Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

Slay the Spire

by Humble Bundle
Positive
80%
critic
20%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of Slay the Spire by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of Slay the Spire written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for Slay the Spire

Reviews: 71Avg. Rating: 8/10

Positive reviews

4 out of 5
'A great game but the port needs a bit of work'

'I original found this game on PC when it was featured on Xbox Gamepass. It’s a great strategy deck building game. I’m not
usually a fan of deck building games in general but the way this game handles deck management works for me and it makes every run
unique. There is a ton of replay value.

By Nilus.
August 7, 2020
5 out of 5
'Tiny bit buggy, but this game is incredible.'

'Had this game originally on Steam, but once I saw it was on iOS, I had to have it. I read in many reviews here that people have
had issues with bugs and crashes, but I haven’t noticed anything that’s even close to a deal breaker. Sometimes the game
won’t boot if my phone is on Low Power mode,

By Drew Fields.
August 7, 2020
4 out of 5
'Same great game just needs a tweak'

'I absolutely love Slay The Spire and currently have it downloaded on my phone, Xbox, and PC (a bit overkill I know, but I love
it). The only thing keeping me from giving 5 stars is the fact that there is no function that allows you to “focus” on your
hand. If the devs could add a feature that p

By Boss dude gametag.
August 7, 2020
4 out of 5
'Please fix card display and audio play through'

'Game is great and a lot of fun. App is a bit pricey but quickly proved to be worth the price. Curious to see how I feel in a
month as 4 characters and 3 levels max during normal play could burn out quick.\n\nAs others mention the way you view cards could
use some work and frequently results in the

By EaseyEase.
August 6, 2020
4 out of 5
'Needs bigger text'

'Straight up porting a big screen game to a tiny screen makes my old eyes hurt.'

By niz5000.
August 6, 2020
4 out of 5
'Fix music playback'

'Love this game. Can’t get enough. But is it too much to ask to be able to listen to music and play at the same time?! Game
settings need an option to disable the game’s audio playback entirely: NOT just lower the volume to 0%, because that still kicks
Spotify off the audio feed. \n\nAlso, in-co

By mmjarks.
August 4, 2020
4 out of 5
'Just 1 Issue'

'The game is fantastic, but I can tell it wasn’t initially a mobile release, which I confirmed after reading some reviews. The
card select and small text UI didn’t fit the mobile scene. You can tell it was just refitted.\n\nMy issue with the game is how
clunky it is to select or cycle between ca

By xTheLostSinner.
August 3, 2020
4 out of 5
'Please Make Quality of Life Update'

'It’s awesome being able to play slay the spire on my phone! However basic UI changes need to be made. Larger font sizes and
better use of space is desperately needed. It seems like this won’t get an update since the last update was 4 weeks ago, but if
any developer is reading please consider do

By thanksadrienforthefuntimes.
August 3, 2020
5 out of 5
'I love it and can’t stop playing'

'I don’t have much more to say really, it’s a great game worth every penny and I don’t see myself buying anything else in
some time.'

By Viejomanti.
August 3, 2020
5 out of 5
'Unplayable'

'Button mapping is lacking. Frame rate is terrible and now the app won’t open. 10/10 Highly Recommend.'

By A Bloons TD fan.
July 31, 2020
4 out of 5
'Great Way to play needs bug fixes'

'The game runs great compared to the PC version. The only issue is that occasionally it will not open and always crashes upon
startup. The only way to fix this is to delete and reinstall which wipes all data.'

By Upum.
July 31, 2020
4 out of 5
'Great game. Mediocre port'

'The touch controls feel awkward. Especially with the iOS gesture at the bottom of the screen where your cards are. It’s also
frustrating to tap on a specific card when they are so small.'

By Patrick!!!!!!!.
July 29, 2020
4 out of 5
'Almost There'

'This game is one of the best out there for its style and mechanics. I cannot recommend it enough to anyone who is into deck
builder/roguelite games!\n\nThat being said, this iOS port feels like some lazy shortcuts were made to quickly get it onto the
App Store.\n\nPrimarily, the way the controls w

By milochondria.
July 29, 2020
4 out of 5
'Please let me listen to my own music'

'I love this app. Please add a mute button so that I can listen to something else while I play!'

By Sylh_.
July 28, 2020
4 out of 5
'Ui adjustments needed!'

'Only thing that makes this not 100% awesomeness is simply that the cards don’t display full text properly, it makes it a bit of
a pain to sit and try to see the card text. Especially on an iPhone screen, I’ve been confused about card properties and miss
fired card plays quite a bit...... other

By Masterkholio.
July 28, 2020
4 out of 5
'Magnificent card game'

'Absolutely amazing port. Everything is perfect, minus the swiping up for home on iphone being in the same place as the cards. Its
constantly a problem. Id also really like to suggest adding the ability to see the upgraded version of cards in end battle
rewards/shops. Thanks for all the hard work ge

By EvanM518.
July 26, 2020
4 out of 5
'Game crashes Day 2'

'It could have been an easy 5/5 for me. I love StS PC and was looking forward to the iPhone version. Despite the negative reviews
about UI and crashes, I still paid $10 (at least it’s cheaper than PC). Day 1 was great. UI indeed needs improvement but I
believe the publisher will resolve it sooner

By Fengyikong.
July 25, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great Game'

'I haven’t experienced a single crash, they’ve all been fixed. I\nLots of fun, I’ve been playing for a while now and had a
blast.'

By Patch9900.
July 25, 2020
4 out of 5
'Good! Needs ProMotion support...'

'I want to be able to customize performance settings a bit more! I shouldn’t be stuck at 30fps on an iPad Pro.'

By flottskitty.
July 24, 2020
4 out of 5
'Very fun but too small on phone'

'This is pretty much a straight port of the PC game. The game itself is addictive and very fun. I like being able to just spend
the time for one or two battles and set it down until later. As a PC port, the text on the cards is too small to read on a phone.
On my iPhone XS I have to squint and ho

By jeffl24.
July 23, 2020
5 out of 5
'The worst Version of the best card game'

'As someone who has over 2000 hours into Slay the Spire on steam, I was delighted to see that it finally came to mobile, and while
its not a perfect port by any means, it may still be the best bang for your buck on the entire App Store. There are bugs still,
and crashes, the UI is not as polished as

By DreamingBi.
July 23, 2020
5 out of 5
'Don’t buy if you need cloud save'

'Giving it 5 stars because it doesn’t seem likely to show reviews otherwise. Otherwise, I would have given it a 3 for not making
this distinction more clear. The game itself is a 5, but with the execution on iOS without this feature a 3 at best.\n\nThis game
is amazing, but DO NOT BUY IT ON THIS P

By Gerardox94.
July 23, 2020
4 out of 5
'Amazing game, needs iCloud syncing'

'This is an amazing game, but it’s a game where you build progress over time, and because of that I really wish it would sync to
iCloud so I can play from my iPhone or my iPad and pick up where I left off, regardless of device.'

By DigiSage.
July 22, 2020
5 out of 5
'My favorite version of a great game'

'I thought Slay the Spire was great on the Switch, but I’m enjoying it even more on the iPad: I like playing it on a larger
screen, I like the touch mechanics, and I carry around my iPad more than I do my Switch. I agree with other people’s complaints
about it being a little hard to deselect ca

By David Carlton.
July 21, 2020
4 out of 5
'Awesome game, fairly decent port'

'Gameplay is good and works reasonably well even on my iPhone 6. Good sound, performance, etc. \n\nCouple issues that keep it from
being five stars though. First and foremost is I can’t listen to other music or podcasts while I play. This is something that
should be standard on all mobile games, b

By myrontaslov.
July 20, 2020
5 out of 5
'So Fun!'

'This game is challenging, but not in a frustrating way. It’s a rogue-like, so you have to have the mindset going in that you
will fail lol. It’s more of a “How far can I get this time?” sort of game. \n\nThe card selection from your hand each round
can be fiddly. Hopefully that’s improved

By xraydash.
July 18, 2020
4 out of 5
'I love this game but I can’t play it'

'I love this game but lately whenever I try playing it it crashes at the loading screen, Iv tried turning my phone off and on and
still no luck. Please fix this bug so I can get back to playing'

By 👉👌Swagdaddylol.
July 17, 2020
5 out of 5
'Please add cross save for iPad and iPhone!!'

'Please for the love of god add cross save! Also the app seems somewhat poorly optimized, buttons are very small on iPhone. Game
is absolutely amazing tho so 5 stars lol'

By derelick123.
July 15, 2020
5 out of 5
'Welp.'

'I really love the game so I’m really disappointed that it keeps crashing on startup now. 😅 Hopefully it gets fixed soon.
I’m using an iPhone 6S on iOS 12.4.7 if that helps to find the problem.\n\nEDIT: Never mind, it was my own phone that was the
issue. Back to 5 stars, a lovely game.'

By Shepic01.
July 15, 2020
5 out of 5
'Masterpiece'

'I don’t review often but this game is deserving. I own this on PC and have a couple hundred hours into it. Fantastic game.
Mechanics are solid and expertly intertwine with each other. It’s a rogue-like deck building dungeon crawler. The bosses are
well designed and enemy encounters are varied w

By TheBurninBeaver.
July 15, 2020
5 out of 5
'Love it'

'This game is legit. Definitely worth the asking price and at a much cheaper price point than what is on consoles. Becoming a
quick favorite on my mobile device.'

By Saiyan_Yugi.
July 14, 2020
5 out of 5
'Instant buy'

'This is one of my favorite games on Steam. I can’t believe they successfully ported this to iOs. I saw it and bought it, then
saw that I only spent $10 (win). \n\nI put in 150 hours on Steam, and it took me 57 to 100% the achievements again on iPhone.
It’s a hard game that you need to spend tim

By DeBellM.
July 13, 2020
5 out of 5
'Perfect port'

'Runs great on iPhone 8+. I have had zero issues with crashes. Plays perfectly.'

By Lionofthenorth.
July 13, 2020
4 out of 5
'Great Game That Doesn’t Work'

'Game opens up a screen then freezes and eventually crashes. I’ve tried reinstalling with no luck. When it did work I was
enjoying it.\n\nEdit...changed my review as the game has fixed itself. It’s a 5 star game but with the mobile issues and minor
ui problems I went with 4 and would suggest

By Bark spawn.
July 13, 2020
4 out of 5
'Great game with some ux issues'

'I have been really enjoying this game. It\'s perfect for playing on the iPad. However, the experience of playing cards can be
frustrating. \n\nSome issues I had while playing:\n- I can\'t see the stats for all the cards at once, so I have to tap a card one
at a time, to see the stats. \n- When view

By Df245.
July 12, 2020
4 out of 5
'Great game but sometimes doesn’t load'

'On iPad sometimes it sticks to the opening screen for about 15 seconds and then crashes but when it works it’s a very fun game'

By Br0ny555.
July 12, 2020
5 out of 5
'Slay the Spire with some bugs'

'What can I say, it’s Slay the Spire. One of, if not the best deck building game on the market. One bug Id like to mention is
when I try to enable beta card art, it acts as though I’m tapping the background and just awkwardly scrolls down. Just an
unfortunate aesthetics glitch I guess so I’ll

By 666 Satan hill dr..
July 10, 2020
5 out of 5
'This is it!'

'I have been playing Slay the Spire since it was in beta, and it still holds as one of my favorite games, if not my outright
favorite. The mobile version is not quite perfect, but the bugs it has don’t affect the quality of the idea or the player’s
performance. This is a fantastic medium for the

By Aristo5.
July 9, 2020
5 out of 5
'I feel scammed'

'I’m a huge fan of this game and play it on console all the time. I figured I would get it on mobile and play it on the go just
for it to not even be able to start up. All I see is the startup screen then it crashes. Now I’m short 10 bucks and a game,'

By KorbSauce.
July 9, 2020
5 out of 5
'The best of its genre.'

'One of the best deck building rogue-like games. How can I give you more than just $10 to keep you in business?? (But as others
have mentioned, could definitely use a bit of UI work. Some things are a little rough to do on the phone.)'

By vladoman.
July 8, 2020
4 out of 5
'Great game'

'Only thing I need for 5 stars is the ability to listen to my music/podcast app while playing. I love the game. Thanks for porting
it.'

By Jurrbbe.
July 7, 2020
5 out of 5
'Excellent port. A few adjustments needed'

'Thanks for brining the game to iOS. It’s been a long wait. Aside from the small text, even with the larger text option on,
using my SE2, the only other adjustments I’d like to see implemented are an easier way to navigate cards. Perhaps offer a few
different options for selecting them. I’ll l

By slimtrimkid.
July 7, 2020
4 out of 5
'Anyone know how to check your seed?'

'Great game, really fun, and of course has its flaws, but that aside, how do you check your seed? I know how to type seeds in but
how do you check the seed of your current run?'

By potato312.
July 7, 2020
4 out of 5
'Great game, but need to fix the \"shaky cam\"'

'Very well done, with myriad card combos, and replayability. Selecting a card is like trying to pick it out of a jar of oil
though. Please fix this, like Pirates Outlaws. Those cards are easy to read and select.'

By topdeckgames.
July 6, 2020
5 out of 5
'Bought for the third time'

'This was my third time buying this game, and its still worth the full asking price each time I’ve paid it. Keep at it devs,
more characters or cards, maybe a new area. You release DLC and you’ve got my money, based on history probably three times.'

By Jple88.
July 6, 2020
5 out of 5
'My favorite roguelike game'

'Had played on PC for over 2000 hrs and I’m so glad to see the IOS coming out!\nA game that can be played over and over! Keep
the good effort going!\nFYI, there is a bug with relic membership card, can’t buy it, please fix!'

By Pokemon Nooooo.
July 5, 2020
4 out of 5
'Great game, lacking accessibility.'

'TLDR:\nAwesome game (6 stars). Terrible port (-2 stars).\n\nPoor framerate, very small text, extremely small hit targets for
potions, maps, etc, finicky touch controls which often invoke swipe-up-to-go-home accidentally when dragging cards up onto the
playing field, no cloud saves, no cross-device

By YoMaster.
July 3, 2020
4 out of 5
'B+ port of an A+ game'

'The user interface is slightly clunky, and I find myself accidentally fat-fingering the wrong buttons sometimes, and very rarely
I’ll accidentally play a card without intending to. But Slay the Spire is still an amazing game that I’m extremely happy to
have in my pocket.'

By OrneryOstrich.
July 3, 2020
4 out of 5
'Glitch'

'My game keeps crashing . I don’t want my data to be gone. See how to fix this ASAP'

By Bawler2141.
July 2, 2020
4 out of 5
'Excellent but 1 suggestion'

'I have played for hours now but if I can count how many times I’ve accidentally played a card and ruin a run it would be more
than 50\n\nPlease find a fix for this.. it mainly happens when I answer a call or just looking at my hand with a lot of cards'

By RicardoEstrada2021.
July 2, 2020
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
'Yawn'

'Game is basic. Play the same boring cards over and over again against the same enemies over and over again until you win some
incremental power-up you’ll never notice, repeat. So disappointing.'

By Matt Nilton.
August 7, 2020
3 out of 5
'Low FPS and unbalanced button sounds, but otherwi

'The sound balance on the buttons is way off compared to the PC version, and the frame rate seems like 15 FPS sometimes, but
it’s playable. If they could up the FPS to 45-60 and fix the sounds I’d buy it for everyone I met.'

By TH3HCK3ABL3.
July 31, 2020
3 out of 5
'Won’t Load :/'

'I own this game on my Nintendo switch and it is by far one of the most entertaining, addictive, and strategic card game I have
EVER played. However, I’m not sure if anyone else has this problem, but it won’t start up on my iPhone. The loading screen
pops up, and around 30 seconds later it bring

By Nicholas Velazquez.
July 31, 2020
3 out of 5
'Fix the controls'

'The game itself is excellent. The iOS port is pretty much crap. UI is core and this app fails to deliver. You will play cards you
don’t want to, even after hours of playing. There’s no developer support button to report bugs. You may not play outside audio
without workarounds.\n\nBy the way, to

By Strategy Builder.
July 30, 2020
3 out of 5
'Music'

'Let me listen to podcasts or music while I play.'

By Requash.
July 30, 2020
3 out of 5
'No background music.'

'This game like many others won’t allow me to listen to spotify while I play. That’s a deal breaker for me. Loved the game on
PC though. I’ll be back if they patch it to allow background apps to play music over it.'

By Ben c. from philly.
July 21, 2020
3 out of 5
'Please fix the card view!'

'Love the game on my switch, but on IOS you can’t see what the cards do unless you select them and then you will often
inadvertently execute it.'

By Ohsirus.
July 18, 2020
3 out of 5
'Great game'

'... but just play it on desktop. I\'d always loved the game, but regret my purchase immediately when I realized how difficult the
touch screen is on my tiny phone. Would loved to have seen a new UI to go with the port, but unfortunately it really is just a
quick port-over'

By lucodyne.
July 13, 2020
3 out of 5
'Great game, iOS port needs work'

'I’ve sunk an embarrassing number of hours into the PC version of Slay the Spire, and I was overjoyed when I learned it was
coming to iOS. However, there are several annoyances with the iOS version:\n1. I can’t listen to music or podcasts while I play.
Even with all the sound effects and music t

By N4kto.
July 13, 2020
3 out of 5
'Text is Tiny'

'I was excited to play this game, but the text on my iPhone 11 Pro is just too tiny to read comfortably. There is a lot of empty
space that could be used to increase the font size as well as the buttons and links. The touch targets are also small.'

By tswilson21.
July 9, 2020
3 out of 5
'No save state, after reinstalling the app?'

'Please make a way to keep the save state; of the app after I delete and reinstall it.\n\niCloud support or sometting\n\nYou can
copy baldurs gate save state mechanism; were you copy a code from text, and it takes you to that save state'

By kchango.
July 8, 2020
3 out of 5
'Same wonderful StS, just needs optimization for t

'This is without a doubt a five star game. Fun and creative with endless replay value. Hundreds of hours in the steam version has
proven that.\n\nThe port to iOS has drawbacks, however. Cloud sync is important, so I hope that is added soon. Card selection
while playing feels imprecise. The cards don

By Ksosei.
July 8, 2020
3 out of 5
'Game loads but only when battery saver mode is of

'I love the Slay the Spire, and currently play it on Xbox, PC, and Switch. I want to love the iOS version too, but there are a lot
of bugs and downsides to it. The text is not optimized for mobile, neither is the interface, the frame rate is low, and there’s
no iCloud syncing. It also has crashing

By Rivalsan.
July 7, 2020
3 out of 5
'Great game but not ideal in this state'

'This is really a great game that i also have on steam that i love. It’s really upsetting that i spent $10 and opened it to find
that you cant listen to other music or podcasts while playing the game. Plz fix'

By Theronk98.
July 7, 2020
3 out of 5
'Great game, mediocre port'

'I loved StS on Switch, and was super excited to try it on mobile. The game mechanics are great and it’s easy to lose hours in
this game. The iOS port could use some work, however. Like others have mentioned, screen real estate could be better utilized,
card selection could use some tweaking for t

By Yoshgee.
July 6, 2020
3 out of 5
'Great Game, Not a Good Port'

'After putting hours into this game I’m still making mistakes due to terrible controls. Take a lesson from hearthstone on how to
look at cards in hand pls!'

By Wood rest.
July 3, 2020
3 out of 5
'Changes need to be made'

'I find the game is a challenge but it’s too random you need a lot of luck and you don’t unlock the 4th character very easy.
Need a mode set where it’s easy so you can get all the characters because the game difficultly goes up each act exponentially
rather then gradually.'

By FFt!!.
July 3, 2020
3 out of 5
'Fix bug plz'

'I like the game a lot but it crashes when I am on low battery mode'

By pastheender.
July 2, 2020
3 out of 5
'Fantastic game, but the port need work'

'Slay The Spire is a great game but I kind of regret buying it on iOS. Having it on the go with devices I almost always have with
me is great, but there’s just too many issues with actually playing the game on a touchscreen for me to actually want to do so.
\nFor starters, it is basically impossib

By wheresthesearchfunction.
July 1, 2020
3 out of 5
'Crashes'

'The game just crashes when I try and open it. When it was working it is a fun and enjoyable game, but as of now I can’t even
get to the main screen without it crashing.'

By Komrad5639.
July 1, 2020
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total