Reviews & Ratings - United Kingdom

App Icon

Terraforming Mars

by Asmodee Digital
Positive
72%
critic
28%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of Terraforming Mars by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of Terraforming Mars written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for Terraforming Mars in United Kingdom

Reviews: 23Avg. Rating: 7.2/10

Positive reviews

5 out of 5
Good Stuff

Great game- hoping the expansions get added soon.

By Mikus of Beast.
April 4, 2020
4 out of 5
Regular crashes

Would be a 5 stars if it didn’t crash every so often. Especially annoying as loading games is especially long.

By kapouillax.
March 30, 2020
4 out of 5
Good for learning the basics

This is a nice implementation of the base game. I have only used it to play against the AI which has been a useful way of
consolidating my knowledge of the game. However it lacks the expansions and the AI is too easy to beat even on its hardest
setting. Still a great way to kill a couple of hours.

By noodlewig.
March 2, 2020
5 out of 5
Great game, well interpreted

I love this game and have it on laptop and the board game also.
I agree that there should in future e some way to show progress and to go back and look at what happened in the game.

My biggest gripe is the time taken to rejoin a previously saved game. It takes forever, can this be looked at please.
On the laptop the oxygen and heat measures are aligned well, the iOS version appears a bit skewed, making it tricky to see where
the points are for extra heat and water.

Otherwise, as said, a great

By FluffyTskrang.
February 17, 2020
4 out of 5
A little glitchy but still great!

There are a few bugs in the current version of the software (else this review would be 5 stars). Also, at this time, only the base
game cards and corporations are available. This leads to the game feeling competitive after a relatively short amount of time. A
leader board would also be greatly appreciated - so that one’s progress and high scores can be tracked.

To clarify Terraforming Mars is an Amazing game and I thoroughly recommend it to anyone and this App does a very good job a
digitalis

By VivaSkegVegas.
January 20, 2020
5 out of 5
Terraforming Mars

An excellent version of the brilliant board game. Does all the fiddly bits for you with the adding and spending of resources. The
AI seems well balanced and as always finds that final move to thwart you.

By jef arnold.
January 16, 2020
4 out of 5
Can’t multitask.

An excellent app let down by the fact that if you try to minimise the app it boots you out of any game you are playing.

By EvilSoupdragon.
January 11, 2020
4 out of 5
Great Game

Online play seems to be fixed now, plays smooth and fast. Well done

By Smattzz.
January 2, 2020
5 out of 5
Resume doesn’t work

Great game but you can’t come out of a local game to use RESUME button... fix soon I hope

EDIT: fixed now!

By SimonMatthewB.
January 1, 2020
5 out of 5
Great Port!

Great port of the pc version. It scales well with different devices as well and the gameplay is unmistakenably TF at its core. I
love how they kept the solo mode despite the fact you can already play against AIs!

By Keltovignel.
December 14, 2019
4 out of 5
Faithful to the Board Game

I haven’t played multiplayer yet but solo or against the AI it works really well. Disappointingly there’s no way to go back
and review the endgame position once the scores are calculated and there doesn’t appear to be any stats kept for games
won/scores etc.

By JN44.
December 14, 2019
5 out of 5
Fantastic Implementation

A great implementation of the board game. Improvements could still be made to multiplayer and have some stats available (detailed
like Race for the Galaxy). The iOS version allows this much loved game to be played more often as the digital mode breaks down one
of the barriers for the board game and that is time! A well awaited app for the board game community.

By StopJCDenton.
December 9, 2019
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

2 out of 5
Nice design, spoiled by poor functionality

The implementation of the game is good, very nice visuals, reasonably easy to start a game with friends in different countries.
But, the game had a time limit for each player (in our case 30 mins), once that time was up, we all individually got kicked from
the game! No way to see final score, no idea who won... just.. 30 mins are up, out you go! Incredibly frustrating..

By Wee Dunadan.
March 15, 2020
2 out of 5
Hopeless for asynchronous play

Designed as an app for 'live' play the app fails in asynchronous mode which is how most people play long strategy board game apps.
Problems:
- Slow to load (upto a minute) a game
- if you are playing multiple games there is no indication which game your turn is up in
- no one sees the result of the game except the person whose turn it is
- app updates destroy all current games
There’s a load more problems for asynchronous play but that’s the worst of it.

By Duckworp.
February 25, 2020
2 out of 5
Slow

Good game, but painfully slow implementation, even on fastest animation speed.

By Mohan222.
February 24, 2020
3 out of 5
Basically great but.....

A good looking and faithful port of the base game, but there are some real issues.
My biggest issue is the complete failure of the saved games to work. This is a petty fundamental flaw really, a left me feeling
frustrated many times.
A couple of the cards do not work (energy infrastructure for one) which is annoying the first time, but you learn to avoid it.
It would also be nice to be able to see the final game state, instead of just being able to see the scoreboard.
Fix the bugs (the saving/re

By BigFatBrucey.
February 17, 2020
3 out of 5
Great but crashes often

Love the game but keep randomly getting ditched out. No reason, no error message. Brand new iPad Air so doubt it’s my device.

By Mana chimp.
January 15, 2020
2 out of 5
Crashes every game

I want to give this 5 stars as I think they’ve done a great job and I love this game, unfortunately I have now tried to play 5
times only against the AIs and I have had a game ending crash every single time so never been able to finish a game! It also
doesn’t save progress which is so frustrating when you have a good engine going to never see how it finishes! Usually find a
crash around generation 7. Please fix this as I really want to play this on mobile!

By kburney15.
December 27, 2019
3 out of 5
Almost great, but async is terrible

Asmodee and its async. They just don’t know how to do it. Small World, Ticket to Ride and now years later Terraforming Mars, all
with the same issue - to create an async online public game, you all have to be online at the same time lol... crazy. Create a
game and leave the app, it disappears. So, it boils down to creating a game and ensuring the app and iPad are running for hours in
the hope players will join, and stay, until you start it... totally ridiculous. Otherwise, single player is goo

By DrJambo.
December 25, 2019
3 out of 5
Great app but can’t resume after crash

The game state should be continually saved so that it can be resumed after a crash. It has crashed on me several times and just
reverts to a new game. There is a resume button but it doesn’t work. Very frustrating when 80 or 90% through a game

By Ihgiugugjhguyguhg.
December 17, 2019
3 out of 5
Good strategy board game but too pricey

Beautifully crafted board game that is a bit complicated to start with but fun and demanding once understood. It falls down a on
price though as it really needs more content if you are going to charge close to 10 pounds. Maybe more single player scenarios or
alternative game modes required.

By Guranga50.
December 17, 2019
2 out of 5
Crashing after December 10 update

Was fine until I updated today .. now crashes randomly during play forcing you to resume everytime .. was fine for days on
previous build.

By Meeple101.
December 10, 2019
3 out of 5
Loses local games - when sorted will be great

Local games can be lost if you leave the app to answer texts etc

Also lost if it crashes, as mine did in final round :(

Rated 3/5 - will be 5/5 when bugs fixed

By Eaf bgg.
December 9, 2019
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total