Reviews & Ratings

Positive
92%
critic
8%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of Good Sudoku by Zach Gage by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of Good Sudoku by Zach Gage written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for Good Sudoku by Zach Gage

Reviews: 163Avg. Rating: 9.2/10

Positive reviews

5 out of 5
👍🏻 great for both playing and learning

Aside from being an excellent digital rendition of Sudoku, it also does an fantastic job of teaching the game – I’m becoming a
better player because of this app.

(I downloaded it the moment I saw “Zach Gage”, based on his past work – it’s another great example of the quality of his
work.)

By GB13😎.
January 23, 2021
4 out of 5
Absolutely fantastic sudoku app

Really love this app. Easy to use and the techniques teacher is amazing. One nitpick: if I explicitly mark a naked pair in a
house, I would prefer not to have a hint pop up that tells me to cross out the other that pair in the other boxes. Either having
an option to automatically cross out those num

By Dablocko.
January 23, 2021
4 out of 5
Great game with catchy design

Good sudoku is really very good! The only features I feel could improve are the processing of daily contests. It appears that
people are using the raw API to achieve high scores rather than playing by hand. Even were it not the case: I’m a player that
can complete basic and even expert puzzles in a

By robertomasymas.
January 19, 2021
4 out of 5
Display size issue

Great sudoku game, love all the features and tips. Only issue is on the iPhone 12 the app doesn’t quite reach the top of the
display. Once fixed it would be a perfect game

By JoshuaSR26.
January 13, 2021
4 out of 5
Odd jumps in auto fill

Sometimes the app auto fills numbers with no reasoning that I can tell to have filled the number.

By Ikkorous.
January 7, 2021
5 out of 5
Really beautiful app

Works well, the UI experience is beautiful, and I love the teaching aspect to it. You can really tell the developer(s) put a lot
of heart in this.

By soulja......
January 6, 2021
5 out of 5
Name of the app is a big understatement!

Best app in the world!!! I love you guys

By Aâaaaaaaaaaa.
January 6, 2021
5 out of 5
Best Sudoku app I’ve found

Great to pass the tedium and get to the more difficult techniques.

One improvement suggestion: the ability to color cells and to clear colors easily (at least 4 colors.)

By GuffyTBones.
January 5, 2021
4 out of 5
A little buggy but a pretty cool version

I love the techniques feature. I’ve never seen this before and I am definitely learning. I’m going to purchase the upgrade to
get rid of the ads and open the features, but I wanted the dev to know that I often have to shut down and reopen the app after an
ad and once after learning a new technique a

By EMT2BSN.
January 4, 2021
4 out of 5
Enjoyable, but with some quirks to improve upon

I like many things about this app. It took some getting used to, but this is my go to app for sudoku and I play it for 1-2 hours
every day. I never thought about just how tedious it is to finish houses toward the end of a solve, but after not having to
manually do it for a while it feel fairly tort

By russellbarnett.
January 4, 2021
5 out of 5
Beautifully made training app

Never really got into playing this game until I tried this app. It’s great for beginners wanting to learn them game without the
frustration of not being able to complete a puzzle. Makes the game fun even if you never played before.

By Sman95.
January 3, 2021
5 out of 5
Sudoku 2077

This is the best sudoku client out there. Most entertaining and nicest interface. Some crash bugs are frustrating and ui
weirdness but not deal killers.

By Dr. Clement Shimizu.
January 2, 2021
5 out of 5
Great for beginners, and moderate-advanced players

I have recommended this app to many of my sudoku friends of all different skill levels and all of them have found it to be a
tremendous help! I would recommend this for anyone interested in getting started in sudoku or interested in improving logic-trains
regarding sudoku puzzles.

By CliquePlay.
December 21, 2020
5 out of 5
Delightful experience!

Good Sudoku thoughtfully reinvents how the game can be played and learned. I really enjoy the focus mode, the auto-notation, the
hints system that lets you finish figuring it out, the chill and pleasant sound track and sound effects. Thanks Zach and Jack!
Take my money! :)

By djsla30.
December 20, 2020
5 out of 5
Genius game

Sudoku is dime a dozen on iOS. It’s not even that, it’s dime a hundred, the games are free, and they are universally terrible.
But this game is amazing. It trains you how to be better at Sudoku, and has the best interface for quickly solving puzzle I’ve
ever seen.

By jeblucas.
December 18, 2020
4 out of 5
Great

My only complaint is lack of documentation. Like how are scores figured? & How is difficulty determined?

By CBLands.
December 17, 2020
5 out of 5
A perfect game

This game is perfectly itself. It’s the best sudoku app you’ll find, and really does teach you to get better at recognizing
sudoku patterns. I live for the daily challenge mode. Would love to see some more social comparison features that bring friends
scores to the daily challenge mode, though. Woul

By Chris Furniss.
December 17, 2020
5 out of 5
LOVE!

I have always liked Sudoku, but this has made me LOVE it. I’ve gotten so much better and love the way it teaches you techniques.
I also love the tools. The ONLY way this app could be better would be if you could toggle back and forth between having Auto Note
on and off while doing a puzzle. Still, d

By Candacejeanine.
December 17, 2020
5 out of 5
Great Sudoku!

Smart design, insightful explanations of advanced techniques, and best of all, no ads! Well worth the modest price.

By Joe Bagadonitz.
December 16, 2020
5 out of 5
Love It (Audio Issue)

Love the game, sometimes when resuming a game though it tries to play two audios at once so you have to “save and quit” then
go back to it again to get rid of the issue.

By A Concerned Sword Master.
December 15, 2020
5 out of 5
Send help. I can’t stop playing this game

Thanks to this game, I’ve developed an addiction to Sudoku. The only cure is more Sudoku. 10/10

By MakoMemelord.
December 11, 2020
5 out of 5
Good app for learning advanced techniques

This Sudoku app has made it easy to learn solving techniques that have “upped my game.” Highly recommended!

The 1.0.8 update had a freezing bug that occurred when a puzzle was completed in any hardness levels in Eternal game mode. The
developer corrected this issue within one day of it being report

By Rauser.
December 9, 2020
5 out of 5
The only game I play on my iPad at this point

See title. It’s really, really great. Thanks so much for making it! Sometimes it’s a bit laggy when I’m waking up my iPad
from sleep but it works its way out after a few seconds every time, and I’m sure that will be resolved (... if it isn’t from
the last update ...) ... regardless, that’s the type

By anechoe.
December 9, 2020
4 out of 5
Great app, one small bug

This is a great sudoku app, and I’ve played it a ton over the last month. I highly recommend it to anyone who likes sudoku,
especially if you’d like to improve in your techniques (or if you didn’t even know there ARE techniques).

The only reason I didn’t give this a 5 is because of a recent bug th

By Steppe22.
December 8, 2020
5 out of 5
Simple and wonderful

This isn’t just Good Sudoku... it’s also plain good sudoku.

By IAmAmoral.
December 7, 2020
5 out of 5
Love It

I use this app daily to do the three daily sudoku puzzles. Works great.

By SplatteredBits.
December 7, 2020
5 out of 5
Forever Beginner

I enjoy the beginner series because it’s an easy mental workout that doesn’t require any advanced methods for solving the
puzzle. I usually do one per AM and on e per PM. This is as advanced as I ever plan to be.

89 YO

By 89YO.
December 7, 2020
5 out of 5
Excellent interface

I really enjoy the ease of note taking in this app. Being able to highlight what I want makes organizing the numbers work in a way
that helps me solve. I also appreciate the technique tutorials which is the main reason I picked up this version.

By Azleaneo.
December 7, 2020
5 out of 5
Best Sudoku app in the App Store

I’ve tried tons of sudoku apps, but this one is by far the best one I’ve used. It consistently delivers value, is
entertaining, has good music, has a KILLER vibration function that’s incredibly satisfying to feel (even when the app is
silenced), and helps teach advanced techniques like nothing I’ve

By Oenai.
December 7, 2020
4 out of 5
Really good

I like the app. I do wish there were options for font sizes. Notes are hard to read because the numbers are so small.

By Shardak.
November 28, 2020
5 out of 5
The perfect sudoku game

I have been waiting for a well designed sudoku game for years. This design is perfect! Thank you very much for making it!

If you need more ideas please make a chess game next!

Thank you!!

By This is my next review.
November 24, 2020
5 out of 5
Never cared bout sudoku till good sudoku

Amazing, cant say anything negative!

By Dankmememaster21.
November 20, 2020
4 out of 5
Great game but I hate in app purchases

Love the game (so glad I paid for the full version because a lot of love clearly went into making this).

My only gripe is that I wish the in-app purchase to unlock the full game supported family sharing so that I could play this on my
wife’s iPad as well.

By SeeWhatJENDo.
November 10, 2020
5 out of 5
Read this

Make it where it updates the puzzles you solve on different devices

By vehehdudbdjsisnebd.
November 10, 2020
5 out of 5
Part of my daily routine

I look forward to completing the daily puzzles every morning. It’s a solid app and I can tell that I’m improving, noticing
advanced techniques without the need for hints. The ads are gonna bother you, just pay the few bucks for the ad free version.

By ajrietveld.
November 5, 2020
5 out of 5
Fun and addicting take on Sudoku!

LOVE this game. It improves on standard Sudoku in all the right ways without changing the game itself. Plus it offers standard
version gameplay as well.

By diego_enchilada.
November 5, 2020
5 out of 5
Best sudoku app!

I’ve tried a lot of sudoku apps and this is one of the best! The app does a good job giving hints, it’s really helpful for
learning more advanced techniques.

By conversing with my converse.
November 4, 2020
5 out of 5
Got me into Sudoku

I’d never seen the appeal of Sudoku before. But the clean design, simple instructions, and increasingly clever strategies have
me hooked. I now think this “Sudoku” thing might catch on ;)

By Gfdffbtesuuvg.
November 4, 2020
5 out of 5
Great for learning advanced strategies

Love the app. Would LOVE to be able to have the first click on the hint button say the type of technique for the next hint without
showing the location. Just knowing that there is an XYZ wing to find would help me learn to find them.

By calbearfan.
November 3, 2020
5 out of 5
Best sudoku app!

I’m bad with words but thanks so much to the creators of this app!

By justatoad.
October 29, 2020
4 out of 5
Like the tools to help automate solving

The leaderboards are totally useless, people are just doing a screen grab, pausing the game, then solve ‘offline’ then
continue and fill in....

How do I know? I did it, and still got 6th place....need to remove pause/save for ranked games!!!

By YourFriendMike.
October 28, 2020
5 out of 5
Better sudoku

Having done sudokus for many years, first on paper and then using a different app, I was very pleased to discover the teaching
aspect of this app. I have improved my solve rate and no longer resort to guessing.
Kudos to the Dark Cards makers for helping a 73-year-old learn new tricks.

By Yahzee.
October 28, 2020
4 out of 5
Best Sudoku Game On Market

Helped me improve my game and love game variations. Would be nice to have more stats (games played, average solve time, number
hints). Global stats across each puzzle would add another level of replayability - trying to improves scores/times.

By natdog14.
October 27, 2020
4 out of 5
'Family Sharing of In-App Purchase Not Working'

'Finally a clean and intuitive Sudoku app! Though the app description says that app and in-app purchases support family sharing
but can

By Encyclo.
October 25, 2020
5 out of 5
'Only sudoku app I

'Good Sudoku cuts out the tedious bits of the game and lets you focus on the fun parts. The auto-note feature is incredible,
sparing me from the five minutes of filling out each possible number (and then worrying if I got something wrong). If you do mess
up and get stuck, you can revert to the last

By DammedBeThisWind.
October 24, 2020
4 out of 5
'Almost Perfect'

'I have been hosed more than once by a little bug in the software. I will select a mode, like highlight or strikeout. I will then
select a box and a number and it will come out of the mode. This happens inconsistently. Sometimes it stays in the note making
mode, sometimes it pops out. More than once

By No Nickname Provided Because.
October 23, 2020
4 out of 5
Almost Perfect

I have been hosed more than once by a little bug in the software. I will select a mode, like highlight or strikeout. I will then
select a box and a number and it will come out of the mode. This happens inconsistently. Sometimes it stays in the note making
mode, sometimes it pops out. More than once

By N1MIE-Chip.
October 23, 2020
5 out of 5
'Love this game'

'Love this game, is there a way to sync progress on different devices?'

By Anomaly Amazing.
October 21, 2020
4 out of 5
'Doesn’t Sync'

'This is an awesome way to learn and improve on your sudoku skills. Just don’t attempt to use it on multiple devices. It
doesn’t sync your progress, i.e., puzzles you’ve completed on one device aren’t marked as completed on your other devices.'

By zgosalvez.
October 16, 2020
5 out of 5
'IF YOU HAVE NEVER PLAYED YOU NEED THIS'

'This is seriously my new favorite. I’ve already recommended it to so many people and I feel like I have learned SO MUCH about
it! It feels so good to watch myself grow in this game and what I notice on the board now can when I started. The explanations and
the use of notes are just the best. 12/1

By Who gushy nxhxxnsb.
October 15, 2020
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
New puzzle mode broken

I really enjoy this app, but some of the logic for the new extended impossible puzzles is wrong, which makes them impossible to
solve. I haven't had any issues like that with the other difficulties.

By Runt2468.
January 7, 2021
3 out of 5
Battery drain

I used this app about 5% of my time on my phone in the last 24 hours and it used 45% of the battery. I love the game, but playing
1 beginner game shouldn’t use 5-10% of the battery.

Will update my review to 5 stars easy if the battery drain is addressed.

By waterdog4927.
December 29, 2020
3 out of 5
Multiple mistakes in first puzzle

I like the layout of the game on iPad. But there were multiple errors in Puzzle #1. I lost confidence in the game when you find
multiple 8’sin the same row...or when a you’ve got an empty cell but no valid numbers to play. I’ll try it again after an
update.

By TonyRush.com.
December 25, 2020
3 out of 5
Crashes

Such a good app. I’ve been playing the game almost nonstop. However, the recent update makes it so the app crashes all the time.
I open it, click on a puzzle, then the app crashes. Over and over, so I can’t even play sudoku with this app anymore.

By Hannubs.
October 30, 2020
3 out of 5
Game Center integration is really bad

In many ways this is the ultimate Sudoku app! However, it’s frustrating that it usually doesn’t save my achievements to
GameCenter. Instead it keeps telling me I’ve hit all of the initial achievements... like every time I finish a puzzle. Every
now and then one of them will finally persist in Game

By The Fenway Fanatic.
October 27, 2020
3 out of 5
Great take on Sudoku – but the app fails the conce

I love the concept behind this app; it’s a new take on Sudoku, and makes it much faster, and lets you concentrate on the hard
parts of the puzzle, and not the mechanical parts.

However, the app is really deficient. Lots of crashes, progress doesn’t sync on iCloud, the Daily leaderboard keeps getti

By etoduarte.
October 24, 2020
3 out of 5
Great turn at sudoku, but too unstable

The sudoku experience is excellent.

But the app crashes so much, it’s hard to recommend at this point. Most frustrating is when it crashes after finishing a puzzle
and it doesn’t record the puzzle completion.

By rmattson.
September 29, 2020
3 out of 5
Crashes A LOT

This is my favorite sudoku app out there BUT for about a month or two now it’s been crashing every time I finish a game and any
time I want to pause whatever I’m listening to and sometimes just at random, causing me to lose points, progress and replay
whole levels. I haven’t played in a long time bc

By RebelTuesday.
September 25, 2020
3 out of 5
Awesome

Please fix the white bar on the top of main screen, which looks ugly.

Like the implementation BTW.

By xiangsl.
September 25, 2020
3 out of 5
It crashes way too often

Crashing wouldn’t be so bad if it didn’t lose data, including puzzles I just solved. But it does, and that’s frustrating.

Also some annoying behaviors, like when I mark a number with the cross out tool, and then it resets the state such that i lose my
place.

By planetqq.
September 25, 2020
3 out of 5
Missing sync between devices

The game is wonderful, the app works great, but there is 1 huge feature missing: iCloud sync!
My progress should be synced so I can play on my phone on the game and when I’m at home I’d like to enjoy the big screen of
the iPad. This is the whole thing about the Apple eco system.
The funny thing is

By kkristoff.
September 24, 2020
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total