Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

SmoothTrack

by John Goering
Positive
98%
critic
2%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of SmoothTrack by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of SmoothTrack written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for SmoothTrack

Reviews: 65Avg. Rating: 9.8/10

Positive reviews

5 out of 5
A Great Program and Customer Service

* A great alternative for head tracking while using a simulator.

* Price is fair

* Customer Service is five star’s

I had issues trying to connect with FS9. E-mailed the developer with questions. He replied back and guided me same day.

By Emanuel Mxxxxxxxx.
January 12, 2021
5 out of 5
Easy setup for ATS

Easy as the broken down steps install and enjoy very happy with the purchase

By Bmain81.
December 23, 2020
5 out of 5
Fantastic

This does everything you need and it is seriously so simple to setup. A little bit of networking knowledge is all that is
required, it took under five minutes to get it going. The instructions in the description are spot on and don’t leave any room
for mistake!

It is a tad bit nervy to have your p

By acprob.
December 21, 2020
5 out of 5
Wow!

Talk about a game changer! This app does exactly what it says it does. I was actually surprised how easy it was to just jump into
Squadrons and see that it automatically started working!!

Initial set up, however, will probably be a little on the difficult side for those that aren’t used to changin

By Edmyster81.
December 20, 2020
5 out of 5
PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE continue development on this

Fantastic head tracking solution for any sim that works with trackIR. Low latency, smooth, configurable and very immersive.
Definitely happy with my purchase. Can't wait to see what's next!

By Captain Simian.
December 20, 2020
5 out of 5
John the Developer is AWESOME

So I swear every time I try something like this it never works correctly. I watched John’s video and it was super easy. I had a
minor issue, emailed John and presto he knew right away what the issue was. Wow this makes MSFS 2020 a whole new beast. The app
works great tracks my movements perfectly.

By Brendan almost RN.
December 15, 2020
5 out of 5
Brilliant.

I generally don’t bother leaving reviews for apps but this one definitely deserves it. Worth every penny. For anyone out there
who’s struggling to get FaceTrackNOIR working with an old webcam I’m telling you, ditch that and buy this app. Took 5 mins to
setup OpenTrack and you’re up and running...

By TWW_71.
December 14, 2020
5 out of 5
As easy and as awesome as everyone says!

Honestly for $10 you can’t go wrong here. I’ve always wanted to try VR and this is an excellent intro and was so freakin easy
to use. Downloaded the app on my iPhone and the app on the computer and within literal minutes I was playing Star Wars Squadrons
on my PC with head tracking.

By Sandjob.
December 14, 2020
5 out of 5
Excellent!

Awesome piece of software! Saved me lots of money on more expensive head tracking options. Works great in DCS!

By OneSevenWill.
December 9, 2020
5 out of 5
Here before this app goes viral.

I am not one to leave reviews normally but this app is an exception. I have used it with Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020 for a
couple hours and I am blown away. I don’t know how I haven’t heard of this up to this point but it seems like magic. I
guarantee this app is going to go viral. It is a seaml

By Sftgdthydf.
December 8, 2020
5 out of 5
The real deal!

I *never* leave reviews but this is the real deal. It is awesome and works so well with MSFT flight sim 2020.
Just follow the install instructions on his website and it then works seamlessly with flight sim without even needing any
configuration.
I rarely find stuff that works as well as this. And

By gordon5121.
December 5, 2020
5 out of 5
I was skeptical but this is very surprising

As someone who is seriously considering an oculus for mfs2020 and any other VR games but this is great until then the app works
amazing very real and sensitive It’s a tat confusing to set up if your not great with computers but it it was easy enough for
me Once it’s active it automatically ho

By whiteknight94.
November 30, 2020
5 out of 5
Incredible

I used trackir5 and it overheated and quit working within a week. Tried SmoothTrack and wow. Incredible. Just as good. No
difference. Everyone who flies or races needs this.

By katoomdog.
November 17, 2020
5 out of 5
Very Impressed

I bought this gem today and I am very impressed. I have TrackIR but I am constantly struggling with it.

I installed it on to my old iPhone SE. Setup was fairly easy, just like the tutorial except if you have a anti-virus program you
will want to use their firewall setting procedure or temporarily

By AG-51 Thud.
November 8, 2020
5 out of 5
'This is legit'

'I don

By TheNet411.
October 21, 2020
5 out of 5
'Surprised'

'I bought this at work today and was skeptical cause it was advertised on Facebook lol! But once you set it up this is an amazing
budget tracking IR build just lookup John Goerings YouTube video on how to set it up before you give any reviews he walks you step
by step! I have yet to use it on Arma

By Stasmonask.
October 20, 2020
5 out of 5
'Amazing!'

'I don

By Stephan 09876.
October 11, 2020
5 out of 5
'Amazing!'

'I don

By Stephan 09876.
October 11, 2020
5 out of 5
'Amazing!'

'I don’t write reviews. But I really wanted for this one. It Works perfectly with Microsoft flight sim 2020. Easy to setup and
works flawlessly. I used Track IR 4 in the past. I honestly don’t see a difference except this is a $10 solution 🤯'

By Stephan 09876.
October 11, 2020
5 out of 5
'Amazing for $10'

'Works exceptionally well considering it’s 1/15th the price of tracIR, which is half the price of just getting a VR headset.
This app works well and although it seems to bug out every once in a while and not respond to open track, the price point is hard
to beat. Using it for dcs works wonders, I

By TrenchesQuenches.
October 11, 2020
5 out of 5
'Was great till update removed opentrack.'

'The since the most recent update only infinite flight shows when opening the app. \n\nPlease bring back opentrack...'

By MocKKnighT.
October 7, 2020
5 out of 5
'Works Great For Microsoft Flight Sim'

'This is the first experience I have had with using head tracking of any kind, but it works fantastic. Right out of the box the
range of movement that is detected is actually very impressive. \n\n Looking around feels great and there\'s no perceivable
input latency. Without messing with any in app

By Andrew_172.
September 29, 2020
5 out of 5
'Really good'

'I’ve never used trackIR before or any of the webcam clones so I cant say much in terms of comparison, but it really does work
well. I use it solely for MSFS and it is so nice being able to change my view with both hands being used to control the plane. In
terms of steadiness i’ve found that eve

By bigbelly15.
September 22, 2020
5 out of 5
'Top'

'Best application for this type of need. VR for little cost and working efficiently. Service is great, developer answers emails
within minutes if you need set-up help.'

By Frank tank 84.
September 19, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great !'

'Easy to setup and bring games to new levels.'

By Chezacarias.
September 18, 2020
5 out of 5
'Genius , worth the money and simple to set up !'

'First time using headtracking and it makes the immersion level so much better , setup took two minutes works in FSX no problems'

By Jay2466.
September 15, 2020
5 out of 5
'Awesome!'

'Thanks so much for developing this! Not everyone has $200 to shell out for TrackIR, and I’m so glad to have heard about your
app. It works wonderfully, took 5 minutes to set up, and has already made my Flight Sim experience so much more immersive!'

By austin9293.
September 14, 2020
5 out of 5
'Flight simulator 2020'

'Works great for FS 2020.\n\nEasy to set up - just google how to do it, and you’ll figure out the rest! Pretty easy.'

By Nicholas Cooper Q.
September 13, 2020
5 out of 5
'Easy setup. 100% accurate on msfs2020'

'Set up is very easy. Tracking is simply amazing. Much easier than trackir. And developer is working on improvements( he is
popular on r/flightsim) . Buy with confidence'

By Sam_marq.
September 12, 2020
5 out of 5
'Completely changes the experience of MS Flight Si

'This app, in partnership with some open source software, completely changes the experience of flying in the recently released
Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020.\n\nPerfect niche app. The only drawback is that installation for this purpose isn’t completely
explained by the help within the app. But a

By Xan Shui.
September 11, 2020
5 out of 5
'Working on it!'

'No joy at all for me getting it to work. Flight Sim (2020) is the goal, but (after an hour +) of tinkering, SmoothTrack shows no
sign of recognizing any connection or input.'

By Longlandmusket.
September 10, 2020
5 out of 5
'Simple and effective use of devices we already ha

'Setup is a little clunky but I figured it out with the instructions on the website. Booted up MFS2020 and the tracking worked
immediately. Minor adjustment to the center point and I was peering all over the plane and surrounding scenery.\n\nWould like to
have a hot key to suspend tracking for inter

By OldManArtie.
September 9, 2020
5 out of 5
'Awesome'

'Let me start by saying I haven’t used any other type of head tracking software and I don’t know why I would now. Really helps
with the immersion factor of MSFS and not the awkward hat switch that doesn’t look where you want. To be able to look out the
windows of you plane just by turning your

By khucke13.
September 9, 2020
5 out of 5
'Can’t believe it!'

'I’ve been flying FS since the 1990’s and am a student pilot. I’m about average with computer savvy but I had no trouble
getting it up and running. I am truly impressed with the app! It works well and saved me a few bucks because I don’t have to
buy additional hardware.'

By RedTaildragger.
September 9, 2020
5 out of 5
'Good kit'

'Runs robustly once set up, tracking is precise with no tracking lag, but I’ve got some minuscule frame lag (very subtle) I
still need to optimize on the Opentrack side of things (open source software on the PC).'

By hornGuy.
September 9, 2020
5 out of 5
'Works for IL2'

'I was skeptical at first, but I must say it works well. After tinkering with the settings a bit I found it works well. It
helps tremendously when turning in a dogfight while attempting to keep eyes on your adversary. It also helps when trying to line
up on a ground target or an airfield. Fin

By ElCid23.
September 9, 2020
5 out of 5
'Excellent quality, amazingly precise'

'I’m incredibly impressed with how solid this app is. It requires virtually no configuration (unlike most head trackers and
webcam based trackers) and “just works.”\n\nSome reviewers are talking about command line prompts but I didn’t encounter
any. Opentrack has an installer, so if you don

By Arq1973.
September 8, 2020
5 out of 5
'It just...works.'

'And works so well. \n\nWorth every penny!'

By GirthJ.
September 7, 2020
5 out of 5
'Must have worth every penny!'

'Let me start off by saying, \"Why didn\'t I think of that?!\" \n\nBeing a software engineer myself I spent countless hours
researching and a few weeks acquiring materials to build my own TrackIR. I was successful but it\'s bulky, light conditions can
mess with it (IR LED) and I made the mount for m

By Neidz.
September 7, 2020
5 out of 5
'Works wonderfully, responsive developer'

'This is (IMO) a perfect natural replacement for previous IR solutions. The initial version I got worked as intended in less than
10 minutes. Directions are clear and setup isn’t too hard. I used it with msfs2020 and it was very helpful for looking around on
approaches. I found it most useful when

By cwb5.
September 6, 2020
5 out of 5
'Works flawlessly with iPhone 8'

'After deciding spending hundreds of dollars on TrackIR wasn’t with it, I stumbled across this app and I’ll tell you, I’m
impressed! Works flawlessly with MSFS 2020. Since I’ve never used TrackIR, I cannot tell if there’s a difference. But for me,
this is perfect. Head tracking is nice an

By Lungho69.
September 6, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great Tracker, Simple and Functional!'

'Only took about ten minutes to set up. Booted up FS2020 once I had Open Track running on my PC and everything just worked. Great
little piece of software!'

By Raylon.
September 5, 2020
5 out of 5
'Better than TrackIR'

'Downloaded the app and within 5 minutes was up and running with zero issues. Incredibly accurate head tracking for just the price
of the app compared to $250+ for TrackIR, super easy decision. Don’t think twice about this app, it will make your Flight Sim
experience 100x better.'

By streetskater879.
September 4, 2020
5 out of 5
'Works great!'

'I am really enjoying this app. To me it works much better than the webcam head tracker program I’ve used and is on par with
TrackIR - the latter I haven’t used in ages because I lost the stupid clip thingy. Smooth Track has brought even more enjoyment
to the new Microsoft Flight Simulator, maki

By efeesher.
September 2, 2020
5 out of 5
'Wow!'

'I have wanted a head tracking/VR setup for flying games for some time, but have been off put by the price. This solution is
perfect. The hardware on iPhone 11/x/xs/etc is spot on for this application. This isn’t “it kinda works but you may still want
to drop $175 on track IR.” This is “it w

By Acjfasfvh.
September 1, 2020
5 out of 5
'This app is a game changer'

'If you’re looking for a head tracking solution for your gaming..stop. You’ve found it.\n\nThis product delivers the
immersion that gamers require without having to invest $$ into tech like TrackIR. It delivers the same experience across the same
suite of games. All it requires is a modicum of

By AirSim1000.
August 31, 2020
5 out of 5
'Must have addition to flight simulators'

'If you use a flight simulator like Microsoft Flight sim or DCS this is a must have app. This is so much better then IR head gear
and the other options I have seen. It works flawlessly follow the simple instructions for setup and your good to go. One thing
that’s helpful to know is in Opentrack ma

By Anderson509chris.
August 31, 2020
5 out of 5
'Good VR replacement'

'I’ve been using app past few days. Works well with my iPhone X..using opentracker and SmoothTrack with the cmd code needed
on computer did the trick.. some tweaking in opentracker needed for personal movement speeds .. tried in Newest Xplane 11 with
Vulcan and MSFS 2020 both are working just n

By Mbox58.
August 30, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great app, easy to set up.'

'My TrackIR broke sitting in a drawer the last couple years and I was looking for an easy and cheap alternative. To my surprise
that turned out to be my iPhone. Glad I found this app, working great with the new MSFS.'

By Q4242.
August 29, 2020
5 out of 5
'Worth the Price!'

'I’m not sure how it compares to the full TrackIR but for the price, the result is fantastic!'

By dolszews.
August 29, 2020
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
Can’t connect

Trying to use opentrack in Win10 and getting the no route to host. Been through all setup tutorials and scoured the net for a
solution. There are posts, but nobody has helped us with that issue find a fix. Hopefully we can get a detailed response here.
Waiting a few days for that before reque

By Customer137.
January 16, 2021
3 out of 5
A little help if you can!!

Hey John.

So I have opened my firewall etc. I’m not exactly sure how to get the modem part set up correctly. When I hit start I get a
“broken pipe” error message. Just wondering if you have any pointers for me.

Thanks

By bkwflash.
September 9, 2020
3 out of 5
Apartment Router = no go for me

TL;DR - by all accounts a great app. Just make sure you can log into your router settings. In-app support is not written for the
layman. Dev is responsive.

Reddit, as well as the reviews here, are consistently good. I believe this is a good app.

However, I could not get it to work, presumably be

By sdmke.
September 5, 2020
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total