Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

SimplyE

by The New York Public Library
Positive
86%
critic
14%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of SimplyE by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of SimplyE written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for SimplyE

Reviews: 43Avg. Rating: 8.6/10

Positive reviews

5 out of 5
Our Lady of Perpetual Hunger

Wow. A visual journey of Lisa Donovan’s life as a chef, a woman, a mother, a person. Every sense is awakened and her written
guidance and expression is well worth experiencing!
Thank You!!!

By DEL1280.
January 20, 2021
5 out of 5
AMAZING App & Customer Service!!

I have downloaded SimplyE for quite some time now, and I want to reassure anyone reading this that I have encountered 0 issues so
far. The UI of the app is very simple and easy to use. There are dozens of libraries accessible through this app, as well as a
collection by SimplyE. On top of all this,

By Fares Nada.
January 6, 2021
4 out of 5
Scrolling?

Am I missing something? I would love to scroll through a book rather than turn page by page. Kindle and Apple Books both allow
this in most cases. Can you add?

By vermagic.
December 19, 2020
4 out of 5
Persistent titles

I agree with other reviewers that this app is great for reading or listening to some great books. But it would be nice to see
which books I've read/reserved. I often read so fast that I can't remember if I've read a particular book. Also, sometimes I
return a book, but it persists in my library,

By idoc2000.
December 17, 2020
5 out of 5
Love it except for one big problem

Like I said I love this app…when it works. I was so excited when I first got the app on my phone (having had it on other
devices) when I tried I pressed ‘read’ to my first book a blank page came up with the title of the book in small gray letters
on the top (not the cover page, just the actual title

By Headspinner.
December 10, 2020
4 out of 5
Good app but I think to improve it could

I think you should add San Luis Obisbo county or public library so I can use the app plz consider

By booyyo.
November 9, 2020
5 out of 5
Needs “Chapter” and “Page” features

It would be helpful to find certain passages quickly with “chapter” and “page” features for quotation and research
purposes.

By PBS O'phile.
November 8, 2020
5 out of 5
Really enjoy this app

I am an avid book reader and audiobook listener. This app allows me to enjoy free reading and listening. Highly recommend!!!!

By Ken rochelle.
October 24, 2020
5 out of 5
NVM

THANKS FOR FIXONG THE GLITCH 👁👄👁💅

By I Love my family and friends.
October 21, 2020
5 out of 5
'Wonderful app'

'Very easy and simple to use and a joy to listen to free audiobooks! A true gift of an app'

By ang borda.
September 24, 2020
5 out of 5
'Very good audiobook'

'I enjoyed listening to this book and look forward to hearing about other fiction written by this author.'

By Lucky at Mah Jongg.
September 18, 2020
4 out of 5
'Great app'

'I love this app since you have access to thousands of books at a moments notice. Only problem i have is when books expire I
immediately lose it and it’s taken from my checkout section. And I wish there was a feature to save a book that you want to look
at later but can’t currently access due to

By Scum Bagge.
August 28, 2020
4 out of 5
'Review history of books'

'I think it will be a good idea to incorporate all the past books I’ve read. When I run out of time I forget what books I was
reading.'

By jonn687.
August 23, 2020
4 out of 5
'Needs a bookmark section for audio books'

'Desperately needs to be able to bookmark audio books!'

By Meandonlyme85.
August 23, 2020
4 out of 5
'Good quality'

'My only downside is that when I closed the app and returned to the story it doesn’t pick up where I left off but rather a
chapter or 2 behind my current location'

By Joey Baddaluca.
August 19, 2020
5 out of 5
'New Kid (required reading)'

'I wasn’t expecting the ton of emotions this book made me feel. And I certainly wasn’t expecting any tears. I’m in my
mid-40’s so maybe it’s my hormones but, that aside, I feel this is REQUIRED READING for ALL AGES, right up there with
#howtobeanantiracist but for kids or anyone no ready t

By Allison from the Bronx.
August 15, 2020
4 out of 5
A Problem

Usually, I don’t have any troubles with this app. However, due to some kind of glitch, I currently have three books that have a
download button, but when I tap the button, an error message pops up, and I can’t get rid of the books to try again. I don’t
know how to fix this.

By Relyea2.
August 11, 2020
5 out of 5
'Loved listening but..'

'There was an issue with the app not keeping tab of where I stopped listening. Many times I would have to search because it would
default to 5-10 minutes earlier. I waisted lots of time skipping forward to find where I was last. Ended up taking screen shots
at the end of my listening time so I ca

By Maidale.
August 10, 2020
4 out of 5
'Not holding onto reserved items as of 8/10/20'

'Noticed that after upgrading to the latest iPhone software and updating the app my account can no longer keep the items waiting
as reservations. Once I exit the app and return to it there’s no books at all either waiting, or available to read. It must be a
glitch, hopefully it will get fixed soon

By filmsetnyc.
August 10, 2020
5 out of 5
'Nine Dragons, M Connolly'

'Connolly’s Bosch book was excellent \nAudio version would do it total justice if Titus Welliver would read Bosch’s role
(only) to get it totally right'

By cduerre.
August 5, 2020
5 out of 5
'The Nickel Boys'

'Devastating, but written with compassion, heart and history. An incredible read for a myriad of reasons.'

By NBC NYC 2020.
July 16, 2020
5 out of 5
'How to be an anti-racist.'

'Excellent, authentic journey with the author. Left me wanting more!'

By Upthefarm.
July 11, 2020
4 out of 5
'great, but...'

'i feel silly complaining for such an amazing, free app that allows me to borrow incredible books from the library. it’s a dream
come true, so i thank you. sincerely.\n but. \ni can’t see the books i was reading! no history searches! so if i go into the app
and i’ve missed the return date by a

By bby rhno.
July 11, 2020
5 out of 5
'Fun🤟🏻'

'I love this app. It is fun and it gives you age appropriate books!\nThe one flaw is that it only gives you 20 minutes to read a
book and then you have to return the book.'

By marleyreyman.
July 10, 2020
5 out of 5
'A Great App'

'Sure it could use some tweaking as others have suggested but this app definitely gets the job done. \nI like the fact that the
system clock is accessible by just touching the middle of the screen on my iPhone 7. However, when the iPhone is in the new Dark
mode, the time and all other system informa

By RochesterNy.
July 1, 2020
5 out of 5
'How to be an Antiracist By Ibram X. Kendi'

'Ibram x. Kendi,\n Thank you for writing, “How to be an Antiracist”, I greatly appreciate this book.\nThank you so
much.\nLinda Davis'

By Flatiron63.
June 26, 2020
5 out of 5
'Many problems: pls fix'

'Honestly, I’ve got a couple problems with this app. First of all, when I’m reading a book, and go to a different tab, and
then go back to simplyE, the app restarts and I have to wait for the book to load again. I am using this app to study Chinese and
constantly have to look up words or make fl

By 卢刻思.
June 24, 2020
4 out of 5
'Great app, but needs improvement'

'I am a NYPL member and have been borrowing books through this app during the pandemic. I can’t say how much I appreciate the
chance to do this! The idea behind the app and the initiatives connected to it are fantastic, period. Still, there are some
improvements or bug fixes that I’d like to rec

By Joajos1.
June 16, 2020
5 out of 5
'It’s a good story on living through grief'

'Edward, a 12 year old boy, surviving a plane crash, muddles through life in a daze until he finds a constructive way to deal with
his grief. This book is well written and has a realistic feel of what it’s like to grieve ( having lost many family members, in
a short period of time, myself). The ps

By Jillybeansswimmer.
June 16, 2020
4 out of 5
'Awesome! But an error..'

'I used this for 4/3 months... And it’s very awesome!! I’m bad at writing reviews so I’m just gonna get straight to the
point..\n One day, I wanna read Percy Jackson and the Olympians; The Last Olympian. Yeah, I waited a long time, to read it
(reread). But once I click it, it said, “Book is

By ForeverColorz.
June 2, 2020
5 out of 5
'The Torch, The Darkness and the Future!'

'I’ve always admire Donna Brazile❤️. Thanks for writing this books. I became more familiar with the other three GEMS. You
ALL are fantastic. \n\nThis books is poignant, revealing and reassuring with choc full of highlights of historic events; inner
thoughts and soulful encouraging advice for A

By Inpursu1t.
June 2, 2020
4 out of 5
'Could Use Some Improvements'

'Overall this app is great! \n\nI wish it did have a way to view history of books borrowed/read. \nAlso, every time I close the
app or switch to another window, my book closes. It’s not a huge issue but it would be nice if the book stayed open even if you
switched to another app.'

By polarbear4snow.
May 26, 2020
4 out of 5
'Text size'

'I was loving this app until the ability to adjust the text size disappeared. Please fix it!'

By Kjshasta.
May 11, 2020
5 out of 5
'Bookmark'

'Enjoying audiobooks. Wish there was a bookmark feature.'

By readersudio.
May 10, 2020
5 out of 5
'Stealing the Show'

'I loved this book! Really helpful for those (like myself) interested in producing television. I think I was given such a
different education in entertainment growing up. I felt this book gave me a more of a well rounded understanding of the landscape
of people that have been producing incredible te

By kylebest.2020.
May 4, 2020
4 out of 5
'Love the app'

'I truly love this app. I love that all I need is my library card and I can get all the books I want right on my phone or tablet.
So easy. However since it’s digital you can’t run out of copies and since we’re in a pandemic can you just make all the
books available. Stop reservations for a whi

By Rickey86.
April 14, 2020
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
Great idea. Terrible functionality.

The downloading of books is great when it actually downloads and plays on my iPhone.

By BookReadersInHarlem.
January 17, 2021
3 out of 5
Audio books while driving and other moments

The audio book unfortunately stops and does. Not restart when interrupted by gps apps. The audio book frequently loses its placing
in between extended lags in use.

By El Cuco86.
December 30, 2020
3 out of 5
SimplyE

Keeps telling me I reached my loan limit with only one book borrowed .

By scis3561.
December 28, 2020
3 out of 5
Good privacy, hard to use

I love that we can use an ebook app that respects our privacy. But it’s not very easy to use. The lookup feature barely works,
& you can’t look up a phrase at all. It’s not clear how to switch from reading (full-page) to navigating (e.g., go to table
of contents). Overall clunky interface.

By nickname 4 reviews.
December 4, 2020
3 out of 5
Good while lasted

I think this app is being decomissioned, digital rentals no longer work for me here but the new app Libby is functioning and
beautiful.

By Firsr world problem.
October 13, 2020
3 out of 5
Don’t know

I honestly don’t know how many stars to give this app since every time I try to read a book I cannot figure out how to exit
reading it or to turn the page! All I can do is stare blankly at a white screen with the title until I give up and press the home
button to close the app. It should come with i

By girlsjustwannahavfun.
July 28, 2020
3 out of 5
Misses bookmarks in Audiobooks

There is so much I like about this app. For reading books it’s fine. For listening to audiobooks, it doesn’t remember where
you were, so you always have to spend some time trying to find the spot you were at before.

By hcforest.
July 28, 2020
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total