Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

SkySafari 6 Pro

by Simulation Curriculum Corp.
Positive
88%
critic
12%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of SkySafari 6 Pro by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of SkySafari 6 Pro written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for SkySafari 6 Pro

Reviews: 70Avg. Rating: 8.8/10

Positive reviews

5 out of 5
Maui Stargazing’s go to tool

I use sky safari every night while presenting deep space objects to my tour guests near the summit of Haleakala on the Hawaiian
island of Maui. Wouldn’t leave home without it!

By mauistargal.
July 20, 2021
5 out of 5
This is astonishing

I have had Starry Night Pro on Mac for many years. SkySafari is all that AND portable. The detail and sheer amount of
information is amazing. Having all of this functionality on an iPad is incredibly useful.

I first installed this on my 13” iPad Pro, assuming this would need all of that power

By naddy6969.
June 18, 2021
5 out of 5
Sky Safari Rocks !

I have been an amateur astronomer for 40 years and own a 5 inch, an 8 inch, and 10 inch ‘scopes. I drive all three around the
sky with an iPad, Wi-Fi, and Sky Safari version 5 and 6 software. I really enjoy creating observing logs with Sky Safari of my
observing sessions to compare how different obj

By Robert B. Powers.
May 21, 2021
5 out of 5
AstoundIng

While it may be expensive, this app will leave you speechless with the amount of data and its’ capabilities

By rcdancer.
April 1, 2021
4 out of 5
One of the best available - but having some proble

This is a remarkable tool and is definitely great for serious stargazers as well those new to the hobby. However, as mentioned by
others, the in-App purchases look to be very interesting, but have problems installing correctly. For instance, I purchased the
Apollo Missions add on and, despite my bes

By AmillVmill.
February 13, 2021
5 out of 5
PGC purchase won’t load

Love this app but my PGC in app purchase won’t load. The money going to Sky Safari didn’t seem to be a problem? I looked in
the forum and other people have had the exact same problem last year. Can you guys please fix?

By Jdbxjdbdjcdj.
February 5, 2021
5 out of 5
Excellent resource

Such an awesome resource. Fully customizable. I use this app everyday.

By Titoortiz.
January 31, 2021
5 out of 5
SkySafari

Awesome and easy to use by this novice astronomer!!!

By andyanatomist.
January 14, 2021
4 out of 5
Awesome! Except?

This app is great except that every time I go to use it, if I haven’t used it for a week the app won’t open and I have to
delete it and download again. I then must re-enter all my scope data. What a hassle huh? A real short coming for such a well
thought out app. Still, it beats using the controller

By Alaskaman 1963.
January 12, 2021
5 out of 5
This app is a game changer. Love it.

I’m 57 and remember the days of manually searching for objects in my telescope. Being able to select an object and hit ‘Go
To’ is just awesome.

By Charliedori102.
January 6, 2021
4 out of 5
Great App. But my telescope won’t be controlled.

I used the free version for a long time. I really like this application. I recently bought a 10’’ SCT with GoTo. I was so
looking forward to controlling the scope with my iPhone and iPad. But, I cannot get the two to cooperate. After a few hours of
trying and retrying and researching, it looks like

By CardoTheCat.
January 1, 2021
5 out of 5
Love this app

Bought this app for all the features to control a telescope lots of info available. Is pretty easy to figure out.

By chardo1.
December 31, 2020
5 out of 5
I use this every day

It's an awesome app. I use every day to look at the ecliptic and see the relative positions of the planets and moon. It is most
helpful to plan viewing at the telescope.

By Astro 38.
December 27, 2020
5 out of 5
New purchase

When purchased I thought it would appear not only on my I phone but also on my tablet?? I have upgraded twice before

By Sew020.
December 11, 2020
4 out of 5
SkySafari has always been a great app!

09 Dec 2020

SkySafari has always been a great app for observational use as well as communicating upcoming events. I use it for myself as well
as for others as a pointer for where to look for the events like yhis year’s closest conjunction between Saturn and Jupiter in
800 years.

Along with this “

By Universe Observer.
December 9, 2020
5 out of 5
I love it

I’m an amateur astronomer and astrophotographer and I use sky safari every day. It’s terrific and just what I need. It’s
easy to use and stable.

By musicalengineer.
November 15, 2020
5 out of 5
'Best astronomy app'

'Pro version: Very great tool for serious amateur astronomy. I love how you can see what the object looks like in the eyepiece.
Great for Star-hopping if you don’t have a clock drive. I also think the AR feature is amazing! You can go deep sky with this
app. Tons of options.'

By Pawn_mower (ALT Account).
October 18, 2020
5 out of 5
'A lot of features, some are hard to find'

'I needed help from the developers to turn on AR mode:\n1-enable toolbar\n2-slide it sideways to find the compass\n3-click
compass\n4-click “A/R”\n5- swipe down on screen to increase contrast to see AR in screen'

By seemstowork.
October 8, 2020
4 out of 5
'App Suggestion'

'Love this app. A suggestion to make it better, could you include an iOS 14 widget that gives quick information like moon or
planet rises or phases?'

By Todd the Wraith.
October 3, 2020
5 out of 5
'Star dreams'

'See. I grew up in the foothills east of San Diego, California. The sky is often clear enough to see many stars most of the year.
Sky & Telescope magazine makes it easy to explore the sky and follow the location of planets , stars, and comets. Now I live in
Fresno where the sky is most often shrou

By Cybernetes.
October 1, 2020
5 out of 5
'Excellent tool for astrophotography'

'Easy to use. Has it’s flaws when used as go-to, understandable due to the complexity of algorithms that are needed for such a
task, but if supervised carefully it works well. Intuitive interface easy to get along. Thumbs up!'

By J C Luque.
September 29, 2020
5 out of 5
'The best sky chart app'

'Great charts, lots of information and flexibility.'

By koc-bill.
September 24, 2020
5 out of 5
'Best planetarium app available'

'I use SkySafari Pro exclusively for mount alignment and objective location for my astrophotography projects. Much simpler than
using the Celestron hand controller. Love it!'

By Rr32509246.
September 11, 2020
5 out of 5
'Update problem'

'I updated the app and now it will not go into \n[AR] in compass mode does nothing. So now I’m using SkyPortal to view the sky
in [AR] mode. \nHopefully they will fix this new issue they created with another update very soon. The program is fantastic
otherwise easy to use, I control my telescope w

By The real Lojack.
August 31, 2020
4 out of 5
'Nice app'

'Well, thank you for the reply to my review! Unfortunately I’ll not be able to search for anything via ra. or dec. since I
don’t have that kind of scope. \n Now I know the way to ask a question and get a response is through a review.'

By I'd rather walk or even crawl.
July 28, 2020
5 out of 5
'Neowise Below Horizon and Above Horizon at the sa

'Bought SkySafari Pro. Loaded it on iPadPro 4th gen and iPhone 11 Pro Max. Asked each install to show me position of Neowise. Each
computer had identical default configurations. However, the iPhone shows it below the horizon while the iPad Pro shows it above
the horizon. What’s up?'

By ponderda.
July 19, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great Ap for amateur Astronmers'

'I purchased a Celesteon Nexsyar 8 SE about 4 years ago and loved how well Sky Safari 5 worked with it so I purchased this app.
After the telescope bit the dust and I went through telescope withdrawals I finall broke down and purchased a Celestron CPC 1100
11” scope and this app works beautifully

By Hhudson942.
July 17, 2020
5 out of 5
'Everything at your fingertips.'

'Keeping up with the latest. Information when you need it. Identifying sky objects. Great.'

By Spacecoast John.
July 16, 2020
4 out of 5
'My first time'

'Just started gazing and I thought I would give this app a try so far so good but it’s obvious I have a lot to learn with app
alone. Looking forward to the arrival of my telescope trying to get prepared for that day. Yes, I am enjoying what I have done so
far.'

By gol5150.
July 9, 2020
5 out of 5
'First rate support and creativity'

'I have been a beta tester for Simulation for two years now. The leadership of the company is fully engaged with its customer
base. They really care.'

By Capeorion.
July 5, 2020
5 out of 5
'Best You Can Buy'

'I received my doctorate in ‘86, and have catagorized this app as one that I can NOT imagine what I did without it. Granted
that all information contained is open source and available, but not so in such a portable, credible AND provides highly accurate
and VISUAL examples - with current (to the

By LosAngeles90631.
June 20, 2020
5 out of 5
'Features'

'I enjoy having all features... ability to support connection to Celestron 6SE , Celestron WiFi and Celestron StarSense using my
iPad.'

By Katchie123456.
June 14, 2020
5 out of 5
'The best Astronomy app for the blind'

'This app is fully accessible for the blind. There are other Astronomy apps that blind people use.\nHowever they are not as
accessible as SkySafari 6 Pro is. Unlike the other Astronomy apps this app allows you to study the universe and even allows you to
observe the night sky without sight.'

By cyco271.
June 7, 2020
5 out of 5
'great app'

'I happen to be blind and really enjoy skysafari 6 pro. I\'m impressed with the amount of information that the app provides on
various objects in the universe. I like the fact that skysafari 6 pro has an up to date and large database. I highly recommend
this app to anyone who is blind or sighted.'

By mikesch4.
June 5, 2020
5 out of 5
'Simply indispensable'

'This is the best, most important app that I use.'

By h in rc.
June 1, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great app'

'I’ve used this on my Android tablet, and now with my iPad Air, with great results for each. I recommend it to anyone who
observes the sky and follows stellar and planetary events.'

By jascarlson.
May 25, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great update'

'Celestron starsense auto align now works perfectly. Focus motor control is awesome to hand in phone. This app is fantastic.'

By stevetim61.
May 5, 2020
5 out of 5
'First light -Sky Safari 6 Pro'

'Have tried everything BUT Sky Safari Pro for decade + (after finding great features across several different app’s, but never
in one...), finally plunked down the $ - Sky Safari 6 Pro the best by far. Spend the extra dough and go deep get the Pro
version-no regrets here. 17.2 mag. limit works f

By Mt. Nipomo Observatory.
April 28, 2020
4 out of 5
'Pretty'

'Nice app w/ good info but beware of default setting lurking about; how thoughtless of the developers.\n\nThe HR diagram upgrade
ism’t worth it and the stars upgrade is likely only useful to those serious about very deep sky astrophotography.'

By BelayOn.
April 28, 2020
5 out of 5
Great app

It makes it easy to work with your telescope. Really saved a lot time.

By GBBJr..
April 26, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great app'

'It makes it easy to work with your telescope. Really saved a lot time.'

By ,{! !{£\*!.
April 26, 2020
5 out of 5
'Extraordinary!'

'Great app for everyone with a deep interest in the sky and everything in it. It’s all there.'

By Alarmingly alarmed.
April 24, 2020
5 out of 5
'Stars'

'This is the single best app that I have ever used! I love it.'

By JsoxxVW.
March 29, 2020
5 out of 5
'So easy to use and it runs my telescope too!'

'I have been used Sky safari for 3 years . I like the “information” feature for use at public star parties when asked
particular questions about what we are looking at. \n\nI also appreciate how easy it is to find out what is “up
tonight”\n\nI have a Starmaster 14.5” dobsonian driven by

By rlkstars.
February 28, 2020
5 out of 5
'It’s simple'

'If you like the stars.\nThere is nothing better in the store.\nPeriod.'

By xacidxburn.
January 26, 2020
4 out of 5
'Great but version 6 could have been better'

'I have been a SkySafari Pro user since version 3. As an amateur astronomer and astrophotographer, I consider this app an
essential tool for planning targets for both outreach and imaging due to the convenience of having this powerful app on my phone.
\n\nI consider this a 5 star app but am only gi

By JeffinSugarLand.
January 11, 2020
5 out of 5
'AR does not work. Now fixed!'

'App crashed every time AR is turned on. Has now been fixed! Great job by the developers'

By soundsOK.
January 6, 2020
5 out of 5
'Fantastic app, but no Starlink satellites. :('

'This is one of my favorite apps ever! It easily and reliably controls my Celestron Evolution through the telescopes wifi. Wish it
would show the SpaceX Starlink satellites though. Otherwise 5/5 A+++'

By Strooper.
January 6, 2020
4 out of 5
'Very Useful App'

'I\'m new to astronomy and using the app with a Celestron Evolution 8HD. Connecting the app to the scope using wifi, alignment, &
finding objects in the sky using the app is very simple. The app provides a ton interesting information for those wanting to
learn about the universe. The app is well

By jallen1804.
December 30, 2019
5 out of 5
'Sky safari 6 pro'

'Absolutely beautiful! So inspiring to look, read and learn!'

By Jwc9.
December 23, 2019
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
Why $40?

This app is okay, and has a lot of functionality to it, but I don’t really understand why it costs $40. There are many similar
apps for less or even free that have similar functionality. Take SkyGuide ($3 + $10 supermassive upgrade) for example, which does
just as much besides scope control as this

By brianfulda.
May 22, 2021
3 out of 5
Works when it wants to but great when it does

This app was great when I first loaded it a little over a year ago but now the connection stability is intermittent. Also, when I
turn the screen off and stick the phone in my pocket to observe a target then, turn the phone back on to use the app, reconnection
is slow and at times it will not connec

By Largo 1972.
April 29, 2021
3 out of 5
Frustrating app

My favorite planetarium app, but I’m frequently frustrated with broken features and poor interfaces. For example:
* my saved settings files for future events were trashed and the effort setting them up lost
* measure from object keeps getting broken with the display unreadable
* inconsistent interf

By W122ard0f.
March 24, 2021
3 out of 5
Nice but buggy

This is a nice program as I have used this title since the very first version came out. Just beware of purchasing the ‘add
ons’ as they sometimes do not work and you’re out the money. Not a lot but frustrating nonetheless. In particular don’t
waste your money on the HR Diagram. You’ll never see it s

By e1237m.
February 6, 2021
3 out of 5
Horrible Support

Dear Simulation Curriculum Team, please figure out how to do support right. I want to display solar system distances in miles, but
cannot figure out how to do this. Object Info shows distances in km and light time units (usually seconds or minutes). How do I
see miles? Many people on Cloudy Nights a

By Don in Frisco.
December 24, 2020
3 out of 5
It could be way better.

I have a few suggestions:

1. Can you add ability to tag up to three items. So their position can be tracked relative to each other over time? More like a
group select feature.

2. An option to select specific satellites to track would also be great rather than having the thousands available displa

By iTizzy9105.
December 10, 2020
3 out of 5
In app purchases?

I purchased all four in app add ons but the Apollo lunar missions and the PGC extensions do not install? Help please!

By stormspotter4u.
December 8, 2020
3 out of 5
6 Pro vs 5 Pro

I have both on my iPad Air 2. Been using 5 Pro since it was first offered, controlling Meade ETX-90, ETX-125, and 8” LX200GPS.
I seldom open 6 Pro... too cumbersome.

By Olgazer.
November 24, 2020
3 out of 5
Bug

I like to read the sky at certain times in history. Every time I get into observation, it resets to the current time - even after
I disable it. Please allow me to turn that off so that I may look at the sky how I want to. Thank you.

By Awesome Mogwai.
November 18, 2020
3 out of 5
Unable to use augmented reality on IPad

I cannot get the app to connect to my camera on my iPad to use the augmented reality. I have checked the settings on my iPad to
make sure the app is allowed to connect to the camera. I have uninstalled and reinstalled the app. I have swiped down on the
screen while in augmented reality to change the

By Genoafire.
August 30, 2020
3 out of 5
New version bug

With the latest release, a bug was introduced with the time/date at the bottom of the screen. There is a separate character
between the date and time. When the cursor is placed on the additional character it appears you are adjusting the hour. When you
place your cursor on the hour you are adjust

By Verry P00r design.
August 27, 2020
3 out of 5
Latest Update (26 Aug 2020)

Please check how the time is displayed. I see:
Wed Aug 26, 2020 0 05:17:34 PM

To increment by hour, you select on the 0 in front of the 05. This “new” standalone 0 should not be there. When the time
changes to 10, 11 or 12, the single digit becomes a “1”.

Date should be displayed as:
Wed Aug

By Obobo.
August 26, 2020
3 out of 5
Where's Comet Neowise 2020???

I just bought this app and I'm amazed that the new Comet Neowise is not in the database! Stellarium has it. Do I need an update???

By kbklarry.
July 25, 2020
3 out of 5
Not helpful

I love the UI, but it will not control my telescope. After buying it twice because I like the interface so much. Not very happy.

By Jamkul Magesblood.
July 19, 2020
3 out of 5
Cool app - no support except through reviews?

Keep getting a zen desk rejection on site to get support. Stuck in a loop!! Frustrating.
How does Comet NeoWise NOT make the “Tonight‘a Best” list? It’s been around since March. 😓 Wish meteor showers could be
searched by “best dates to view” them... impossible to figure out their peak from data give

By themirror.
July 18, 2020
3 out of 5
Awesome app, one of my favorites.

Amazing app that provides an unparalleled view and dataset for the night sky.

One gripe is the compass: it doesn’t seem to auto-calibrate when app starts, and is often off by 30-50 degrees due to drift. I
must first run apple’s compass app to recalibrate, then restart sky safari.

Update: the compa

By avi155.
July 3, 2020
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total