Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

Potion Explosion

by Asmodee Digital
Positive
78%
critic
22%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of Potion Explosion by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of Potion Explosion written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for Potion Explosion

Reviews: 27Avg. Rating: 7.8/10

Positive reviews

5 out of 5
'Bugs'

'I saw complaints about bugs from 2 years ago so I guess they’re not going to fix the freezing problem. That’s too bad because
this is a great implementation of a board game to an app.'

By Dravenn.
July 1, 2020
5 out of 5
'Good solo player experience'

'I enjoy the digital version doing all the reset work and score keeping tasks! Great job on this fun game!'

By nbly.
April 3, 2020
5 out of 5
'Perfect casual game for tabletop gamers'

'I got sick of all the IAP casual games with their time delays, ads, and booster backs. You have to pay for this game and the
expansion, but after that it just works. There are some more rules upfront than your average game, but that means there is also
deeper strategy. Took me a day to be able to b

By at1456.
November 3, 2019
5 out of 5
'Great Match Game With Extra Strategy'

'This is a nice twist on the match game genre. Very clever and fun. Lots of depth but still accessible for casual gamers. Great
job!\n\nSolo play on my XS Max with iOS 13 works great, no issues. I can’t speak to multiplayer since I don’t do that, but the
base game via solo play is great.'

By WRS15743.
October 20, 2019
4 out of 5
'Great! Just needs notifications'

'If it had notifications it would be 5 stars'

By KikiMarie24.
August 15, 2019
4 out of 5
'Love the game hate the bugs'

'This game so awesome and entertaining. Love playing it with my kids! We wish it had an UNDO button because it’s so easy to
touch an unintended ingredient by mistake. Also, the APP hangs sometimes at the end of the game'

By Mirage_Rayan.
August 10, 2019
4 out of 5
'Somebody get the pesticide, for here be bugs!!'

'It would be terrific if the bugs could get cleaned up. I\'ve installed the game numerous times to try to get the bugs resolved,
and each time its reinstalled there\'s a different kind of bug causing problems. Otherwise, I\'m really enjoying this game and the
expansion!'

By Just another epic gamer.
May 29, 2019
5 out of 5
'Greatest digital game I have ever played'

'The game cartoons I thought were very good.The potions, the effects, the orbs, and the way you play I thought was very creative.I
could not think of anything more entertaining.'

By danger man1.
January 26, 2019
5 out of 5
'Love it'

'Not understanding the low reviews. The game looks and sounds awesome for the theme! The 5th element expansion adds a wonderful
new depth to the game. Just wish there was more online players. Great game!'

By RyTroup.
September 30, 2018
4 out of 5
'Fabulous game, slight bug.'

'My family and I love this game, both the physical and app versions. My only issue is that with the newest update I can not
complete the Graduatus Classis Cautionis achievement. I’ve won multiple games against the bots at various difficulties and not
triggered the Professor often enough to precl

By chasingbabydust.
September 23, 2018
5 out of 5
'One of the best board games ever'

'I don’t quite get it: why is there an average of 3.4 for this lovely game? It’s a really aesthetic and artistic game; the
animations, the music, hell even the queer names are so great! It doesn’t have any bugs (at least in the offline mode),
doesn’t consume too much battery (even has an opt

By Amin Z.M..
June 26, 2018
4 out of 5
'mostly good'

'UPDATE: Have not had a syncing issue since last update. \n3 -> 4 stars\n\n(-) Async games can get out of sync.\n(-) Crashes.\n(-)
Loading screens are cute, but take awhile to load.\n(+) Nice UI\n(+) Multi-player sorta works, unlike other Asmodee Digital
products.\n(+) Game logic is smooth.\n(-) Can

By LetsGetTrivial.
June 11, 2018
4 out of 5
'Fun but sometimes unclear.'

'There were some moments when I thought the game was stuck. Either I couldn’t select a Potion or move on. Turned out when using
the Potion of Prismatic Joy you need to hit the tag below the Potion, not the Potion itself. Also had moments where I thought I
needed to select a new Potion but the game

By EBJ7.
May 17, 2018
5 out of 5
'Best game for commute!'

'I played this game for very time when commuting back and forth and it’s actually my favorite time killing game right now!'

By Who uses ugh as a nickname?!.
May 16, 2018
4 out of 5
'Really fun! Would recommend'

'I haven\'t played the physical version of this game as the artwork never really caught my attention, but I bought this app when
it was on sale, and I have loved the game play! Strategic gameplay made more challenging by adding additional players and on hard
mode. Would like to see the expansion add

By Aimiichan.
December 28, 2017
5 out of 5
'Great game, a bit buggy'

'This is a really well made game. I like the concept of the game and I think the developers did a really good job turning it into
an app. One little problem I do have though is that occasionally the game gets stuck and offers no option to proceed. It’s easy
to quit the game though and start a new

By mozillalives.
October 31, 2017
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
'Interface needs work'

'While everything looks beautiful, it isn’t a good layout of the game. You can’t see what your opponent has unless you click
on them. Too much of the screen is taken up making the players layout look good an not enough is devoted to showing the other
players. Game needs to play in landscape m

By applemaz.
June 25, 2020
3 out of 5
'It won’t let me win'

'I really like this game, but it has some bugs that need to be fixed. When I create an offline game with a bot, if the bots wins,
everything works fine. But when I win, the screen is stuck loading forever so I don’t get the official win! It’s honestly
really disappointing. What’s the point in

By TabbyCat5.
February 15, 2020
3 out of 5
'App crashes'

'Great game, but the app has a tendency to crash during gameplay. Tonight, it’s crashed/closed 3 times in the last hour. Please
fix!'

By dolphnkim.
November 10, 2019
3 out of 5
'Awesome game with some glaring oversights'

'I’ll up my review to 5 stars when the developer adds two simple things: the ability to turn on notifications when it’s your
turn to take your move, and game history/stats. These are so basic that I can’t understand how they were left out. Otherwise
everything is great - hopefully we get anoth

By Gareth Witte.
December 19, 2018
3 out of 5
'A favorite. Newest release is very buggy'

'I love this game. Was excited to try The Fifth Expansion, but it is buggy. Freezes up part way through turns. Won’t allow any
normally allowed actions (sometimes triggered by using little help action). The Prof. Prissyman achievement doesn’t work. No
instructions on activating Prof. Humblescore

By tangfishfry.
November 18, 2018
3 out of 5
'Current version has bugs'

'The update to allow for the Fifth Ingredient has created bugs that have ruined the last three online games I have played with my
wife. I’m looking forward to getting those squashed so that we can enjoy this SUPERB implementation of a thoroughly enjoyable
game!'

By drkenfp.
October 10, 2018
3 out of 5
'Fun game, but too many glitches'

'This game is super fun and addicting, but the app could use some work. First off, I can’t add a buddy even though I’m
playing them online currently. When I type their username, it says their username is not found. Second, this game does not alert
you when it’s your turn. So you will have

By Dvspinay.
August 25, 2018
3 out of 5
'Problems w expansion'

'Written early July 2018\nI just recently bought the expansion for potion explosion and am excited to be familiar w the new
professors and spells. \nTwo out of the four games I’ve played have been stuck where I had to quit. \nOne wouldn’t let me fill
my potions w either the wild ghost color or e

By spongekathotpants.
July 11, 2018
3 out of 5
'I was close to finishing the last achievement...'

'I own only the base game, and I don\'t play online. I wanted to finish one last achievement before upgrading: Trigger 10,000
explosions. I was 70% complete. The new update removed that achievement. Looks like I\'ll never get to finish that achievement, so
I guess I won\'t be buying the expansion.\n

By imperatrix mundi.
May 29, 2018
3 out of 5
'New expansion is buggy'

'I enjoyed the original game but it became kind of same-y after a while. This expansion solves that problem, but introduced some
bugs.\n\nThe expansion tutorial froze on me the first time I tried it so I had to force quit and start over. It worked fine the
second time, but my first game was a disas

By pbeasi.
May 16, 2018
3 out of 5
'Glitchy on iPhone 8+'

'Works great on my iPad and my iPhone 5s, but today I got a new iPhone 8+ and it runs very poorly on that. Slow, with pauses and
animation stutters. It’s a shame, because it’s a great game.'

By Geekd.
October 3, 2017
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total