Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

ProtonVPN

by Proton Technologies AG
Positive
90%
critic
10%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of ProtonVPN by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of ProtonVPN written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for ProtonVPN

Reviews: 69Avg. Rating: 9/10

Positive reviews

5 out of 5
'after 13 years on itunes / ios app store, I prese

'If you want the best option, proton is it. No need to look further. The bad reviews that I am reading are jaw dropping in the
fact that they simply can’t be true. I have been using proton for close to five years now. Both the free and paid options. I
have never had an issue with functionality or

By TLKingdom.
September 19, 2020
5 out of 5
'The wait is over'

'[Update: September 2020]\n\nStill great! Just hoping to see a new iOS 14 widget that I could place in a Smart Stack
:)\n\n————————————\n\nFinally. Looks great, feels great, seems to be working well.\n\nFeature
requests:\n• Show server load on the country list\n• Add Prof

By SS-MM-00.
September 18, 2020
5 out of 5
'Best vpn'

'I like your vpn I use it some times I use hotspot shield when I go to school but when my express vpn trial runs out I’ll start
using proton more'

By bigboy8362829.
September 15, 2020
4 out of 5
'Developer please read this'

'So this is great vpn it’s working perfectly. But there is one problem when I logout and want to log back in. Some people like
me might forget there username. If you can make an log in with email option that would be fantastic. And that’s what its
preventing from a 5 star review'

By readthisdevoleperpls.
September 13, 2020
5 out of 5
'Inlove'

'This is the best free vpn app I’m so happy this exist’s'

By ayouby2010.
September 13, 2020
5 out of 5
'ProtonVPN # 1'

'The Best VPN 5 Stars ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ \n\nExcellent Performance, Speed ,Country & Servers.\n\nProtonMail &
ProtonVPN Is The Best Service & Combination. \n\nThank You ! ! !'

By NORTH AMERICA USA.
September 11, 2020
5 out of 5
'Best money can buy'

'This vpn is best rare cases disconnects. But still best of best money can buy. This vpn always updates and listen to ratings. I
am sure they are preparing for updates and they have man power. Others I have been very bad do not care for ratings.'

By toppooloo.
September 6, 2020
5 out of 5
'The best free VPN.'

'ProtonVPN is the best free vpn you can get. They don’t sell user data, they’re reliable, they support IKEv2, UDP, and TCL,
can use TOR network on the free version, and have a great, fairly priced premium version. My only complaint is that speeds can be
slow on the free version, but this is fixe

By Gabe Itches 43.
September 4, 2020
5 out of 5
'Cannot access chinese websites'

'it’s a good vpn. i used the paid service but found cannot access chinese website when connecting vpn outside china. i guess
it’s not protonvpn’s fault. but have to switch to alternative solutions.'

By frankqczhao.
September 3, 2020
5 out of 5
'Proton vpn is 1'

'Great service but you need keep updating apps and other systems as well.'

By bikaaw.
September 3, 2020
4 out of 5
'Bugs'

'Bro when I was get an as sms code in it literally said choose a verification option and there was nothing under it'

By robloxian XxlolzxX7.
September 2, 2020
5 out of 5
'Get this!!! Piss off google!!!'

'Google, fakebook, and Apple HATE it when you use a good VPN. They can’t sell your location or track you!'

By Mbrbb.
September 1, 2020
5 out of 5
'Subscription not renewing'

'A year ago, I bought the Plus plan as an in-app purchase. Now it says I have an \'unpaid invoice\' when I try to connect, even
though I have more than enough App Store credit to pay for it.'

By Al Kyder.
August 31, 2020
5 out of 5
'Pretty good vpn'

'It’s a good free vpn that’s it'

By Tank12345678974.
August 29, 2020
5 out of 5
'Works well!'

'Excellent. Thank you again. First, a wonderful email, now you are protecting my entire system. Grateful. When I am done with
school, and working full time again, I will be “upgrading” and supporting you!!! 🧡'

By 808Ruby.
August 24, 2020
5 out of 5
'Works the same as on the computer'

'I have a subscription to this VPN on my mac. It works just the same on the phone. All good. Pretty cool 👍'

By Lake Sun.
August 19, 2020
5 out of 5
'Proton Vpn'

'Get ready to see what people in japan get in theyre google results.'

By MrProfessorDrKirk.
August 12, 2020
5 out of 5
'Works fine'

'I have read some of the most recent reviews and I’m not sure what these people are trying to do with the app.\nI’ve been
using the free version for almost 8 months now and I’ve had no issues with connection and disconnection or slow speeds.\nI’ve
been very happy with the free version hopefu

By do6082.
August 11, 2020
5 out of 5
'Good vpn'

'Thanks for actually being good'

By Bbyboop.
August 9, 2020
5 out of 5
'It IS free after trial period!'

'Last night and without using any VPN, I was getting unusual inabilities to connect to any web page at all, and from 2 different
business\' wifi s. It was some kind of a constantly reloading of web pages. I wondered if the local service provider was giving me
a hard time because of my many hours if

By sgjjvdsfhj.
August 8, 2020
5 out of 5
'Awesome products'

'Finally a company not trying to push stuff down your throat. Very reliable solution for vpn even the free version it’s solid,
paid one its outstanding. Keep up the awesome work!!!'

By phobs1111.
August 7, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great App'

'Great app but missing the autoconnect feature and whitelisting, we need to be able to whitelist certain wifi AP names'

By Nyau.
August 7, 2020
4 out of 5
'tIk tOk'

'I know it isn\'t but if tik tok or any other app gets banned in a certain place you could change your location on this and in
settings and you would be able to use the app'

By Leluuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu.
August 3, 2020
5 out of 5
'Looks like Apple/CCP and “friends” don’t li

'Works but You will be targeted for using it..\nThey always find a way to make vpn’s seem cumbersome from the outside... So sick
of Google/CCP/Apple/twitter/F.B./Leftists(Dems)'

By stompingsocialism.
August 2, 2020
4 out of 5
'IP address'

'Does proton vpn protect your ip even if it’s free? I’ve been trying to find one that’s free because I don’t have the
money for it. Thanks!'

By jdvsva.
July 31, 2020
5 out of 5
'its free is good enough to be trusted.. im paying

'Reading my log and analytic data daily after being relentlessly, notorioulsy tracked/hacked for a year now this vpn saved
humanity and my heath. No app, no repair shop, apple MS were not in the same ballpark to stop most advanced tracker/hacks. A year
ago being PC bewiderment i was forced to become

By Die Terminator.
July 27, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great App for PC too'

'It works great on both platforms. The devs listen to the community and makes improvements with feedback.'

By snfufhrnskdkvujrnd.
July 25, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great, Private and Transparent Service'

'Updates to my original review:\n\n* Server selections have vastly improved along with no more annoying decrease in throughput
when VPN is enabled for local servers (this has been an irritation for me when they decreased the number of local servers and with
their chosen service providers of those lo

By jj.b.jj.
July 24, 2020
5 out of 5
'So fast and so smooth'

'It just works, and I don’t have to work about getting hacked'

By aroseier.
July 22, 2020
4 out of 5
'Works Very Nicely'

'I have ProtonVPN Plus and use Secure Core or TOR servers.\nI had some problems with the VPN connection dropping and reported the
problem. The VPN Tech Support team provided help and now the disconnect problem seems to occur more with certain servers. So I
created several profiles that use the mor

By Mick Gator Fan.
July 20, 2020
4 out of 5
'It was alright'

'The app is great itself, but I do have an issue. I don’t want my account anymore. I want to completely delete it because I only
needed to use this for a little while and I do not need it any longer. I don’t know how to do that. I deleted the app and
disconnected from it, and when I deleted it I

By 𝚗𝚘𝚟𝚊𓆉.
July 13, 2020
5 out of 5
'Love it'

'I just downloaded this app five minutes ago and I already love it. It help me with so much that apple couldn’t do. It respects
my privacy unlike apple.'

By 1,2,3 lets swich this up.
July 9, 2020
5 out of 5
'TikTok'

'If TikTok gets banned you can change where u live'

By Plsfixmobile.
July 9, 2020
5 out of 5
'BEST APP OMG'

'AMAZING APP OMG I CAN KEEP TIKTOK FOREVER YAY'

By PIZZAHUT IN DA HOUSE.
July 9, 2020
5 out of 5
'yeah❤️'

'yeah i’m here from tiktok since it’s about to be banned 🥰🥰😍😍😍😻😻😻😹😹🙀😜'

By 𝚇𝚘𝚡𝚘 𝚂𝚝𝚎𝚙𝚑𝚊𝚗𝚓𝚎.
July 8, 2020
5 out of 5
'it works'

'i went on yt and i get canadian ads because i set my location to canada\nit’s very good'

By very angry angry woman.
July 8, 2020
5 out of 5
'I was wondering...'

'I was wondering how long dose the thing for free last dose it last forever or no pls answer I would love to know'

By it kinda stressing.
July 8, 2020
5 out of 5
'using for tiktok'

'i’m a bad bihh u can’t kill me or tiktok donald j trump'

By Usherlivelove.
July 8, 2020
5 out of 5
'Location change'

'If TikTok gets banned you now what’s up'

By dndhhdydh gg fhrhhdhsuudhdhd.
July 8, 2020
5 out of 5
'I CAN FINALLY WATCH ANIME'

'I can finally watch anime from Japan instead of using shady streaming sites I recommend this and it’s free! Thank you so much
for making this app!!!!'

By using this for bts.
July 8, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great!'

'This is awesome app! I’ve been using many free vpn and I was skeptical about their privacy policy. However, I feel like I’ve
finally met trustable free VPN that works.'

By schrodinger2468.
July 7, 2020
5 out of 5
'Excellent app for privacy and security'

'Please add a setting to choose preferred DNS similar to the Proton VPN windows app.'

By UnknownAnonymousUser.
July 6, 2020
5 out of 5
'Pretty good'

'I hope I don’t bite my words when saying this but it’s nice to see a group of people who still care more about privacy than
mining my data. Sleek design meets simple but effective interface. Slows down your internet but you shouldn’t mind if you are
(probably) getting genuine protection.\n(I

By raboo.
June 25, 2020
4 out of 5
'Great FREE VPN'

'This is probably one of the best FREE VPNs out, I tried so many and they always have a catch. Not this one, it’s fast, easy to
use, and FREE! ( it’s always better if you buy the full version but the free is also great)'

By itdoyxig jg.
June 23, 2020
5 out of 5
'The best'

'This VPN is all you would need. Fast, strong, and I guess secure.'

By mehrzad ghasempour.
June 23, 2020
5 out of 5
'Outstanding service and support'

'I have been using the service for the last 6 months and I can now say this is the best VPN service I’ve ever used. The Secure
Core feature gives me added peace of mind when surfing the web. Support is very quick and responsive as well. Dump all the others
and switch to ProtonVPN.'

By Innbydelse.
June 20, 2020
5 out of 5
'Execelente concepto'

'Me encantó el concepto que tienen los creadores de ProtonVPN y ProtonMail, cumplen completamente lo que publican en la web.
Velocidad y seguridad, protección de la información de los clientes.\nSugerencia: optimizar el uso de la batería en iPhone'

By frjrca.
June 17, 2020
5 out of 5
'Pretty good'

'Pretty good VPN, seems to have good security and privacy as well.'

By iTouchAppReviewers.
June 11, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great VPN'

'I tried other VPN but it wasn’t really secured. When I found this app It protected me from breaches this is my fav VPN app.'

By Kent Lubay.
June 10, 2020
5 out of 5
'Nice!'

'Good app, I recommend it if you want to get Netflix shows.'

By Galaxy Ginny.
June 10, 2020
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
'No widget'

'It’s been about a day since iOS14 and this app has not taken advantage of the new widget system. I refuse to go above three
stars until this is resolved. What if I die before you guys create a widget?'

By leftofgreen.
September 18, 2020
3 out of 5
'Really good VPN when it works'

'If you’re looking for a good free vpn, then i’d recommend trying protonvpn. it’s very user friendly and easy to use, but my
only complaint(hence why i gave it 3 stars and not 5) is that the vpn will randomly disconnect and never connect again unless i
restart my phone. it becomes very frustra

By Hdjsigjjdjdzjzjxjgbz.
September 10, 2020
3 out of 5
'Data saved to a separate cloud'

'I just found out on the proton vpn on iphone settings in acknowledgements that the multiple OS on the app are saving data to a
cloud. Also working with google and twitter? I have Linux mint and I don’t like these OS providers on my phone! Also a GS
messaging on it provided by google play as well

By no one star chaser.
August 17, 2020
3 out of 5
'Slows down my connection AND...'

'I can’t find a way to cancel. I go into settings and account but nothing there allows for canceling. Sent email via PayPal.'

By NanaDonnaMoe.
August 8, 2020
3 out of 5
'Updates'

'It’s a great service but there seems to be a continual pattern of having to login after updates. This only occurs when
there’s a problem so I’m not confident that this is the best vpn which is worrisome. I thought this was one of the better
services but now I’m not sure. This has been a con

By uga03.
July 26, 2020
3 out of 5
'Being bloced'

'Sadly, ProtonVPV is being blocked in Hungary by the corrupt British Vodafone. Worked great in the US. Now I have to find another
provider.'

By nutella_98.
July 15, 2020
3 out of 5
'It’s okay...'

'I just got it and after like 5 minutes it disconnected :/ I’ll update though!!\n\nUPDATE: It disconnected after an HOUR again!!
So if the developers could maybe fix that!!! Please!'

By Wordybirdy12509.
July 9, 2020
3 out of 5
'I want to like this service. I really do.'

'I like the concept behind it. It’s easy to use. But my connection is frustratingly slow. (I’m in the US; I understand the
connection is faster in Europe.) I left another VPN service to use Proton. I may return to the other.'

By cjxn.
July 2, 2020
3 out of 5
'Please add Ad Filtering'

'This app is almost five stars. Please add filtering for ads (system-wide) similar to the app offering by disconnect.me which
offers ad filtering and VPN in one.'

By Mr. XXXXXXXXXX.
June 17, 2020
3 out of 5
'Inconsistent disconnects.'

'Hello,\nI\'ve used your VPN on both Android and now iPhone and both disconnect from Wi-Fi regularly throughout the day. It causes
incredibly slow Internet speeds until you disconnect and reconnect or reboot your device. I love Proton Mail, but I can\'t trust
the performance of your VPN and it there

By Warden2007.
May 31, 2020
3 out of 5
'Works Decent But Has Inconsiderate Design'

'I only use VPN rarely - I have Proton Basic and hop on maybe once a month when in dodgy situations.\n\nHowever, the app forces me
to log back in every time because the session expired. This is extremely inconvenient and doesn’t take into consideration
infrequent users.\n\nA better design would be

By AndroidUser69.
May 28, 2020
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total