Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

Terraforming Mars

by Asmodee Digital
Positive
76%
critic
24%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of Terraforming Mars by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of Terraforming Mars written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for Terraforming Mars

Reviews: 52Avg. Rating: 7.6/10

Positive reviews

4 out of 5
'Mostly good'

'BUG: When creating private games between two players sometimes I will see a list of ongoing games that are seemingly orphaned.
Im unable to delete them by forfeiting.\n\nThey briefly disappear but then re-appear.'

By Bruoff.
October 1, 2020
5 out of 5
'Needs the expansions'

'Love the game. Played with friend IRL and on the app. I’ve played so much that I am starting to get bored with the map and the
same corporation. When and what are the expansions coming?'

By soupaloop2392.
September 17, 2020
4 out of 5
'Glitches'

'I have an iPad mini and it crashes repeatedly. I enjoy the game so much that I continue playing despite this obstacle. The worst
glitch I’ve encountered usually happens when I’m 75% done with the game and it gets stuck when drafting cards. The only option
to recover is to forfeit. Please fix th

By Mercatian777.
September 15, 2020
4 out of 5
'Excellent adaptation'

'The core game is well executed, it would be nice if cities would be clearly marked some other tiles look like cities. Hop
expansions are added like Prelude to speed up play.'

By Galvanized Yankee.
September 12, 2020
4 out of 5
'Shame on Asmodee for this mess!'

'Edit: Six months of feedback and update beta testing and they still can’t figure out how to tell you which game it is your
turn in or how to show you the scores at the end of the game. I also had to log in to the Asmodee website to add friends to test
out the update - still no way to do this in

By TheMirefox.
September 5, 2020
5 out of 5
'Expansions Please!!'

'I really enjoy this app and I’ve encouraged many friends to practice playing on their own after they first learn in person. I
really just wish there were expansions included.'

By Biceratopss.
August 31, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great Port; minor bugs, no expansions'

'As a game that takes weeks to setup, it’s nice to have this on the iPad. Lacks any expansions and there are some touch point
bugs but overall a great port.'

By mon7ez.
August 11, 2020
4 out of 5
'Great adaptation with one annoying bug'

'This is a great adaptation to the real game! However, one annoying bug I have found is that some tags are not adding up
correctly. It seems to be with cards that have an event tag along with other tags included on a card (Earth, space, etc.). Some
examples are the Asteroid and the Comet cards. They

By AReviewer555.
August 9, 2020
5 out of 5
'Solo Gamer'

'With COVID-19 I can’t game with groups now. This has allowed me to play with AI and have some fun. Lots of fun given the
current situation. I look forward to the playing with real humans in the future.'

By Anus McDougle.
August 4, 2020
5 out of 5
'Wow!'

'Never would of imagined an app living up to a game I enjoyed as much on the table.'

By ldiggitty.
July 23, 2020
5 out of 5
'Fun Fun Fun'

'I have the board game but it’s great to play anytime anywhere'

By alwaysbob.
July 22, 2020
5 out of 5
'Track local win/loss?'

'Great app of the the game. Probably the best direct translation from the board game to an app that I have played. \nI’m just
wanted to see if the dev’s can update the app to track local win/loss against the various levels of AI difficulty? Not sure if
this is feasible but would be a great addit

By danielrg3000.
July 15, 2020
5 out of 5
'A Masterpiece'

'Absolutely love this game. I cannot say enough good things about this game, so just download it. You won’t be disappointed.'

By drkarchong.
July 6, 2020
5 out of 5
'Needs expansions, at least prelude'

'Definitely love this Ap, it’s not perfect but quite good. Would be super excited if prelude was added, prelude just adds so
much to the game and I would think it wouldn’t be hard to code. Please add prelude, definitely would be willing to pay some for
the upgrade! (The others expansions woul

By marsterraformer.
July 4, 2020
4 out of 5
'Great adaption of theboard game!'

'The AI is t that good though!'

By Dwarven_war_axe.
July 3, 2020
5 out of 5
'Protected habitats'

'Please make the card work properly'

By yodatracy.
June 24, 2020
4 out of 5
'Great game'

'Let me start by saying that i love this game. Its one of my gaming group’s favorite and we have played it a lot. I also love
the port and wish more board games would make an online version. If you like board games and enjoy strategy I would highly
recommend getting this.\n\nWith that being sai

By Loramer1141.
June 23, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great app, needs expansions'

'I’m having a lot of fun with the app after playing the board game for years. However, you seriously need to start adding
expansions!'

By Roomnut.
June 11, 2020
5 out of 5
'Awesome game and a suggestion for improvement'

'The app is really well made and super playable. Great work!\n\nCan you please add in the ability to pause or adjust the timer in
private games? \n\nAnd expansions!!'

By AB58271.
June 2, 2020
4 out of 5
'Good game, needs expansions'

'I love the board game and the app is fun to play especially because I can play it lounging on a couch! However, I\'m used to
playing with the expansions and it\'s hard to love an app that you know can get better. This app REALLY needs the expansions.
Even if it\'s only one at a time, please get th

By Jdayflub.
June 1, 2020
4 out of 5
'Fantastic... other then the crashes.'

'If you like the board game, you’ll love the app. I mainly play versus AI, so I can’t speak much for the other modes but I am
excited to play online at some point. The biggest downfall is that I can’t get through a single game without it crashing
repeatedly. Overall, these crashes are more of

By Beau N..
May 19, 2020
5 out of 5
'Very satisfactory game'

'I love Terraforming Mars. Been playing it every day, lol. Deep satisfying Boardgame port. I am a mars fan.'

By chuckwheel.
May 19, 2020
4 out of 5
'Love it, but NEEDS expansions'

'This is a great digital adaptation. It’s quick and easy to pick up. However it could really be helped by some expansions. The
base game is great but the limited corporations and projects can really make it repetitive after a while. I would pay a few more $
for digital versions of all the expansio

By Sarah Lowenberg.
May 18, 2020
4 out of 5
'I want to be BLUE!'

'I should be able to select my character color. Chris should be green not purple and I should be BLUE not green! It is so
distracting to play as the wrong colors. The colors of the players should also be jewel tones. Other than that the game play is
very similar to the board game and the graphics ar

By MacLavish.
May 7, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great job!'

'Overall a good adaptation of the board game. Found a stable bug (ants card doesn’t work), but aside from that one bug the game
is great. Can’t wait for the extension with clouds (like with the extension of the board game).'

By Nyusha1234.
May 5, 2020
5 out of 5
'Intriguing challenge'

'The is building game with a Martian flavor. Multi replay potential each game is different. Fun to play some special effects
what more could you want'

By im not stacked.
May 3, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great game'

'The game is great. Please Give us more maps and cards.'

By Dinohtar.
April 27, 2020
4 out of 5
'Expansions?'

'I love this game virtually and irl. I would have given it 5 stars if it had some of the expansions. Which I’m totally willing
to pay for.'

By cutiecaq13.
April 25, 2020
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
'Needs Cancel/Undo Option'

'I love this game and overall a good adaptation...\n\nBut REALLY needs a way to cancel actions before they are finalized. It’s
way too easy to end up making a mistake either because of fat fingers or because not all the needed information is apparent when
you make your choice but one bad tap and

By IndyJohn2010.
September 24, 2020
3 out of 5
'September update “awesome”!'

'I don’t know which feature of the update sent out at the beginning of September I like more.\nThe fact that all of my ongoing
games disappeared? \nOr that when a game ends now, it actually stays in my list of games? \nIt’s a toss up!'

By noNotTheOne.
September 20, 2020
3 out of 5
'Not perfect'

'Like the game so far but not perfect:\n1. Let player watch the game when run out of time; \n2. P2p message\n3. Sometimes, VP at
game end is not correct for some players\n4. Need a list of historical game played, and results\n5. Not able to review game status
when a game is finished\n6. Sometimes ca

By Mibcooooo.
September 8, 2020
3 out of 5
'Still problems after update'

'The update improved some things. One major issue I think needs to be addressed is that you cannot tell whose turn it is in online
games without loading the game. The games do not load very quickly so if you have several games going at once then this is really
a pain. Also I agree with others here t

By RavensFan619.
September 3, 2020
3 out of 5
'Async multiplayer needs work'

'I love this game & they’ve done a good job bringing ambiance to the play &making it work on small screens. However, the
multiplayer parts of it are incredibly primitive. The dev team really needs to up their game here.\nThe list of saved games
provides no more information than the number of pla

By SciPlayer.
September 2, 2020
3 out of 5
'Slow and a few bugs, but I’m playing nonstop'

'I’ve played this game a LOT and have found a few issues:\n\nFEATURES:\n1) defaults to subtract from myself. Why would I ever
want to remove 6 plants from myself?! \n2) no option to NOT subtract (on some cards). Certain cards don’t allow an option to
select no one, so if YOU are the only one wit

By Ryanr912.
August 30, 2020
3 out of 5
'Online multiplayer needs work'

'Bought his to play among friend who all enjoy the game. Very clunky experience with turn notifications and card drafting.
Constantly have to check back and have no real idea what is happening during draft. I love the way the turn flow and display flow
works, would give the game 5 stars if I could

By jviscusi.
August 26, 2020
3 out of 5
'Great solo game - needs work for asynchronous mul

'I love this as a solo game (either actual solo mode or against AI). It doesn’t have an undo feature, and it chews up battery
like a puppy with a shoe, but it’s still really good. Where this flops for me is on the asynchronous multiplayer online mode.
Things that Really Annoy Me:\n\n- It can tak

By 911 Doc.
August 19, 2020
3 out of 5
'Great game, a few design flaws in implemation'

'The implementation sorely needs a few tweaks, most prominently:\n\n-\"Are you sure?\" — if you select something by mistake when
carrying out a card\'s effects, the only way to backtrack is to go to the Main Menu or restart the app.\n-At the end and after the
final score reveal, there\'s no way to

By jlawton.
August 16, 2020
3 out of 5
'Great game, a few design flaws in implemation'

'The implementation sorely needs a few tweaks, most prominently:\n\n-\"Are you sure?\" — if you select something by mistake when
carrying out a card\'s effects, the only way to backtrack is to go to the Main Menu or restart the app.\n-At the end and after the
final score reveal, there\'s no way to

By thomascantor.
August 16, 2020
3 out of 5
'Fun/Frustrating'

'This is a really great game, and with a little work, will be even better! Graphics are great, animation is great, UI is a
delight.\n\nUnfortunately, out of the 4 or 5 games I’ve played so far, none have happened smoothly from beginning to end. People
get booted and you have to wait an absurd amou

By puppet nonsense.
July 17, 2020
3 out of 5
'Generally good but some annoying bugs and limitat

'Edited to add: Still running into multiplayer bugs. It doesn’t seem to take card choices during drafting and we keep having to
reselect. Really holds up the game. \n\nOverall the game is pretty well done, and playing vs ai locally works pretty well. The
game should have an undo//redo button by no

By scottij.
June 28, 2020
3 out of 5
'Great adaption; needs some fixes'

'This is a great adaption of the board game for iOS. It’s a beautiful and intuitive interface. The multiplayer function works
well, but the solo version is where it shines, making it easy to play a quick but full game. I’d happily give it an extra star
for each of the following two fixes: (1)

By TBL53.
June 23, 2020
3 out of 5
'Weak AI'

'I am not that good of a TM player. I routinely beat 4 Hard AI’s by 10-15 points.'

By MemphisMark.
June 19, 2020
3 out of 5
'Late game crashing'

'Would be a better rating if the game didn’t constantly crash towards the end game. The later the game the more often it
crashes. I don’t think I’ve completed a game without it crashing'

By frtahkf.
June 17, 2020
3 out of 5
'Great single player, terrible multiplayer'

'If you are looking for a good solo mode or single player mode, this absolutely is one of the best digital adaptation.
Terraforming Mars ranks amongst the top 3 in board games and the digital adaptation is just as satisfying. There can be some
feature improvements like an undo button but there reall

By Keeeevv.
June 5, 2020
3 out of 5
'UI is slick but too many bugs'

'Multiplayer is a mess, difficult to launch games, easy to get timed out and kicked by the server.\nFound at least 3 bugs that
stop the game in its tracks.\nNo support for expansions.\nDon’t think the developers will fix any since the original dev house
is gone.'

By Zequel2.
June 3, 2020
3 out of 5
'Confusing'

'I love games, and I think I will love this if I ever learn it. I have only played one game, but it took like 3 hours of playing,
and I only got up to 26 points, from 20. I think I am definitely missing something. Yes, I played through the whole tutorial
twice. Once before starting, once halfway

By Purple Skates 88.
June 2, 2020
3 out of 5
'Fix the bugs!'

'I loved this App when I first got it but the last couple of days it is crashing anytime I log in. Haven’t been able to finish a
game all day.'

By slhoneyc.
May 16, 2020
3 out of 5
'Online needs work'

'Notifications seem to crash the app, but without notifications it’s really hard to play draft variant online. We shouldn’t
have to be texting each other as to whose turn it is. Tons of games get this right, hard to understand why this one doesn’t.'

By JoeyB78.
May 14, 2020
3 out of 5
'Online Play'

'Online play is a bit frustrating'

By Sqwat13.
May 12, 2020
3 out of 5
'Missing One Thing'

'I really love this app (I play at least once a day on my iPad), but PLEASE release the expansions! I have all of them for the
physical version, and really want to have them available digitally. I keep hoping that they’ll show up sooner than later as in
app purchases (fingers crossed).\n\nUpdated

By Cybermudgeon.
May 4, 2020
3 out of 5
'Good adaptation'

'The board game is a bit complex so its nice to have the tablet version of it mechanically carry out the rules so you can learn.
No more googling to see if it is this way or that way, as the app only lets you do legal moves.\nFirst time we played I ran out of
time, unlike the board game this one put

By Hmoazed.
May 2, 2020
3 out of 5
'Good game, minor bugs prevents it from greatness'

'This is a good adaption of a fantastic board game. But multiplayer is complicated because:\n\n- The game doesn’t notify you
when it’s your turn to play\n- If you minimize the game or overlay ANYTHING on top of it (on iPad, like messages, or Spotlight),
it kicks you out of the game temporarily,

By Littke.
April 25, 2020
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total