugs are just too
much.

By Rivier Jordaan.
June 24, 2021
3 out of 5
Great game but...

Very fun to play but the game will literally not let you make a move with a carnivore at random times causing it to starve for no
reason. I even thought I was playing the game wrong....5 stars if this gets fixed

By Heisenberg8788.
March 10, 2020
3 out of 5
Great Game But Crashes On Latest Update

This is probably the best board game on iOS. Or at least it was until the recent update. Now, it crashes multiple times in a game.
Now, it’s virtually unplayable.

By Clayton78.
June 10, 2020
3 out of 5
Can’t play without frozen other players.

Didn’t finish a single play. Very disappointed cause the game is awesome :(

By Cly89.
July 27, 2020
3 out of 5
Fake players

Like the game but i hate how they try and sell that your playing with real people even though there all bots I haven’t seen a
single real player, they even make the bots slower and make them type. If your using bots just own it. Idk why but it just makes
it irritating.

By MtnT00Nz.
August 4, 2020
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total