Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

Mystic Vale

by Nomad Games
Positive
88%
critic
12%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of Mystic Vale by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of Mystic Vale written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for Mystic Vale

Reviews: 52Avg. Rating: 8.8/10

Positive reviews

5 out of 5
Loved the app so much that I purchased the physica

This is the game I play the most on my iPhone. It is complex, you gotta think about how you open the game and what tactic you will
emphasize : will you try to mitigate spoiled cards? Will you try to put as many cards on the field as possible? Or one of many
other ways to strategize? Great game.

By mobuli.
May 27, 2021
5 out of 5
Fun board game to play with friends

This game feels just like a board game with a lot of thinking ahead going on. I’ve been really enjoying it for the last few
weeks.

By Herpy Derpity.
March 24, 2021
5 out of 5
Pretty Good

Best thing is the presentation and the price. 6 bucks for base game and 3 expansions. The A.I. on hard seems rigged. I’ve played
this game a lot and it crushes me. Overall happy with the purchase.

By Dugstep89.
March 13, 2021
5 out of 5
Love this app

I love the board game and highly recommend the app. Please make all the expansions!!

By Yazzmean.
February 28, 2021
5 out of 5
Very fun!

Update- I realized I was using an amulet that forces me to push every turn.

When I first played this game I liked it so much I bought all expansions. But there seems to be a bug where several times per game
when it gets to my turn the on-deck card automatically pushes and causes me to often automat

By Jdirncirkeh.
January 7, 2021
5 out of 5
Fantastic

Highly recommended! This is such an incredible table top game and the electronic verse is very well done. Thank you!

By ksmooth55.
October 28, 2020
5 out of 5
Amazing Digital Representation!

This is a great card game unlike any other. It

By BrotherBobbyG.
October 27, 2020
5 out of 5
'Love the game'

'I love the card game and now having a digital copy is great to play with friends during quarantine!'

By Swonk_Ydobon.
October 15, 2020
4 out of 5
'Does not follow the rules'

'On nearly all accounts, this is a great adaptation and a great app. The biggest problem I have is it does not respect the rules
for the planting phase. The rules do not state that you are required to push until you have 3 decay symbols, but this is what the
app will do automatically without your

By Paramesis.
October 1, 2020
5 out of 5
'ideally suited for iPad play'

'This is a fantastic game with great artwork. While the game was originally designed for physical play, it turns out that the
central card construction mechanic makes it ideally suited for iPad play. The AI is excellent and the game flows smoothly. I have
played for many hours with just the basic ga

By 10.5.6.6.
September 29, 2020
5 out of 5
'Excellent Game!'

'An excellent rendition of the card crafting game I have grown to love. A friend of mine introduced me to Mystic Vale, and now it
is one of my favorite games, and said friend and I play it whenever I visit. Easy to play, yet lots of depth. When can we expect
to see more expansions?'

By Long John 1964.
September 14, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great game'

'Can’t wait to play the real version'

By dreamkitteh.
September 6, 2020
5 out of 5
Great game, but it crashes all the time

I absolutely love this game. I own a bunch of the actual cards, and was ecstatic to see the app. Only problem is that the game
crashes constantly. I’m playing on an iPad Air, and it the crashes between turns a lot. Especially right before end game
scoring. Nothing is more annoying than having t

By Widdlewade.
June 7, 2020
4 out of 5
'Great Game but Touchy'

'Amazing game for the cost, but there are moments where the server boots me for no reason.'

By cthulhanoid.
June 1, 2020
5 out of 5
'Where’s the help?'

'I’ve updated my 3-star rating based on zarro online help for odd questions to a 5. I figured out the issue on my own - or at
least don’t think it’s as bad as I thought. And while support on this app is still really lacking (esp given the quality of
what they wrote) the game is gorgeous, fun

By joey_shmoey.
May 21, 2020
4 out of 5
'Good Game'

'Great game. Having a lot of fun with it. Four stars only because it will randomly close down. I’ve played probably twelve games
and it’s happened twice. Saved my progress though and hopped right back in. AI so far has been a challenge which is always a
perk. \nHighly recommend.'

By Z3alousZ3bra.
May 20, 2020
4 out of 5
'Relaxing and engaging'

'This game is such a pleasure to play. Although it may seem daunting at first, it’s easy to learn with plenty of depth. The AI
seems to play at a great level and the graphics are gorgeous. I will be playing this for a long time and plan on buying all the
expansions. I really hope they address the

By KiPhish.
May 13, 2020
4 out of 5
'My favorite game for iOS'

'One thing I noticed when playing the base game online is that the token when evoked just plays automatically the next turn. This
game is amazing. Buy the real world copy!One thing I know of'

By Am77777777.
April 8, 2020
5 out of 5
'Fun game. Love the expansions'

'Add more expansions and I will buy them. Online Multiplayer works but is a little unstable. If a player drops it gets taken over
by AI. That’s good but when they come back they can’t re-join. It’s hard to finish a game without someone eventually
dropping.'

By Bronco505.
April 6, 2020
4 out of 5
'Great Game, Online Multiplayer Needs Work'

'Fantastic game. Multiplayer is a weak spot... \n\n1) There are few to no available multiplayer matches. Matching finding needs to
be retooled.\n\n2) Multiplayer kicks you off online games if you close the app or are idle for too long even with turn time set to
off. You should be able to pick up and

By ForceLightning.
February 17, 2020
4 out of 5
'5-star game, bad networking'

'This needs a local multipeer connectivity-based Apple TV app. Sitting right next to my wife, playing, the networking layer is
unstable enough to sometimes get us into an inescapable state where it’s nobody’s turn.'

By Jessy Catterwaul.
February 12, 2020
5 out of 5
'Very fun game'

'My friend has this in table top version and invariably demolishes me when we play. I downloaded this to improve my real life
game. I like the game play, the art, and the animations. Even the sound effects are cute. Dawnsinger’s song makes me feel
accomplished every time I buy her. The onlin

By Purple Skates 88.
January 1, 2020
4 out of 5
'It’s good, but kind of annoying.'

'I would give this game 5 stars, but there is one thing that kind of annoys me, it’s the fact that the hard mode computer seems
to ALWAYS have the perfect turn. It doesn’t make the game hard it just makes it annoying to play against.'

By thailias.
November 19, 2019
4 out of 5
'Near perfect game with only synchronous play'

'This game has got to be one of the cooler deck builders in the past few years. My friend and I *love* the deck building mechanic
where you can craft semi-custom cards with a different top, middle, and bottom card section. Highly recommended!\n\nMy only
complaint against the game is a lack of asynch

By BEinCO.
November 11, 2019
5 out of 5
'Beautiful app with engaging deck-building mechani

'This is one of my favorite app versions of a table too game. It seems like real thought and care was put into this app.\n\nThe
card art is beautiful, and when you click on them, the images move a bit, and a sound effect is played. Love that attention to
detail!\n\nIt can be intimidating, at first

By QuiBilz.
October 7, 2019
4 out of 5
'Addictive but hard on eyes'

'I just learned this game and then found it was available to play offline on my iPad. So happy. Loving it. My only complaint is
there is so much to see that the numbers and icons are small and I do find myself squinting often.'

By PNeubert.
September 16, 2019
5 out of 5
'Great game, but...'

'Asynchronous multiplayer would make it much, much better.'

By Bonetribal.
September 12, 2019
4 out of 5
'Great implementation, needs pass-n-play'

'One of my wife\'s favorite games. The iOS version is great. The only thing missing is pass-and-play multiplayer. Other than
that, it\'s right next to Star Realms as my go-to time-killer game.\n\n2019-07-25 They added pass-n-play, now they have to make it
work. The clan names are jumbled and dupl

By hymie!.
August 27, 2019
4 out of 5
'Great game, with one drawback'

'First of all, this is a great game and digital adaptation. It’s a very interesting combination of card drafting, economy
building and resource gathering, somewhat like a mini civilization game. There is no warfare element to it (not that I’ve seen
anyways), so it is also very relaxing to play.

By frandad729.
August 19, 2019
5 out of 5
'Great play'

'It faithfully recreates the experience even down to simulating cards going into sleeves which is a nice touch for something that
could have taken an easier way. It also takes all the adding and mana tracking away. The only downside is the game is over way
too soon.'

By crispee.
August 17, 2019
5 out of 5
'Well Done'

'I love this card game and this is a great app implementation!'

By nickdefore.
August 17, 2019
5 out of 5
'My Favorite Game!'

'I was delighted to stumble across my favorite deck building card game for the iPad. Does not disappoint.'

By Alene.
July 19, 2019
4 out of 5
'Great game with a couple things to fix'

'I’ll start off by saying that this game is fantastic. It’s fun and adds a lot to the deckbuilding game archetype. \n\nI got
the game for my iPad and love it; however, on my iPhone, the game crashes constantly, making it nearly unplayable. Furthermore, I
bought the expansion pack on my iPad, but

By PacMansBalls.
July 7, 2019
4 out of 5
'Amazing translation, a dream come true!'

'I

By infinitely curious.
July 7, 2019
4 out of 5
Amazing translation, a dream come true!

I

By infinitely curious.
July 7, 2019
4 out of 5
Amazing translation, a dream come true!

I

By infinitely curious.
July 7, 2019
4 out of 5
'Amazing translation, a dream come true!'

'I’ve been waiting for this title since I first fell in love with Mystic Vale and this digital translation is pretty much
perfect 🥰 I eagerly await each update and new expansion. Kudos! 🌲🧙‍♂️🧝🏽‍♀️🧚🏼‍♂️🍃🌳'

By infinitely curious.
July 6, 2019
4 out of 5
'great game, latest update hangs'

'now the app hangs whenever i try to use wafarer portal (the one that moves advancements from one card to another)'

By elbrendotr.
July 5, 2019
5 out of 5
'App won’t open...'

'I downloaded the app last night and played a game of it. It’s fantastic! Now the app won’t open :( tried it on my iPad and it
consistently crashes right towards the end of my game. Great game, horrible app.'

By Davekaline.
July 1, 2019
5 out of 5
'Great game!'

'We love the physical game, and are very excited by the quality of the digital port to mobile. We thought there might be a couple
issues, but it turns out we had misinterpreted the rules!\n\nOnly one complaint. It’s a shame when a digital board game port
doesn’t include asynchronous multiplaye

By CodeDeepBlue.
June 26, 2019
5 out of 5
'A favorite, but could we adjust the speed?'

'Love this game, but the AI’s turns go so fast that I don’t even catch what they are buying. Also, I sometimes hit the
wrong bottom and spoil because I’m viewing the discard pile. \nIt should not be possible to push nor end planting when the
display is on your discard or the AI’s board.'

By valleyvale.
June 19, 2019
5 out of 5
'Good game,worth the price.'

'Having played the physical game, this is a great translation. In addition to the pass and play I would like to see an
asynchronous mode for multiplayer. I haven’t been able to get a multiplay game in yet and it’s frustrating.'

By Havakavula.
June 16, 2019
5 out of 5
'Outstanding digital version of my favorite game'

'I own everything for the physical Mystic Vale game...all the promos, of the expansions, the game mat, etc. It is my favorite
game. I get so immersed in it when playing. \n\nThis is a great digital version of the game. Having already known how to play
MV, I just picked up and started playing wit

By RLC819.
June 13, 2019
4 out of 5
'Great App, but Limited...'

'One thing I love, it’s digital board games and considering the saved time in shuffling, love Deck-Builders. Beyond being a
functional app, this one has great production values. The core game is enjoyable and you get the first expansion for free. Fact
is, there’s very little I can complain ab

By sheppy7.
June 11, 2019
4 out of 5
'Fun, good UI, faithful port, but battery killer'

'Having only played Mystic a few times, I bought the app on a lark, and I\'m pleased. For six bucks, the game looks good, plays
well (though I wish the opponent turns were a bit faster), and is perfect for my commute. Only complaint is the severe battery
drain (even with the \"battery saver\" settin

By MarcinXtina.
June 10, 2019
4 out of 5
'Great translation from cardboard to digital'

'This is a good game app. Very well done. Looking forward to more expansions.'

By Toxic_Rat.
June 9, 2019
5 out of 5
'Great port of a great game'

'Would I rather play at a table with the real game, Yes. \nHowever this is a great port of a great game. Also a great deal.'

By Matt456788.
June 8, 2019
5 out of 5
'Good port of a great tabletop game'

'I have always loved the physical version of this game so I was really pleased to find that they did such a good job porting it to
digital. Great value for the price and I look forward to seeing some of the expansions in the future.'

By RBWest.
June 7, 2019
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
Board Game Owner Approval

I own the card game and most of the expansions. Bought this due to covid-19 social distancing. Checks all the boxes and has online
play.

[REVISED]
Bought for online play. Missing a way to invite users to games. No notifications about turns. Disconnects when I switch apps.
Creating a game timed out

By ACEman7890.
April 21, 2020
3 out of 5
Update on 03-05-2020

This update changed the UI for the worst. The UI now zooms in when you look across cards, meaning you can no longer see and select
cards from a single static view. This is a hassle that slows down play. You now also have to click twice on vales to buy them
(once to select, once to purchase). The dev

By Zonk1770.
March 13, 2020
3 out of 5
Great game as long as you don’t want to play onlin

This game is gorgeous. As long as you want to play just single player. If you switch to multiplayer online player it’s very
frustrating. Often drops a player and doesn’t allow rejoining

By paulab2.
February 27, 2020
3 out of 5
Amazing art, but bad UI

Faithful adaptation of the card game with a sprinkle of sound effects and minor animation. Maybe it’s better on an iPad, but
there isn’t enough space on an iphone screen to view all of the information.

By Nate12345652.
June 16, 2019
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total