• Terraforming Mars
  • App Reviews
  • Terraforming Mars App Icon
    Terraforming Mars
    by Asmodee Digital
    Average Rating: 7.8/10
    Reviews: 36
    Positive
    78%
    critic
    22%

    Please provide a rating and review of what you thought about the app by going to the App Store here.

    Find out what App Store users think about the Terraforming Mars App before you buy it. See the most helpful reviews written by users who played the game or used the application and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

    United States

    Terraforming Mars Positive reviews

    5 out of 5
    A worthy buy

    I picked this up a week or two ago, and have been playing the Solo mode a lot. I‘ve played the board game many times with
    friends, and this is a faithful adaptation. I find myself going back to play a match of Solo rather than playing other games I
    have available.

    I’d love to see the expansion

    By Negeta76.
    January 30, 2020
    4 out of 5
    More enjoyable once you figure out online play

    changing from a 2 star to a 4 star because i figured out the online game play.
    i think it would be less frustrating for players new to the digital game, if there were more explicit instructions specifically
    for online play. the rule book of course doesn’t mention online play.
    would be great if it

    By WCBOUND.
    January 26, 2020
    4 out of 5
    Good start

    great adaptation of the game, but still just an mvp. lots of opportunity for this app

    By LittleKingBlix.
    January 25, 2020
    5 out of 5
    Great. Please create expansions, at least prelude

    Please create at least the prelude expansion

    By marsterraformer.
    January 25, 2020
    4 out of 5
    Great game. Needs expansions

    I love this game, but I would love if expansions were made available. Namely new maps and Prelude. These two would add so much.

    By sqrl425.
    January 23, 2020
    4 out of 5
    Good but glitches to be fixed

    great game, fair price. runs mostly as the game would but certainly glitches to fix and hopefully noting some here will get them
    fixed since this is a new release and does so well for just coming out!

    -hard to tell which player you are at first when doing certain cards with player choices, so you c

    By Ahalazea.
    January 21, 2020
    5 out of 5
    Venus Next?

    Update 12/23/19: Version update helped a lot, such as being able to see card discounts.

    Suggested enhancement: 1) allow to cancel an action (playing a card or placing a city or an ocean) which has intermediate
    actions, for as long as possible. 2) When AI decreases another player’s production or

    By AR1133.
    January 20, 2020
    4 out of 5
    Good adaptation but with some bugs

    it is a good adaptation of the board game but there are a couple of necessary features missing. first the game definitely needs a
    redo button that takes you back to the start of your turn. second, there are several places where a question of “are you
    sure?” would help. the game has a few but nee

    By Bjorn Reddy.
    January 15, 2020
    5 out of 5
    New Planet Building

    played beta for months. great game! ai solid.

    By WRDMurat.
    January 13, 2020
    5 out of 5
    Fixes needed

    As stated by others, Power Infrastructure doesn’t work and games don’t save reliably. My son and I were playing an online
    game and when we came back to it the game was not in our Resume Online list.

    By Kelosh.
    January 11, 2020
    4 out of 5
    Glitches stop it from being 5

    overall, accurate adaptation that works well on mobile. i’ve only played one game and ran into a pretty substantial glitch,
    though - the power infrastructure card doesn’t work at all
    . this is meant to convert energy into mc, but it simply doesn’t
    work. it uses up an action but no energy is los

    By Hassjueuei.
    January 9, 2020
    4 out of 5
    At Last

    I have been waiting for this to come out. I really enjoy playing it but the expert mode is not as challenging as it should be -
    their play is a little predictable

    By Musicguy85.
    January 9, 2020
    5 out of 5
    Space Game Bliss

    this is one of the best digital representations of a board game for the ios platform. a truly great game.

    By Marine1960.
    January 6, 2020
    4 out of 5
    Great app with a couple of glitches

    I’m am enjoying this game - it’s beautiful and even though it’s fairly complicated, it is easy to maneuver to see your
    cards, tags, actions, etc. Very well designed. I have run into a couple of issues. When I raise the temperature and should receive
    a heat production increase, I don’t, in ei

    By CricketCrziGirl.
    January 4, 2020
    5 out of 5
    Great adaptation with minor bugs

    i play and love the board game and this is a good adaptation of the board game. there are a few little bugs with certain cards,
    but i’m sure those will be worked out in time. looking forward to the expansions.

    By Letum49.
    January 2, 2020
    5 out of 5
    Great Game but needs Expansions

    Really enjoying this right now. Plays same as physical version. Two things I wish would be implemented:
    1. Add the expansions (especially Prelude)
    2. More difficult AI. Not sure if this is possible, but I routinely beat the Hard AI by 20+ points every time.

    By drectors cut.
    January 2, 2020
    5 out of 5
    Great game

    this is a great version of a favorite board game. the bugs that caused the local games to crash have been fixed.

    By Futuristic frothy.
    January 2, 2020
    4 out of 5
    5 if it had expansions

    as an owner of the board game and the steam version, and now ios i’ve spent as much money as possible. i own all the expansions,
    and this is a wonderful game. please please please for all that is holy on earth and on mars....

    add the expansions!!!

    By Rob2ee.
    January 1, 2020
    4 out of 5
    Great, couple qualms

    great adaptation of a great game.

    there’s a couple minor quibbles.
    firstly, even when the animation speed is set to “very fast”, the animation where it changes player order for the next
    generation feels slow and unneeded.
    secondly, there was a big with the “power infrastructure” card: wh

    By Two_Mutts.
    January 1, 2020
    5 out of 5
    Great game, but not yet perfected

    My favorite board game, and much of the app works great, but it’s crashed all 6 times I’ve played right at the end. Have gone
    back out and reloaded, but it keeps freezing up at the same point. Also, the rewards on the tracks haven’t worked. Very
    frustrating. Hope they get it fixed soon!

    By ethreepio.
    December 31, 2019
    5 out of 5
    Still buggy

    1. Cannot place Ganymede colony. Play card and locks game since you cannot play the tile. (Single player with 2 AIs)
    2. On temperature track, you do not get the bonuses (but AIs do). I *think* the same thing happens on O2 track, but not sure.

    By Mickey_223.
    December 29, 2019
    4 out of 5
    Works great but found 1 bug

    app works great better than the pc version in my opinion but the power infrastructure action does not work at all so if you get
    that card don’t use it

    By Pokerbro989898979.
    December 28, 2019
    4 out of 5
    Good(er) implementation of a great game

    fun: the board game ranks in the top 5 of all board games on bgg
    replayable: so many combinations of corporations and cards... you still have your favorites, but every win comes from a different
    path.
    fair price: imho

    a deck building engine builder with a fun theme and perfect pacing. if your games

    By bdnchr.
    December 28, 2019

    Terraforming Mars Critic reviews

    3 out of 5
    Great, but improvements needed!

    such a great port of the tabletop version! however, several improvements are needed to make this more usable...

    bugs
    - gameplay: "power infrastructure" card doesn't work.
    - gameplay: green chat "unread badge" remains after reading.
    - gameplay functionality: "setup" and "research phase" (corporation

    By prestonhorn.
    January 28, 2020
    3 out of 5
    Great game but app needs a lot of work!

    Terraforming Mars warrants a three star review (and a buy recommendation from yours truly) simply because it allows one of the
    greatest board games of all time to be successfully played on the phone.

    However, there are numerous issues with the app (some bugs and some poor UI choices) that make the

    By fadeproofvision.
    January 23, 2020
    3 out of 5
    Desperately needs a undo button!

    For those learning, and those who aren’t, an undo button in a game like this is just critical. There are far too many steps
    involved where one simple accidental mistake of forgetting one minor detail can cascade to disaster. An undo would make all the
    difference in giving this 5 stars.

    By Jc127.
    January 22, 2020
    3 out of 5
    It’s a great game but

    the ai on hard is too easy. the one thing i like about through the ages is all the challenges. figures something that out please

    By Tom Jonze.
    January 19, 2020
    3 out of 5
    Great Adaptation. Constant Reload Make Asynchronou

    overall, a great app version of a great game. solo challenge and playing against ai is top notch. asynchronous play would be
    greatly improved if developer could make it so that the app doesn’t have to reload all of the dang time. fix that, this goes to
    five stars.

    By dawashin.
    January 15, 2020
    3 out of 5
    Great game, poor mobile game experience

    I love this game, and own the steam version as well. This feels like a direct port from PC, and has none of the typical mobile
    features a board game app needs to play smoothly. This game as a mobile game MUST have asynchronous gameplay elements implemented
    ASAP.

    1) If you are not connected when so

    By Act69afool.
    January 14, 2020
    3 out of 5
    Fun game with lots of bugs

    The game is amazing and the app design is great. There are a lot of bugs with notifications and multiplayer. If you have multiple
    games going there is no way to see which game it is your turn even IF you get a notification. You must load each game individually
    to find it.

    By twilight struggler.
    January 13, 2020
    3 out of 5
    Great port with some troublesome flaws

    great game and fun on the phone or tablet. however, i mainly play multiplayer asynchronous (in other words, setting the timer at
    450 days!), and there are two huge problems:
    1) anytime you leave the app or even check an imessage from the dropdown notification, you lose connection with the app and h

    By ChopsueyCP.
    January 12, 2020
    3 out of 5
    “Resume” freezes EVERY time

    the “resume” previous game just does not work. it hangs in the loading screen every time. great game if you have the time to
    get in a full play in one session, otherwise it’s useless
    .

    By Jbvord.
    January 10, 2020
    3 out of 5
    Okay

    Everything is there, the user interface is just not very intuitive; it is kind of chaotic, many functions spreading all over the
    place. The user interface could also use a facelift. I only have an old, 4-year old iPad, but even on that the graphics look
    blurry and out-dated. Don’t get me wrong, th

    By Rince Art.
    January 6, 2020
    3 out of 5
    Love it but flawed

    I love Terraforming Mars, and the app is great. However online play has issues.

    You are forced to select play time, but you just don’t know how long a game of TM will take. You invest all this time to play a
    game that takes an immense amount of time and then you get kicked out with a few moves l

    By Brently49.
    January 1, 2020
    3 out of 5
    good game with multiplayer bugs

    Overall, the game runs really well on single player mode. Multiplayer is not really stable.

    First the good. Terraforming Mars is an awesome board game! The digital board is gorgeous and everything is intuitive if
    you’ve played the board game before. I really like the fact that bookkeeping i

    By ZenArcade1.
    December 28, 2019
    3 out of 5
    Can’t put it down (seriously, it won’t save)

    i like the graphic interface and the game itself is fantastic. there are a few small problems like the game is clearly meant for a
    tablet, or that there is no undo button, but for all the great gameplay it works... except when you put your game down for a bit
    and the next day you want to wrap up tha

    By icelusx.
    December 27, 2019

    WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

    How do you rate this app? *

      1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
    Gameplay
    Graphics
    Price
    Total