Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

Terraforming Mars

by Asmodee Digital
Positive
78%
critic
22%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of Terraforming Mars by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of Terraforming Mars written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for Terraforming Mars

Reviews: 82Avg. Rating: 7.8/10

Positive reviews

4 out of 5
'Great adaption of theboard game!'

'The AI is t that good though!'

By Dwarven_war_axe.
July 3, 2020
5 out of 5
'Protected habitats'

'Please make the card work properly'

By yodatracy.
June 24, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great app, needs expansions'

'I’m having a lot of fun with the app after playing the board game for years. However, you seriously need to start adding
expansions!'

By Roomnut.
June 11, 2020
5 out of 5
'Awesome game and a suggestion for improvement'

'The app is really well made and super playable. Great work!\n\nCan you please add in the ability to pause or adjust the timer in
private games? \n\nAnd expansions!!'

By AB58271.
June 2, 2020
4 out of 5
'Good game, needs expansions'

'I love the board game and the app is fun to play especially because I can play it lounging on a couch! However, I\'m used to
playing with the expansions and it\'s hard to love an app that you know can get better. This app REALLY needs the expansions.
Even if it\'s only one at a time, please get th

By Jdayflub.
June 1, 2020
5 out of 5
'Very satisfactory game'

'I love Terraforming Mars. Been playing it every day, lol. Deep satisfying Boardgame port. I am a mars fan.'

By chuckwheel.
May 19, 2020
4 out of 5
'Fantastic... other then the crashes.'

'If you like the board game, you’ll love the app. I mainly play versus AI, so I can’t speak much for the other modes but I am
excited to play online at some point. The biggest downfall is that I can’t get through a single game without it crashing
repeatedly. Overall, these crashes are more of

By Beau N..
May 19, 2020
4 out of 5
'Love it, but NEEDS expansions'

'This is a great digital adaptation. It’s quick and easy to pick up. However it could really be helped by some expansions. The
base game is great but the limited corporations and projects can really make it repetitive after a while. I would pay a few more $
for digital versions of all the expansio

By Sarah Lowenberg.
May 18, 2020
4 out of 5
'I want to be BLUE!'

'I should be able to select my character color. Chris should be green not purple and I should be BLUE not green! It is so
distracting to play as the wrong colors. The colors of the players should also be jewel tones. Other than that the game play is
very similar to the board game and the graphics ar

By MacLavish.
May 7, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great job!'

'Overall a good adaptation of the board game. Found a stable bug (ants card doesn’t work), but aside from that one bug the game
is great. Can’t wait for the extension with clouds (like with the extension of the board game).'

By Nyusha1234.
May 5, 2020
5 out of 5
'Intriguing challenge'

'The is building game with a Martian flavor. Multi replay potential each game is different. Fun to play some special effects
what more could you want'

By im not stacked.
May 3, 2020
4 out of 5
'Good adaptation'

'The board game is a bit complex so its nice to have the tablet version of it mechanically carry out the rules so you can learn.
No more googling to see if it is this way or that way, as the app only lets you do legal moves.\nFirst time we played I ran out of
time, unlike the board game this one put

By Hmoazed.
May 2, 2020
4 out of 5
'Expansions?'

'I love this game virtually and irl. I would have given it 5 stars if it had some of the expansions. Which I’m totally willing
to pay for.'

By cutiecaq13.
April 25, 2020
4 out of 5
'Great game and app, one flaw'

'I love the game, and the app is even better when you don’t have to keep track of all the production and resources. It even does
a great job sorting cards by various factors, so all in all it’s a great app. The one flaw is how the app will disconnect you
from an online game at any interruption o

By JDizzie05.
April 24, 2020
4 out of 5
'Great adaptation of the real thing'

'Hey devs, I hope you’re doing well and thanks for all your hard work on making my favorite board game available for my iOS
devices. I’ve literally played this game hundreds of times irl and online and I would like to ask if it would be possible to let
the user decide the time restraints based o

By Joe Nathan Scott.
April 18, 2020
4 out of 5
'Good game, has bugs though.'

'Big fan of TM here from tabletop, and this iOS adaptation is pretty well done. I like I can take my turns and enjoy playing with
friends on the go. \n\nThe app does have a couple issues:\n\n1) This might be iOS, but whenever I get out of the app and work on
something else, I have to reload my sessi

By Vestboe.
April 13, 2020
4 out of 5
'Very good, some issues to work out'

'Need MUCH MORE of the “are you sure?” prompts. I had to place a city as my first action and it accidentally got placed in the
wrong tile while I was trying to drag the screen and move the map. This set me up poorly for the rest of the game because it would
define where I could put greeneries.\n

By Angered man.
April 13, 2020
5 out of 5
'Impressed'

'With all the mechanics of the game, I was skeptical to say the least. I have recommended this app to several of my friends.'

By Littledrew27.
April 11, 2020
4 out of 5
'I love this game'

'There’ are a couple bugs. I wish you could take nothing when stealing and there’s nothing to take.'

By derangedmonkeys.
April 11, 2020
4 out of 5
'Online has issues'

'I love the game. Excellent port for a board game with so many parts. But......Why do you get booted from the server when you
just need to check a text or turn up the screen brightness, That’s Insane!'

By IPM38.
April 11, 2020
5 out of 5
'Must own'

'The best board game adaption I’ve played. I’ve probably logged over 40 hours on this app and have enjoyed them all. I knew
how to play somewhat prior to playing on the app, and now I strongly prefer playing on the app.\n\nFriends and I have been playing
multiplayer, cross platform (steam on Win

By nickname not taken!.
April 10, 2020
4 out of 5
'Fun but crash issues'

'Very fun but crashes on average about 3 times a game for me (boots back up to where I was but annoying). Please make it so I can
change my team color I’m sick of always being green...'

By Brian636.
April 9, 2020
4 out of 5
'Disconnects when you leave the app'

'Great app. The only thing that is really annoying is that when you leave the app for a moment it disconnects and takes a long
time to load so you can get back to the game. But great though'

By Gratarolli.
April 9, 2020
4 out of 5
'Like it!!'

'A very nice job. Great graphics and layout. I have not discovered any flaws in gameplay in 10 or so plays.\n\nThe AI is not
great, but that’s to be expected in a game this complex. It doesn’t matter much though, because 80% or more of the game is the
puzzle of getting the most from your cards.

By _RickK.
April 8, 2020
5 out of 5
'DLC'

'Give me DLC and you can take all my monies.'

By FireSpy.
April 7, 2020
4 out of 5
'Generally good but some annoying bugs and limitat

'Overall the game is pretty well done, and playing vs ai locally works pretty well. The game should have an undo//redo button by
now. It\'s too easy to mess something up and have no way to fix it. Also the user interface can be clunky and could be better
designed. It should be possible to see a summ

By scottij.
April 4, 2020
4 out of 5
'Request'

'Can we get a push when it is your turn in multiplayer?'

By Izzy McGraw.
March 31, 2020
4 out of 5
'Bug: does not apply selected steel or titanium re

'In certain payment contexts not involving direct card play, the game does not apply the user-upped payment with available steel
or titanium but rather subtracts payment from mega credit resources. Discovered during several solo games where at the end I’m
left with loads of steel and titanium that

By 5HLee.
March 29, 2020
4 out of 5
'Good implementation with some needed features'

'Very good implementation from physical. However some times during drafting cards it won’t progress unless all players are
online at the same time. Also they need to implement notifications when it’s your turn. Would make this game a 5'

By V25426.
March 29, 2020
5 out of 5
A worthy buy

I picked this up a week or two ago, and have been playing the Solo mode a lot. I‘ve played the board game many times with
friends, and this is a faithful adaptation. I find myself going back to play a match of Solo rather than playing other games I
have available.

I’d love to see the expansion

By Negeta76.
January 30, 2020
4 out of 5
More enjoyable once you figure out online play

Changing from a 2 star to a 4 star because I figured out the online game play.
I think it would be less frustrating for players new to the digital game, if there were more explicit instructions specifically
for online play. The rule book of course doesn’t mention online play.
Would be great if it

By WCBOUND.
January 26, 2020
4 out of 5
Good start

Great adaptation of the game, but still just an MVP. Lots of opportunity for this app

By LittleKingBlix.
January 25, 2020
5 out of 5
Great. Please create expansions, at least prelude

Please create at least the prelude expansion

By marsterraformer.
January 25, 2020
4 out of 5
Great game. Needs expansions

I love this game, but I would love if expansions were made available. Namely new maps and Prelude. These two would add so much.

By sqrl425.
January 23, 2020
4 out of 5
Good but glitches to be fixed

Great game, fair price. Runs mostly as the game would but certainly glitches to fix and hopefully noting some here will get them
fixed since this is a new release and does so well for just coming out!

-Hard to tell which player you are at first when doing certain cards with player choices, so you c

By Ahalazea.
January 21, 2020
5 out of 5
Venus Next?

Update 12/23/19: Version update helped a lot, such as being able to see card discounts.

Suggested enhancement: 1) allow to cancel an action (playing a card or placing a city or an ocean) which has intermediate
actions, for as long as possible. 2) When AI decreases another player’s production or

By AR1133.
January 20, 2020
4 out of 5
Good adaptation but with some bugs

It is a good adaptation of the board game but there are a couple of necessary features missing. First the game definitely needs a
redo button that takes you back to the start of your turn. Second, there are several places where a question of “Are you
sure?” Would help. The game has a few but nee

By Bjorn Reddy.
January 15, 2020
5 out of 5
New Planet Building

Played beta for months. Great game! AI solid.

By WRDMurat.
January 13, 2020
5 out of 5
Fixes needed

As stated by others, Power Infrastructure doesn’t work and games don’t save reliably. My son and I were playing an online
game and when we came back to it the game was not in our Resume Online list.

By Kelosh.
January 11, 2020
4 out of 5
At Last

I have been waiting for this to come out. I really enjoy playing it but the expert mode is not as challenging as it should be -
their play is a little predictable

By Musicguy85.
January 9, 2020
4 out of 5
Glitches stop it from being 5

Overall, accurate adaptation that works well on mobile. I’ve only played one game and ran into a pretty substantial glitch,
though - the power infrastructure card doesn’t work at all. This is meant to convert energy into mC, but it simply doesn’t
work. It uses up an action but no energy is los

By Hassjueuei.
January 9, 2020
5 out of 5
Space Game Bliss

This is one of the best digital representations of a board game for the IOS platform. A truly great game.

By Marine1960.
January 6, 2020
4 out of 5
Great app with a couple of glitches

I’m am enjoying this game - it’s beautiful and even though it’s fairly complicated, it is easy to maneuver to see your
cards, tags, actions, etc. Very well designed. I have run into a couple of issues. When I raise the temperature and should receive
a heat production increase, I don’t, in ei

By CricketCrziGirl.
January 4, 2020
5 out of 5
Great Game but needs Expansions

Really enjoying this right now. Plays same as physical version. Two things I wish would be implemented:
1. Add the expansions (especially Prelude)
2. More difficult AI. Not sure if this is possible, but I routinely beat the Hard AI by 20+ points every time.

By drectors cut.
January 2, 2020
5 out of 5
Great adaptation with minor bugs

i play and love the Board game and this is a good adaptation of the Board game. There are a few little bugs with certain cards,
but I’m sure those will be worked out in time. Looking forward to the expansions.

By Letum49.
January 2, 2020
5 out of 5
Great game

This is a great version of a favorite board game. The bugs that caused the local games to crash have been fixed.

By Futuristic frothy.
January 2, 2020
4 out of 5
5 if it had expansions

As an owner of the board game and the Steam version, and now iOS I’ve spent as much money as possible. I own ALL the expansions,
and this is a wonderful game. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE for all that is holy on Earth AND on Mars....

ADD THE EXPANSIONS!!!

By Rob2ee.
January 1, 2020
4 out of 5
Great, couple qualms

Great adaptation of a great game.

There’s a couple minor quibbles.
Firstly, even when the animation speed is set to “very fast”, the animation where it changes player order for the next
generation feels slow and unneeded.
Secondly, there was a big with the “power infrastructure” card: wh

By Two_Mutts.
January 1, 2020
5 out of 5
Great game, but not yet perfected

My favorite board game, and much of the app works great, but it’s crashed all 6 times I’ve played right at the end. Have gone
back out and reloaded, but it keeps freezing up at the same point. Also, the rewards on the tracks haven’t worked. Very
frustrating. Hope they get it fixed soon!

By ethreepio.
December 31, 2019
5 out of 5
Still buggy

1. Cannot place Ganymede colony. Play card and locks game since you cannot play the tile. (Single player with 2 AIs)
2. On temperature track, you do not get the bonuses (but AIs do). I *think* the same thing happens on O2 track, but not sure.

By Mickey_223.
December 29, 2019
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
'Great adaption; needs some fixes'

'This is a great adaption of the board game for iOS. It’s a beautiful and intuitive interface. The multiplayer function works
well, but the solo version is where it shines, making it easy to play a quick but full game. I’d happily give it an extra star
for each of the following two fixes: (1)

By TBL53.
June 23, 2020
3 out of 5
'Weak AI'

'I am not that good of a TM player. I routinely beat 4 Hard AI’s by 10-15 points.'

By MemphisMark.
June 19, 2020
3 out of 5
'Late game crashing'

'Would be a better rating if the game didn’t constantly crash towards the end game. The later the game the more often it
crashes. I don’t think I’ve completed a game without it crashing'

By frtahkf.
June 17, 2020
3 out of 5
'Great single player, terrible multiplayer'

'If you are looking for a good solo mode or single player mode, this absolutely is one of the best digital adaptation.
Terraforming Mars ranks amongst the top 3 in board games and the digital adaptation is just as satisfying. There can be some
feature improvements like an undo button but there reall

By Keeeevv.
June 5, 2020
3 out of 5
'UI is slick but too many bugs'

'Multiplayer is a mess, difficult to launch games, easy to get timed out and kicked by the server.\nFound at least 3 bugs that
stop the game in its tracks.\nNo support for expansions.\nDon’t think the developers will fix any since the original dev house
is gone.'

By Zequel2.
June 3, 2020
3 out of 5
'Confusing'

'I love games, and I think I will love this if I ever learn it. I have only played one game, but it took like 3 hours of playing,
and I only got up to 26 points, from 20. I think I am definitely missing something. Yes, I played through the whole tutorial
twice. Once before starting, once halfway

By Purple Skates 88.
June 2, 2020
3 out of 5
'Fix the bugs!'

'I loved this App when I first got it but the last couple of days it is crashing anytime I log in. Haven’t been able to finish a
game all day.'

By slhoneyc.
May 16, 2020
3 out of 5
'Online needs work'

'Notifications seem to crash the app, but without notifications it’s really hard to play draft variant online. We shouldn’t
have to be texting each other as to whose turn it is. Tons of games get this right, hard to understand why this one doesn’t.'

By JoeyB78.
May 14, 2020
3 out of 5
'Online Play'

'Online play is a bit frustrating'

By Sqwat13.
May 12, 2020
3 out of 5
'Good, but Still a Little Glitchy'

'It’s great to have this on iOS finally. \n\nBiggest issue: There is no undo button. That should probably be a priority fix.
If you “forget” to click the buttons for paying with steel or titanium and press play, forget making the rest of your
“amazing” turn happen. There is no way to

By Third times the charm 73.
May 8, 2020
3 out of 5
'Missing One Thing'

'I really love this app (I play at least once a day on my iPad), but PLEASE release the expansions! I have all of them for the
physical version, and really want to have them available digitally. I keep hoping that they’ll show up sooner than later as in
app purchases (fingers crossed).\n\nUpdated

By Cybermudgeon.
May 4, 2020
3 out of 5
'Good game, minor bugs prevents it from greatness'

'This is a good adaption of a fantastic board game. But multiplayer is complicated because:\n\n- The game doesn’t notify you
when it’s your turn to play\n- If you minimize the game or overlay ANYTHING on top of it (on iPad, like messages, or Spotlight),
it kicks you out of the game temporarily,

By Littke.
April 25, 2020
3 out of 5
'Good Visuals But Poor Online Execution'

'I play this game almost exclusively asynchronous with friends. The async implementation is pretty poor overall. \n\nThe lack of
turn notifications is the first major point against the game, this oversight is pretty shocking as games have had this for many
years now. \n\nThe forced turn order during

By meat mug.
April 20, 2020
3 out of 5
'Mediocre implementation'

'Firstly I simply love this game. I’ve played the physical version almost 300 times.\nThis implementation leaves much to be
desired. Maybe because I’m comparing it to the Ascension app, which is way better. (I’ve played Ascension over 9000 times
online; I’m on games 3-8 of TM.)\n\nLet me go

By noNotTheOne.
April 18, 2020
3 out of 5
'Great game, app is frustrating'

'The app has a lot of frustrating features. For example, you get logged out of an online game if your phone goes dark or you get a
notification. Also, online games have you set a time limit per player, defaulting to 30 min, which is much too short. There is no
way to keep track of how much time you

By beetlover418.
April 9, 2020
3 out of 5
'Great gameplay but too much waiting between turns

'The game plays great, just like the tabletop version. The loading whenever you stray from the app gets old - I keep getting a
disconnected from server message. And then “Planet in sight. Preparing for arrival” over and over and over. I play on the
iPhone X and don’t get notifications when it

By dannosky.
March 31, 2020
3 out of 5
'Good adaptation but bugs ruin gameplay'

'There are a couple of bugs that make this really annoying to play. It’s too bad because the game is good and it’s adaption is
well done in general. The biggest issue is science tags not being counted properly. Seemingly at random, you will play science
cards and your tags don’t increment. Thi

By Ray 4512.
March 28, 2020
3 out of 5
Great, but improvements needed!

Such a great port of the tabletop version! However, several improvements are needed to make this more usable...

BUGS
- Gameplay: "Power Infrastructure" card doesn't work.
- Gameplay: Green chat "unread badge" remains after reading.
- Gameplay Functionality: "Setup" and "Research Phase" (Corporation

By prestonhorn.
January 28, 2020
3 out of 5
Great game but app needs a lot of work!

Terraforming Mars warrants a three star review (and a buy recommendation from yours truly) simply because it allows one of the
greatest board games of all time to be successfully played on the phone.

However, there are numerous issues with the app (some bugs and some poor UI choices) that make the

By fadeproofvision.
January 23, 2020
3 out of 5
Desperately needs a undo button!

For those learning, and those who aren’t, an undo button in a game like this is just critical. There are far too many steps
involved where one simple accidental mistake of forgetting one minor detail can cascade to disaster. An undo would make all the
difference in giving this 5 stars.

By Jc127.
January 22, 2020
3 out of 5
It’s a great game but

The AI on hard is too easy. The one thing I like about through the ages is all the challenges. Figures something that out please

By Tom Jonze.
January 19, 2020
3 out of 5
Great Adaptation. Constant Reload Make Asynchronou

Overall, a great app version of a great game. Solo Challenge and Playing against AI is top notch. Asynchronous play would be
greatly improved if developer could make it so that the app doesn’t have to reload all of the dang time. Fix that, this goes to
five stars.

By dawashin.
January 15, 2020
3 out of 5
Great game, poor mobile game experience

I love this game, and own the steam version as well. This feels like a direct port from PC, and has none of the typical mobile
features a board game app needs to play smoothly. This game as a mobile game MUST have asynchronous gameplay elements implemented
ASAP.

1) If you are not connected when so

By Act69afool.
January 14, 2020
3 out of 5
Fun game with lots of bugs

The game is amazing and the app design is great. There are a lot of bugs with notifications and multiplayer. If you have multiple
games going there is no way to see which game it is your turn even IF you get a notification. You must load each game individually
to find it.

By twilight struggler.
January 13, 2020
3 out of 5
Great port with some troublesome flaws

Great game and fun on the phone or tablet. However, I mainly play multiplayer asynchronous (in other words, setting the timer at
450 days!), and there are two huge problems:
1) Anytime you leave the app or even check an imessage from the dropdown notification, you lose connection with the app and h

By ChopsueyCP.
January 12, 2020
3 out of 5
“Resume” freezes EVERY time

The “resume” previous game just does not work. It hangs in the loading screen every time. Great game if you have the time to
get in a full play in one session, otherwise it’s useless.

By Jbvord.
January 10, 2020
3 out of 5
Okay

Everything is there, the user interface is just not very intuitive; it is kind of chaotic, many functions spreading all over the
place. The user interface could also use a facelift. I only have an old, 4-year old iPad, but even on that the graphics look
blurry and out-dated. Don’t get me wrong, th

By Rince Art.
January 6, 2020
3 out of 5
Love it but flawed

I love Terraforming Mars, and the app is great. However online play has issues.

You are forced to select play time, but you just don’t know how long a game of TM will take. You invest all this time to play a
game that takes an immense amount of time and then you get kicked out with a few moves l

By Brently49.
January 1, 2020
3 out of 5
good game with multiplayer bugs

Overall, the game runs really well on single player mode. Multiplayer is not really stable.

First the good. Terraforming Mars is an awesome board game! The digital board is gorgeous and everything is intuitive if
you’ve played the board game before. I really like the fact that bookkeeping i

By ZenArcade1.
December 28, 2019
3 out of 5
Can’t put it down (seriously, it won’t save)

I like the graphic interface and the game itself is fantastic. There are a few small problems like the game is clearly meant for a
tablet, or that there is no undo button, but for all the great gameplay it works... Except when you put your game down for a bit
and the next day you want to wrap up tha

By icelusx.
December 27, 2019
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total