Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

SkySafari 6 Plus

by Simulation Curriculum Corp.
Positive
92%
critic
8%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of SkySafari 6 Plus by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of SkySafari 6 Plus written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for SkySafari 6 Plus

Reviews: 50Avg. Rating: 9.2/10

Positive reviews

4 out of 5
Love the app but for one little hiccup

I absolutely love this app. I’ve used just about every version that’s been released, and I’m very happy with it. That said,
I also love the calendar function that shows me the upcoming events but touching the button to “VIEW” the event on the map
won’t work. I hope it’s fixed soon, and I know for pe

By SippinZin.
January 3, 2021
5 out of 5
Measuring Distance option not available in SkySafa

I had the SkySafari app on my iPad and iPhone and I was interested in distances between objects. According to the Help section in
SkySafari under Sky Chart Help you can only measure distances using SkySafari Plus or SkySafari Pro.

So I upgraded to SkySafari Plus for that very feature. Guess what?

By ky905.
December 20, 2020
5 out of 5
CD43

A beautiful app; for those who love astronomy, this is a most have app. Very detailed and rasy to use. Highly recommend it. Enjoy
!

By CD1943astronomy.
December 12, 2020
5 out of 5
The best app for stargazing and more

Don’t waste your money on any other app. Spend the money on this app and you will not be disappointed. It is very good, though
not perfect, at providing accurate information regarding the piece of sky at which your device is aimed. It does suffer the
occasional hiccup with detecting the compass h

By Fd133.
December 10, 2020
5 out of 5
Improved from Great Already

Only praise for this version. One question: purchased HR diagram display and can’t find it.

By G of Maine.
November 21, 2020
5 out of 5
'Screen Jitters'

'Best astronomy app on planet earth. But my app has developed the jitters in compass mode on iphone XR. The screen shakes and the
text goes on and off. Maybe a bug. I

By Solar Engineer.
October 25, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great app!'

'Skysafari plus gives me accurate information on the sky! I use it to see what is in the sky now and also check visibilities of
upcoming celestial events. Only lacking feature that I could use would \"what satellite did I just see?\" (Identity viewed
satellites).'

By JohnntyCardinal.
October 21, 2020
5 out of 5
'Safari indeed'

'This app has brought me hours and hours of pleasure. I use it to wander our galaxy, requesting information as I go, and because
the app also slews my telescope, all I have to do is point where I’m interested in viewing and the telescope follows. Six of
five stars !\n\nOmaha Steve'

By jabberwocky555.
October 13, 2020
5 out of 5
'Very Detailed!'

'Having used stargazing apps in the past, both free and paid, this has been one of the easier, more detailed, and user friendly
apps. The video tutorials and clearly labeled icons make it super easy to navigate and personalize. I just got my first telescope
and this app makes it super easy to locate

By BigRedDest.
August 17, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great APP for Star Gazers'

'Love this APP\nTracking stars, comets and planets. Follow SpaceX and the ISS, track Hubble... Learn something new every time you
log in. Great Virtual App’s as well.'

By Imspartacus60.
July 24, 2020
5 out of 5
'Best app ever'

'This app is not just fun but a need for computer assisted astronomy'

By alexiecrespo.
June 14, 2020
5 out of 5
'Safari'

'Great astronomy application. Easy to use and search for objects.'

By twkflorida.
March 23, 2020
5 out of 5
'Open heaven'

'Love my used Meade LX200 GPS 8” telescope system.\nIt works with the Stella program system.\nAstronomy has never been
easier...\nI have a color camera connected to the eye piece into my laptop computer. I intended to join a astronomy group in South
Florida.\nStay safe and keep looking up!\nGreg C

By G. Coogle.
March 23, 2020
4 out of 5
'The Best astronomy App; Sky Week doesn’t funct

'I enjoy the Sky Safari Plus and the Free Sky Safari apps. One problem. There is no longer connection to Sky Week. To contact
anyone regarding the issue, you are sent to an off site that simply doesn’t work to get help. \nI’m hoping someone will see
the problem and fix it. It’s been down since

By 0683RWK.
March 9, 2020
4 out of 5
'Challenging but interesting'

'My daughter wanted a simple app to help her use the telescope she got for Christmas. This isn’t it; it’s much more
complicated than we were expecting. I suppose it works, and if you’re a professional astronomer it would make sense. I’m not
sure though, because we don’t understand the majo

By KatieShow.
December 28, 2019
5 out of 5
'Great app'

'Very impressed with this upgrade. I had the free version of this before and thought it was okay, nothing special. This version
really does everything. I do my image planning and future projects with it. Only reason it\'s getting 4 stars is that I can\'t get
the laptop version going. It keeps saying

By Pinzmann98.
December 24, 2019
5 out of 5
'Simply the best night sky app'

'I have been using SkySafari for almost four years now and recently added an AVX to my inventory. Using SkySafari’s scope
control has taken my hobby to the next level. Can’t say enough good about it!'

By SeaBee58.
October 13, 2019
5 out of 5
'Fantastic!'

'Can’t say enough about this incredible product! Extremely impressed.'

By dngfourr.
August 18, 2019
5 out of 5
'I see why it is the choice of most of the astrono

'I have used other star finder apps and they are great for casual viewing and learning the night sky. But, if you’ve got a
telescope and want to view a wider variety of night objects, this is a great choice. It has so many tools that help locate and log
those objects.'

By Z67gql.
August 11, 2019
4 out of 5
'Needs some polish and attention to detail'

'This app could be insanely great and well crafted if some more attention to detail was paid. As you can see from the screenshots,
the UI has a bunch of slightly janky spacing and padding issues. If these were fixed throughout the app it would feel much higher
quality.'

By BradGess.
June 19, 2019
4 out of 5
'Glitch'

'Sky safari 6 plus seems to have a glitch. The setting for horizon and sky does not work when you show grid with equatorial
coordinates. So you set horizon and sky for “opaque” or anything else and you get what you expect with grid set to horizon,
but not with any of the other 3 coordinate sys

By Davexyzzyx.
June 9, 2019
5 out of 5
'Skysafari6 plus'

'Best app for any money, glad I purchased it!'

By Starchaser46.
April 25, 2019
5 out of 5
'Still an incredible bargain'

'This app is a must-have for any astronomer. With one foot in visual and the other in imaging it gets used regularly. When on sale
it is the deal of the century. I appreciate that the add-ons haven’t been appropriated from regular features and that the
support is solid.'

By Goochland Ranger.
March 23, 2019
5 out of 5
'Amazing App'

'This continues to be one of the most useful tools I have for amateur astronomy!'

By MrMartin7.
March 17, 2019
5 out of 5
'Probably the best sky observation map out there'

'I love this app. I was looking for an app that would simulate how the planets would look, particularly the size of them using the
different optic equipment combinations for my telescope. This app has not disappointed and is now my go to app.'

By BrettJ5150.
January 17, 2019
5 out of 5
'An indispensible program'

'Whether you are planning an observing session, star-hopping to a dim and obscure planetary nebula, or simply learning more about
astronomy, SkySafari is the amateur astromer’s ultimate companion.'

By Stretchdad.
January 14, 2019
5 out of 5
'Great app!'

'I use this app almost daily on both my old iPad and newer iPhone 6s. It\'s very useful as both a learning tool and a navigation
tool to use while observing.'

By Squeezed_Rotel.
January 6, 2019
5 out of 5
'Good planning CCD camera view'

'I am impressed at being able to combine my CCD camera view and telescope optics to get a FOV. As I zoom in on a target, the FOV
maintains aspect ratio to the target. I’ve checked a few and indeed, the size of the object matches what I’ve gotten on my CCD
sensor. This is very handy for planning

By romadave.
December 5, 2018
5 out of 5
'Brilliant'

'If your into the night sky or Astronomyy at all this app is a must have.'

By bblam11.
November 14, 2018
5 out of 5
'It’s good'

'I am still figuring out how to get the best out of it, but this app is worth the cost. VERY nice for traveling to new latitudes.
Looking forward to using this app to do visual exploring of Southern Hemisphere stars.'

By k2mike.
October 1, 2018
5 out of 5
'The Best App for observations and AP :)'

'I love the app, it’s my go-to reference :)\nI use it as an aid both for visual and astrophotography.'

By th3b3s7.
September 29, 2018
5 out of 5
'Great for observation'

'I use it strapped to my scope'

By jomonline.
September 14, 2018
5 out of 5
'Best astronomy investment I’ve made!'

'This software is so intuitive and useful, I stared using many features minutes after downloading. Selection and navigation is
quick and smooth. You get a lot for the tiny price!'

By ernielaz.
September 2, 2018
5 out of 5
'Joe Porter'

'Incredible software with lots of options and features. Easy to use and provides me with quick access to astronomical events on
my IPhone X. A word to the developer’s, Keep up the good work!!!'

By Coffee Bum.
August 31, 2018
5 out of 5
'SkySafari3'

'This app is truly amazing! Can’t wait to use it with telescope via Bluetooth!'

By Jz0fp8.
August 30, 2018
4 out of 5
'Had to get a refund'

'Don’t let my experience discourage you.\nThis app is well made but I found there to be far too many buttons and settings for
what it does. I expect efficient simplicity from an iPhone app; this reminded me too much of flashy filler-based android material.
I struggled for several minutes as I wait

By Aldhissla.
August 25, 2018
5 out of 5
'Perfect App'

'Best app on the market. The information is nearly limitless and can be utilized by novice casual observer to astrophysicist.'

By wwaymer.
July 23, 2018
5 out of 5
'AAAA'

'Awesome amateur astronomers app!\n\nThey\'ve thought of everything!'

By Wisenhima.
July 12, 2018
5 out of 5
'Unable to Synch w iOptron AZMP'

'I have the latest software installed on an iOptron AZMP, and cannot synch to this version of SkySafari. I selected iOptron AZMP
and other AltAZ settings in SkySafari and entered the correct IP and subnet, but cannot connect. Tried multiple times but will
not connect. F.Y.I. the iOptron AZMP will

By Mindjog.
July 6, 2018
5 out of 5
'Fantastic app for the stars!'

'I’ve been using SkySafari + for years. I love that such a powerful App lives on my phone so I can refer to it anytime at home
or in the field.\nIt works great to control my Goto telescope for observing and astrophotography, and functions perfectly in
remote places where there is no cell coverage.

By ☄️☄️☄️☄️☄️☄️☄️☄️.
May 22, 2018
5 out of 5
'Better Than I Expected!'

'This app is smooth and powerful. I will like learning how to use this great software. During my first session SkySafari alerted
me to an HST pass. My ten-year-old observing partner and I enjoyed watching the low-angle pass on my iPhone almost as much as we
would have liked directly observing the or

By Celerondon .
May 20, 2018
5 out of 5
'THE Best'

'SkySafari Plus is simply THE best planetarium/scope control software available on the market. As an amateur astronomer, this is
one of the essential tools to enjoy the hobby to its maximum. The ability to plan observing sessions, log observations, and learn
about the universe make it indispensable.

By jjts2703.
March 6, 2018
4 out of 5
'Hard getting it to control my telescope.'

'I like the app but had a hard time getting it to control the telescope. Finally I was able to connect via the app the came with
the telescope and then this app finally started to work.'

By CrisiK.
March 5, 2018
5 out of 5
'Might be ok.....'

'Equipment is entered under “Observe”, not “Settings”.\n\nHave not found a way to import SS5 Settings/Equipment yet.'

By Qthoc.
December 25, 2017
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
I want quiet enjoyment.

Stop nagging users for reviews. Stop sending me ads for new updates.

By a person who hates app nags.
November 7, 2020
3 out of 5
Decent on fixed stars; couldn’t point to comet Neo

Search & align always nearly 40 degrees off, but good on any fixed stars - not sure what the issue is. Date & time of night
seemed O.K.

By full-of-frustration.
July 29, 2020
3 out of 5
Data out of date!

I’m still seeing SkyWeek info from the end of December 2019 and we are in April now. Also the comet is Mag 2? I thought this was
going to be fixed in the new year. Would love it if if the compass button was always in reach. Otherwise pretty good app.

By dalekvan.
April 1, 2020
3 out of 5
Crashes in AR mode

This version crashes when AR is selected!

Fix this and you get the extra star

I’d also like to see an easier way to add an object to the observing
list.

By Widget's Dad.
December 22, 2019
3 out of 5
Wifi connection problems

This could be great APP except for some limitations.
The positive is, it has a great display of the sky with many helpful tools. One of the tools I like is being able to save my DSO
viewed objects.

The however is that it is very difficult to acquire a clean link between the iPad and the Celestron

By 87NFA.
September 1, 2019
3 out of 5
Great for learning

This app is amazing visually and I love that you can point to two stars and it will tell you the distance those stars are from
each other that is awesome. But I can not get app to work well enough with my 5 se and skyq-link when it does sync right it seems
to always take the longest route to an obje

By skywatcher779.
August 9, 2018
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total