Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

Onitama: The Board Game

by Asmodee Digital
Positive
88%
critic
12%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of Onitama: The Board Game by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of Onitama: The Board Game written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for Onitama: The Board Game

Reviews: 39Avg. Rating: 8.8/10

Positive reviews

4 out of 5
'Almost Perfrct'

'Something’s missing, love the game but still feel like there’s something that could be added. Thank you Developers for making
this a free game to play!'

By Jaylen Ball.
August 11, 2020
5 out of 5
'Awesome board game'

'This is the perfect blend of simplicity and strategy. Love it!'

By Wokool.
May 28, 2020
4 out of 5
'Great! Almost perfect'

'This simulates the board game perfectly. \nMatchmaking is quite good as well. Currently there are not enough active players
online.\nThe chat and game badges feel a bit intrusive during a game. However this is a solid game with no ads.'

By SkepticalKumail.
May 2, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great game!'

'This game is amazing. Beautiful made! It’s also great practice for when I play the real thing with friends.'

By nathanto.
April 18, 2020
5 out of 5
'Onitama is a delightful game!'

'Strategic thinking and planning are required but with small number of pieces and five sets of possible moves in each game. You
don’t have to spread yourself too thin trying to anticipate thousands possible moves from your adversary like you do in
Chess.\nIf I had to describe this game, I’d say

By Knight in Armor.
April 4, 2020
4 out of 5
'Good. Could be harder.'

'I really like this game. The AI should have harder levels.'

By DrDawgMusic.
April 3, 2020
5 out of 5
'Exceptional game.'

'This is a game that is super easy to fall in love with instantly. The only issue is that for some reason it has a tendency to
randomly crash for no apparent reason. It doesn’t seem to be SUPER frequent but the game doesn’t seem like something that
would be super taxing for my phone to run plus

By Mattyice6517.
March 5, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great game'

'The only problem with this game is that there are not enough people online to play instantly. Get the game and start a match
ASAP.'

By CrawNice.
February 2, 2020
5 out of 5
'Fun game'

'I think this is a great game! There is so much strategy involved. The game is a little tricky at first but is easy to learn.'

By JJatthebeat.
November 27, 2019
5 out of 5
'It’s good'

'It’s a good game to pass time with,especially with friends.'

By Oh my wurd.
November 26, 2019
5 out of 5
'Favorite strategy game'

'I love this game. Moves change from game to game making it different and difficult to have a set strategy, thus forcing you to
think outside of the box. There was a glitch where the game would freeze or crash (dont remember) but it has been fixed. I havent
bought the actual board, I instead made on

By DaBananaL0rd.
September 5, 2019
5 out of 5
'Excellent'

'This app is an excellent implementation of the board game.'

By Bowser47.
August 24, 2019
5 out of 5
'Strategic board game'

'Fun card game, great strategy. Like chess but not.\n\nTo developers: game needs a time out function, where if s player does not
move for a certain amount of time like 2 minutes, they automatically forfeit. I’ve been waiting for this dude to move for ten
minutes. I assume he will time out but it

By Law stud.
August 11, 2019
5 out of 5
'Board Game?'

'I am a chess player. I love different strategy games and this one really did it for me. If there is a board game of this, that
would be amazing. If not, create one. I recommend everyone try this.'

By Samurott Ninja Waterdragon.
July 28, 2019
5 out of 5
'Cool game. Not great on iPad.'

'The game is very cool and the app is a faithful implementation. However, the app lacks landscape support, which might make sense
for phones, but is very awkward with a large iPad, especially since all the iPad accessories hold it in landscape mode.'

By Davemacdo.
July 7, 2019
4 out of 5
'FREEZE'

'is it just me or does this game only freeze up when the AI only option is defeat? and it happens often - still like the game but
thats a big problem'

By asultuous.
May 14, 2019
5 out of 5
'Relaxing, challenging and frustrating at times'

'It took a while to get the hang of reading the cards and thinking ahead but after several games it all makes sense now. It’s a
great way to kill some time and requires thoughtful moves and strategy.'

By Odie of the Shire.
April 23, 2019
5 out of 5
'Great game'

'This app work great. Love this game!'

By wldflwr71.
April 14, 2019
4 out of 5
'Nearly Perfect w/ 1 Flaw'

'Super fun vs either AI or a buddy via pass-and-play. However, I *really* wish this game would work even with no internet
connection present. There is enough offline fun to be had that available internet connection should not dictate whether or not I
get to play the game at all.\n\nDespite that, I h

By El platypus.
March 8, 2019
4 out of 5
'Almost there...'

'The gameplay is perfect. I love the board game, so I tried the app expecting nothing for free. The free version is great, but the
ai isn’t super challenging. Probably how it’s meant to be though. It makes the user want to play online to find tougher
competition. The only problem I am having is

By TheKeith1969.
February 24, 2019
4 out of 5
'Best Game Since Chess'

'The game of Onitama gives strategists all of the challenges that they find on a chess board. The opening strategies vary based
on the cards dealt into any match, but since the cards rotate between players the game minimizes any element of luck that one
would expect to find in a game that involves

By PARBALLA.
February 10, 2019
5 out of 5
'Beautiful!'

'I just discovered this gem! Amazing, simple and strategic game that reminds of chess but with the moves on the cards you have. I
am also buying the board game.'

By Felizón.
January 22, 2019
5 out of 5
'The best game for a thinker'

'I love this game so much and I just started this today. My cousin and I play this on our lunch break at work and we’re getting
pretty good at least I think so'

By Majik/ikillu1.
December 31, 2018
4 out of 5
'Great game, poor AI'

'The rules of this game are very simple and fun. As a chess player I understood the strategy of the game very quickly. That being
said, I think the toughest AI is much too weak. It often makes huge mistakes. My last game I had the tiger card and they left
their King two spaces in front of mine, esse

By Adamplays82.
December 23, 2018
5 out of 5
'An upgrade from chess!!'

'This game is a fantastic upgrade from chess. If you like the strategic movement of chess, you’ll enjoy this game very much.
Solo play is really good, though I consistently beat the computer in hard. The addition of pass and play is great. I would
encourage you to get the physical game if you enjo

By Volman1229.
December 17, 2018
5 out of 5
'I’ve never written a review but...'

'...this game is absolutely amazing. The complexity of chess with the spontaneity of Arena Football. I love the 5x5 board making
games very concise yet incredibly complex with the rotations and permutations of moves to make in this wonderfully strategic
Japanese board game.'

By Vidhay.
December 3, 2018
5 out of 5
'Perfect level of challenge'

'It\'s not too difficult, but it makes you think. You know what you\'re getting. Perfect little game break'

By me185347.
November 27, 2018
4 out of 5
'Nice game'

'I like this game. Not as easy as it first seems. Give player a good challenge. Player must think through a move before making it.
Replay is great.'

By Joni mojo.
November 27, 2018
4 out of 5
'Excellent Strategy'

'Really fun game that requires a certain wit to understand its beauty. “Only” 4 Stars because the app itself is buggy and the
interface needs improvement.'

By PoeticMovement.
November 18, 2018
5 out of 5
'A blast to play'

'It’s a blast to play and I find myself playing all the time.'

By I KaoticGamer I.
November 14, 2018
5 out of 5
'Most awesome game'

'Love this! I don’t usually like inapp purchases but the additional cards make this game even better!!\n\nTaking away a star for
game crashing...'

By Robin Aletras.
November 11, 2018
4 out of 5
'Amazing game, invest in better AI'

'This is one of my favorite games, and I’m very glad it was brought to the app platform. It has in my opinion the same level of
complexity and diversity of play as chess. That said, the AI as it stands is great for those new to the game but if you have some
practice it isn’t very difficult. (I w

By Chriieas.
November 10, 2018
5 out of 5
'Fun, smart and quick'

'This game is simple, but difficult if your opponent is matched correct. No super hifi graphics, but very well made. Doesn’t
force you to rate/review the app on the store. And also no ads.!'

By mohittendulkar.
November 8, 2018
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
'Good strategy game, bad networking support'

'I love this game, but at least a dozen times per game, the game either freezes or says networking was lost. I suspect the
network timeout period is too short in the app and this makes it very frustrating. 5 stars for the game, 1 star for the
networking bugginess, average 3.'

By Player Reviewer .
November 21, 2019
3 out of 5
'Great game, AI can blunder'

'Onitama is a great game, and this is a wonderful free app with beautiful visuals. I recommend everybody go out and buy the
physical board game, it’s easy to pick up which means it’s easy to convince friends to play, even if they don’t typically
like board games.\n\nHowever, playing the comput

By Sammosaurusrex.
June 6, 2019
3 out of 5
'Fun, but...'

'I like the game, but there should be a way for you to win if the opponent is afk. Right now all there is is a time limit that you
have to wait for if you want to win, if they are afk. That is very unfair and a huge waste of my time. People are also abusing
this, not being afk, but when they are los

By DoubleB33.
November 17, 2018
3 out of 5
'Good but'

'Every bot has the same play style, sit around and move back and forth till you try something. The “ beginning bot” has
destroyed me 5 times in a row already. I’ve only played 6 matches( 5 if you don’t count the tutorial) the beginning bot is so
difficult. Please make it easier'

By AgonizedCash565.
November 15, 2018
3 out of 5
'Fun game. App UI is a bit jenky.'

'This is a sweet game!\n\nBut there is definitely a lot to be improved upon. The UI in general reminds me of first versions of the
Settlers of Catan IOS app. Just sort of jenky. Things like being locked into a 30 second timer for a rematch even though the other
player has accepted. OR the other play

By Dj Gonzo Keys.
November 10, 2018
3 out of 5
'Constant crashes'

'Seems like a fun game, but it crashes frequently on solo games. Game play just freezes. I haven’t been able to complete the
last four tabs. I’m deleting it for now. Fix the issue and I’ll try it again.'

By Double Latté.
November 7, 2018
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total