Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

Not Chess

by Tepes Ovidiu
Positive
88%
critic
12%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of Not Chess by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of Not Chess written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for Not Chess

Reviews: 12Avg. Rating: 8.8/10

Positive reviews

5 out of 5
Top notch puzzle game

I love this game. I am a hobbyist chess player and seeing the rules of chess pieces applied in this way is super creative. I hope
to see more puzzles in the future! :D

Superb clean visual style on top of it too!

By KularaHSD.
January 22, 2021
5 out of 5
Love the game. Wish for level transitions.

Anyone who loves chess must love this game. I wish that after you complete a level it takes you straight to the next level without
the level select screen bouncing up and down, it’s a slightly jarring experience and reduces enjoyment.

By gitsie.
January 9, 2021
5 out of 5
Awesome Developer, but...

there are no down sides. I just wanted to have a click bait title for my honest review. Lol.

This game is exactly what its dev says it is. A puzzler using chess piece rules. It is Not Chess. I am a chess player and don’t
see why other chess players think it is Chess if the title literally says Not

By SwimmerJc.
January 7, 2021
5 out of 5
Will We See an Endless Mode or More Levels?

The game was fun, but I beat it fairly quickly.

By JSingleton12321\.
December 31, 2020
5 out of 5
Love the game, puzzles need play testing

This is an amazing game. Some of the puzzles needed to be play tested, as many have unintended solutions. I found 5 completely
different solutions to puzzle 40 with different piece captures including one in 4 moves (out of 5), highly inconsistent with the
difficulty of the other medium puzzles. Ther

By Junior Software Engineer.
December 28, 2020
5 out of 5
Great groundwork

You’ve set very good groundwork, the concept, the look, the mechanics, etc... but it requires waaaay more engagement. Whether
that’s more challenging levels, a speed requirement, point system, or in game rewards. Really great idea just very under
developed.

By Ashr Go.
December 18, 2020
5 out of 5
Excellent Puzzle Game

Yes, the puzzles are a bit easy and there are not a lot of them - but this game just came out and I can already see the promise
that an active dev will bring. If given the choice between taking the chess puzzles which exist and playing them over the board or
in this app in this style I choose to pla

By Method5440.
December 11, 2020
5 out of 5
fantastic

whimsical implementation of chess

By spartawarrior.
December 10, 2020
4 out of 5
Not Chess is... not for chess players

Puzzles are much too simple for anybody with a modicum of chess practice.

By conformpdx.
December 8, 2020
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
Super easy

Fun little mindless game but I solved all the puzzles in a day.

By ErsatzRubric.
January 20, 2021
3 out of 5
Fun for kids but lacking for adults

The puzzle game lacks a challenging experience, half or more of the hard levels were able to be completed within 30 to 45 seconds
using 1 less move then was given.
It is a very interesting twist on puzzle games and if there were more then 75 levels and more difficult levels I would recommend
this g

By Chembower.
December 24, 2020
3 out of 5
Great concept

Great concept, was excited for it after pre purchasing it. Difficulty seems irrelevant unfortunately, games are very easy and
straight forward . Will keep it around to see if updates come with creative and difficult puzzles.

By Bmunks.
December 8, 2020
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total