Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

Filmborn

by Mastin Labs Inc.
Positive
88%
critic
12%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of Filmborn by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of Filmborn written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for Filmborn

Reviews: 53Avg. Rating: 8.8/10

Positive reviews

5 out of 5
Needs update for new iOS

App isn’t working after recent Apple update

By Campo14.
September 26, 2019
4 out of 5
Normally my go to shooter

I normally shoot with this app over any other on my iPhone. It gives me the flexibility I desire while shooting on a mobile phone.
Great tools, great emulations!

Recently it has been launching to a black finder. I quit and re open the app and no image issues persists. I hope they update
soon. Mayb

By jbdx100.
September 23, 2019
4 out of 5
My favorite editing app, but doesn’t work on my

Use this app ALL the time to edit photos and just got my iPhone 11 and the app crashes every time I open it. Crying!!

By Demanda123.
September 23, 2019
5 out of 5
Gorgeous

This is my favorite app for photo editing. Such a unique idea, and the results are always gorgeous. Only complaint it the app
shuts down on me a lot, but I LOVE this app.

By pinkrlr.
September 12, 2019
5 out of 5
Awesome!!

Filmborn is awesome; it’s the real deal. No better editor out there. Film emulations are superb!! Keep it up!!

Raw capability would make this THE all-in-one app, with everything needed to leave one’s pro-level DSLR or mirrorless at home.

By rMr.G..
August 15, 2019
5 out of 5
Awesome tones! Great workflow.

The entire process of taking pictures is so incredibly well thought out. Great workflow and intuitive controls. The little
features that save time like custom settings preset for the lens, range finder, film choice really make this a camera app I enjoy
using every day. The essentials are there from

By TobyRyan.
May 13, 2019
4 out of 5
Great APP iPad Version Needed

I like using the app, definitely makes easy to enhance fotos, and the color profiles are best.

I would like to suggest a version for the iPad.

Keep up the good work!

By Cesare F.
April 21, 2019
5 out of 5
The one stop place for editing!

I’ve used my iPhone’s edit feature, vsco, color story, snapseed, Instagram editing tools, and lightroom. Nothing, I say
NOTHING has compared to filmborn! Everyone has a personal aesthetic that they like, but this app has the absolute most pleasingly
aesthetic film filters I’ve ever used! I bar

By thelittlestbookelf.
April 8, 2019
4 out of 5
Favorite Mobile Editing App!

I have really loved this app since it first came out, especially since Mastin Labs are the only presets I've used for my
professional photo editing. But when I upgraded to Iphone 8plus, the crop function no longer works correctly and the presets look
overly saturated and I don't use them anymore. I'

By Ashleyhawkes85.
February 7, 2019
5 out of 5
My new favorite camera & editing app

I have used this app in the past, maybe a year ago when I was doing the rounds of editing apps. Now I have come back to it and
feel that it gives me just the right amount of control over the picture taking and editing process, without an overkill of
features that in truth I don't need.

The design

By welshport.
January 22, 2019
5 out of 5
Quite good

I have to admit my first reaction was quite negative as i couldn’t find out how to edit existing photos — all settled and
figures out now, applying the film filter gives very very close feeling of film, and i mean not just the colors but the grain
contrast etc. Good job, i’ll try later on the

By Always sunny in my mind.
December 9, 2018
5 out of 5
Love this photo app

I’ve been using this app for about a year —it’s now the only photo app I use. I love the color I get from the various
“rolls of film.” I staged a family photo based on one that was taken in the late 1950s (those three little kids are all
seniors now) and was able to match the color so that

By Trish7491.
October 24, 2018
4 out of 5
Cant find in app purchased film

Maybe I am too dense, but I can’t find the additional functionality I purchased in the in app film, I got all three and can’t
find any... no instructions on how to get to them...

Developer responded that the films were free. But I actually paid for them. His solution was to download the free on

By El Travieso.
October 12, 2018
5 out of 5
My main editing tool!

I’ve found myself relying on Filmborn for my photo edits, as I find it extremely intuitive and very easily makes my photos look
great! The presets, in my opinion, are really nice and editing my photos is very easy and quick.

By WinWALKR.
September 19, 2018
4 out of 5
Glitches and Froze my iPhone 5

Open the app and it ran fine, but when it came time to take a picture the camera live feed was all jittery and eventually started
glitching in a constant frozen state and I had to hard reset my phone. I know this is a new app and there's bugs to be fixed,
looking forward to win it run smoother becau

By RC$$.
September 17, 2018
5 out of 5
Best camera App

You need to make the next step ... Raw files ..make it better

By Dreamon13.
September 14, 2018
5 out of 5
App will not open. Keeps closing iPhone 7+

I've had this issue for awhile. Thought I give it a try again. Nope. Not sure if it's my phone or the app.

By tsicc.
September 10, 2018
5 out of 5
One of my main app to go with.

Love this app, I know hat sometimes it’s been a little buggy that seems to me that the developer has been fixing the issues so
far. I only hope that soon they could bring the option to get raw files and which would end up with more info and better results,
but overall very pleased with Filmborn. K

By Mag_bert.
August 14, 2018
5 out of 5
Really nice

Very simple and so far I like the results.

By Ghforlf68.
July 21, 2018
5 out of 5
⭐️ daily driver material ⭐️

I’ve been using Filmborn for around 2 months and I can honestly say that it is my favorite film emulation app that I’ve worked
with. I love the colors that each film type produces as well as the various lens types. It’s not just an app that creates
stunning pictures but also inspires you to ge

By Mapletoast.
July 9, 2018
5 out of 5
RAW Format

Hi, your app it’s great but, it’s more powerful if have a RAW conversion. Please!

By Alvarodabeat.
May 20, 2018
5 out of 5
Realistic filters

This new version seems to be more optimized for stability and speed, which is really nice. I like the filters and also the fact
that you can use the app from inside the Photos app.

By Kokohtfhrfjtcbdsvkjbgdxy.
April 25, 2018
4 out of 5
Great but really needs an update

EDIT: no battery issues recently!

Still waiting on those new emulsions hinted at months ago, but extremely satisfied.

By pitzeleh8.
December 18, 2017
5 out of 5
My GO TO phone camera!

I had several camera apps on my phone and this is now the only one I use. I deleted the others off my phone. I still occasionally
use one other editing program when I want a slight tweak that this app doesn't give me, but this app does the majority of the work
with one push of a button. I love the c

By Mac Canon .
November 2, 2017
5 out of 5
great app!!!

thank you so much ♥️♥️♥️

By Nueibin.
August 23, 2017
5 out of 5
This is so cool!

Is there any way you might create Mastin Lab presets for CaptureOne, as well?

By aianekarla.
July 9, 2017
5 out of 5
Simple, powerful and fun

I really like this app, I have shot products and some models using this beautiful simple app and I recommend you using it. I would
love more edit options but I still like the simplicity.

By Rabbi78.
June 19, 2017
5 out of 5
Does what it says!

Sweet emulation for Kodak, Fuji and Ilford.

By Dxstz23467.
June 18, 2017
5 out of 5
Main editing app

I absolutely love this app! It has helped me tremendously with sneak peaks for my clients. When I'm in between jobs I can send
myself the raw image and edit with my style of film so fast all on my phone! Love the colors and the curve tool! 👍🏽

By Jessi Renee.
June 16, 2017
5 out of 5
Awesome

This is the best app for photographers, it's not your standard filter app and not another social app. This give you very high
quality and the controls are easy. Above all, this is app is fun, like shooting your old slr.

By Polographer.
June 16, 2017
5 out of 5
THE onlyPHOTO app I use

To make this brief, I downloaded this for free. Loved it so much that I've bought all the additions and wish they made more
filmstock types.

I'm a USC Film School Alumni that has also worked in digital photography labs. Once again this is the only app I use for photos,
period!

By polygrah.
June 16, 2017
4 out of 5
Great but flawed

I LOVE the concept of this app, and the ability to adjust white balance, warmth, filter, etc before even taking the photo is
genius. It's like you can edit the photo before you take it! However, I have had some issues with it. Some of the controls are
confusing (there are a LOT of settings) and abou

By JenJen1624.
June 6, 2017
5 out of 5
Better Photos

I love this app! I'm able to get better professional looking photos from my iPhone for those moments I need to capture when I
don't my DSLR. Thanks for this wonderful app!

By Melaniehuds.
June 3, 2017
5 out of 5
The best. Period.

Only thing I can think of to improve it is an option to keep the screen on. I usually go shoot photos on walks and keep the iPhone
in my hands just to find it locks itself after whatever time you have set. I know I can change that but it's annoying to do it
every time I shoot. It'd be great to have

By aotero.
May 29, 2017
5 out of 5
Only app I'll use for iPhone photography

I don't usually like taking pictures on an iPhone but I've been doing it a lot more since I got this app. The best thing about
Filmborn is the manual focus setting, allowing you to take the clearest pictures your phone has to offer. Plus it has cool filters
based on Fuji, Kodak, and Ilford films.

By chocoLAKAI.
April 28, 2017
5 out of 5
CURIOUS SITUATION

I sincerely don't understand why this app hasn't been downloaded and reviewed 100s of 1000s times.
Very well designed and very powerful as an automatic or manual camera. Comes in strong as a free app without the annoying in-app
limitations found on most.

By Ibrahimtamerm.
April 18, 2017
5 out of 5
Best app

Such a great app from the people at Mastin Labs. It really feels like a camera. I love the manual shooting and the filters are
really true to actual film. Love this app.

By JoBraves09.
April 12, 2017
5 out of 5
Incredible

I have never written a review for an app before, and as a film shooter, this is everything I've wanted in an app! Thank you!
Simple and great execution!

Will exposure compensation be added later?

@nicowphoto

By Nicowphoto.
March 28, 2017
5 out of 5
Best photo app, hands down

Regardless of whether you want the film presets, the shooting and editing tools are second to none. This app is killer.

By SneakyEwok.
March 25, 2017
5 out of 5
This app is almost better than VSCO

Has vintage film and great editing tools, hope they make more film types tho

By John.Carlo.
March 23, 2017
5 out of 5
Fun alternative Cam

This, alongside Microsoft Pix, has made me rediscover the potential of the camera. It lets me visualize beforehand how the "film"
would behave. Bye bye filters

By Priper.
February 11, 2017
5 out of 5
Looks like film!!!

I don't have any bad things to say about this app
Many various options to make photos look like classic film
You can also learn about the history of film as well as how to shoot actual film better
Amazing app

By xxsniperx.
January 31, 2017
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
Not working with iOS 13

It’s been super glitchy. I’m not able to edit all photos. And with dark mode, the photo becomes black and not visible. Also
giving me issues with editing within the app. 🤔 Hope there’s a fix soon. I have been using Filmborn since it came out. I love
Mastin Labs otherwise.

By kristineloves.
October 9, 2019
3 out of 5
Is an update for iOS 13.1 compatibility coming?

Eager to use this with my iPhone 11 Pro Max! As it is, the app doesn’t seem to be working right. Colors come out flat, high
contrast and opposite colors of what they should be. Looking forward to an update because I want to start using this app again!
Thanks!

By HersheyKiss23.
September 27, 2019
3 out of 5
It was nice while it worked

But now it doesn’t work anymore. It’s glitchy and fails to save the pictures after applying the filter. Please fix it, Kirk!

By Giocondina.
June 19, 2019
3 out of 5
Crashing and slow photo import

First off, I truly love this app. But whenever I try to import a photo it takes at least 10+ seconds to access the gallery. Then
it often freezes or takes awhile after you save the changes. I’m running the latest iOS and app version on iPhone 8 Plus.

By Photoshop Ninja.
March 11, 2019
3 out of 5
Keeps crashing

I have tried to uninstall and reinstall but nothing. It crashes when i open it. I can only use it when I initially download it

By Greenpgs.
May 30, 2018
3 out of 5
Love the desktop version

I always use Fuji neutral on desktop, and I wish I could get the same effects here. Sadly, my photos wind up washed out and
yellow. I’ve tried a few different settings and it just doesn’t work as well.

By Sjhgeary.
November 25, 2017
3 out of 5
Like the presets but stupid that I have to buy mor

As cool as it is. I think it’s bull crap that I paid for an app & still had to buy more in app things...

By spacemonkey1112.
October 12, 2017
3 out of 5
Ton of Fake Reviews

A relatively unexciting filter app although it is pretentious. But check out the dates on the excessively ecstatic reviews. These
are fakes five star reviews. It's a decent filter app. Nothing really special.

By Ericg51.
September 28, 2017
3 out of 5
Add-ins

For some reason it will not allow me to purchase the add-ins. :/

By jace1994.
September 23, 2017
3 out of 5
Love the app but photos don't always load

Sometimes my most recent photos won't show up in the app... I wish someone would fix this.

By Melissa - Mind Love Podcast.
June 3, 2017
3 out of 5
filmborn

this app crashed in 5s
plz check it

By itblog.
January 27, 2017
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total