Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

Google Hangouts Chat

by Google LLC
Positive
78%
critic
22%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of Google Hangouts Chat by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of Google Hangouts Chat written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for Google Hangouts Chat

Reviews: 49Avg. Rating: 7.8/10

Positive reviews

5 out of 5
It’s not bad

Plus hangout’s you can’t send videos properly

By floiijdndjmdj.
January 5, 2021
4 out of 5
Missing from Serbian AppStore

9 months ago Serbia got iOS AppStore and google still did not enable neither Chat nor other basic google apps. Please enable them
for Serbia - YouTube, google photos, google app, ... and more than 20 apps that should be available on iOS AppStore for Serbia but
are not

By DaliborSuh.
December 15, 2020
4 out of 5
Great for business comm

It would be even better if it had voice messages, makes the app even better

By Salim Basheer.
December 13, 2020
5 out of 5
LOVE this!!

Hey everybody!
LOVING this app. I use it so much. Great job on this! So easy to communicate with people; teachers, friends, family, etc. Thanks!

By DogPerson1.
December 11, 2020
5 out of 5
Love google chat.

I love google chat it the best. It can allow me to talk to my Para.

By rmdj55.
December 5, 2020
5 out of 5
Great

Great. Don’t have to say anything else.

By deven vijay somaya.
December 3, 2020
5 out of 5
Convenience

I look how easy and convenient this app is

By Mara Poo.
November 24, 2020
5 out of 5
Better than Hangouts

With google chat you can send pictures and documents but you can’t with hangouts. Chat is hangouts replacement and chat has meet
in it but needs special settings for it. It’s the best!!!

By Hahahayoyotoy.
November 10, 2020
4 out of 5
“You don’t have access to google chat”

It’s a good app it’s just I have had some problems with it saying “ your organization doesn’t have access to google chat
yet... and so on, I don’t have an organization it was used to just keep in contact with distant friends. Please fix this
immediately.

By hehsksjshdmdbsgjsbs.
November 6, 2020
4 out of 5
I have a problem

I love Google Chat. I discovered it in my Gmail app. My school had access to it for like a day and I chatted with some of my
friends and teachers. But the next day, I was not able to access Chat (my school account). Idk what happened. Can you pls fix
this?

By Carmynn Blakeley :).
November 1, 2020
5 out of 5
Amazing

This app is so good for messaging and no this is not a bot account. I personally think that it amazing but...............
hangouts was 10000% better than it.

By T3...
October 29, 2020
5 out of 5
'Connection'

'For some reason google chat does not want to work and says it has no connection even when I have good LTE connection and good
WiFi'

By jdjehd heje.
October 17, 2020
4 out of 5
'🤫'

'It’s okay ya know 🤗 I just hate frockin online scholelleoeleo 😤'

By ChArLIe daShMEliO.
September 25, 2020
4 out of 5
'?'

'It

By ChArLIe daShMEliO.
September 25, 2020
5 out of 5
'Rip'

'It shut down but best chat app ever'

By eurudidj.
September 14, 2020
5 out of 5
Bug that makes it a deal breaker.

Works fine but the notification badge is stuck at (1) despite not having any unread messages and there's nothing I can do about
it. I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling the application to no success. I have to disable badge notifications, meaning I
miss out on messages a lot..

By Gavin Hern.
September 10, 2020
5 out of 5
'Best'

'I wish we still had hangouts but I like chat better be cause you can join rooms without telling your freind'

By Aarabhi k..
August 22, 2020
4 out of 5
'the bots'

'no bots on my main account only on school account and it wont let me get them make them available please'

By Sanic67272.
August 18, 2020
4 out of 5
'Good app but needs to make video chat working.'

'Hello google chat the app is great but the video chat isn

By TynkerGirl.
August 15, 2020
4 out of 5
'Good app but needs to make video chat working.'

'Hello google chat the app is great but the video chat isn’t working. I don’t know why it isn’t maybe because jt didn’t
work on hangouts before. So if you guys (the google chat team or something) can fix the video chat problem, I would rate the app 5
stars!😀'

By TynkerGirl.
August 15, 2020
5 out of 5
'Awesome app I love it'

'This is a great Google app I love it to talk to my friends.'

By is it possible to get a name.
July 30, 2020
5 out of 5
'Very powerful tool'

'This is a great chat tool, easily integrated into google meet and gmail. I love it!'

By Mesmak.
July 28, 2020
4 out of 5
'Gr8 but not so gr8'

'Gr8 but I don’t have access'

By hi my name is wermy.
June 12, 2020
5 out of 5
'Team update'

'This app allows our team to communicate in this different rooms depending on the subject matter. It has been a welcome addition
to our Google Suite!'

By de_Martinez.
May 28, 2020
5 out of 5
'It’s so useful!'

'It’s so useful because you can group text and it have the conversation from your emails so it’s right where you left off!'

By Night Owl🦉.
May 22, 2020
5 out of 5
'Amazing app chat'

'Amazing app to talk to each other'

By TheStringbean.
May 5, 2020
5 out of 5
'Google chat'

'One problem the FaceTime thing does not work. The rest is great!'

By Hello it is ME :).
April 25, 2020
4 out of 5
'My Review'

'I think this app is amazing, especially during this time because you get to chat with your best friends and have a video
meeting!'

By jdhfhnhgn.
April 24, 2020
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
Not for work definitely

This is supposed to be a work chat, to discuss tasks, projects about and around your work.
The chat thread idea is definitely the best in this product. And that’s all. You can’t send multiple images, files, links with
one message, so it’s absolutely unsuitable to discuss complex projects.

By Shanyabetyar.
January 8, 2021
3 out of 5
Ehhh

As usual with Google another half big scheme as of late… Googles really been dropping the ball the last I would say year or two
all their services are getting worse and out of hand everything from Google photos to YouTube… And now this new Google chat…
Which I think could actually be promising if th

By CharlieHarway.
December 11, 2020
3 out of 5
No way to remove or delete yourself from a group c

I have to use chat for school and when kids make huge chats with 200 something people you can not remove yourself from the chat if
there is a what to please help I’m going insane

By dfhvwufub.
December 8, 2020
3 out of 5
Read messages

Can we please bring back the ability to see when messages are read, as was the case with Hangouts?

By G-suite corporate.
November 19, 2020
3 out of 5
Cant make a room

There is no way for me to make a room and it says “You can only join rooms that you were invited to-learn more” but the learn
more button is broken

By idk user334.
November 12, 2020
3 out of 5
Review

Pretty good over all but the different threads is kinda annoying especially when u have to press a button to look at previous
texts

By kafarah12.
November 4, 2020
3 out of 5
Google chat

I would like to have google chat i can’t get in there because I have to pay for it plus I don’t have anything elso to do on my
phone Cindymaki924

By weary hasrk.
November 4, 2020
3 out of 5
It’s pretty good

It’s pretty good but for some reason my email won’t work anymore. I use my school account to text my niece and I used to be
able to do it but now it says I don’t have permission to use the email. And when I tried to text her with my other emails it
says I couldn’t use those either.

By symoneYT.
October 31, 2020
3 out of 5
Missing some key parts

I would like to be able to leave a group conversation

By jjmillertime123.
October 29, 2020
3 out of 5
can’t send gifs

not sure how i’m supposed to be a productive worker if i can’t send gifs to my fellow employees

By virginscrewdriver.
October 28, 2020
3 out of 5
My app is crashing

To whomever is reading this,
I’m not saying that this app is trash or anything, but my app keeps crashing. I think this app has amazing and helpful features,
but the crashing really needs to be fixed. I love the easy to access view of who is in a group chat, the ability to edit and
delete previous m

By planet money lover.
October 26, 2020
3 out of 5
Gif game is disappointing

I love the ability to edit messages, and the functionality to create chat rooms & share files in the platform.

However—GIPHY bot is terrible, and doesn’t appear to support other gif apps. My gif game has taken a hit; humorous/expressive
communication is definitely lacking.

Also, Google Meet is a

By linrog89.
October 21, 2020
3 out of 5
Fewer features

Being able to list your status was a feature my employer used. We can now only be active or not and can’t let our colleagues
know where we are or what we are busy with

By bring back hangouts.
October 14, 2020
3 out of 5
Notifications

It seems that if you have chat open on your desktop web browser you won’t get notifications on your phone.. Aside from that very
irritating “feature” this seems decent enough.

By RWeddikkara.
October 1, 2020
3 out of 5
I mean it’s okay.

When I download it from my phone it takes forever and it’s still downloading now please make this downloading thing go faster

By preety babes only.
September 22, 2020
3 out of 5
So..

It’s okay actually, especially for people like me that don’t like calling. If you and you friend do want to call, you or them
can send a meet link by pressing a button, which is nice. Hangouts is better though, since it has everything. I love using this to
chat with my friend I guess

By 120% CORRECT.
September 19, 2020
3 out of 5
Active or Away Only

Not being able to hide your status is a total bummer! There really should be some type of “ghost” status option.

By Anti Groupon.
September 8, 2020
3 out of 5
To fix the (1) Notification Badge on the app icon:

Lame that even after the updates, there was no official fix on the annoying (1) Notification showing in the Notification Badge on
the app icon. Even though all my chats/messages are read, it STILL continued to show that I have 1 unread notification on the app
(but where??).

To fix this,

1. Unins

By Brianna8cD.
September 8, 2020
3 out of 5
Extra steps to video call

I really prefer the old way of calling people to video chat. It was quick and only required one click.

By cgraco.
August 22, 2020
3 out of 5
No multi login

Needs to support multi login asap

By Nanamkim.
August 22, 2020
3 out of 5
Just Make One App That Does ALL

Can google take some design clue from China’ Wechat? One app catch it All!

Just combine Google Chat, Google Hangout, Google Meet and Google Duo into one App.
One app that can Chat, audio calls, video 1:1, video group!

It is confusing to try to explain to my mom why need so many different apps for

By Jyli1981.
August 20, 2020
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total