Reviews & Ratings

Positive
88%
critic
12%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of Helios - Magic Hour Calculator by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of Helios - Magic Hour Calculator written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for Helios - Magic Hour Calculator

Reviews: 32Avg. Rating: 8.8/10

Positive reviews

4 out of 5
Great app! Add alarm!

This is an awesome app - due to the changing time of blue and golden hours, especially when traveling, I wish so badly there was
an automatically adjusted alarm so that you could wake up every morning at the exact adjusted blue or golden hour, rather than
having to reset your personal alarm every si

By Sky633.
September 26, 2020
5 out of 5
'Love the app, just one request.'

'I love everything about the app and regularly use it to plan ahead or even day of for shoots. My only request would be if it’s
possible to select a specific date for the map feature without having to hold the scroll bar. When planning for weddings or other
similar shoots it’s helpful to know ah

By 56ace yo.
June 21, 2020
5 out of 5
'App is great!'

'This app is great. It is very useful when planning outdoor shoots.'

By Uberpesh.
May 20, 2020
4 out of 5
'I’d love to see a complication'

'Or, a way to merge the info to the native calendar'

By iwritelight .
January 30, 2020
4 out of 5
'Good app, please keep going w/ update!!'

'I saw the reply from October about a complete app rewrite. I hope this is still in progress–keep going please!! I think you
know what features need to be implemented. Thanks 😀'

By insipidlight.
December 24, 2019
5 out of 5
'Well Done!'

'A very good collect of photography tools. Well done.'

By John DeNicola.
November 23, 2019
4 out of 5
'Time setting'

'Time I changed the time from 24 to 12 and didn’t work.'

By Auerdoan.
September 22, 2019
5 out of 5
'Photographers delight'

'This is a great app, does exactly what it\'s supposed to do'

By Kwagga00710.
September 8, 2019
5 out of 5
'Great features, pleasing interface!'

'My only suggestions for improvement right now would be gaining the ability to set max and min aperture and shutter speed values
in the light meter and allowing for satellite views for the set locations. Otherwise, it works, it looks sleek, love it!'

By RaeRae Mae.
June 2, 2019
5 out of 5
'Almost 5star - Just one thing...'

'App is great however, instead of showing individual times for sunrise, sunset, golden and blue hour, can you do a view showing
two groups, one for AM and other for PM? I prefer not to scroll to see sunset and then golden and then blue if I can see these
three together (for PM). Can ya please?'

By Burgerofmumbai.
December 12, 2018
4 out of 5
'Local times buried in settings'

'When searching locations in different time zones, it displays the times in your current time zone rather than the local time by
default. This can be corrected, but it’s buried in the settings. It would make much more sense to show local time by default.'

By cburke34.
November 24, 2018
5 out of 5
'The simple tool I use most.'

'As an aspiring photographer there are lots of apps that will help, heck I spent about $20 on different ones. This is the only app
I still use however, it does a few things really well and that is a good app. \nI personally will tip $20 is you can truly make
this the only app I use by adding the moo

By Dr. LebronFisherCurry.
November 21, 2018
5 out of 5
'Great!'

'Interface is amazing and works great too. Though there should be a key on the map, this app is great for only $1 and no
subscription fees or extra in-app purchases! 💯'

By M. Lightning.
November 10, 2018
5 out of 5
'Pretty Cool!'

'I use this frequently and like my photo results.'

By Bonefish Hunter.
November 4, 2018
4 out of 5
'Worked well'

'My girlfriend and I took some magical photos and Helios accurately predicted the best time to be outside taking those photos.
Will use the app in the future.'

By Juazolo.
September 30, 2018
5 out of 5
'Amazing'

'I would like to thank the developer I tip is coming your way. Well done !'

By pegaso9co.
September 24, 2018
5 out of 5
'Fixed-1 Star to 5 stars overnight'

'Had an issue with the location not updating and the developer fixed it and released an update in a timely manner.'

By canmield.
June 20, 2018
5 out of 5
'APPLE PURCHASES'

'My Billions and a trillion dollars for your time'

By CEO Blake.
May 19, 2018
5 out of 5
'Simple, straight to the point, and a beautiful ap

'I LOVE this app! It does its job as promised! Beautiful UI/UX and really dependable.\nThank you for this awesome app!\nKeep up
your amazing work! : ))'

By Leo-Design.
May 2, 2018
5 out of 5
'Photog must have!'

'Have used a couple different resources for time lapse and just standard photography sessions and this one has a beautiful
interface along with all of the standard info that you would expect. The developers have done a great job, keep up the good work'

By Monge87.
May 2, 2018
5 out of 5
'Solid app. Helps motivate me to wake up early'

'So far, I really like it. Job well done! If only it could throw me out of bed so I’d actually get out there to capitalize on
the prime time light.'

By Geezaluis.
April 29, 2018
5 out of 5
'Amazing!'

'The times are just perfect! Haven’t had one problem!'

By WateredMilk.
March 31, 2018
4 out of 5
'Beautiful Interface'

'The app interface is fantastic. Very simple and clean. Only reason for a four star, is that I wish it integrated sky/light index
forecasts to predict when there will be an interesting sunrise/sunset.'

By dsbud.
January 26, 2018
5 out of 5
'A free app does what paid app does'

'Very good!\nBut if you are using an old device, don’t make the in app purchases. The AR function won’t work.'

By i_iPhone.
January 23, 2018
5 out of 5
'One of my favorite apps!'

'Love everything about this app, I bought the upgraded version of this and was really excited! Just one thing though... my
augmented reality camera is not showing up anywhere. I don’t know if this is a bug or a glitch, but I just wanted to see if
there was a way I can get it back. Thanks!😁'

By swapychoppy1221.
January 13, 2018
5 out of 5
'it’s goid'

'i love sunsets. this is a good app.'

By rebecca streidel.
December 28, 2017
4 out of 5
'Great app just wished notifications worked'

'Well designed and effective app with features to keep you up to date with GH and BH no matter your location or for preset
locations. I just wished that the notifications worked. Every day I have to reopen the app and turn the notification toggle back
on.'

By Lindon T.
December 4, 2017
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
Good app, but needs to be updated

Before I start with the negatives, I have to say that this app is really useful. It gives accurate information about sunset, blue
and gold hour, as well as a useful light meter for photographers. Despite this, it hasn’t been updated in awhile and it
doesn’t work with iOS 13 dark mode and iOS 14 widg

By 45092.
November 24, 2020
3 out of 5
Great info, good UI, terrible widget

Very useful app. Gives you a thorough understanding of your daylight while on set at a glance. I rarely go into the app though. I
use the widget. I love that the widget updates for morning and evening, but for the life of me the size of the text kills me. It
makes me leave the widget “expanded” to g

By Mtfield.
October 6, 2018
3 out of 5
Excellent app, but a battery killer

I do appreciate the application’s functionality and design, but the current version is causing a 25% battery drain while running
in the background.

By Norante.
September 25, 2018
3 out of 5
Good app, but interface needs work

This is a good app, but I find that the interface, while very pretty, is a bit difficult to understand. A vertical layout for the
Blue/Golden Hour times would be easier to read, rather than the horizontal scrolling layout that exists now. The developer already
has a vertical layout via the peek/pop

By PoolhallJunkey.
July 25, 2018
3 out of 5
Augmented reality not functioning

I purchased the upgrade but doesn’t seem to work on my phone. Any ideas please?

By Oldhamer.
December 22, 2017
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total