Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

Koala Sampler

by Marek Bereza
Positive
96%
critic
4%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of Koala Sampler by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of Koala Sampler written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for Koala Sampler

Reviews: 39Avg. Rating: 9.6/10

Positive reviews

5 out of 5
The Best Sampler In The Apple Store

Like the title says - The best sampler/production tool in the Apple store. And now with piano roll, lazy chop, and time stretch?
Unbelievable. The perfect tool to keep working, and being creative, while you’re on the go.

By Fletch_NYC.
January 30, 2021
5 out of 5
First Ever Review

Been making beats for about a decade now. This app has my sp 404sx, and mpc one just sitting there collecting dust. If you
would’ve told me while I was using nanoloop back in 2011 that there would be an app with this many functions and ease of use
I’d have said you’re hi. So much fun, super easy, an

By Flaco Picasso.
January 30, 2021
5 out of 5
Insanely powerful and fun to use

I held off buying this app because I didn’t want to spend the money. But I started looking for music people made with this app.
What I found blew me away. There is a vibrant community making all styles of music using this app. The videos people share of
their songs show the interface and you can see

By Dad of one boy.
January 31, 2021
5 out of 5
Best Sampler For iPad Ever Made

Simply the best and most feature rich sampler ever made for iPad. You can make killer beats, complete songs, entire albums with
this magic making device. This does more than most of the software programs I own for a fraction of the price. It’s insanely
underpriced for what it does. This is easily in

By Tyrone Slim.
January 31, 2021
5 out of 5
Best app for straight to the point sample based be

Wow, do I love this app!! I ditched my MPC ONE and saved $690 because I like the intuitive workflow of this app so much better.
It’s great on an iPad with split screen giving you access to other instruments at the same time. But it’s also amazing on the
iPhone, with the ability to rip audio from

By westy 82.
February 1, 2021
5 out of 5
Love it!

Fixed! Stereo recording! But now it doesn’t record st unity gain? Seems to be 6db down. Still clicks on recording start and now
seems to have a slight gap at end.
feature requests
- !! Please oh please can there be a toggle for select on “play/ midi note”. It would be nice to be able to edit one sa

By Mehmui.
February 2, 2021
5 out of 5
By far the best Sampler on IOS

With every update this “Sampler” comes closer and closer to being a DAW! The interface is super intuitive and easy to learn.
Nothing is hidden (except the Samurai upgrade at first lol). Mentioning the Samurai upgrade..this made this app essential to my
workflow! I can chop samples with more ease tha

By Mac Dramastic.
February 2, 2021
5 out of 5
Like a better, more fun PO-33 or SP-404

This is far and away my favorite music app for iOS. I always keep coming back to it, paying for the Samurai update was a
no-brainer. If you've ever used a teenage engineering PO-33 or a Roland SP-404 the workflow is very similar. That being said the
speed with which you can do things in this app a

By mainplaner.
February 9, 2021
5 out of 5
Sampler King

The greatest app ever !! Samplers !!

By BKSGG.
February 10, 2021
5 out of 5
Unbelievable

This is the app you’ve dreamed of, from the developer you believe in.

It takes seconds to get started, and goes deep enough for the pro-iest of pros. Don’t think making beats or songs on your phone
is legit? Go check out the endless high-quality music made with this app on Twitter.

I wondered how

By madtho.
February 23, 2021
5 out of 5
An iOS sampling powerhouse

I don’t write reviews often, but after purchasing the samurai update to Koala, I had to give props. This app started out as an
SP for your iPhone, but the upgrade makes it an Ableton for your iPhone. Samurai update has brought the auto chop/time stretch
capabilities to a phone - unbelievable. And th

By bokilladave.
February 23, 2021
5 out of 5
i love this app. 10 stars.

OLD VERSION: but lately after this new update even with NOTHING else playing on my ipad, everything is closed, background app
refresh off, etc. It keeps randomly crashing on me and i lose all this work i had done. It is very very frustrating. not even
beatmaker 3 or nanostudio do that. and Koala has

By soundcloud.com/pr4y.
February 27, 2021
5 out of 5
MIDI export?

First off thank you!! The app is amazing especially with the new samurai mode. Best beat making app hands down with the addition
of midi editing. When moving a group of midi notes while zoomed out the app constantly thinks I want to edit note length which can
be frustrating. It’d be amazing if you c

By mstrnge.
March 1, 2021
4 out of 5
Almost great (for iPhone)

This review is for the iPhone version only. The GUI needs to be redesigned for the iPhone. Modifying the size of the interface
while in the auto chop editing section to make it easier for editing. The GUI feels a bit cramped and leads to unwanted edits.
Using some of the extra space to make the wind

By andgarr.
March 3, 2021
5 out of 5
Do yourself a favor and get this

It takes all the great features of the sp404, and adds the functions i wish the sp had (pitch shifting, and waveform chopping).
It's absolutely perfect. Get this, and buy the samurai update, even if you don't need it, just to give them more money. Pair this
with a pad controller and its such a sick

By Randuski.
March 23, 2021
5 out of 5
Love this sampler and suggestions

This is the first iOS music production ap I have truly fallen in love with. Thank you!! Great workflow and amazing features and so
fun to use. Two suggestions that would make it even better. Double tap for hands free sampling to grab things like a guitar or
piano riff and audio preview before import

By larry from looplandia.
April 5, 2021
5 out of 5
This app is a must have

Take it from someone who has well over a hundred audio apps. From super expensive synth and daws to weird off the beaten path
apps. I also have been beta testing apps for ten years.
This app is an insanely killer sampler.

There are a ton of sampler apps that are great but this app is really a gift

By Eve Severe.
April 17, 2021
4 out of 5
Pretty close to perfect but a few suggestions

I would love to be able to use a 16 pad MIDI controller and switch through the 4 banks in Koala and have the 16 pads trigger the
16 new samples in whatever bank I’m in. Instead it only plays the first 16 sample in the 1st bank because Koala’s MIDI info is
mapped to notes only I believe. I think the

By Machinelf.
April 26, 2021
5 out of 5
Infinitely amazed

Every time I come back to this app it just blows me away with something new that I didn’t know it could do.

Now I suppose you can say that about any decent app and especially very complex deep apps but the thing about koala specifically
is how simple it appears and how easy it is to get started.

By Codowlsky Polopumus.
May 8, 2021
4 out of 5
Great app & a great developer behind it

This app has allowed me to experiment with music & expand my creativity. Despite its simple appearance, it has many functions for
customizing samples. The developer behind this app is a great guy. He really does want to help anyone who has issues with the app
& he always wants to make improvements f

By Tina_G.
May 13, 2021
4 out of 5
Hands down one of the best samplers

Koala is amazing. Exactly what I’ve been looking for. Ease of use, editing of individual samples in seconds,effects. I was
making music within minutes after watching one tutorial. Played for hours. Can’t wait to get home and write some more. Only
negative is when you hold a sample for continuous pla

By wtfstopaskingforanickname.
May 19, 2021
5 out of 5
Kees getting better and better.

Really hard to imagine a more perfect app. It is super powerful, intuitive, reliable keeps getting better. Tons of fun! It’s a
very useful and straight forward app with an intuitive interface design. Sampling is pretty easy. The app works reliably.

By Matreve.
May 21, 2021
5 out of 5
Greatest app ever? Maybe you.

So I own a couple a thousands of records and cassettes I got the internet so I’m not limited to what I can sample. The fact the
I spent a small fortune over the last 20+ years on equipment (samplers/synths/laptops/4&8tracks, and the like)and yet I use koala
the most. Probably because it’s the most c

By Natty Crack Dread.
June 24, 2021
4 out of 5
Pad mute

I’m a big fan of making beats on iOS and koala simple as it is,it has become my absolute favorite to use,with that said can we
please get a pad mute function in an update.
With that Koala becomes a monster especially to play on the fly live,oh and the ability to just record it would be ✊🏾

By theghost601.
July 21, 2021
5 out of 5
Simply the best

I’ve always wanted to produce music but was intimidated by hardware and DAWs. Koala has brought me into the wonderful world of
iOS music production. Just scratching the surface of this amazing app and use it every day.

By Justin032.
July 30, 2021
5 out of 5
Works amazingly

I bought an iPad and MPD just because I love this app so much

By Jaredleib.
July 10, 2021
4 out of 5
Overcharged

I thought this app was only $4 but got overcharged to $28
I hope it’s worth it…

By DDavis810.
June 23, 2021
5 out of 5
ENDLESS. FUN.

Developer fixed a problem…with my life. Seriously fun, accessible for all levels of beat making experience. The Samurai upgrade
is a game changer—Go Koala 🐨

By musiclover86.
June 24, 2021
5 out of 5
Amazing app just one suggestion

Can you please add a feature to be able to type in whatever pitch you want your sample to be because the pitch knob is so
sensitive and when your trying to put things in the same key it can be frustrating

By Sethman999.
May 17, 2021
5 out of 5
Best SP/MPC style Sampler

I love this thing. Adore it. It’s my go to sketch pad for making music.

On thing: yo Devs, can you please put a feature on here that lets you write the name of the sample in each pad? Like: snare, kick,
synth stab, etc.? Thanks!!!

By revdom666.
April 23, 2021
5 out of 5
Solid app that people can actually use

Even the fx is good
can make your voice or sounds around into a interesting beat/melody.
Very easy to use and deeply functional

By Next//Page.
April 23, 2021
5 out of 5
Amazing!!!!

I was gonna buy an SP404 but instead bought an iPad and Koala. The future is now!

By Jay Calvillo.
February 7, 2021
4 out of 5
Note repeat?

Will you add a note repeat function?

By ChelloWard.
February 9, 2021
5 out of 5
You can’t beat this !

Best App for sampling hands down....! Just keeps getting better.I can’t recommend this app highly enough.

By astroblk202.
February 10, 2021
5 out of 5
SP-404sx + Banned Substances = Koala sampler

An SP404sx on a healthy diet of Canelo Alvarez Chicken Fingers!!! 🐔 💪

By Jonhedoesit.
February 12, 2021
5 out of 5
Killer beat maker

This app is so good it’s unbelievable tbh. Super good California the $ also. Must buy!

By Dragonfly Bry.
February 13, 2021
5 out of 5
The best beat making app

Get it!! You won’t regret!!
Now w/ Samurai mode you got time stretch, midi editing, and autochop modes.

The possibilities are endless.

By richgarvey.
February 17, 2021
5 out of 5
One of the Best!

This is a really powerful and fun Sampler and GrooveBox to use on the iPad and iPhone. So much power in such a simple and straight
forward package. Can’t say how many hours of fun I’ve had in this app, but it’s been a great time for sure 👊🏼™️

By policarpo.
January 29, 2021
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
Overwriting save error please fix!

I am experiencing a weird error where I’m working on a load file “project B”and once I save progress it’ll also overwrite
the last opened load file “project A” making 2 “project B” files pls help! Love this app this became one of my main work
stations for music but at this point with this error/glit

By (._.)?.
March 6, 2021
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total