Reviews & Ratings

Positive
74%
critic
26%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of Kryss - The Battle of Words by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of Kryss - The Battle of Words written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for Kryss - The Battle of Words

Reviews: 127Avg. Rating: 7.4/10

Positive reviews

4 out of 5
'It’s a really fun game but'

'If I wasn’t laid up with Covid I probably wouldn’t still be playing because I usually don’t have time to sit and watch
video after video. There has got to be a better way to reward users with game boards. Still fun though.'

By mhfseyokbxwj.
October 12, 2020
4 out of 5
'Fun game to play......'

'I have been enjoying this game ever since my Cousin mentioned it! My only issue, if it is, is that my other players do not have
their picture associated with their name, prior to your last update the pictures were present! Thank you!'

By wasted trucker.
October 8, 2020
4 out of 5
'No rewards'

'Love the game would have gave 5 stars but I have sent out my username and had people join but I never got my boards sent email
and no response there either.'

By jennhottie1.
September 28, 2020
5 out of 5
'Issue'

'I really like this game, but it keeps cutting off while I’m playing!'

By lmpdtp2312.
September 22, 2020
5 out of 5
'Ads..'

'Love the game! You don’t have to pay to get more boards; you can just watch ads for new boards! I love some of the ads, it’ll
interest me in new games I haven’t came across. \nBut the thing is, when I screenshot the ad, it will say I took a screenshot of
the board and the player is notified.

By zeazi.
September 21, 2020
4 out of 5
'Watching ads isn’t great'

'I really love this game, but I wish that you got some free boards every few hours.'

By Creepette.
September 18, 2020
4 out of 5
'Advertising'

'This is the most annoying advertising ever! AND political ads have no place in any game! Is this really Trump or the Russians!'

By Cabraub22.
September 18, 2020
5 out of 5
'Very fun game'

'Really, it’s fun. I wish more folks played.'

By iLoveMusak.
September 18, 2020
4 out of 5
'Good game'

'Somewhat confusing. Once I tried to play the right letter and there were no other boxes to play anyway but it wouldn’t let me.
Still figuring it out.'

By Christyf43.
September 14, 2020
4 out of 5
'Fun but a tad flawed'

'This is a fun and addicting game. After playing for a few days I have found that clues are very repetitive. It also seems that
really the winner is up to the last play as the last 5 tiles tend to close out all the words which provides the most points. \nYes
you can be strategic about when you place

By adventuresweseek.
September 14, 2020
5 out of 5
'Game has glitches needs to be fixed'

'You have a glitch that needs to be fixed. When you use all your letters you get five points and sometimes whenever it feels like
it decides not to give you the five points especially when your counting on it!!! It had happened to me a few times and some
people I’m playing with also. Please fix th

By DeeDee 4.
September 12, 2020
4 out of 5
'Love this game, but...'

'I really like this game. The only downside for me is that it doesn’t notify me when it is my turn, when one of my opponents
played. I need to be constantly checking to know. That is very annoying. I already went to settings. Everything is on for
notifications. I turned off and then back on but th

By chachabyte.
September 12, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great twist'

'This is a good one. I get bored of the slight variations on scrabble games that come down the pike but this is a great take on a
classic word game.\nHighly recommended'

By BigQfan.
September 10, 2020
5 out of 5
'New twist on an old favorite'

'I’ve been really happy with this game! It’s fun and engaging, and it’s a great way to play the classic crossword. There’s
a great variety of clues ranging from easy to challenging, and I’ve never run out of random players to play with. I also don’t
think the ads are too overwhelming. I

By nickname amanda.
September 8, 2020
5 out of 5
'Send help SOS'

'My whole family is addicted to this game and we each have multiple games going at a time with each other. We don’t care it
glitches. We can get over the ads (don’t be lazy, just watch the ads for 30 seconds of your life for more games), I can deal
with having to restart it often. But so help me

By hsorrgall.
September 8, 2020
5 out of 5
'TOO MANY ADS'

'Awesome game but the many ads are annoying and no way to purchase a pass by for them.'

By Hkjenksaz.
September 8, 2020
5 out of 5
'Fun'

'Fun game. Challenging at times. The clues actually change enough to keep you from\nGetting bored. The ads aren’t terribly long,
and manageable without having to pay for anything on the app. The crossword boards each have a mix of challenging clues and easy
clues and it all breaks down to what let

By Spunkedupsassy.
September 6, 2020
4 out of 5
'Fun but some glitches'

'Great game and Lots of fun but lately when playing with real people their turn doesn’t show up as played for an hour or two on
my end. Restarting the game helps but not every time. There are other times I’ve wasted a turn because my tiles never show up.
It happens rarely but very frustrating

By Djlynne.
September 4, 2020
4 out of 5
'Fun but I have an idea'

'It’s a fun game and I like playing the boots but I also don’t like people And I have an idea what if you let people play
themselves and they get a high score and then they can try and beat there high score I think that would be a good idea'

By Suggerbare.
September 3, 2020
5 out of 5
'Best New Game'

'This is possibly the best new game out there. I hate playing with others so I play against Mr. Kryss and Mrs. Kryss. Sometimes
the tiny pictures are hard to figure out, but the more you get into the game, the more you’ll figure it out. It’s a good thing
I’m on vacation because this is obsessi

By KDReetz0831.
August 30, 2020
5 out of 5
'Love the game!'

'Very addicting! When will the other level open?'

By My4Angels76.
August 30, 2020
4 out of 5
'Notifications?'

'Am I the only user not receiving ‘My Turn’ notifications?'

By Big Momma xo.
August 30, 2020
4 out of 5
'Notifications'

'Developers need to work on the notifications! When it’s my turn in a game I don’t know it unless I open the app first. Love
the game though!'

By Player1234579.
August 29, 2020
4 out of 5
'Frustrated'

'I love this game but there have been a bunch of times where I don’t get any new letters, and it’s not even close to the end
of the game. Also, the game has not been giving me alerts when it’s my turn. I check the settings on both the game and my
phone and they are both set correctly for me

By Ipod take 2.
August 27, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great game'

'I just played one game so far but I love it.\n It makes me think outside the box to solve the clues. Definitely will be my brain
game of choice!'

By fishyfish63.
August 26, 2020
5 out of 5
'Like it'

'Took a few turns to get the hang of it but it gets you thinking.'

By ravsec.
August 24, 2020
4 out of 5
'Couple glitches'

'I love this game so much. Me and my friends all play this together and love it. It’s kinda like a competitive crossword. But
I’ve noticed that sometimes the letters I’ve placed down will disappear. The points still remain the same but the letters just
won’t show up. And it’s kinda annoyin

By Pia0406.
August 24, 2020
5 out of 5
'No letters'

'I have started two new games. When my turned came up, the system did not give me ant letters to use. This is happening on two
different games. What’s going on?'

By Lunch Buddy.
August 24, 2020
4 out of 5
'Crosswords meets Scrabble'

'Love the game. I usually just play against the bots because it often takes so long for real people to take their turn. I don’t
mind the ads and most of them you can close after 5 seconds anyway. There are just a couple of glitches:\n1. Sometimes my tiles
don’t show up on my turn. This is fixed

By Jeppy69.
August 22, 2020
5 out of 5
'Review and opinion'

'Is there a chance like scrabble to earn extra credits and get hints? Sometimes it’s complicated for me to understand pic or
wording.....?! Lol. I know it’s easy for my daughter since she’s younger and invited me. \n\nOver all great exercise for
memory!! 👏🏻👍🏻☺️'

By Regia uni.
August 20, 2020
5 out of 5
'Just a notice'

'My mother and I love playing this game but one of the boards we were playing had the words “plantation” & “noose” and we
both take that very offensively. Please review your boards and there hints for obscene and offensive hints/answers.'

By player25296.
August 19, 2020
4 out of 5
'Fun game but..'

'It’s worth downloading it keeps you thinking however I think the worse part is the ads of course especially when you run out of
boards and you have to watch videos to open more boards. Which of course you’ll want to do because a lot of people you play
against stop playing and never come back to

By Foo sha.
August 15, 2020
4 out of 5
'Okay but ads'

'I really like the game, it is a different style of puzzle game. However, its annoying if you want to sit there and constantly
play it because you have to watch an ad (the same ad) every time its your turn to play.'

By Mpg7581.
August 15, 2020
4 out of 5
'Resigning'

'When someone resigns you should get your board back so unfair'

By jsmaveksnxndn.
August 14, 2020
5 out of 5
'Kryss'

'Excellent game. I can’t get enough of this game'

By deblum.
August 13, 2020
5 out of 5
'Thanks'

'I never have been good at crossword puzzles. This game is however addictive and I can see myself progressing with cw skills.
Thanks developers 👍🏽'

By ()462288.
August 12, 2020
4 out of 5
'Nice'

'I like the game, however the ads are annoying.'

By Leah45.
August 11, 2020
5 out of 5
'Nonni1021'

'Love playing Kryss long distance with my 12 year old granddaughter. Keeps us connected and helps her learn new words!'

By Nonni1021.
August 8, 2020
4 out of 5
'Notifications'

'I enjoy the game just would be nice if I would get a notification when it’s my turn. Fix that and I can all the last star
⭐️ 😁'

By Cavemans wife.
August 6, 2020
5 out of 5
'Has ads but still plenty of game play'

'Tons of fun it does have ads but not enough that makes you want to stop playing, fun to play with friends or computer.
Challenging and fun!'

By djakmr.
August 6, 2020
5 out of 5
'i CHOSE to review'

'It’s super fun and engaging! Worth sending people invites to see if they wanna play with you cuz every person I’ve asked so
far as loved it (4 people). The puzzles are very fun and if you don’t know a word then don’t worry the other person can help
you out until you both have to google it!'

By Hrdina Smutku.
August 5, 2020
4 out of 5
'Fun game'

'Wish there was an easy for beginners'

By Karrots724.
August 5, 2020
5 out of 5
'GREAT GAME!!!!'

'I love this Game it keeps my mind exercised and challenged! I play with my hubby and friends.'

By JenniPenni83.
August 4, 2020
5 out of 5
'Extremely unique'

'Never played a crossword puzzle like this before. You play with an opponent and have bidirectional clues interspersed throughout.
No pressure. Lots of fun. Really enjoying it. GREAT game!'

By bubblicious!!!.
August 3, 2020
4 out of 5
'Love this game!!'

'This is one of my favorite apps! Currently it won’t load, but I wasn’t able to reach out using the “contact” section'

By daviscj67.
August 3, 2020
4 out of 5
'Addictive and perfect, just wish notifications wo

'My boyfriend and I are always searching for games to play together while we’re apart and this is perfect! He loves it (which is
rare) and it’s the perfect length, difficulty level, and love the variability. Only thing is that notifications don’t work on
either of our phones even though they

By ecb327.
August 1, 2020
4 out of 5
'Fun game'

'Great game, I only wish it had an option to play the board by myself tho.'

By Finalrequiem17.
July 31, 2020
4 out of 5
'Good game but no notifications'

'For some reason I do not get notified if it’s my turn, neither my wife who I am playing against. We check all of the settings
in the game and the phone. No sound or badges. But I really like the game, thanks.'

By frossy_1989.
July 30, 2020
5 out of 5
'Challenging and fun!'

'Love this game, I’m enjoying it so much and I’m going to tell everyone I know to try it. Fun and addictive in a way. Thanks
for this new spin on word games.'

By Wannarate.
July 29, 2020
4 out of 5
'Ads'

'Put your ads between games, not in the middle. Causes enough grief that I do not want to continue the game'

By FB111B1B2.
July 28, 2020
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
'Ad free option'

'Love this game. Paid for premium to have no ads and extra game boards. Apparently that was a limited version and while I still
have boards the ads are back. I just want a version with no ads but That is not an option. Guess I won’t be playing anymore as
the ads are super annoying. Please have a

By jhatesadsxxx.
October 16, 2020
3 out of 5
'Too many ads'

'WAYYYYYYYYYYY to many ads. It seems you have to watch an ad every other turn your take even when playing multiple people. Their
should be an option to purchase ad free. This game would get 5 stars but the amount of ads is ridiculous'

By i just want to submit this.
October 12, 2020
3 out of 5
'Too many ads and limited play'

'Most other free games I’ve played have ads but at least you don’t run out of game play. The game play doesn’t need to be
unlimited on the free version. But even if there was a counter that gave X number of new game boards per day or a new game board
every four hours or something. \n\nI see no

By Teelites.
October 10, 2020
3 out of 5
'I paid for no ads but still get ads'

'I purchased a pack of boards just so I wouldn’t get an ad every time I played but I’m still getting them and it drives me
crazy. But I do enjoy the game.'

By ColtMort.
October 5, 2020
3 out of 5
'Very good, but...'

'My wife and I enjoy playing this game, but we’ve decided to give it up for 2 reasons. One, we are trying to use the English
American dictionary but the game keeps switching us back to English British dictionary which is kind of a pain. And two, having to
pay a monthly fee to be rid of ads is ridi

By JonWesbrook.
September 28, 2020
3 out of 5
'Fun...until last update......'

'There are times when there is a miscellaneous letter in the puzzle that doesn’t belong and you can’t put the correct letter
in. And then at the end of the puzzle some of the letters just disappear! Nine of my friends play this game so I play Mr & Mrs
Kryss andbthese things have happened. Pleas

By elblondee.
September 27, 2020
3 out of 5
'Could be better'

'Really like the game but commercials after each round is too much! Not sure I will be able to continue.'

By scramblegirl6.
September 15, 2020
3 out of 5
'Fun but frustrating and repetitive'

'I enjoy this game a lot- it’s very addictive. HOWEVER, there’s several issues that make playing it frustrating.\nFirst of
all, the clues are extremely repetitive. I can have five games going and the same clue in all five of them- it’s the same ones
over and over: a picture of ice cubes, a gra

By KeatonEBuster.
September 13, 2020
3 out of 5
'Awesome game, needs some maintenance'

'Push notifications don’t work, even if they’re turned on so I don’t know if my friends played me back unless I open the app
and check. A “nudge” feature would be nice as well.'

By Erikac.
September 8, 2020
3 out of 5
'Fun game but..'

'For some reason.. I get no notifications at all whenever it is my turn to play, which is super frustrating. It would be nice to
know when someone has played me back'

By 1823tjr1823.
September 8, 2020
3 out of 5
'Fun but slow'

'The concept is cool. The game play is extremely slow. You get 5 game plays. I’m currently on day 2 of waiting on 2/3 of my
opponents to make a move. A game could last an eternity at this rate. Add a fast play option if possible.'

By Jukebox smashes SonicBoom.
September 5, 2020
3 out of 5
'Great game, but...'

'I love this game so much. But SO MANY ADS. WHYYYYY? And it worked perfectly until just recently. Now it’s very glitchy and the
games aren’t ending even when they’re clearly over. It still says it’s someone’s turn and won’t go away. Sadly, I’ll
delete if it continues because this game

By jillcgab.
September 4, 2020
3 out of 5
'Great game, too many ads'

'This is a great game, don’t get me wrong. But the ads are way too often and eat mobile data up. If you don’t have unlimited
data and are away from WiFi you’ll blow through your plan. Looks like I won’t be playing this as much'

By leroyrondo.
September 2, 2020
3 out of 5
'Fun game but'

'It’s fun but playing with people takes too long better to play with Kryss.\nAlso run out of game boards fast. I invited a
friend but never got my game boards. I tried to send a message through the game but it won’t let me cause my mail app is deleted
cause I use the Gmail app. \nAlso it showed

By Me1234567891011sk77.
August 29, 2020
3 out of 5
'This game is mean and insulting'

'I’m enjoying this game, but my main gripe is that the notifications NEVER work. I’ve checked numerous times, and it’s
selected correctly, but the game never tells me when it’s my turn to play. Because of this, when playing a real person, hours
and hours can go by without getting a turn, so

By jewellangela.
August 28, 2020
3 out of 5
'Don’t get tiles'

'The game can be fun, but not when it’s your turn to play and you’re watching the clock time down but you never got any
letters coming through. This has happened several times and it is frustrating!'

By Sarena1003.
August 28, 2020
3 out of 5
'Constantly freezes'

'I really like this game, but it’s constantly freezing. My daughter has the same problem, so I know it isn’t just my phone.'

August 24, 2020
3 out of 5
'Why can’t I buy a no ad version?'

'I like the game but not the ads. It looks like you have an option to buy no ads but its not really an option. Can you make that
available?'

By Staliano.
August 24, 2020
3 out of 5
'Good game'

'It would be better if the ads played while the other player was playing. The games take way too long. Otherwise great game'

By Pacer419.
August 23, 2020
3 out of 5
'Fun'

'Played this game for days and loved it. Then all of a sudden it crashed. I bought 150 game boards. I deleted the app and
redownloaded it. It worked but all my boards were gone so I connected it to my Facebook again to retrieve my games & boards. It
crashed again and won’t work at all.'

By bnasty2309.
August 22, 2020
3 out of 5
'Ads'

'Ridiculous amount of ads 🙄'

By Grica408.
August 21, 2020
3 out of 5
'Too many ads..ugh'

'Why can’t just one game be played without getting thru a board with ad interrupt. I get having ads, but every 30 seconds.
That’s insane... \ngreat game.. too many interruptions to continue'

By anidawehiwahya.
August 20, 2020
3 out of 5
'Unable to update password or profile'

'The app is buggy, I like the concept and I paid for a month but I’m unable to do those simple things'

By msbanasik.
August 18, 2020
3 out of 5
'Great but....'

'I love the game. However it has frozen on me. I cannot start a new game. None of the buttons are working. I have deleted &
reinstalled. Help!!'

By Pretty brown iis.
August 16, 2020
3 out of 5
'Enjoy the game but...'

'I really like this game and I love playing with my friends. My biggest issue and the reason for the three stars is that the game
boards expire after three days of no playing. My friend went camping for three days with no service and we had about 10 games that
all expired. Very frustrating. Why expi

By Sierrera.
August 16, 2020
3 out of 5
'Game is good. Too many ads'

'Game is interesting. Too many ads to watch so it takes too long. Might like to play with a friend but dont know how .'

By gulliebird.
August 14, 2020
3 out of 5
'Good game, but too much of a hassle to play'

'I honestly really enjoy the game itself — I really like these types of sudoku/crossword games. I played it a ton for the first
few hours of downloading. However, after I used up all my “game boards” (which I had not very many of), you are forced to
watch an ad every time you want to play a ga

By ryandewbz.
August 11, 2020
3 out of 5
'Blank Screen'

'I’ve just begun playing this game and I love the entire set up however during play time my screen goes blank and the next thing
I know it’s my opponents turn. How can one win when the screen goes blank at the most crucial moment! Extremely aggravating!
I’ve only played 3 games and I quit duri

By adfiuggi.
August 10, 2020
3 out of 5
'Froze'

'Love this game so addictive I didn’t even mind the adds in between but last night i started a new board and it just froze and
won’t let me play any longer . Even deleted the app and downloaded again but nothing . Such disappointment :('

By SNTM14.
August 10, 2020
3 out of 5
'Amazing game. Way too many ads.'

'I play a lot of these games. I have never seen any *except this one* that has so many, many, MANY ads! There isn’t even an
option to buy a subscription to get out of seeing them. I love the game but I don’t know how long I will play it since more
time is spent watching ads than actually play

By Wicked Nin.
August 9, 2020
3 out of 5
'Fun game.. but I’m deleting it'

'It’s a very fun and could definitely be a very addicting game. However, the fact that I have to pay to get board games to play
is absolutely ridiculous to me. I get they are trying to make money but you have ads throughout the game already. The hoops to
jump through to earn more boards just are n

By 4lex4nderbrown.
August 8, 2020
3 out of 5
'Fun, mind exercising game but...'

'I really enjoy this game and it is a great mind exercise. However, after I logged in on an account and had several games going,
the app just completely quit working. I tried to go to settings, start a new game, and the bag and it wouldn’t let me do
anything. I deleted the app and redownloaded, bu

By Ghcxjnv.
August 6, 2020
3 out of 5
'Disappointed'

'I started playing this game yesterday and it was fun so I created an account and purchased the large bundle. \n\nI tried playing
a game and got no letters. I’m not talking about letters I couldn’t use ... none. \n\nI tried to send feedback but it’s
using my work email and doesn’t go through

By mlc0967.
August 3, 2020
3 out of 5
'Super fun but many bugs'

'This game is awesome. However, it needs to be fixed:\n1) sometimes you don’t get any letters and it just gets hung up. \n2)
sometimes you cannot place a letter\n3) sometimes you can tap and the screen doesn’t enlarge.'

By GlennaB..
August 3, 2020
3 out of 5
'Fun except for when the game stops working.'

'It was a fun game, but all the sudden my app just stopped working. I made a new account (outside of FB) and it is now working.
But if I try to log back in with my Facebook the game just doesn’t work. Nothing shows up, and I can’t click anything so I
have to delete it again and make a new accoun

By Yasmeen .
August 3, 2020
3 out of 5
'Getting bored'

'When will the expert mode be coming out? I’m getting bored of playing regular and think something new would be good. Also the
ads are obnoxious.'

By Ravdong.
August 3, 2020
3 out of 5
'Love it but....'

'I enjoy playing this game so much. Unfortunately I turned on notifications but never receive any and I forget I have to play.
Makes it not worth it.'

By Dokii1.
July 30, 2020
3 out of 5
'Suspicious'

'Decent game until I noticed words like “noose” and the clue was (used to hang people with)'

By NikkiNeki.
July 28, 2020
3 out of 5
'Need post notifications and a more Convieniet way

'I love this game it’s very addictive however I have to go and check to see if my opponents have played back why do I ask for
push notifications if I don’t receive them when it’s my turn? Also why don’t boards refill after a certain amount of time
like I don’t mind watching the video put I

By @MBonMyNkLace.
July 27, 2020
3 out of 5
'Cool'

'It’s pretty fun but too many ads!'

By Rynsunicorn.
July 10, 2020
3 out of 5
'Need no advertising option.'

'Fun, but this game needs a no advertising option!'

By allierainey.
July 10, 2020
3 out of 5
'I can’t even play'

'There is a bug in which when I try to start the game, it just gets stuck on the start screen and never actually starts. And the
main part of the game is the actual matches themselves. So if I can’t play them, then what’s the point of playing this game?'

By Original_Nickname11111111111.
July 10, 2020
3 out of 5
'Letters not populating'

'Great game concept but whenever I try to play with a random opponent , no letters pop up for me to use. The other player can use
letters but nothing pops up for me. I resigned many games because of this. It seems I can’t play with anyone else except Ms
Kryss.'

By Tumi1000.
July 9, 2020
3 out of 5
'Love this game... but'

'I get a game has to make money, but almost $60 for 12 months of premium... \n\nCome on now. You should have different levels of
premiums, all should be kept forever not just a period of time. \n\nA bronze level $6- no adds, unlimited boards \nA silver level
$12- same as bronze but access to statist

By dest52.
July 9, 2020
3 out of 5
'Ads??'

'I really like this app, but what is the point of paying for NO ADS, if there’s still ads after turn. This app would definitely
get 5 stars if it wasn’t for this problem.'

By InformalPeak.
July 8, 2020
3 out of 5
'Overall fun'

'Fun to play, but the point system is whack!'

By Ccczzzzzzzz.
July 7, 2020
3 out of 5
'The ads are ridiculous'

'Love the game...hate all of the ads. There’s a premium option but not an option. I’d rather pay a one time fee. The ads will
make me lose interest.'

By Mikkilaj.
July 6, 2020
3 out of 5
'Why can’t I purchase “no ads?”'

'Game is really addictive and I played it with the wife until I realized that I can’t purchase the no ads version. I don’t
care what or who supports this game, I just want to play without ads. It’s like being forced to watch commercials on tv, but
there I can skip those as well. That’s why I

By Pop7280.
July 6, 2020
3 out of 5
'Ummmm'

'Love the game. It’s been fun. But I want to know, please developers, the clue on the left was “fifth letter” and the clue
above was “shortened”. Abbreviated is the word. And the clue for fifth letter is in the “I” spot. Help? I’ll submit a
screenshot if needed'

By NathanC38.
July 5, 2020
3 out of 5
'Fun, but Flawed'

'Great game, I’m having a blast with it, but I purchased premium and I am still getting ads, which pretty much ruins the flow of
the game.'

By Dave122281.
July 5, 2020
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total