Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

FiLMiC Firstlight

by FiLMiC Inc
Positive
90%
critic
10%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of FiLMiC Firstlight by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of FiLMiC Firstlight written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for FiLMiC Firstlight

Reviews: 41Avg. Rating: 9/10

Positive reviews

4 out of 5
Great app! Found bug

This is a great app for what I need it for. Im using an external anamorphic lens and it had the option to de-squeeze the image
which is perfect! However...

Ive noticed a thin diagonal line after taking the shots. Through the viewfinder I don't see this line but after it saves to my
album I can see

By Hungryguitar.
January 16, 2021
4 out of 5
Save filter settings

Please, add the functionality for saving preferred filter by default at start of app.
Thank you!

By lnkv4.
December 25, 2020
5 out of 5
'Exposure'

'App is amazing. I just wish I could change the exposure wasn’t Locked to the shutter speed or ISO.'

By Professor_Mex.
September 19, 2020
4 out of 5
'Add 35mm support'

'Add option like in Filmic to use the DOF 35mm adapter so we can use any camera lens.'

By AlexP916.
April 12, 2020
4 out of 5
'Needs one thing'

'I love the app but needs one thing, Preserve setting. I have to go into the app every time and reset my preferred filter before
shooting..'

By tmkingman.
March 11, 2020
5 out of 5
'First photo app'

'I’ve yet to meet a photographer who doesn’t capture their mobile photos on the native camera. This app is changing that.
It’s the first photo app I’ve enjoyed. Love it.'

By Suki Priddy.
February 22, 2020
5 out of 5
'Love it! Feels like Street Cam'

'At first I missed the lack of pinch to zoom, but now I’m using firstlight more like a pro street cam. I’d rather not
digitally zoom if it can be avoided... better to use the whole sensor and use your feet to zoom. You can always just crop after
the fact if you need to and this is all digital zo

By skiphunt.
February 14, 2020
5 out of 5
Now a one time purchase!

Subscriptions for one time coded features are very exploitive so thank you for... seeing the light ? Was an instant purchase for
me and I'm very happy with the polish and great work you did with the app. It does still crash on occasion (specifically when
accessing the shortcut button) but I trust yo

By areis.
February 12, 2020
5 out of 5
'Now a one time purchase!'

'Subscriptions for one time coded features are very exploitive so thank you for... seeing the light ? Was an instant purchase for
me and I\'m very happy with the polish and great work you did with the app. It does still crash on occasion (specifically when
accessing the shortcut button) but I trust

By areis.
February 12, 2020
5 out of 5
'Now a one time purchase!'

'Subscriptions for one time coded features are very exploitive so thank you for... seeing the light ? Was an instant purchase for
me and I\'m very happy with the polish and great work you did with the app. It does still crash on occasion (specifically when
accessing the shortcut button) but I trust

By areis.
February 12, 2020
5 out of 5
'Now a one time purchase!'

'Subscriptions for one time coded features are very exploitive so thank you for... seeing the light ? Was an instant purchase for
me and I\'m very happy with the polish and great work you did with the app. It does still crash on occasion (specifically when
accessing the shortcut button) but I trust

By areis.
February 12, 2020
5 out of 5
'Now a one time purchase!'

'Subscriptions for one time coded features are very exploitive so thank you for... seeing the light 😁 Was an instant purchase
for me and I\'m very happy with the polish and great work you did with the app. It does still crash on occasion (specifically when
accessing the shortcut button) but I tru

By areis.
February 11, 2020
4 out of 5
'RAW files blurry viewed in App'

'I really like this app in almost everything except for the fact that when I take photos in RAW (DNG) they look blurry when I
review them in the app, however, when I review the same photo in Photos, they look focused and sharp. Maybe it’s just a small
bug but annoying to not be able to see the rea

By DeLionKing.
February 7, 2020
5 out of 5
'For the creative shooter'

'I rarely leave reviews, but I have to express my appreciation for this thoughtfully crafted photo app. It feels like a tool
designed specifically for those of us who appreciate the unique latitudes and limitations of shooting on film. It comes with
plenty of options when flexibility in post is requ

By gfilm1.
January 16, 2020
5 out of 5
'Outstanding move'

'The only thing that stopped me from giving this app a great rating was that it was subscription based. Good on the devs for
listening to the people!!'

By mflorer.
January 15, 2020
5 out of 5
'Multi cam'

'When can we expect to film using multiple camera on the iPhone 11 Pro Max?'

By jersey505.
January 15, 2020
5 out of 5
'Oh man love this move. I own the app now!'

'I’m a subscriber. Or I was. Filmic made the app a one time purchase and they grandfathered us all in. That’s pretty class.
Thanks!'

By JRAA77.
January 14, 2020
5 out of 5
'Excellent Camera App'

'FiLMic Team have done it again. I can now delete several other apps. This is a fully a professional camera system. My backpack
just got lighter. \n\nThe premium subscription is inexpensive when you consider that others charge for new upgrades routinely.'

By Tsetsoh.
January 6, 2020
5 out of 5
'Good form from Filmic'

'I preordered this app and loved the function but thought it was ridiculous to need a subscription to access the RAW photo
options. I’m glad to see the Filmic team has reversed this and found a new profit model. I’m not against companies making a
living, but that was a bit much\n\nWith that sa

By K Forf.
December 29, 2019
4 out of 5
'Good'

'Nice camera app. Premium subscriber, but unable to access anything but the sample filters.'

By camgord59.
December 22, 2019
5 out of 5
'Remarkable app.'

'Using the word remarkable is the best way to express my gratitude to the developers of the app.'

By Duke.12.
December 16, 2019
5 out of 5
'Love it! ??'

'Awesome new app! It

By Serizy.
November 22, 2019
5 out of 5
'Love it! ❤️'

'Awesome new app! It’s hard to take a bad shot. The filters are amazing. Thank you for including burst mode too. So excited to
see what’s coming down the road.'

By Serizy.
November 22, 2019
5 out of 5
Love it! ??

Awesome new app! It

By Serizy.
November 22, 2019
5 out of 5
'Love it! ??'

'Awesome new app! It

By Serizy.
November 22, 2019
5 out of 5
'Love it! ??'

'Awesome new app! It

By Serizy.
November 22, 2019
5 out of 5
'Making moves...'

'The app is great, pretty intuitive. I’ve only been using it for a little while and have yet to use it in a professional
setting. It’s a little slow on the trigger tho and so you’re not sure you’ve got the shot until it shows in the camera roll.
Definitely use some type of stabilizer until y

By MrSmall.
November 20, 2019
5 out of 5
'Excellent'

'Now my first choice for shooting jpegs. Fast handling with excellent results. Features are well chosen and designed. Nice film
look. Volume shutter didn’t work at first, iOS restart fixed it. Absolutely worth the money.'

By lumierefl.
November 19, 2019
5 out of 5
'Nice filters'

'I love the Roxa filter it’s simply awesome!'

By _Read_This_Review_.
November 15, 2019
5 out of 5
'Worth a try. It’s great.'

'Even with the free features it’s great. For me as pro Photographer I can tell that No app in the market but this, can swipe
focus that easy and give you the zebras automatically for guidance. I’m not planing to spend a penny for now but definitely
it’s gonna be my main photo app. The guys on

By LordMcFly507.
November 11, 2019
5 out of 5
'A “MUST-DOWNLOAD!!!”'

'First off, I just want to say, HOLY COW, I love this app! I have been looking for a fully manual camera app for a long time but
they are all either really trashy or cost a ton. When I saw that filmic was making a camera app, I preordered right away because
their video app is the best I have ever pe

By NerdyPanda417.
November 9, 2019
5 out of 5
'Yes.'

'This app is amazing. The UI is the best I’ve seen yet for a mobile camera app, the color science is out of this world. The
subscription model is clearly there to support the developers in the long run, and the app is worth way more than they charge for
it. Plus you really don’t need to pay. The

By Henry Kehler.
November 9, 2019
5 out of 5
'Best experience I’ve had with a free camera app

'They really went all our with this application. From the initial start up, a user friendly tutorial modal opens and gives a run
through of ‘how to use’ to get the user up and running quick. First impressions are everything with applications. The small
details truly show how passionate your comp

By JohnnyIsland.
November 8, 2019
5 out of 5
'Liking this a lot'

'I had preordered this and it auto installed this morning. Fun app. I’ve been able to dial in some pretty cool shots so far
and this may be my new fave. I need to figure out how to use the priority stuff but everything else was super easy to figure out.
My better half is a photographer and she

By SquiddleMcFlopperberries.
November 8, 2019
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
Excellent photo app

Price charged was a surprise $14.99? I purchased the Filmic Pro also . Charges made to iTunes do not show what was paid for just
amounts?? I have no idea what I purchased based on the receipt. Please be sure to include the app purchase in the iTunes
receipt.

By EVon K.
April 2, 2021
3 out of 5
Doesn’t support “selected photos” privacy feature

Apple introduced a feature where you could allow an app to just have access to a selected set of photos and not the entire photo
library. Firstlight is one of the many apps that still requires access to the entire photo library. I value my privacy and don’t
want to give access to the entire photo li

By elimoon8.
March 6, 2021
3 out of 5
Good apps, but can be better

It needs more shutter speed options. It does not have the 1/48 figure which is important if you use the main FILMiC apps for video
shooting using 24 FPS. If you know the rule of thumb for shooting videos, always double the FPS. It does have 1/60 which is good
for 30 FPS. I don’t know about everyone,

By Jeff Ryan Carlson.
December 13, 2020
3 out of 5
Zoom

I can’t figure out how to zoom on this app. The tutorial says to press the lens tray but I only get a selfie option. Where are
the other lens options??

By meramg.
November 11, 2020
3 out of 5
Good but not great

I love the original FilmicPro movie app but a bit disappointed with this one.
The good points are we can change the capture format from jpeg to raw, also a set of nice of picture modes are available.
Now what I don’t like are
1 No WB
2 It’s kind of difficult to navigate through the ISO & Shutter sp

By vld00003.
June 13, 2020
3 out of 5
Good, could be better

Some settings are vague, like “burst rate: low, medium,high”? How about the actual numbers4,6,8fps or whatever they are. And
anomorphic desqueeze? What’s that? How could it be used? Idk. The UI is great, feels intuitive for the most part, just needs a
few tweaks, or maybe even a “pro” version like y

By SchweglerD.
November 20, 2019
3 out of 5
So disappointed 😔

When I saw that Filmic made a still photo app I stopped reading the article I was reading immediately and went to go buy it. The
camera seems good and simple but I will never use apps that require a subscription unless I have to. I will gladly pay up to $60
for a lifetime purchase but the subscripti

By Pirate Rock Records.
November 20, 2019
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total