Google Hangouts Chat Reviews & Ratings (United States)

App Icon

Google Hangouts Chat

by Google LLC

Rating of Google Hangouts Chat

Positive
84%
critic
16%

Based on the latest 72 user reviews.

Track Reviews from iOS App Stores Around the World.
Find out what people in the United States think of the Google Hangouts Chat App by reading the reviews and checking the rating. View the most helpful Google Hangouts Chat app reviews, written by users who have used the app, and let others in the United States know which reviews you find the most useful by ranking them up.

Google Hangouts Chat User Reviews (United States)

Reviews: 72Avg. Rating: 8.4/10

Positive reviews

5 out of 5
Hangout

Google Chat is very nu e to use and I still want hangouts to also exit please

By debralisa.
August 6, 2022
5 out of 5
Betty

Please I need my account secured don’t block it again please

By kayla ayyy.
July 17, 2022
4 out of 5
Google chat

I personally liked Hangouts better. With chat, you can’t call the person. I don’t like the status buttons. It’s just not as
good as Hangouts was. Don’t know why you had to replace Hangouts

By Lisa3rdof12.
July 17, 2022
5 out of 5
Congratulations

Thank you all for the good working

By Godson147.
July 10, 2022
5 out of 5
Blocking

Would be nice if we could block someone that we are chatting if we don’t want to chat with them anymore

By MrWiggley50022.
June 17, 2022
5 out of 5
Great!!

I have an iPod touch and my cousin has a android so I can’t text him through iMessage so he found google chat and it has been
amazing

By Olrobinette.
June 21, 2022
5 out of 5
Review

Easy to use and user friendly interface

By Guby Tatum.
June 21, 2022
5 out of 5
It’s so cool here, love it ☺️

It’s so cool here, love it ☺️

By jjjjjgggh.
June 4, 2022
5 out of 5
Good

Very good app for texting but most times it keeps logging me out of my account kinda confuse

By jacksonbigpkein28.
May 27, 2022
5 out of 5
Face ID

I would like to open google chat with Face I D so I don’t have to send user name and password
Google is a very nice app

By abc627adm.
May 29, 2022
4 out of 5
The notifications need to update

When someone texted me I can barely hear the notifications sound I wish I can change my notifications sounds settings in my way so
I can reply right then and there but everything else is on point and lovely

By TvManga.
May 29, 2022
5 out of 5
Why

Why did y’all change the whole layout of it. I can’t find invites as easy as I use to. It’s just really stupid really.

By A fan and friend.
May 18, 2022
5 out of 5
The app

The app is too Slow in delivering and receiving messages and sometimes it does not pop up messages until you load the app

By Rosedemi.
May 18, 2022
5 out of 5
Chat

Chat really helps me and my friend in forth worth talk and play games together

By coolbob909.
May 17, 2022
5 out of 5
A good chatting app

This app is good for chatting with friends and family, but I still don’t know why they removed hangouts from the App Store/Play
Store.

By CardPuppet9155.
May 12, 2022
5 out of 5
Tiger

Good app and responding fast👍

By Tiger@101.
April 26, 2022
4 out of 5
Lonely is

Why is my google account disable on my google chat

By lonelyis.
April 26, 2022
4 out of 5
Chats

I like it, but it won’t let me send videos to my spouse who is overseas. Why?

By apachejunction.
April 26, 2022
5 out of 5
Total Awsome

This is a real neat way to do this better then other chat groups easyer way to message with out the head ace thank god for this
one I love it

By horsesheper.
April 26, 2022
5 out of 5
It’s Good

But i still want to record messages

By Incredible show.
March 31, 2022
5 out of 5
Best app

I love this app and I want this app forever

By susanmarian.
March 17, 2022
4 out of 5
Not bad!!

Ok o love the app!! The only problem is when I tried to add someone it was really hard and I couldn’t figure it out! If anyone
reads this can you tell me how? Thanks!!!!

By zoe1647.
March 17, 2022
5 out of 5
Stop hacking my hangouts and google chat

I’m tired using this apps always been hacked please keep this account for me I use this app to text my families and friends

By Bloodof jesus.
March 20, 2022
4 out of 5
Sounds

I wish I could change the tone and make it louder

By Kim 0214.
March 24, 2022
4 out of 5
Problem

Difficult in sharing personal videos

By Khelly dem.
February 27, 2022
5 out of 5
Chat

I think that Chat is really simple and easy to use.

By Onyx Teigh.
March 1, 2022
5 out of 5
BEST APP EVER

This is the best app I ever had, I can connect with my friends and I can call them with Google meet, I’m just glad that you guys
made this the best connecting app possible.

By JakoTheRaptor.
March 2, 2022
5 out of 5
The Real PBB

I’m enjoying whoever I’m conversing with hopefully and I want to believe that I’m

By Salup63.
January 16, 2022
4 out of 5
Please fix this!

I really love this app, but every time i try to log in it'll delete all my messages and will fail to load when i click on a text
or try to text one. My google meet has also been crashing too. Please find a solution to this!

By wowkkie.
January 18, 2022
5 out of 5
Great!

This helped me so much to talk with my friends hen I couldn’t meet them in person because of Covid. It’s awesome.

By GalaxSeaXD.
January 18, 2022
5 out of 5
Good improvements

Really good more improved than hangouts

By tvcdds.
December 27, 2021
5 out of 5
Not just for work

I know It’s advertised for work but I use it to go on virtual dates w my bf I really love it

By Tgirl521.
December 18, 2021
5 out of 5
Google chat

I love it
It is effectively okay

By Andrew michelle.
December 21, 2021
5 out of 5
Good morning

Thank you for having this site, it’s very helpful for friends and family.
Thank you

By rosetibb.
December 22, 2021
5 out of 5
Very nice app

The app is very good but it should be showing media you share with each other

By harbdhul.
December 10, 2021
4 out of 5
Google

Thanks for the wonderful update I hope this app is now more safer to used kudos

By DanielOmajeh.
December 13, 2021
5 out of 5
Love.

I love this app, I can still talk to my family and friends and our chats are still there too, I’m pretty much ok google hangouts
is leaving soon.

By Chucky5812.
December 4, 2021
4 out of 5
its ok 👌🏽

my school has it with gmail so i can just chat with friends on the chat. I just wanna be able to take photos on the chromebook in
the chat.

By nicknameis unknown.
November 29, 2021
5 out of 5
greatness to behold

yoooo! this app is great! its what i have always wanted from a dm app. couldnt have asked for anything be'er. thx devs! ^-^

By JaxBearsFan.
December 2, 2021
4 out of 5
Needs more Slack

Much improved but still missing some Slack features.

By MikeMulligan.
November 18, 2021
4 out of 5
Great but

Word docs won’t load if I attach them from my computer/phone. It says it’s an unsupported file type. If I upload the same doc
from Google Drive it works fine

By CyleC.
November 18, 2021
4 out of 5
Thanks

Very good but you need to add audio call

By adigunjale.
November 22, 2021
5 out of 5
Blocking account

This is getting too much Google chat , u keep blocking me off here ! What is the essence of using this app , return my account I
got my siblings over it

By Meddycash.
November 22, 2021
5 out of 5
❤️

I love it! I get to chat with a friend who is out of the country!🌹

By calirosy.
November 9, 2021
5 out of 5
Chat 💬

I like this chat!😁 There are no ads. I have no complaints about this app. 😊

By Flamingo100$.
October 21, 2021
4 out of 5
Please fix this.

Great, but videos take a while for the little airplane icon to appear so I can sent it. I guess this app takes a little getting
used to after using hangouts for so long. But please fix this it’s a real pain to deal with. 🙁

By Purpleivycat.
October 24, 2021
5 out of 5
Hangouts v Chat

There are subtle differences in the two apps. I honestly miss the location sharing. Overall , it’s almost the same thing.

By Margoapm.
October 27, 2021
5 out of 5
My main communication

Use it to give updates on my my Minecraft server and chat with my friends. It’s like a watered down discord that’s simpler and
easier. I love it!!!

By bobthethirdofromania.
October 27, 2021
5 out of 5
Chat Review

I really like Google Chat but I miss being able to send more than one photo at a time, and it would be nice to see the last text
sent in the rooms as well as the chats. Also I like that dark mode exists :)

By ETheUnicorn.
October 29, 2021
5 out of 5
Best App ever

I love it. Easy to use! Keep it up.

By allmoneyinlorf.
October 18, 2021
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
Notification

I don’t receive notification have check my phone settings and it alright have also delete the app and redownload but still same

By fatSpongeBob.
August 6, 2022
3 out of 5
Allow voice and video call on Google chat please 🙏

Allow voice and video call on Google chat please 🙏

By ConnectedTblk.
July 28, 2022
3 out of 5
Please add video chat and call immediately

I was just forced to change and u can’t call so please change

By hello my name is sloknhhn.
July 11, 2022
3 out of 5
Calls

How can I make calls on google chat???

By portugtto.
July 11, 2022
3 out of 5
Phone calls

The doesn’t let you call or video chat

By gizzy Charlie.
June 19, 2022
3 out of 5
Bring back hangouts

I liked hangouts more. Everything was easier to understand and things would send quicker.

By asherfluffy.
June 21, 2022
3 out of 5
Home Screen

I can’t get google chat on my Home Screen anymore. I have to go to the App Store each time. Help!

By eudoraandguthrie.
June 21, 2022
3 out of 5
Hangout

Where is hangout app I deleted in error CANT find it and don’t like google chat ,

By Linness21.
June 8, 2022
3 out of 5
We need our own chat colors

Please give us chat colors so we can distinguish who is chatting? Thanks!

By ConnieLLRedmond.
June 3, 2022
3 out of 5
Improvement

The app is really good and am liking it right now but they should make the app more light and faster and it should manage data

By marvy025002.
June 5, 2022
3 out of 5
Good but…

I like google chat a lot, but it doesn’t have a call button… I mean.

By spickyratings.
May 28, 2022
3 out of 5
Meh

Ever since the update I am constantly hitting the emoji button instead of send its quite annoying. Is tgere anyway to move the
emojis to the left of the send button???? Thank You

By Zipalena.
May 13, 2022
3 out of 5
Inability to delete single chats

It would be really nice if individual chats could be deleted and not the whole conversation.

By heeeyyy8387484.
May 3, 2022
3 out of 5
I miss hangouts

Google chat isn’t that bad but hangouts was way easier to use because I had it for years! A lot of people in reviews also liked
it, please add hangouts back soon! Google chat is more confusing and big. 😕

By RyRy_DaWeeb.
March 30, 2022
3 out of 5
Hangout is okay

We all prefer using hangout to this google chat

By 26spark.
March 24, 2022
3 out of 5
Changing “unread” to “read”

I have a message marked as “unread” and need to change it to read. I see no way to do this procedure. Can you help??

By BaZWh.
January 5, 2022
3 out of 5
Doesn’t work

I cant use it because it said i dont have access

By KenzoSnipezz.
January 6, 2022
3 out of 5
Wince

Not nearly as user friendly as Whatsapp.

By Burning for Dummies.
December 24, 2021
3 out of 5
No split screen or slide-over support

The lack of multitasking support is disappointing. This app is huge in full screen on the iPad 12.9” and forces you to switch
between apps.

By MiklosJ.
December 18, 2021
3 out of 5
Need Voice call

please add voice call feature. i dont like to use Duo separatelly.

By ashfla.
December 7, 2021
3 out of 5
Update broken functionality and missing features

A recent update has broken the ability to shared websites to the app. A message appears “failed to send”. Also the gif button
available on android is not present in the iOS version

By angelrivera1.
November 19, 2021
3 out of 5
App Size too Large - Otherwise good

The app size (over 200MB) is wayyy too big. I typically delete apps over 100MB though I need this one for work so I’ll be
keeping it. Otherwise it’s a fine app.

By S2DH.
November 4, 2021
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total