Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

Sibley Birds 2nd Edition

by mydigitalearth.com
Positive
84%
critic
16%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of Sibley Birds 2nd Edition by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of Sibley Birds 2nd Edition written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for Sibley Birds 2nd Edition

Reviews: 26Avg. Rating: 8.4/10

Positive reviews

5 out of 5
Nice app, good for quick birding

It’s nice to be able to have a book in your pocket, and the ability to keep track of a life list while you’re out birding. The
ability to narrow down results based on location and time of year is a really nice touch!

By ChibiUchihs723.
December 11, 2020
5 out of 5
'Absolutely fantastic'

'This is an outstanding app. The book, the Sibley guide to birds, is perhaps the best guide to North American birds. The app is
even better than the book: easier to read, bigger maps, species comparisons, quick search. My favorite app for birds by a long
measure.'

By lucahimself.
July 11, 2020
4 out of 5
'Search filter needs improvement'

'Filtering for only common birds is useless. Filtering for common to scarce yields too many. How about adding the simple option of
common+uncommon? That would be by far the most useful option. \n\nAlso, for heavens sake, why can\'t the app look up the current
location and date instead of requiring

By Dolyd.
July 5, 2020
4 out of 5
'Great App But The Scrolling is Slow & Jerky'

'I love the app and Sibley guides are the best. I find the scrolling to be kind of jerky and slow. Can the developers find this?
It should be more smooth. I have an iPhone XS MAX.'

By ScottyW405.
May 29, 2019
4 out of 5
'Browse or search by family function'

'Sibley’s drawing is always the best. That’s what makes this app unbeatable among all birding apps. Compare feature is also
very useful.\n\nOne suggestion is, with all those smart search criteria, please add a basic browse or quick search by family
option. For example, I want to compare Ovenbird

By Dyfoydigxxlbxogaits3589.
May 10, 2019
4 out of 5
'Best content, slow app, poor search'

'At the end of the day, the Sibley bird ID info and pictures are better than any alternative. Having it in your pocket is
invaluable. \n\nThat said, the app is inexplicably slow. Scrolling should be far more responsive. My phone (XS max) is faster than
most computers a few years old but can’t scro

By JosephJFK.
May 6, 2019
5 out of 5
'Completely worth the upgrade'

'Complaints about having to pay for new 2nd Ed material are completely misplaced. Benefitting from the intellectual work that went
into this edition both by the author and programmers means paying for the service. I wasn’t sure about the frequency flags
(red, green, yellow) but they are immensely

By ajh111.
March 19, 2019
5 out of 5
'California Thrasher'

'The app is good and works well. Better than the old app. When I was looking through the app I saw that the last song for
California thrasher was actually California Towhee. Just a small fix. Still a great app. I was happy to see the yellow footed gull
range map fixed.'

By Wowoeirkfkrimfkrifkkf.
January 14, 2019
5 out of 5
'Best birding app'

'This app has always been my go-to for bird identification, and the new version is a huge improvement.'

By mistermicrophone.
January 10, 2019
4 out of 5
'Excellent - getting better'

'Love Sibley v. 2 for accurate ID info, abundance of field mark details incl. mass and the split screen compare feature.'

By CPCino.
December 30, 2018
5 out of 5
'Worth the Upgrade'

'I wasn’t happy having to pay for the upgrade but now that I have it I am happy to invest in the up keep of this well written
program. A better designed interface makes it easier to find the bird you just saw. My only complaint is on the Smart Search.
It’s much better but it’s still not so

By BrokenHeart211.
December 26, 2018
4 out of 5
'I like the changes'

'Can I ask for a note taking area that displays on the written description page for each specie. I like to write field marks I
notice, or ID hints in my book. My book was recently stolen along with 10 years of my notes so I would like to have this in my app
vs in a book that can be lost. The “my l

By angbranch.
December 16, 2018
5 out of 5
'Best NA Field Guide gets an upgrade'

'The 2nd Edition Sibley is the gold standard for North American field guides. This app is amazing, featuring Sibley’s gorgeous
artwork, new range maps, bird calls and songs, and a detailed written description. The first version of this app had a few issues,
but the new update has fixed them up. Th

By chiral guy.
November 22, 2018
4 out of 5
'Wrong.'

'It is wrong to charge existing customers $10 for this “upgrade” when we have been users of this app for a long time now. Not
to mention purchasing the hard copies as well.\n\nDo not delete your earlier app! This new version has too many issues that need
to be addressed which I’m sure they wil

By Joe_58.
November 22, 2018
5 out of 5
'Update fixed issues.'

'Looks like the update fixed the color issue and range map issues. Great and comprehensive guide to North American birds. More
species added, more plumages depicted than other guides. Compare feature can really help both beginners and others work out a
correct ID'

By Goshawk62.
November 22, 2018
5 out of 5
'Excellent'

'Happy to see species updates. Banding codes are extremely useful and just work when typed in.'

By Gailon.
November 19, 2018
4 out of 5
'Still a winner'

'I’m sure I will discover more to like about this new version but for now let me applaud a couple changes: the four-character
banding code now works! I suspect most birders once they discover the convenience of using these abbreviations of names will
adopt their use. eBird supports their use as

By birdrr.
November 18, 2018
4 out of 5
'Great, but needs some adjustments'

'The new app is leaps and bounds better than the old app. Range maps are improved, new species are added, the similar species
feature is terrific. The use of the overly dark “first printing” colors from the second edition book is puzzling when the
second printing rectified this. Some of the ra

By Biftec.
November 17, 2018
5 out of 5
'Still the best'

'I loved the v1 app. I think Sibley is the best guide for NA because of the great art. When the second edition came out, I thought
it was great but way too big. Now I can have it on my phone and tablet with zero weight. New features are small improvements, but
having all the information of the newes

By avocet32.
November 17, 2018
4 out of 5
'Ripped off!'

'Special price listed is $9.99. I purchased and was charged $24.99 (plus tax). What gives?'

By Sashayuli.
November 16, 2018
4 out of 5
'I love the new comparisons format'

'However it doesn’t always work. This should be fixed if possible. When you tap on the similar species tool and tap another bird
to compare 3/5 times, I end up with the same bird in both columns. This is frustrating. When it works, however, it’s great.
\nPlease fix soon. Looking forward to using

By tzingt19.
November 15, 2018
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
Colors still off

I was excited to finally have an updated Sibley app, especially with updated range maps. I guess these colors might match the 2nd
edition of the book, but they aren’t as accurate as the 1st edition of the app. Too dark. I find myself just using the old
version. :( also I can’t seem to make the birds

By Holly_R83.
March 31, 2019
3 out of 5
New interface and extra species are an improvement

The v1 interface seemed antiquated compared to more modern applications so v2 has some much needed improvements.

The seasonal frequency for your state is a nice touch if it is accurate.

The extra species and up to date sequence are great but it would be nice if the choice to see/hide rarities wa

By Kb7689212.
November 22, 2018
3 out of 5
Disappointing but . . .

First off, congrats David on finally getting the developers to update your app. As a walk leader, this is my number one tool for
showing people what they are looking at and listening to. I can’t remember how many times people say’Wow’ when I open the
app and use it to help the process of bird ID. I’

By phbrown.
November 21, 2018
3 out of 5
Needs ebird integration

And I don't see much difference from the original app. Please build considerably on this foundation.

By slester.
November 18, 2018
3 out of 5
Illustrations are significantly darker

The illustrations in the new app are significantly darker than in the old app, making many colors inaccurate. I hope this will be
fixed in an update soon?

Otherwise I’m excited to finally get an updated version of my favorite iPhone bird app!

By Mikael Behrens.
November 17, 2018
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total