Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

holedown

by webbfarbror AB
Positive
86%
critic
14%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of holedown by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of holedown written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for holedown

Reviews: 41Avg. Rating: 8.6/10

Positive reviews

5 out of 5
Infinite replayability

I have never reviewed an app before but I give this one five stars because I genuinely feel proud to own and play it. It’s so
simple, satisfying and tricky to master that it makes for a perfect timewaster. I’ve logged many hours, reset my progress many
times, and always keep coming back.
I’m hopefu

By Black Hole Diver.
February 28, 2021
5 out of 5
'Needs more diverse gameplay'

'This game is pretty fun the campaign took me about 4 hours to beat but after that there isn’t much to keep the player engaged.
Sure there’s an endless mode but it’s just the same concept but without an end goal. The game price, I would say, is a little
greedy (you are practically paying for a

By Hehhbdeeb.
July 17, 2020
5 out of 5
'Needs more diverse gameplay'

'This game is pretty fun the campaign took me about 4 hours to beat but after that there isn

By Hehhbdeeb.
July 17, 2020
5 out of 5
'Needs more diverse gameplay'

'This game is pretty fun the campaign took me about 4 hours to beat but after that there isn

By Hehhbdeeb.
July 17, 2020
5 out of 5
'Super fun and addictive'

'This game is perfect for short spurts, but I find myself wanting to play “just one more” (which turns into 10 more, LOL).
\n\nIt’s optimized for large phones, the file size is small, the graphics are awesome, the controls intuitive. It’s perfect
for when you want something fun and lightly c

By WRS15743.
July 12, 2020
5 out of 5
'Enjoyable small game'

'Overall: enjoyable. // request: could the coins be used for temporary boosts in the endless mode?'

By phonghtran.
June 29, 2020
5 out of 5
'Fun and worth the money'

'Jerks who say this is a 99 cent game are the reason the App Store is free of free games that gouge you with in app purchases and
dumb subscriptions. \n\nThis is a SOLID game that will give you 4+ hours of entertainment. That is worth the price to me. \n\nBall
bouncer game, but with unlocks and some

By One Ohm.
May 16, 2020
5 out of 5
'On my third play-through'

'I truly enjoy this game so much that I’m playing it for the third time. It’s simple in concept and gameplay, the animation is
pleasing, and the experience is a delight. It relaxes me, and serves as both a gaming snack when waiting in line at the bank, and
something to enjoy when you have time f

By Gllo.
May 13, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great Game- could use a little more content.'

'Found this because of NorthernLion and bought it right away. Pretty fun and addicting. I would love to see more content out of
it. (Higher levels, different solar system, perks, idk)'

By bipbopnicknametaken.
April 7, 2020
5 out of 5
'Addicted'

'I’ve played a whole ton of this game. I love it. I do wish there was another level to it though. I’m at the end and have
nothing else to do but aim for high scores. Perhaps a challenge mode? Anyway, great stuff.'

By Jhines0042.
March 25, 2020
5 out of 5
'Best game ever (for me)'

'I’m hopelessly addicted. But I don’t know where to see a list of best depths on black hole. I’m currently at 1320 m. Is
there a way to compete against other players?'

By GustoCappone.
February 8, 2020
4 out of 5
'Great fun!'

'I didn’t love it at first, but after a long flight it really grew on me and I was hooked. Has a great balance of strategy and
random chance. Figuring out the angles reminded me a lot of playing pool. It’s a mix of pinball, pool at Tetris.\n\nMy only
negative is that it (ironically) lacks a bit

By chrismrtn.
December 18, 2019
4 out of 5
'Good game please sync between devices'

'In this age if iCloud syncing it would be nice to play the same levels on my phone and iPad. It has been over a year since any
updates so if this is not abandonware, please sync progress via iCloud to all my devices.'

By Antiduplicity.
December 14, 2019
4 out of 5
'Fun but Too Few Levels'

'Really liked this game! Graphics are nice and music/sounds are pleasing. My only complaint is that I was able to finish all the
levels too quickly and now only have the black hole level, which isn’t as fun.'

By ajdeeelite.
November 27, 2019
5 out of 5
'Great game!!'

'Beautiful design! Perfect balance of fun and challenging. So much attention to detail. PLEASE make more levels!! One of my all
time faves.'

By soozkee.
October 20, 2019
5 out of 5
'So much fun !'

'I don’t normally spend $3.99 on a game but to me it’s worth it. I love chain reaction games like this. The aiming controls
are spot on, production design is great. Even after completing all levels, the endless level keeps you coming back for more. Well
done !!'

By Rblaine44.
October 19, 2019
5 out of 5
'Great game, still has room to grow'

'I love the game, it’s a game I find myself playing “just because”. I just wish as others have said...power ups!! Also I
have 9347 crystals hahaha. I need something to spend it on'

By AyeyoBcollins.
July 22, 2019
4 out of 5
'Need more levels!!!'

'Awesome addictive game. Infinity level is not satisfying though. Please add more planets!!!'

By Seabase Alpha.
June 18, 2019
5 out of 5
'Very enjoyable, but a little short for the price'

'Holedown is very fun to play. The controls are simple, the art is simple (yet beautiful), and the sound is pretty good; however,
this game took me very little time to complete. The worlds are cool and all, but they all feel the same. This would only be 3
stars if there wasn’t an endless mode incl

By Quinn GUMMEL.
June 1, 2019
4 out of 5
'One niggle at end'

'I really like this game. However, I’m at the endgame now, with everything unlocked, and having to sit through it counting every
gem I get when there’s no longer any reason even to keep track is frustrating. When I die I just want to plunge back in.'

By CrowRay.
May 19, 2019
4 out of 5
'Quite fun but the endgame could use a bit more.'

'The journey up to beating the game is addictive fun. Once you reach the end though it peters out. \n\nAn Idea, once you’ve
spent all the crystals you can maybe swap them out for temporary power ups. Chain lightning, multiball, drillball, etc.'

By Revjor.
April 30, 2019
5 out of 5
'Super Fun but Too Short!'

'Loved playing this game and don\'t regret spending the money but it\'s already over. I can\'t believe there\'s only six levels!
Please make more!'

By mbthebulldog.
April 29, 2019
4 out of 5
'Needs more'

'Love the game but you’ve left me wanting more. More levels please. I’d gladly pay for an in-app purchase of a few more levels
beyond the black hole endless run.'

By scudsone.
April 25, 2019
5 out of 5
'Fun experience!'

'As many have said, yes, it’s short. It’s a very fun game while on the go or if you’re craving a game that can completed in
a few hours. I found it challenging at times, especially once I first started playing but once I maxed out all my upgrades, it was
pretty easy. That being said, the game

By NakumaTownsend.
April 21, 2019
5 out of 5
'Almost perfect!'

'A tiny bit more content in the way of upgrades/levels would make this game perfect! It’s truly the perfect mobile game, really
hoping for a follow up!'

By Dead gig.
April 15, 2019
4 out of 5
'Great game'

'Fun gameplay. \n\nThere should be a way to bypass or speed up the crystal counting screen at the end of a game, though, and also
a way to end a game that’s obviously going nowhere faster than just waiting to use all your turns.'

By David333333339.
March 31, 2019
4 out of 5
'Would be worth the price, if there were content u

'Genuinely fun game mechanic! As it stands, you’re paying about $1 per hour of content, after which you’re stuck with one
procedurally generated level. If that’s cool with you, check this out!'

By Xinephzero.
March 27, 2019
4 out of 5
'DEVELOPERS PLEASE READ'

'I love this game to pieces, and i am disappointed by how short it is. Please make an update with more levels, modes, etc. and
you’ll have an amazing game.'

By indiemag.
March 26, 2019
4 out of 5
'Love it but needs more features added.'

'Needs ability to start at deeper starting depth on Black hole. Takes forever to challenge high scores over 1,000 depth. \n\nMore
planet worlds need to be added to keep continued play interesting and challenging. \n\nAcquired items also do not sync when going
from one machine to another (e.g. iPhon

By HotSnapZcom.
March 10, 2019
5 out of 5
'Addictive, short play'

'I can’t stop playing. Amazingly simple concept, done well. Great sounds. Immediate gratification for a well placed shot.
\n\nYou can play for 30 seconds, put it down, and come back whenever you like for more.'

By Fellow Flyer.
February 4, 2019
4 out of 5
'Annoying reviews'

'Y\'all spend $12 for a single ticket to crappy 90 minute film but complain when a $4 game only lasts 4 or 5 hours. This game is
challenging and crazy fun and it lasts much longer than a $4 burger so I consider that a deal.'

By TronWeasley.
December 21, 2018
5 out of 5
'The white finger needs cat ears'

'I wish the white finger thingy on the bottom right had the option for kitty ears and says things like “Meew Mreew meow” when
you tap it c^. ,.^n'

By Kuginh.
December 19, 2018
5 out of 5
'Love it'

'Perfectly polished. Addicting gameplay that helps pass the time. Love that it’s pay up front (which guarantees that gameplay
isn’t arbitrarily grindy/crippled to make you watch ads or fork over more cash). Paced well and getting 99 balls was
challenging. Well worth the price of admission. \n\nR

By Amir Rajan.
October 8, 2018
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
Needs more content and a restart option

Pretty fun little arkanoid clone. There definitely should have been more levels, the game is way too short (gas planet, comet,
dwarf star, plenty of potential level names). Also needs a restart level option. Yes I saw the dev response with the gimmicky
workaround. If you know people want it and it’s

By trclocke.
May 19, 2020
3 out of 5
Great Try

Physics and GamePlay is a darn blast!

However with only a few levels to play and then an ‘infinity’ level this should really be a 99 cent game.

Also the boss is just the same easy ball in every level. Ugh.

By AddP0P.
May 14, 2020
3 out of 5
Need More Levels

The game is great, but wish they would add more levels.

By BillyMc.
March 26, 2020
3 out of 5
Great game. Not optimized for current screens.

Holedown is a satisfying combination of peggle, pachinko, and strategy.
But it is simply unacceptable to release a fully paid premium game in 2020 that is still not optimized for, now three year old,
screen standards.
Having a small usable play area, with a third of my screen completely unused with

By trytobereasonable.
March 15, 2020
3 out of 5
With depth, but not enough.

With the recent rise of ball bouncers on mobile (thanks in no small part to an absolute onslaught of advertising for these sorts
of games), when I read Holedown’s description of “A ball bouncer but with some depth”, I was intrigued. And indeed it does
have more depth compared to many ball bouncers!

By StephAliceTownsend.
February 26, 2020
3 out of 5
GIVE US MORE LEVELS

The game ends too soon with the “infinite” level, and while I do still play it the game just lost a lot of appeal. I really
hope they update the game in some way for more playability, otherwise it’s pretty disappointing.

By Jen Ders.
November 14, 2018
3 out of 5
Bouncy

Update: 1.0.3 version broke in-game music playback. It started playing, then stopped as soon as I selected an arena. Since then I
can’t get the music to play at all. Oddly, sound effects work just fine.

Great mechanic, great music, and so much potential. Different shapes, teleports, hazards, etc.,

By scampercom.
November 6, 2018
3 out of 5
Beautiful, but progress loss bug

Was really enjoying the game and put about two hours into it earning upgrades and new planets. Then I went to play a day later and
my progress was reset. It’s a shame because the game is fun and it’s really well designed and beautiful.

By garrettmurray.
October 24, 2018
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total