Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

Stockfish Chess

by Tord Romstad
Positive
84%
critic
16%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of Stockfish Chess by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of Stockfish Chess written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for Stockfish Chess

Reviews: 50Avg. Rating: 8.4/10

Positive reviews

5 out of 5
Very good but confused about strength bar

Stockfish is very fun and helpful for chess but I am a little confused in what the strength bar means. Do the strengths have
different ratings or something? And if so what are the ratings for each strength?

By bosstaco12.
May 31, 2021
5 out of 5
Still

Absolutely the best engine. Thank you Tord. Send him a Postcard.

By Rockswell.
December 5, 2020
5 out of 5
Best Chess Engine

This is the most powerful chess engine put in a very user-friendly app! Definitely the app to choose if you want to challenge
yourself and reach a grand master level.

By Alex_garnica.
November 10, 2020
5 out of 5
'most poerfull chess program'

'Who is most powerful program stockfish or smallfish ????'

By Killua Zoldyuck.
October 3, 2020
4 out of 5
'Great for learning'

'I love it to play a game and then replay it with the analysis to see where I made a mistake. A few things that bother me
though:\n+ the ai strength always resets to 20 for unknown reasons instead of where I set it\n+ sometimes the ai will glitch and
just not move even though time is running\n+ make

By Croncron.
September 3, 2020
5 out of 5
'So far so good!'

'Recently I had a play analysis that implied queen sacrificing. Other programs couldn’t resolve this. The Stockfish took about
10” to resolve this and was on a medium low performance'

By Fleuryar.
May 13, 2020
5 out of 5
'How to raise downloads by 10 times?'

'Looking for combine promotion games/apps, we can provide ASO service, daily installs can reach 3000+. Ping me at
Skype:7a3e164c4a3d2bc4 (or search the account name as \"ASO 100\"). Every one can get a test promtoin fot 3 days now!'

By Dazzlyn Heake.
July 11, 2019
5 out of 5
'Pro chess app'

'Great app! No adds, and very professional for guys like me who like to have accurate analysis.'

By Darien Tyree.
July 10, 2019
4 out of 5
'Only One question'

'This is a great app and has the strongest chess game I’ve ever run across. The only question I have is if this app hasn’t
been updated in so long how is it possible that it’s running on Stockfish 10. It tells us this is Stockfish 10 but if it
hasn’t been updated in years then how is that ev

By imaim29847449.
June 21, 2019
5 out of 5
'I trust stockfish'

'I have been using stockfish mobile app since 2014 and i have never tried to search another app. I trust my experience and trust
the time I have spent with stock.'

By NikushaGabe.
April 24, 2019
4 out of 5
'Awesome app!'

'Plays a strong, tactical game even when set to lower playing strength I seriously had my hands full at the lower levels! Ok so I
was sitting outside a hospital ER in near freezing temps waiting for news about my mother in law but still I am an internationally
ranked player and this is one tough fis

By Immotrich.
April 4, 2019
5 out of 5
'Question'

'Does this app update the Stockfish engine? For instance, Stockfish 10 is out but the app itself was not updated.'

By TheMan3718.
December 18, 2018
4 out of 5
'Great app'

'Great app for playing. Not as feature rich as others. Wood color scheme seems broken: shows the brown scheme instead.'

By _NM_.
December 17, 2018
5 out of 5
'BEST CHESS APP!'

'Free, no ads, extremely intelligent A.I. but has 20 levels varying in difficulty, customizable, two player option, A.I. play
style. What more could you ask for?!'

By savage gang gang.
September 9, 2018
4 out of 5
'PGP import issue'

'I use Stockfish for recording tournament games on my iPad. Wonderful! As for using it to study games in pgn files, there is an
import issue. I can add pgn files with flat games (no variations), but only via iTunes file sharing. Safari hands off pgn files to
Stockfish, but this causes Stockfish to b

By Blind Willie McTell.
September 2, 2018
5 out of 5
'Very Strong Chess Engine.'

'Seriously, this app really tells the truth rather being ironic. It is the strongest chess app in the world. Even the strongest
chess player couldn’t surpass this well-educated chess engine. It really finds a move that nobody can think of. It even helps
people gets better and better at chess. If a

By Oscarclever.
August 7, 2018
5 out of 5
'Good for Someone my Lvl'

'Me, a 1500 does not have a computer because I am 6 yrs old so I am glad there is a pocket addition of Stockfish!😀'

By Archer14(Watson).
June 22, 2018
5 out of 5
'Good for Someone my Lvl'

'Me, a 1500 does not have a computer because I am 6 yrs old so I am glad there is a pocket addition of Stockfish!?'

By Archer14(Watson).
June 22, 2018
5 out of 5
'The best chess app'

'I have an iPhone SE purchased Nov 2017 with iOS 11.2.5. I downloaded Stockfish (and the HIARCS chess app)the same day I bought
the phone. Stockfish is better than any other chess app (with HIARCS a close second). Stockfish is well over 3000 elo on my phone.
It has more playing modes and features th

By richerchess.
February 17, 2018
4 out of 5
'Continuous Analysis Hangs'

'Upon reaching a checkmate position (Stockfish on iPad Pro) the continuous analysis feature stops for all subsequent games and
analysis. Backing up to earlier moves in the game does not help. Trying to re-select continuous analysis or switch to a
different level and then switch back does not help.

By tacticsrock.
October 23, 2017
4 out of 5
'Awesome'

'This app is awesome it can analyze very well but it uses too much battery'

By Cat masterrr.
August 13, 2017
4 out of 5
'Great App but missing split view'

'Why in all these years have you not enabled like local split view...so two people can play each other on the same device and both
see the board facing them??? Currently you can only have 1 view and have to press flip then pass the device. We prefer an iPad and
playing across a table and each being

By dlevens.
June 14, 2017
4 out of 5
'Problem with loading'

'It\'s a great application except that it crashes when you try to load the game, do the developers know this?'

By UCLA Engineer.
June 10, 2017
5 out of 5
'Beqa'

'The strongest app for iOS, it\'s true i tested many free and payed apps but Stockfish is simply strongest one, it beats all'

By Beqa Makhviladze.
March 16, 2017
4 out of 5
'Solid chess engine, very basic UI'

'Works well and is feature full. Good for importing and saving games from files to file. The UI is basic and occasionally buggy.'

By GDKennell.
March 6, 2017
5 out of 5
'sup'

'excellent pocket analytics tool.'

By Alex, K.
December 28, 2016
4 out of 5
'Disappearing Rook!'

'Occasionally, when I open e4 and the computer responds with the Sicilian, somewhere along the line the computer just takes my a1
Rook off the board! Just Poink! it\'s gone! That\'s pretty low behavior, especially since I lose just about all the time anyway,
even with all my pieces.'

By DuhDoh.
December 25, 2016
5 out of 5
'Love this app! Just one thing'

'I wish when you look over loaded games or your own loaded games you can pause them at each move, and/or slow down the motion love
this game though has helped me tremendously!'

By Hockman9.
October 7, 2016
4 out of 5
'Great app'

'Has always been my favorite chess app, but since I got the iPad Air 2 i am unable to load a game. The app crashes every time I
try to load a game. Hope this can be fixed. \nStill a great app'

By Odum69.
September 25, 2016
5 out of 5
'A personal response review'

'This is a perfect free game.\n\nSometimes I have a strong opinion of irrational game analytics. Mean, a feeling that a human,
less skilled opponent (a dude boob criminal spy...) has connected. But I would like play only vs. the Stockfish at 20 level of
strength (3100) as this chess is one of the be

By AleksandrRoginskiyUS&Belarus.
July 16, 2016
5 out of 5
'Great chess program, but would love to see some o

'I love this chess program. It\'s easy to use and very good. I would love see some new features targeted for young children:
random mode so the computer only makes a random valid move; and a depth of search so that the computer is limited to looking only
n moves ahead. \n\nAnother feature I\'d love

By Microwerx.
July 1, 2016
4 out of 5
'Almost perfect'

'Needs variations! This app is juicy tho, thank you Tom.'

By Mackdaddddd.
June 16, 2016
5 out of 5
'handy'

'best chess engine it\'s very helpful but drains battery and it\'s understandable bc stock fish usually requires like a
supercomputer or something to run its cool having The Power on my smartphone'

By Blaziken48.
May 21, 2016
5 out of 5
'Best Chess App, small difficulty bug?'

'I\'ve noticed every time you close/shut down the app it will default back to level 20 difficulty. this happens even if you
started a game at a different level. if you start at level 10 it should always return to level 10. unless there is some reason I
am unaware of.'

By Ronnie ringus.
May 5, 2016
4 out of 5
'Great Engine, Drains Battery'

'Really awesome engine but man does this thing kill my battery. It\'s actually impressive how fast this app drains my phone.'

By Boazaconstrictor.
February 23, 2016
5 out of 5
'Strongest engine in store'

'Great engine. Beats every other apps out there. Great for improving'

By Sudhifeedback.
February 10, 2016
5 out of 5
'Simplemente la mejor chess app'

'Me a dejado totalmente fascinado esta aplicación el nivel de juego de stockfish engine es simplemente maravilloso. Espero y
proximamente exista una update donde se incluyan nuevas opciones y el nuevo motor stockfish 7 que simplemente es el mejor del
mundo aun mejor que komodo 9.3. Recomiendo tambi

By Nebur3302.
January 8, 2016
5 out of 5
'Great app, easy to use Stockfish for iOS'

'Great to see open source Stockfish in such a nice app for iOS'

By ltc26.
September 11, 2015
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
Im having trouble sending the PGNs

When I press email to email the game, is not copying the anotations, just the game titles. Please fix

By Mag10E.
December 17, 2020
3 out of 5
Good but...

You are good but please check the “Analyze This” app & learn its options like :
-send (share ) pgn of game & ...

By dr najafi.
November 23, 2020
3 out of 5
Cant load

Cant load any pgn in it just kicks me out update please!!!!!!!!

By Adiaz84.
October 10, 2020
3 out of 5
5 years. Needs to be patched.

Theres a crash when importing PGN from lichess. Usually happens if stockfish was already running in the background but does also
occur sometimes even on initial load and paste. Specifically swiping through the first few moves causes the crash. Then import
won’t work unless you recopy to phone clipbo

By BuyIndependentLabels.
May 20, 2020
3 out of 5
Buggy Interface and no engine vs engine

I’ll watch analysis and make moves. Then after moving, sometimes it doesn’t revert to analysis. After clicking force move now,
it doesn’t revert to analysis. There’s no (easy?) way to swap between analysis and computer and back.

Also there is no engine vs engine mode.
I want to watch the engine pla

By Kev Yar.
April 7, 2020
3 out of 5
PGN DOWNLOAD DOES NOT WORK

On all devices when trying to send a PGN file to all, it crashes and never loads it... please see if that can be fixed. Great app
otherwise

By EVBMIA.
May 11, 2019
3 out of 5
Some interface issues, but solid

The strength keeps resetting to 20.

It would be helpful if settings like this persisted across sessions instead of having to set it up each time.

By 4675488352.
March 3, 2019
3 out of 5
3.5

It’s great when assessing games granted, but the biggest issue lays that when assessing games that preloaded we can’t change
the speed and that we do not have the option of flipping the board.

By Am3nra33.
February 5, 2019
3 out of 5
Crashes when you try to open files.

Everything is smooth when it comes to using this for analysis and playing with it. My issue is as a tournament player I want to
have my openings loaded on my phone for easy access before games and just for study- it’s much easier to review files on a phone
or tablet than on a laptop. But every time

By TheoB89.
July 5, 2018
3 out of 5
Look at Smallfish instead, it uses Stockfish 9

This app is 3 years old. The latest version of Stockfish (new Dec 2017) is version 9. It is used in the Smallfish chess app. And
Smallfish is FREE ALSO!

By AvianoSaint.
March 3, 2018
3 out of 5
Game crashes

I have the same issue that Drawgood describes in his 26Oct16 review. When you try to load your saved games the game crashes. It
also crashes if you try to load any of the built-in game files. Other than that, great app.

By The real CoM Spin.
April 13, 2017
3 out of 5
Game stopping bug

I've been using this Stockfish app for awhile and had no problems until I've created my own PGN game list by saving a game into
it. It contains only one game. Every time I try to open the PGN file the app crashes. Upon repeat attempts the moment I press
"load game" the app crashes. I see the list of

By Drawgood.
October 26, 2016
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total