Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

Flip - make music everywhere

by Suture Sound Inc.
Positive
84%
critic
16%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of Flip - make music everywhere by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of Flip - make music everywhere written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for Flip - make music everywhere

Reviews: 53Avg. Rating: 8.4/10

Positive reviews

5 out of 5
Thanks Andrew

This is the app I have been looking for. I have no complaints except for the occasional bug or glitch. One thing I would like to
see added is a sample looper feature like in garage band for iOS. I also think that the velocity/midi editor could be slightly
reorganized. I don’t really edit velocity mu

By Kid Charlemagne 8864.
January 7, 2021
5 out of 5
Great for beginners

Get this app. Watch a few tutorials. Learn a ton, in a short amount of time, and pretty soon you’ll be making music! Easier on
tablet than phone but great on both!

By Pod guy e.
December 28, 2020
5 out of 5
midi control?

Is it possible to trigger samples and loops with a controller?
cant see it anywhere...

By danbizzyy.
December 23, 2020
5 out of 5
Excellent

This is a great app. It’s so much fun!!

By vgduehvduywevdowevdu`i3ebd.
December 21, 2020
5 out of 5
Wooooo NIcE

Andrew!!!! Nicely done man! Gonna up my sample game. Been playing with this for over an hour and I’m in love dude. DoPe!!!

-the grumpy showman

By Posh skills.
December 21, 2020
4 out of 5
Not bad at all!

I have to say that this app out the gate does pretty fine job of creating beats. I am/was a huge DM1 fan by Fingerlabs, but as
long as that app has been out the devs failed to listen to request to make a DM3 with advanced features commonly use with other
beat apps. Well I’m happy to say that the dev

By myst515.
December 16, 2020
5 out of 5
Awesome I like to see AudioCopy

Love the app is awesome super intuitive, I can wait for AUV3 but I think having AudioCopy audio share implementation would be
awesome this app is so good already I can wait for the update and really hope in the audio copy audio share :)

By FunkthatPunk.
December 13, 2020
5 out of 5
Really good but FIX UNDO BUTTON (please <3)

Ok so this app is really good but here’s my feedback. When you press undo, UNDO THE ENTIRE ACTION! If I highlight a section of
the piano roll and change the song to a different key for example and press undo, it only undos one note at a time. Even more
often, when I record a section, I want the enti

By jd.corbett.
December 13, 2020
5 out of 5
Great App, one issue

First off, this is a great sampler! I’ve had it for the past couple of weeks and have mad some small song on the go that I
really injoyed. I know this app is still in its infancy and will still need some updates. I do have weird glitch that is happening
that I can throw at the development team here.

By SscC188898.
December 12, 2020
5 out of 5
Game changer (srsly)

I wanted to wait until I had a chance to really play with all the features, directly compare it to other apps, and really put it
through the ringer. And it’s impressive! It is exactly the bridge between working with loops and really opening up technical
music making possibilities. The pads are super

By Spotlight Follies Special.
December 11, 2020
4 out of 5
makes noise aground you into something more enjoya

Really really fun to play with for a beginner! But be careful with copying renaming projects or what not, the behavior IMO is not
super intuitive on what gets copied. Luckily the samples are stills there and it’s not like I lost some groundbreaking music.
Also, the keyboard layout seem to give a wid

By levincoolxyz.
December 10, 2020
5 out of 5
Amazing app

This app is super cool and has everything you need. And surprisingly this is just released. I hear you guys will continue updating
that app. This app is already great. One issue I had is when trying to learn the buttons is sometimes after I clicked the help
button and click something I don’t know, t

By Frontyardians.
December 9, 2020
5 out of 5
Such a fun app

I’ve always struggled to really consistently use music making software, i have the fl demo but it can be such a pain to learn
the ui that it feels like it doesn’t want to be accessible to beginners. That’s why i love flip, i was able to open it and
start making music almost immediately. The ui is su

By Scarfboi.
December 9, 2020
4 out of 5
Really fun but a tad annoying - Still highly recom

I really like the app, however, there are a few things I'll highlight below that I'm not the biggest fan of. Doing a list for
simplicity and brevity.

- The not detection is not very good. I have no experience in how this works, so it might be very difficult, but whenever I sample
a keyboard, it alw

By Alden Cronin.
December 7, 2020
4 out of 5
So far so fun

Obligatory Andrew Huang Fanboy Love: I love the quickness of everything The performance features! Love the fine tuning and post
production tools available. Thank you Andrew for this innovative and thoughtful app that allows me to make music on the go!!

Ok, now the Honest Critiques:
All samples re

By mikeymcdangerface.
December 7, 2020
4 out of 5
Good App, Bad Phone

Intuitive interface, easy to use, and overall well-designed. Unfortunately for me, however, my device is fairly obsolete by
current standards. It frequently crashes when using the piano roll to add/edit notes in my case, making it largely unusable.
It’s rather upsetting, but I still find it to be fu

By Symon Cysko.
December 7, 2020
5 out of 5
Easy to use ..fun....

Sosimple to use. Only glitch i have is ipad pro when renaming a project the keyboard is blurry sort of as is i can slightly see
the screen behind it but it makes harder to see what i type...

By rcon303.
December 6, 2020
4 out of 5
Fantastic app that could be even better with a few

I wasn’t surprised at how good this app was when I saw that Andrew partnered with Oliver of Elastic Drums fame. This app has
elements that feel familiar after being comfortable on Elastic Drums, but I find this tool to be a little more immediate and
arrangement-friendly.

Only tweaks I’d recommend r

By Enderisnotmyrealname.
December 6, 2020
5 out of 5
Very excited for Andrew!

I just purchased this so I will say more later. But the idea is awesome! More soon! Peace Christo👽

By Aka monkey dope.
December 6, 2020
5 out of 5
A problem

It’s a good app no doubt about that made a few little beats but it’s always shutting off on its own like it can’t handle
anything even though I have an iPhone XR

By nathaneal duke.
December 6, 2020
4 out of 5
Great!

The interface for this app is one of the best I’ve seen, and it makes sample chopping and editing super intuitive and fun.

All in all this is a great app. I’m certain that IAA will be on its way, and that will be enough to integrate this with the rest
of my workflows, particularly if I can live sa

By Smackulus.
December 6, 2020
5 out of 5
Great!!!

this is great! It would be interesting to see an additive synth though, just because that’d be interesting.

By I'm not in disguise.
December 6, 2020
4 out of 5
Have your Cake and Eat it (maybe)

Wow! This app has almost everything you need to make great tracks. Great potential but it’s almost like we were given a really
BIG! Cake but we can only ever have 1 small slice.

9 samples is about 7 samples short of what is minimum (16).
With only 9 samples it’s too easy to run out of sample space

By QuinnX..
December 6, 2020
5 out of 5
i don’t write reviews...

...but i needed to say something about this app and the mind behind it. i became a fan of andrew huang over the summer when i
started making music bc of the pandemic. i took his course on monthly and went from knowing nothing about production to putting
out my own original music on spotify, that i p

By asianadora.
December 5, 2020
5 out of 5
Love it

I love how much this app has to offer! There’s a lot you can do on it and I myself have had a ton a fun on it already even if
I’ve barely scratched the surface. I’m excited to see where this app goes in the future.

By Ableton abuser.
December 5, 2020
4 out of 5
Awesome App!

Really enjoy the interface and all of the options compacted into this! Addicting to say the least!

One thing I’m having trouble with on the Sample Page is the “Pitch” knob adjustment. It keeps resetting back to default (0)
after I alter it for a specific pad. The “Gain” knob right next to it stays

By Rick Stud.
December 5, 2020
5 out of 5
Intuitive music making for neophytes and grandmast

What the Flip confirms is the power of excellent programming combined with smart design and an intuitive UI.

The meeting of a genius workflow, nice aesthetics, and impressive production value contained entirely within a small ecosystem is
a quite a feat.

Flip is in that Goldilocks zone of being

By Fad Plastic.
December 5, 2020
5 out of 5
Approaching perfection

I wasn’t expecting this to be as enjoyable to use as Ableton, but it is incredibly intuitive and powerful. And if there is
anything it can’t do itself, it makes everything easily exportable.

By BaconBarbarian.
December 4, 2020
5 out of 5
Andrew is really something else

With mobile DAWS there are mainly issues with Quantization, Automation, and Exporting. You guys really hit the nail and the head
with prioritizing specific features so that you can make real actual music with the app. Typically app music isn’t really taken
seriously. The stem export function is abso

By Rafib1346.
December 4, 2020
5 out of 5
I’m Cookoo for CUCKOO!

Andrew’s new DAW on a phone is INCREDIBLE! And OH MY GOD!! Cuckoo, one of the BEST YT synth reviewers and tutorials makers, who
I call the “Bob Ross of music”, has an IAP pack of 50 sounds! Must buy!

By Dark NRG.
December 4, 2020
5 out of 5
Easy to use

There has never been an app so accessible to just jump in and mess around. The best part about the app is that it doesn’t have
too many features. The essentials without looking too cluttered. Top notch work on this one. Looking forward to the updates.

By Alirezaekh.
December 4, 2020
4 out of 5
Amazing, Exactly What I’ve Been Looking For

Thanks Andrew Huang for putting this together.

I’m still getting frequent crashes on the piano roll when using my own recorded samples.

Though to be fair I’m running it on an iPhone SE from 2017, sooo...

Either way I love it so far and I’ll update this after I have a chance to get more familiar

By Phony ColorNote app..
December 4, 2020
5 out of 5
future of music making

ARM is good that is all this app is great

By drewwerds.
December 4, 2020
5 out of 5
Please add time stretch. Great App

Add Time stretch like BeatMaker 3 or Blocs wave. Great App

By TeddFlash.
December 4, 2020
5 out of 5
Ableton Link Bug?

Ableton Link isn’t working for me either.
Five stars because holy cow! Full review to follow after I dive in!

By jakejobs.
December 4, 2020
5 out of 5
It does more than you think it does!

RTFM and watch the videos. People say it doesn’t do this or that but it actually does.

I love it!!

By anickt.
December 4, 2020
5 out of 5
Wow

The workflow is insane! It has so much attention to detail like two simultaneous keyboards with independently controlled octaves,
different automation lengths, and the clever way pads do pitch and velocity (off by default!)

So next version let’s get 16 pads instead of 9 ;)

Still I’d pay $50 for th

By Benjaminsky1.
December 4, 2020
5 out of 5
Feels like Ableton in the best way possible!

I am really blown away by how much you can do in this very lightweight app! And you can link it with Live? Buy this now!

By TM7723432.
December 4, 2020
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
Great app, but keeps crashing

Love the app when it works. Still crashing all the time on iPhone XR when editing in sequencer.

By bleeeeeeepblooooooop.
January 13, 2021
3 out of 5
Fun but really buggy

Fun but really buggy. Fx knobs don't always stick to their automation, notes can be stretched backwards beyond their starting
point, sometimes projects sound different after you close and reopen them. On one project, after working a few hours, the pitch on
one sample just shifted upwards by like a q

By Micahmicahmicah1.
January 9, 2021
3 out of 5
Bluetooth

It may seem small but the Bluetooth support on this app is not that great. I like to use this app on the go. The AirPods Pro have
huge latency issues. Hope there’ll be a fix soon.

By M.mustafa99.
December 16, 2020
3 out of 5
How do I save a pattern? Or a project?

Andrew is awesome, which is why I got the app. I look forward to using it more. I know how to save a sample, thanks to the icon.
But how to save a pattern or project? I’ve watched the quick start and the mega video. I’ve searched the app high and low.
I’ve tried the [?] button. I find no mention of

By enzo.cobain.
December 15, 2020
3 out of 5
Great concept, falls short in workflow expectation

Hello hope this finds you well!

I want to talk about things I like about this pocket daw sampler, and some improvements that I would like to see to make it a more
performance instrument.

I like that it has many features of a good sampler, and some I wouldn’t expect an app to have. It is pretty gen

By Geoffwithag123.
December 8, 2020
3 out of 5
This app works

This is an app for a beginner that would like to learn how to slightly produce and sample music. This software definitely it worth
the $8 dollars I paid. But it lacks some qualities. The midi is difficult to move, som of the project doesn’t auto save so it
makes making tracks and coming back to them

By ear digger.
December 6, 2020
3 out of 5
No Bluetooth MIDI or External Control support??

Been watching Andrew’s channel for years, so I was excited to learn he brought a new sampler app to market. That said, very
disappointed there’s no Bluetooth MIDI support for external controllers. Would love to use my Korg Nanokey Studio with this on
the go. Come on Andrew - help a brother out! <3

By Pookie Pants Stank.
December 6, 2020
3 out of 5
Buggy / Crashes, but has potential

Really great UI and capabilities on this app. It is very buggy and crashes constantly. But hopefully they will fix those issues so
this app is more useable

By Spyglasscircle.
December 6, 2020
3 out of 5
Awesome App (But Where’s Pitch Quantization?)

I bought this without even thinking about it, and I don’t regret that decision, even if 99% of the music I make is DAWless.
Flip’s got a great workflow, and some super-powerful—but easy-to-use—tools on hand. I feel like I’m only scratching the
surface of what it can do.

However...it’s not perfect.

By NotBasho.
December 6, 2020
3 out of 5
Crashing a ton

Whenever I go to change a sample in the keyboard the app is crashing. Over and over again.

By vooodaa.
December 6, 2020
3 out of 5
So useable and fun. near perfect. Needs looping a

Not much to say except I love this app. Very useable. I love the app. I would love to see, obviously, ability to go beyond 4 bars.
At least 16 but 32 would be great. 16 pads would be nice too. There is plenty of real estate, I think make the icons smaller. I
feel they are too large and take away fro

By sgranlund.
December 5, 2020
3 out of 5
Pitch detection nightmare

I would love to give it a 5 star rating because the app is very promising and I love Andrew but at this stage is barely usable
unless you perform everything with the pads. If you want to sequence using the keyboard the pitch detection will get in the way.
The algorithm gets the pitch wrong all the t

By Grich Argento.
December 5, 2020
3 out of 5
Rereviewing to point out some bugs

Every time I open the app it gives me a pop up window with links to the tutorial video and the store, neither of which I need. Can
it, stop doing that?
Also, I tried to delete the default tracks because they were unwanted clutter but they come back every time I reopen the app, so
maybe fix that too.

By Wee Random.
December 5, 2020
3 out of 5
Crashes frequently

Great sample groove box but needs more refinement. Crashes happen so frequently that they break creative flow. Several crashes
have resulted in corrupted sound files as well.

By DeadpoolForPrez.
December 4, 2020
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total