Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

Funimation

by Funimation
Positive
80%
critic
20%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of Funimation by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of Funimation written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for Funimation

Reviews: 393Avg. Rating: 8/10

Positive reviews

5 out of 5
Important

Loving it so far only thing I can say is they should add Dragons Dogma

By Gabi'sdaddy.
January 21, 2021
4 out of 5
Bugs.

First i wanna say i hope the developers don’t get offended for what i’m gonna say. Ok so while i’m watching anime while
i’m watching an add comes up i wait for it to end. After it finished while i was watching the anime the add was playing the song
of the add i refreshed and i deleted the app it sti

By foxy is the best 1010.
January 21, 2021
4 out of 5
Sk8 the Infinity

I just think it’s stupid that you have to have premium to watch Sk8 the Infinity

By almananakahs.
January 21, 2021
5 out of 5
The dubs

Please add the dubs to shows when they are finished i watched episode 6-8 on gogo anime but they weren’t on your app its a good
app also fix ad problem you can be listening to two ads at once or hear one while your show is playing thanks

By im an id10t.
January 21, 2021
4 out of 5
It’s pretty good

I’m only not giving it a 5 star bc it needs more shows other than that it’s amazing

By r0xsfn.
January 21, 2021
4 out of 5
Annoying

It's a decent app to watch anime on, but there aren't many shows please add more.
The annoying part is I like to watch shows in Japanese yet some episodes only have it in English. It makes me really angry and
annoyed.

By Bananafishissadderthenanohana.
January 21, 2021
5 out of 5
GREAT APP!

This app is really great for streaming anime and stuff sometimes the ads get all mashed up though and it glitches and won’t let
you watch what you were watching that’s the only bug I have encountered so far with this app it also has a variety of different
amazing anime to choose from like my hero ac

By An anime fanboi.
January 20, 2021
4 out of 5
Almost perfect

My only problem is that it can be clunky to use on other platforms. I have an iPhone 8 and it works flawlessly on it however I
can’t change the language on my Apple TV. Also it can be clunky to use on my switch. Some anime’s are only in dubbed like yuri
on ice which is annoying. Also I’m trying to

By JayRodgers.
January 20, 2021
4 out of 5
This app it’s need it in Mexico

I really love this app, have bugs like any other app but it’s good, and I been using Funimation since the beginning special for
the dubs, but I been living here in Mexico for the last few years and using a Vpn is to slow, and your new service of streaming
Crunchy doesn’t have a lot of dubs, so I’m h

By Dave 293.
January 20, 2021
5 out of 5
Amazing App

I have been using funimation on my TV and it has been working just fine. Quality is good, No Ads at all, Has many Animes including
the new ones and easy to use. If your thinking about downloading this app you definitely should i recommend getting it on TV
though.

By AklDesu.
January 20, 2021
5 out of 5
Pls do an by update

I love that theirs dubs but can you add boy X boy anime’s

By anime fan124.
January 20, 2021
5 out of 5
Funimate

Ok so the app is great but there are a lot of ads like prob. Like 5 or so ads but other then that it’s a good app

By Deku_Nerd.
January 19, 2021
4 out of 5
Needs to be optimized for iPhone 12

Overall it's good, there are times where it bugs out and says that I don't have a premium account even though I do. Also it's not
as up to date as I would like, the new season of Dr. Stone is out but I can't watch it for some reason even though it is
advertised. Please bring a new update

By Mr hailo.
January 19, 2021
4 out of 5
bugs

This app is really good to watch anime but it always kicks me out when i press on it, itd probably take 10-15 tries to let me get
in

By Nqruh0e.
January 19, 2021
5 out of 5
Anime to add

hello Funimation if you guys don’t mind can you do nisekoi dub i would love it 🙏🏽🙏🏽🙏🏽🙏🏽

By FAZe dave.
January 15, 2021
4 out of 5
Good but one flaw

This app for anime is amazing and I Love it! There are so many anime’s that I love to watch, there are a few of my favorites
that are not there but it’s ok, the flaw about this app is since This app claims that you can watch anime “Anytime Any were”
but this isn’t the case. This app interrupted me o

By Rogan1111.
January 15, 2021
4 out of 5
Please read this

Why is it so hard too sign in and why must I go to a website that tells me that my password is not correct and if I wanted to turn
off kid mode I have to go to that website and how am I supposed to remember a password .I should be able too see my password and
not just my email so please fix the the

By neon_izzy.
January 15, 2021
4 out of 5
Amazing but could use improvements

I love this app but my only issue is that it doesn’t play from where I left off but rather at the very beginning which I lose
track where I left off last time, also would be nice if they had a “skip intro” feature, would help a lot of skipping!

By 76Jessi.
January 15, 2021
5 out of 5
It’s very nice

You can watch it in English and Japanese witch is helpful,Idk why that the rating are low....only flaw is some stuff you Connot
watch because you have to buy a subscription witch is annoying but other then that it is great

By lsalind.
January 15, 2021
4 out of 5
The UI? Please

For some odd reason the UI is stretched to the point where I have to scroll through everything to find an anime to watch because I
can’t reach the search button. It’s stretched into my status bar on my iPhone.

By Gr1mm93.
January 14, 2021
5 out of 5
Cool streaming app

Its really good and I like it a lot but it’s audio is in Japanese and only Japanese and not everyone understands it and lots of
ads and bugs and the audio should have more than one language

By BHAlphaqt1.
January 14, 2021
4 out of 5
subs and dubs!!

I find hard because, it constantly keeps changing to sub only I find that annoying I just want to watch in dub that’s all but
it’s great.

By PRANGTIP.
January 14, 2021
4 out of 5
To many ads

I love watching anime but there is to much ads in the app

By Adriel Rai.
January 14, 2021
5 out of 5
Yess

I really love this app I can watch all the shows I want for free!

By So greattt❤️.
January 13, 2021
4 out of 5
This is all I have to say about it

Whenever I’m watching one of my favourite movie is my hero academia there is an ad and then there’s another ad as that is
playing to add are overlapping and it’s really annoying even after I leave the movie and tried to go to something else but
really all I have to do to get it over with is just clo

By fusion fox 56321.
January 13, 2021
4 out of 5
SUBTITLES

This app on the phone and also the one on consoles NEEDS NEEDS NEEDS more subtitles options instead of the default black box
white text subtitles. I am aware some episodes do have the white text subtitles (the ones I like) but usually it’s just the
other ones.

By heshhshs.
January 13, 2021
5 out of 5
Help

Good app but too Many commercials every time I try to watch a commercial pops up every single second

By milkshakecow 12345.
January 13, 2021
5 out of 5
Missing episodes

I love it! It has my favorite seasons and series but in Fruits Basket I wish in season 2 they had all the episodes instead of 2
episodes other then that I love it!

By Ze Weird Girl.
January 7, 2021
4 out of 5
Great app but my issue

I love the app, it has a lot of good animes but my problem is that, I’m trying to watch on the app but It won’t let me. I have
cellular internet but whenever I try to watch it says I can’t stream without WiFi. It’s really frustrating.

By I watch Anime Everyday.
January 7, 2021
5 out of 5
It’s great but...

It’s good since it’s better for me to watch on my really old iPad but only a bit better than crunchy roll since that there
aren’t any ads.But it doesn’t have all the anime’s that I would watch like how re zero isn’t even on crunchy roll and yet
it says it’s there but I can’t watch

By mynameinJEFF!!!!.
January 7, 2021
4 out of 5
Good but

Its good but the only problem is that sometimes the app just randomly closes for no reason and now it wont open at all when i did
use it it worked really well and I definitely liked using it

By /; qw.
January 6, 2021
4 out of 5
Very good

The app is good but when I’m only 2 episodes in on MHA it won’t let me go to the 3rd episode cuz it just has a no more ads
thing and wants be to get premium and I can’t X it out :(

By princess star🤩.
January 6, 2021
4 out of 5
AoT

The app is good but I don’t think it’s necessary to make people subscribe to watch the rest of season 2 and 3 and some other
show you have to subscribe to watch like “one punch man” or “Hunter x Hunter”

By warmdfjk.
January 6, 2021
5 out of 5
New layout

I cannot wait for the new layout, also dark mode?

By QueenButterfly01.
December 19, 2020
4 out of 5
Umm

Hello the app is good bun why is everything premium like why but good app tho

By this is my nine-year-old.
December 18, 2020
4 out of 5
Much better than crunchyroll

This is great but the player capabilities can’t compete with that of Netflix. I wish Netflix had all the anime.

By AbinizJohnny.
December 18, 2020
4 out of 5
I like it but...

I really like this app I can watch all my fav anime shows but there is ONE problem... the subscription LIKE WHY do we need a
subscription I’m just trying to watch My Hero Academia in peace BUT GUESS WHAT I CANT because episode 17 “In Their Own Quirky
Ways” Needs A S U B S C R I P T I O N
To WATCH i

By isidjdjaakusksqjodi.
December 18, 2020
5 out of 5
Good app but

What is VERY annoying is when I press to watch one, and it’s plays 2 adds at the same time and when the adds are over the same
ad sound replays over and over again while the anime is rolling

By Hello here is my opinion.
December 18, 2020
4 out of 5
Audio

When ever I watch anime on the app the ads aren’t on screen but the audio plays so it overlaps the anime and you can’t focus
on the audio so that is my only issue.

By Random? Person.
December 17, 2020
4 out of 5
Good, but I have a few issues

To start this off, I love the app a lot! I’m glad it has the dub versions of anime’s or shows considering the fact that I love
the English Dub version of anime, and I love the quality and the way the episodes are played as well! My issues to the app
however, are probably the ads, and don’t get me w

By RyaArts.
December 17, 2020
4 out of 5
It was okay

I tried logging in to my acc after being kicked out for no reason. The shows and movies r pretty good but it’s the logging in
part that gets on my nerves I have 1 email I use it for every thing I know that’s not a good idea but I pretty much have nothing
important to steal in the first place. Back t

By oppsie101.
December 17, 2020
5 out of 5
I LOVE THIS APP

I am a big weeb and I like this app but can you add konosuba a god blessing on this wonderful world.it’s a good anime and it
whould fit in with all the others plz add this anime.:)))))))

.Your friend a weeb

By dabmike10.
December 17, 2020
4 out of 5
The app is ok, but..

The app is ok but it has a few bugs. Sometimes when I try to watch something, there will be overlapping ads. I cannot afford
paying for it so I usually don’t mind ads, but the ads overlap and then when the ad on the screen ends, i am able to watch the
anime, but I still hear the overlapping ad in th

By why every user taken.
December 17, 2020
5 out of 5
Best anime watcher

This is the best anime watcher it mostly has any anime you want It is 17 plus but some of
them are not it also you can put captions on just in case if you want to put in what ever language the anime is in

By ilovepizza1233444555643.
December 17, 2020
4 out of 5
Audio problem

I’ve been wanting to watch a specific anime for a while and I whenever I switch the audio to Japanese the app immediately closes
out. I don’t think it’s fair that I can’t watch it without the app closing all the time

By fr0g g1rl.
December 17, 2020
4 out of 5
Seasons and episodes

This app is asome I love it but it has some cons too it seems like they don’t update when a new episode comes out of one of the
anime’s or a new season for example fruits basket to that there is 3 seasons they don’t even have episode 24-25 on season 2
and I understand for season 3 that will come out

By dad app don't get it.
December 17, 2020
4 out of 5
Needs some improvement

I have no complaints using Funimation so far. Would be nice if there was a “Skip Intro” function available while watching
anime

By 0zero2.
December 10, 2020
4 out of 5
No jojo?

Ok there be no jojo but it’s still good

By mrpiepanda.
December 10, 2020
4 out of 5
One problem

There is just one for me and it is just that on some shows it says it’s dubbed or in English but when I click on them to see
them they are in Japanese I mean I love anime but I like to watch it dubbed and I just get my hopes up that I am able to see it in
English but then I find out it’s in Japanese

By huhghdjrjc.
December 10, 2020
4 out of 5
Lu/

This app is very good but there is so much adds and it makes everything glitch and it’s so annoying and I just wanted to watch a
show but there is so much adds so I can’t watch the show I want.

By please read this tiktok 🙃🙂.
December 9, 2020
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
Please fix the auto play feature!

Love the app and the content it provides, but the auto play feature doesn’t work most of the time and makes it a chore to watch
multiple episodes back to back. (Most of the time I’m forced to open the app on my phone and go back to the search menu and
manually put the next episode on.) which makes i

By ialsoso.
January 21, 2021
3 out of 5
Love is war dub

Where is the love is war dub? Weren’t you guys the ones to produce the dub? I can’t find the English option even though I have
the subscription service. Is there a reason the English dub is gone?

By Subtokryozgaming.
January 21, 2021
3 out of 5
:/ issues

I just installed it I logged in twice to able to watch danganronpa 3 but it says mature audience etc.. I wanna turn it on but it
won’t let me i logged in online and on the app honestly my friend recommended this and this is NOT what I expected.

By Jxs._.TheLoser.
January 21, 2021
3 out of 5
Crashes

Constantly crashes and sometimes the app won’t even open.

By ugayash.
January 21, 2021
3 out of 5
Please remove the caption

Please give us the option to remove the captions on the dubs also. It is annoying

By fixthecaptions.
January 20, 2021
3 out of 5
Its okay

It’s a nice app but I have some issues 1, you can’t really watch some of the anime’s on the app because you have to
subscribe and you have too pay for it 2, you have to make a difficult password using a lot of things 3, it has a lot of lag most
of the time but idk if it’s the app or my internet, but

By hdrhvenebdvs.
January 20, 2021
3 out of 5
Its okay

It’s a nice app but I have some issues 1, you can’t really watch some of the anime’s on the app because you have to
subscribe and you have too pay for it 2, you have to make a difficult password using a lot of things 3, it has a lot of lag most
of the time but idk if it’s the app or my internet, but

By hdrhvenebdvs.
January 20, 2021
3 out of 5
Bugs

Every time I try to open the app it closes out and won’t let me on I have a subscription and I can’t even open the app to
watch anime

By alex.kornegay.
January 20, 2021
3 out of 5
Wow

I was watching a show on this app, attack on titan and after the 27 episode you have to go premium and I don’t want to go
premium I just want to watch my show

By boom chaclaca.
January 19, 2021
3 out of 5
Good app needs work

The app is good if you use any iPhone up to the 8. If you use an iPhone 10 or later it’s extremely hard to access the account
settings or even the search bar since they are located next to the notch where your time, battery, and connection notifs are so
you are unable to tap on them

By Spoonu.
January 19, 2021
3 out of 5
It was good at first

It was fine at first but the adds somehow combined together and kept on play on the ads it was getting annoying. But overall it
just fine

By waterlol.
January 19, 2021
3 out of 5
Its alright...

The app its self is alright. There are bugs that are annoying but easy to fix. The main problem I had was the support team. One I
was having a issue with watching Highschool DxD on the app. I then emailed the support team and didn’t get a response until a
week later. By then the problem was already

By Charels hiclevottem.
January 15, 2021
3 out of 5
Only trailers

So I was so excited to download this,but one issue I want to watch seven deadly sins.I got excited so I click it.But I only see
the trailers of each episode.I can never watch 1 episode on it.But I go on to other anime’s and they don’t have the problem
I’m having.And the “episodes” are like 2 mins.

By cobyhacker3421🤖🎃😸😹🙀✋🏼.
January 14, 2021
3 out of 5
It’s Good But There is a problem I’m experiencing

Don’t get me wrong this is a good app to watch your favorite anime shows to watch but the problem here is that whatever I click
to watch a show ads keep stacking up playing at the same time and then keep playing during the rest of the show which is really
annoying when I’m trying to hear when the ch

By Diego ynfante.
January 14, 2021
3 out of 5
It’s fun to watch

This app is so fun because of all the anime but one thing is why do you have to pay it said free but it’s not free I was my
hero academia and I got to season 2 episode 14 or 15 and it said I had to subscribe and I had press the subscribe thinking it just
a YouTube channel and all but it took me to

By Mai-🤍.
January 14, 2021
3 out of 5
Layout on the latest ios is messed up

Its been for so long that the layout on ios is messed up, is there anyway you can update and fix this?

By Nik95k.
January 14, 2021
3 out of 5
The app on Ipad is very buggy and missing a lot of

You guys really need to work on the ipad version i have the apple keyboard that i can attach to my ipad and for some reason if im
watching an episode the only way to playback or to forward the video is by ONLY touching the screen and those buttons are very
small it takes me seconds if i want to forw

By Abdu_97.
January 14, 2021
3 out of 5
Haikyuu

I love this app but there’s some anime that not on there I really love haikyuu and with me downloading this app I expect there
to be haikyuu on there haikyuu is a very popular anime and I would love to watch it because Netflix only has 2 season on it

By alped 74.
January 13, 2021
3 out of 5
...

They need to fix the ads because all of the ads are mixed together and I can’t watch my video it’s pretty annoying please fix
it

By Lily the Uw-.
January 13, 2021
3 out of 5
Poorly written app

Doesn’t fit on the screen. If you navigate the app from anything else the native iOS back button is on top of the app’s back
button

By eKyle.
January 8, 2021
3 out of 5
It’s a good app but I have one problem

I’m doing the 14 day free trial and i liked it at first but when I watch a show and get to like the second episode the rest will
be in Japanese audio. And it’s like that on every show I try to watch, before I even watch it I look at all the episodes and
they all say English and Japanese but once I w

By nat74012.
January 7, 2021
3 out of 5
ray is my husband😜

i was just trying to watch season two of the promised neverland ☹️ goodbye i’m going to cry now🏃‍♀️

By kim kimiko.
January 7, 2021
3 out of 5
uhm it could have been better.

I have LOVED this app, but In mha where is the 16 episode and why is the 17 episode only for subs? One of the worst apps.....

By njawaid.
January 7, 2021
3 out of 5
Review

Amazing app, one major bug. Every time I try to enter the app it keeps kick me out.

By dh gg dyhdhb gb fh. gmccf.
January 6, 2021
3 out of 5
Update for iPhone 12 mini!

The app won’t allow me to click button on the top left of the screen

By Purpolopogus.
January 6, 2021
3 out of 5
Alright but the mobile app is trash.

It doesn’t show all episodes or seasons using the mobile app but using my computer it pops up. Don’t know if it’s the
servers or what not but Funimation needs to fix this ASAP.

By OCTXJR.
January 6, 2021
3 out of 5
Ehh

It’s ok just they need too add more for example they don’t have my favorite anime,KAKEGURI!that bothers me ALOT

By GabbyDaStar.
December 19, 2020
3 out of 5
Great.

It has a lot of potential and so many cool things to choose from, but in an add (witch I kept getting constantly) it said free so
I downloaded it then found out I had to pay to use it

By boi if you don-.
December 19, 2020
3 out of 5
LOTS aid bugs

I can’t even watch it cause it keeps on crashing and before that it logged me out my account and said that the password was
wrong even after a rest only reason it’s not lower is because when it does work it’s good

By ummmster.
December 18, 2020
3 out of 5
Alright but....

It’s a good app but I could only watch half of some of the shows on the free prescription I mean I know your trying to make
money but really....

By zgzmamgat.
December 18, 2020
3 out of 5
Decent but missing shows

I wanted to watch naruto but shippuden is not there

By code Lee.
December 18, 2020
3 out of 5
lags

this app is very good, it just lags every single time i try to start an episode of something. it try’s to play 2 different
commercials at once and then i can’t hear the anime i’m watching

By 🐝Maddy🐝.
December 17, 2020
3 out of 5
UI Update

If you can update the app to match the new Nintendo switch app and bring that over to iOS and TV OS, that was be great. What we
have had has been great but not optimal and also buggy.

By FluffyBlue626.
December 17, 2020
3 out of 5
Glitches

Everytime i get an ad the audio of the ad is different from the ad it shows. Then when the screen shows the anime, the audio is
overlapping from the previous ad.

By kpoplover101kelz.
December 17, 2020
3 out of 5
The app is okay

It’s good but omg the ads. Theyre so many. Sometimes the audio for the ads glitches through the show too

By kitkat velarde.
December 17, 2020
3 out of 5
Your almost there

You have made me angry with the bugs you used to have but his other bug now kicks me out of Funimation I try to watch tv

By more dubs more watchers.
December 17, 2020
3 out of 5
Stop shoving your subscriptions in my face

Its like im getting forced to buy the subscription. I cant even watch more than 20 episodes of an anime. Fix This

By ahsmdoeksh.
December 17, 2020
3 out of 5
Great app but

This is a great app and I had no issues with is but there is an issue and it's very annoying, after an ad I would continue to
watch a show but the problem is the ad would continue to play and it's really annoying. I'm only keeping the app since it's the
only one I can watch prison school

By -* local_trash*-.
December 17, 2020
3 out of 5
Very very buggy

I love it there’s a big library of anime’s you can watch but sometimes when you skip it will skip an entire season and some
anime’s you can only watch on certain devices even though I have premium but other than that it’s a good app
One other problem is that I’ll be watching and one episode will be

By Crackaboyjohnny.
December 10, 2020
3 out of 5
Nice app but needs some work

i love this app because the quality it really good and has a nice variety of shows but it also has a bug that has made me want to
use crunchyroll instead of this one, everytime i try to play an episode it plays two-three ads on top of eachother so all the
audio is getting messed up, so i tried to wa

By Yeontanspooky.
December 10, 2020
3 out of 5
Great but the ads won’t play right

I’ve been having the app for a while now to watch toilet bound hanako kun and the ads will play decently go a second or so
before switching to a different ad with the audio of the first ad still playing, so when the ad break ends I still have ad audio
playing over my anime, please fix this problem

By Bowl_of_sallaD_.
December 9, 2020
3 out of 5
Good app but...

Ok so I like funimation a lot, I used to use crunchyroll a lot more until I found this app and I decided to give it a try. I
usually watch on my Roku tv and while I was watching there was a bunch of ads like 6+ ads which I’m ok with but crunchyroll has
less, the reason why I decided to use this app

By dezda._.drip_insta.
December 9, 2020
3 out of 5
Great content, terrible app

Awesome content, available in Japanese and English, but a terrible piece of technology. The interface is ugly and antiquated
compared to other video streaming apps. Constant random crashes. A small cast icon shows up for me on the top right even though my
cast device is turned off. Sometimes the epi

By Willm127.
December 9, 2020
3 out of 5
Super buggy

I’m just watching an anime and a ad comes on after a minute it goes off the anime plays again then the ad is overlapping the
anime and the ad overlaps another ad

By ;-; -3-.
December 9, 2020
3 out of 5
BRuh

So whenever I get done with an ad and go onto my show there’s like 999999 ads playing in the background I’ve tried relaunching
and even deleting the app but it’s still there 👨‍🦯

By Wildhammyuwu1.
December 9, 2020
3 out of 5
I need help

It won’t let me watch one piece in the dub I need some help

By Two piece fan.
December 9, 2020
3 out of 5
Good but...

I will give you five stars because this is the best animation I ever watched but there’s something about it there’s this
glitch that I am on episode 16 it is immediately skipped the episode 39 you really need to fix that glitch please

By tttthdyuu.
December 9, 2020
3 out of 5
This bu is very bad

I would give 5 stars but for some reason when I’m trying to watch anime the ads overlap with the anime I’m trying to watch and
it’s annoying fix this and I’ll love to use this app

By heiibhsbhiehbie.
December 9, 2020
3 out of 5
Too many Ads

There are too many ads on Funimation. I’m not sure if it’s for anyone else but for me, the ads come every 5 minutes and it
gets annoying when I’m trying to watch something. I really hope/wish you guys could get that fixed and maybe possibly remove the
ads?

By 𝙽𝚘𝚘𝚋0946.
December 9, 2020
3 out of 5
It’s not bad

I’ve been watching anime with this, and the second session of BNHA/MHA is only for Premium Subscribers, and it so annoying! it
could be better with less annoying ads, but if you wanna pay and wait for like 2 minutes for ads to stop get this app.

By holly Elizabeth burke.
December 8, 2020
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total