Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

Slay the Spire

by Humble Bundle
Positive
86%
critic
14%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of Slay the Spire by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of Slay the Spire written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for Slay the Spire

Reviews: 136Avg. Rating: 8.6/10

Positive reviews

5 out of 5
Perfect strategy game

This is an amazing game. The complexity and strategy is second to none. Easily my favorite strategy game.

By nicd.
April 8, 2021
5 out of 5
mini ipad4 ios13.6 game crash!

mini ipad4 ios13.6 game crash!

By mty1975.
April 2, 2021
4 out of 5
Fun game, beta art hard to access

The option to turn the beta art on is hard to tap because of the way it unfocuses on the card when you tap outside the card art

By Murfykiddo.
March 26, 2021
4 out of 5
Love it

I have multiple versions of Sts but I play the app version the most. Love the content and game only issues I find is a issue on my
iPhone X where I can’t turn on the beta art since it brings up the swipe up short cut on IOS would be nice if that was moved up
a little more maybe even to the bottom of

By Snipes3563.
March 17, 2021
5 out of 5
Best deck building rogue like game out there

Absolute 11/10 would recommend any Binding of Isaac or Enter The Gungeon players to download and immerse yourself into this game.
I find myself playing this CONSTANTLY. I literally can’t stop.

By UTF6Eliite.
March 16, 2021
5 out of 5
Phenomenal

Great integration only a few problems like choosing cards to play during combat may be hard sometimes due to the card being sticky
and when clicking might accidentally play an adjacent card. Besides that the game is incredible and well made

By Gravitycat200.
March 15, 2021
4 out of 5
I cannot believe I spent $10 for blade dance to gi

Blade dance should give three shivs, just like the computer version???!!! Devs please <3

By Babokhan.
March 6, 2021
5 out of 5
Great!

Bought this game twice for my PC and IOS. Can’t suggest it enough.

By Daltron5000.
February 19, 2021
5 out of 5
Surprisingly Fun

I remember first seeing Hearthstone Streamers TrumpSC and Firebat post videos of this game on YouTube, and it looked pretty cool.
Take note that I am I Hearthstone Player. I take this game to be like a Dungeon Run themed, as seen in one of Hearthstone’s
Adventures, Kobolds and Catacombs.

When I fi

By DaGuy Vikavolt.
February 15, 2021
4 out of 5
Great game but some issues

I love this game and it plays well on my phone, however there was one issue I haven’t been able to solve.
After you unlock beta art, I’m unable to click on the “beta art” box below cards. Idk if it’s because of the way iPhone
screens are set up (the bottom is where you scroll up to leave the game)

By CrazyJMiles66.
February 6, 2021
5 out of 5
Quite literally the best $10 I have ever spent

I have never been so addicted to a mobile game.

By carmela soprano.
February 2, 2021
4 out of 5
Awesome port

A great port for a great game. I love being able to play it on the go. My only beef is that I can’t listen to any music apps
while playing.

By Mcjugger.
January 26, 2021
4 out of 5
Favorite iOS Game!

I really wish the touch UI was a little stronger. For instance, selecting cards will hide the card description off the bottom of
my iPhone 11 until I “re-select” it correctly. Also the potions are hard to select from being so small. I really enjoy the
game and I hope they can make some changes for a

By armedpatriots.
January 19, 2021
5 out of 5
Whole Family Is Obsessed

There are four people in our family and all of us have been obsessed with this game for two months now. It’s on every device and
counsel we have, an independent purchase for each we’re more than happy to make.

By SpireWire.
January 18, 2021
4 out of 5
Great game, doesn’t keep up with updates it gets o

I love the game. I play it on both PC and on my iPhone and the experience is nearly the same with the exception of a couple quirks
the mobile version has. The big problem I have with the mobile version is that it doesn’t keep up with updates. There was a
balance update for Slay the Spire on pc two o

By Dredreey.
January 16, 2021
5 out of 5
It’s a back hole of free time! LOVE IT

I am a traditional board gamer and not so much into video games. I love deck builders (like Hero Realms, Thunderstone Quest) and
this was recommended by a board gamer.

And man! this doesn’t disappoint. The satisfaction of building your deck and you progress is amazing. Smooth gameplay, great
graph

By Mercury2wo.
January 15, 2021
4 out of 5
Best Card Rouguelike

I want to change this review to 5 stars and I will as soon as I can export/import a save file or sync with iCloud

By jonnyjakejacobson.
January 12, 2021
5 out of 5
5stars

I realized I’ve been playing this game for two months straight so I ought to give it what it deserves

By We Healthy.
January 7, 2021
4 out of 5
Just shy of perfection

Fantastic game but some annoyances due to being a somewhat naive PC port. Would love to see a UI overhaul for touch, larger fonts
(or at least the option for it), etc. The game itself on the other hand is a solid 5*—absolutely fantastic. Only gripe with the
game is that it hasn’t updated alongside P

By TLRster.
December 27, 2020
5 out of 5
The perfect roguelike card game for mobile.

I’ve got way too many hours on this game.

By Hrothgarland.
December 27, 2020
5 out of 5
One of the best games ever

I have about 600 hours into the pc version so I also got it on my phone. It would have been nice if my progress could have moved
over but it was nice to have an easy time running through all of the ascensions. I cannot recommend this game enough.

By genericname1234567890.
December 27, 2020
4 out of 5
I need CLOUD SAVE!!!!!

Since there is no CLOUD SAVE, I must start a new archive after upgrading to new iPhone. It’s really a nasty experience!!!!

By xmikufan.
December 25, 2020
4 out of 5
Can’t switch to beta art due to touch controls

Love the game but it’s a real bummer to complete the spire with a character and unlock the beta art for cards, only to not be
able to switch them out. Tried many times using different methods and adjusting/rotating the screen, but no matter what I do when
I try to select the box for the beta artwork

By Brisashi.
December 16, 2020
5 out of 5
I don’t get the hate

It’s a fantastic game and i’ve put in already 20 hours in between 2 weeks, fun, easy to pick up but hard to put down. My
girlfriend hates it when i play but it’s because it’s an incredibly thought provoking game. It’s infinite possibilities of
synergies with different cards is fantastic. From doing

By Zc player.
December 13, 2020
4 out of 5
Wonder game! Please let me listen to my podcast

I love this game. I have purchased it on my PC, my Nintendo switch, and on iPhone.There’s a little bit of quirkiness here and
there when it comes to the touchscreen interface. For instance sometimes when I’m trying to switch to a different card I’ll
end up playing a car to play or something like tha

By JameyWeare.
December 11, 2020
5 out of 5
Well designed deck builder game

Discovered this gem on Xbox gamepass. Happily paid the $10 to be able to play this on the go. Fun, engaging and deep gameplay with
lots of replay value. So on to the shortcomings that I hope will be remedied.

The most glaring is the game's pausing whatever I happen to be listening to in favor of i

By Fly like a choppa.
December 7, 2020
5 out of 5
Rating should be much higher

The main complaints I’m seeing is a suboptimal port which is fair but we are talking about one of the best games ever in my
opinion and we got almost the exact same game as I’ve played so many hours on PC so I’m willing to overlook not being
optimized for mobile. Anyway, mobile optimized games usual

By Tayorama.
December 4, 2020
4 out of 5
Wonderful game! Controls need polish

I’ll change it to five stars if controls get fixed. The game itself is amazing. Already logged a ton of hours in this.

Cards tend to stick to your finger when they shouldn’t . Still very playable but you have to get used to it.

By Bec546.
December 1, 2020
5 out of 5
Chinese please!!!!!

I hope I can enjoy this game at China mainland.

By emSteve.
November 26, 2020
5 out of 5
Fantastic but it’s still just on mobile.

Love Slay the Spire to death. Been playing it for a while now. Love that I can play on the go, but I gotta say I am a little salty
that I lost my last boss fight due to the phone misreading what I wanted to do and getting me killed. Oh well.

By UntouchedSack.
November 20, 2020
5 out of 5
The best IOS game I’ve ever had

The quibbles some have dinged this for are truly negligible. It’s infinitely replayable and addictive fun. If you haven’t
played this game, get it:).

By :)P.
November 18, 2020
4 out of 5
Desperately needs controller support 🙏

This game desperately needs control of support (much like all other ports of this game already have)
In this case, as an alternative, especially due to the frustrating and unintuitive touch controls.

By trytobereasonable.
November 6, 2020
4 out of 5
Amazing, Perfect Game: PLEASE fix controls

I love this game, but the touch controls need some attention. Please address and this review jumps to a perfect 5 stars!!!

By Scrutape.
November 1, 2020
5 out of 5
Great game app needs change

I don

By Acandybenis.
October 27, 2020
5 out of 5
A keeper

Took me a while to appreciate just how deep this game is. Even with only 4 classes, each run is unique thanks to game-changing
artifacts and rare cards. It’s possible to set up ridiculous combos that kill a boss in 1 turn. I greatly appreciate the ability
to unlock new cards over time. My biggest co

By Lingrush24.
October 24, 2020
5 out of 5
'The only thing the iPhone is good for.'

'Great application for a garbage device.'

By Aereaux.
October 23, 2020
5 out of 5
'Best game of 2020'

'This game is the best game I

By Chevron77.
October 21, 2020
4 out of 5
'Fun Strategy Card Game'

'Hard, but satisfying. Really needs cloud save or you will lose progress when upgrading devices.'

By TresChikon.
October 16, 2020
5 out of 5
'Amazingly fun, a few minor tweaks and it will be

'This game is dangerously addictive in how much fun it is. My work productivity took a bit of a hit for a few days when I first
got it. It has tremendous replayability as every time you play it will be different and you can play around a lot with how you
play it. I have a few minor quibbles that wou

By Ugthar.
October 8, 2020
4 out of 5
'Game = Awesome, Port = Needs work'

'I don’t think I have to spend a lot of time saying how great StS is right? It’s the best deck builder available and one of
the all time best games ever made. The port is less than optimal and I just wanted to throw my hat in talking about it so
hopefully the devs can improve it in an update.

By Ocv28.
October 7, 2020
5 out of 5
'My new hyperfixation'

'Text could be a bit bigger, but other than that it’s perfect'

By Catiebug52.
October 2, 2020
4 out of 5
'Really great game, could use some changes'

'Would really like an easier way to read cards during a match on my iPhone. If I click a card it would be nice if it signed itself
out for easy reading.\n\nA wish list item, make the game playable in portrait mode.\n\nI’ll change to a five star review if the
cards were easier to read.'

By Syrik_Zero.
September 28, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great Game'

'Pay once play forever. Tons of replay value and I play it all the time.'

By puritan.
September 28, 2020
4 out of 5
'Great game, bad UI'

'The game is fantastic and addictive, but the deck UI needs some love. Card selection and viewing is very wonky, and on more than
a few occasions has caused me to use the wrong card. It should be a slide out drawer or something. I dunno, but it needs to be
improved.'

By Mac addict 42.
September 28, 2020
5 out of 5
'Slay the Spire on mobile baby!'

'I’d already played this game to death on console so I was really excited to find out that it was on mobile as well. However,
after reading some reviews and posts, I heard that the game had issues with crashing and bad UI, which was concerning enough to
make me put off buying it for a while...\n..

By Claire000000.
September 23, 2020
5 out of 5
'The Quintessential Mobile Game'

'Slay the Spire is a masterpiece and is a perfect fit for the mobile platform. Astounding depth with its seemingly endless card
synergies and its incredible replay-ability make it a must have for both short breaks at work and long flights. Definitely a
worthwhile investment.'

By ToroyanRS.
September 19, 2020
5 out of 5
'The best offline game available'

'I’ve literally spent 500+ hours on this game. Great for a long plane ride. Or playing with the kids. Just flawless execution.'

By bdldev.
September 17, 2020
4 out of 5
'Ui is wonky'

'Own this game on every platform. An amazing game and I have over 700+ hours on it. \nThis port needs better card selection UI.
The buggy card being stuck in foreground when trying to select a different card is pretty annoying. Trying to read a card but the
card keeps showing only 3/4 of the text. \

By Prof lesBehonst.
September 14, 2020
4 out of 5
'Crashes'

'Love this game great game, but it keeps crashing and I have to delete and reinstall to fix it resulting in a loss of all progress
each time please fix this issue it loads in and just has a picture of the spire then 30 secs go by and the game closes please fix
I wanna play and run ascension'

By Luryn3.
September 13, 2020
4 out of 5
'phenomenal game, bad port'

'i have around 500 hours in slay the spire on steam. it’s my go to time wasting game, between meetings or phone calls i can
squeeze a few minutes in during the day, so i was ELATED to see it come to mobile. \n\nunfortunately, the gameplay didn’t hold
up. the UI, which is clean and well designed

By Trey Tayloe.
September 12, 2020
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
We need updates!

It’s so hard to play different versions on PC and iPad

By NoaaaaahR.
March 14, 2021
3 out of 5
Needs iCloud support!

iPad is my preferred method of playing the game, but this makes the app on iPhone useless. Please add iCloud save support!

By tag009.
March 5, 2021
3 out of 5
Difficult to play this excellent game on the iPhon

I enjoy Slay the Spire on my laptop and it seems a perfect fit for a mobile game. Card-based games usually work well because the
screen is the appropriate size. Reading earlier reviews I saw this wasn’t a perfect port but I figured I’d adapt.

The first problem is you can’t import progress from oth

By Jon Ericson.
March 5, 2021
3 out of 5
Update?

Great game but why hasn’t the iOS version been updated yet? If we spent money for the game we can at least get the update...

By ArmadaKing66.
March 2, 2021
3 out of 5
Needs to be updated

I love this game and I have put over 100 hours on it on Steam but the current iOS version needs to be updated to be the same as
the pc and android versions. The last time this game has been updated was 7 months ago at the time of this review.

By Jeff Jeff3001.
February 22, 2021
3 out of 5
Great Game, crappy port

If you must play Slay the Spire (and I highly recommend that you do - It is a great game), play it on a PC or game console.

This is a textbook example of how not to port a game to a phone. True, it looks just like console version, but that is the
problem. Most of the controls are far too small, an

By thalter.
February 14, 2021
3 out of 5
Bug

Can’t play background music while playing the game, is a good game tho fix that issue and 5 stars

By 9638528528639.
February 12, 2021
3 out of 5
Can’t play background music while playing

I’ve very much enjoyed this game. It’s challenging with the right mix of randomness and calculated decision making. There’s
a tiny bit of clunki-ness with playing cards. Occasionally, I will play a card unintentionally when trying to read the card text
or see what the damage to an enemy will be. But

By Kenton S..
February 7, 2021
3 out of 5
Update???

5 star game with 2 major and 1 minor issues.
1) I don't know if it's apple or the developers, but waiting 5 to 6 months + for an update that has already taken place on pc and
established in the Android release is unacceptable.
2) while tablet users will have a more positive experience, phone users

By LexiansPlayground.
February 7, 2021
3 out of 5
Audio and settings

Implements the game well, but lacks full integration with iOS settings. Biggest downside for me is that when the game runs it
reserves the audio output even when sound is off with no way to change it, meaning my podcast or music pauses. Personally, I
always play games like this with sound off and mu

By Frustrated ex-fan.
January 23, 2021
3 out of 5
Poorly optimized

Despite the game being out for months, no real updates has came out for it. We still are playing at 30fps even on IPads with 120hz
displays.
Text is also still hard to read. It’s a mediocre port at best.

By Edchiladas.
January 14, 2021
3 out of 5
Needs optimization for phone

Good game, simple gameplay with solid mechanics. Big issue is that it needs optimization.

Touch controls for cards is very strange and will randomly discard a card or entire hand. Text (and icons) should still be bigger
even with ‘big text’ option. When highlighting a card, it needs to be rais

By Ostransky.
January 2, 2021
3 out of 5
Amazingly fun but has some issues

Game save backup doesn’t sync across devices which feels pretty bad. Also there is no way for a backup of data if you wan to
clean install iOS on your phone. Feels like cloud saves would be a really nice addition.

By SpenceGM.
December 7, 2020
3 out of 5
Not worth $10

So I bought this game and I had a lot of problems with it crashing. Finally when it stopped crashing I was able to play it and
although it was great, I don’t think it was worth $10. Some of the preview pictures are also misleading and make the game look
cooler than it is. Still a great game, but I w

By ThatCoil.
November 23, 2020
3 out of 5
UI Horrid

Phones without a home button suffer from constant misplays when trying to exit the app.
No cloud save.

By stoneairsoft.
November 22, 2020
3 out of 5
Need support for Magic Keyboard

3 stars because:
1. Need support to play using Magic Keyboard on iPad;
2. Need better touch controls;
3. Need sync Game Data via iCloud.

By JackeyX.
November 21, 2020
3 out of 5
Still waiting....

Great app but with needed changes. Since day 1 needed changes are mentioned by users but, until today, no news. Last update was 3
months ago. It shows the support needed is not offered. Will update once a new update is release.

By Messi10AR.
October 19, 2020
3 out of 5
Game doesn’t always work

Often, I can’t get through the first loading screen. It’s a great game when I can play. 5 star review when I can play when I
want

By Japrice11.
September 19, 2020
3 out of 5
Great game, crashes in flames.

- the game itself (when it runs) is awesome. Endless “builds” or card combinations to choose from, enveloped with a cartoony
sense of humor that makes it enjoyable.

- as of recently I’ve had to uninstall/hard reset my iPhone many times and the game still crashes before the title menu. In my
opinio

By schadstache.
September 16, 2020
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total