Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

The Kids We Were

by GAGEX Co.,Ltd.
Positive
98%
critic
2%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of The Kids We Were by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of The Kids We Were written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for The Kids We Were

Reviews: 70Avg. Rating: 9.8/10

Positive reviews

5 out of 5
I didn’t write reviews ever but this deserves one

Everything about this is beautiful. The story telling was so immersive. The pixelated art is absolutely amazing. The fact that
this is an app makes it even more impressive. Thank you to everyone who worked on this game and I really hope you guys make
another game like this

By drmarshall15.
January 8, 2021
5 out of 5
Wow, definitely worth a play

There’s not “gameplay” per say, but I enjoyed this game a lot. It made me feel at times, and has a very wholesome story
overall, and reminds me of something that seems so out of reach now. Would definitely recommend the VIP mode, I just didn’t buy
it cause I’m broke.

By PNGU1N.
December 23, 2020
5 out of 5
The best story mobile game I’ve ever played

The Kids We Were is a beautifully written story game that is surprisingly free. When I downloaded it I didn’t expect much but
when I played through it I slowly became more and more invested in the story. When I finished it the ending left me speechless. I
overall really enjoyed the game.

By Kain Flores.
December 22, 2020
5 out of 5
Touching, complex story

This story begins just as you would expect. Still quite beautiful with a hint of the nostalgia of childhood. But as it continues,
it becomes so much more than that. You are drawn in by all of the character and increasingly dynamic story. I would not only
recommend downloading the game but paying the

By Dvdbzosns.
December 22, 2020
5 out of 5
so moving

thank you so much for making this game! I didn’t expect the content at all but I’m so happy it had the themes it did. The town
was so wonderful and I loved all the thought that was put into all the characters, buildings, and collectible designs. I
mistakenly thought 14 was the last chapter for a whi

By Omg yasssssssssssss.
December 18, 2020
5 out of 5
Well done

If you’re reading reviews to see if you should download it:

Do it you will not regret it
•It’s one of the best games I’ve ever played
•It’s kind of like a visual novel type game
•It truly is 100% free start to finish and you never have to wait a period of time before you can continue or anything l

By olivegarden33.
December 17, 2020
5 out of 5
OH. MY. WHATT?!?

This story TRANSPORTED me!! The story had so many different angles, and so many fun mysteries to really get your gears turning!
This is a time travel story on a whole new level, and it also adds wonderful current and past Japanese culture!! This game had so
much to love and always kept on giving and

By HeyB17.
December 8, 2020
5 out of 5
Wholesome and Moving

This is one of the few free app store games that I genuinely feel should be paid for. The amount of effort and heart this little
and short game has trumps the majority of other unoriginal content on the app store. The story is very well written and I loved
the dialogue. Even if it was just translate

By Gono8.
December 8, 2020
5 out of 5
Very emotional

This game ending made me cry. And I never cry. This game touched my heart. Please make more or at lest Make part two soon.
Please🥺.

Put in English

By bobby the Terrible.
December 4, 2020
5 out of 5
Beautiful

This story was so beautifully woven it just made my heart drop every time a plot twist happened and it was so enthralling.

By laggiest gqme ever.
December 2, 2020
5 out of 5
Pretty dang great

The attention to detail, the collectible items, the descriptions of the catalog items, the character’s hair, hair color, eye
colors, height, the attention to detail of the town and shops and signs, is mind blowing.
The fact that in the credits we see only one person was responsible for all 70+ of t

By Fujchfft.
November 30, 2020
5 out of 5
Great game

This is a really great game. It has humor,adventure and a great storyline. I would definitely recommend. The only thing that
bothered me was the pause between screens always got me turned around.

By Soccercat15.
November 28, 2020
5 out of 5
Great

Great game, and great story. I really enjoyed it

By manboy123.
November 28, 2020
5 out of 5
Beautifully well done and fair play!

This games is too good to be true! As many said here, I don't often give review but this heart warming game deserve!
The script is great, the animation/set are beautifull, the ost is spot on!
I couldn't stop playing until I got to the end!
I'm trying to avoid anyspoiler, but I felt like I was playi

By girleditorj.
November 25, 2020
5 out of 5
Love it, pls make a sequel!

Omg, I love this game so much. The storyline is amazing, and the graphics are really good too! Thank you to the people who made
this game happen, or else I wouldn't get to experience such an amazing game. The characters, plot, graphics, etc. are just so
good, that I want a sequel to this so much. Th

By Saechiko.
November 24, 2020
5 out of 5
Beautiful Game

Kensuke Imura, you are a genius. Well done with this touching game.

By generaldavid614.
November 22, 2020
5 out of 5
Don’t judge a book by it’s cover

This game is just... wow.. I was hooked on it and the ending made me shed tears, I’m not sure how I didn’t cry more, it’s
such a good story and really well done, I recommend it to anyone looking for a amazing story! It’s like a book but in a game!

By Jacedg.
November 21, 2020
5 out of 5
Make another one plss

I love this game and I want to know if he gets married after he turn old

By Sebastian ly.
November 20, 2020
5 out of 5
...

This game is so amazing ! But I have one question , was I the only one that cried during playing it ?? And was I the only one who
finished this story in a day ?? Please tell me I’m not the only one -

By 🎀💗🧸.
November 20, 2020
5 out of 5
Best Game That I Have Ever Played

This is literally the most amazing game. Ever. And the ending is seriously just beautiful. I love this game so much lol

By Mayonnaise XI.
November 20, 2020
5 out of 5
It's just too sad.

I can't see it end like this, your game is pure amazing!

By PandaThatIsntRed.
November 20, 2020
5 out of 5
BEST FRICKING STORY GAME!!

So I saw this game on the game of the day and instantly saw the description, I thought “this sounds like a good short story
game” I played and I was honestly amazed, I haven’t finished the game yet but I can tell u it’s fricking awesome, it’s a
bit confusing at the beginning but then you get the gis

By BlackBlueGames.
November 19, 2020
5 out of 5
Satisfying and emotional

This was a true tear jerker. I learned a lot of little nuances about Japanese culture and everyday life. I won’t spoil the
story, but keep working at it, and your emotional investment will truly be rewarded!

Definitely worth the play through.

By Sterruz.
November 19, 2020
5 out of 5
So beautiful

I’m not the type to write reviews on anything but this game was so beautiful. The storyline had me star struck as I played it
non stop until the morning. I would recommend this game to anyone and everyone who loves games, etc. This is a one play game only.
I got emotional a few times, hit a spot for

By coolgirl0816.
November 19, 2020
5 out of 5
Absolutely beautiful

I don’t normally write reviews, but this game is easily the best app I’ve ever played. The art is so beautiful, the storyline
is creative and very engaging, the soundtrack is wonderful. Do you know how many bugs there were? None. It’s so hard to find
something like that. My only complaint is that it

By Great Expectations..?.
November 12, 2020
5 out of 5
wow

i can’t even begin to explain how well done this game is and there’s nothing i could say to give it justice other than, get
it. invest your time into completing this game and going on the adventure, i promise it’ll be worth it and you’ll come out
enlightened. beautiful graphics and story line.

By Showstopper Virginia.
November 10, 2020
5 out of 5
Game review

I played all the way to chapter 14 it was good I was a little bit spooked but I’m ready for a continuation for the game

By Sponge_gart.
November 9, 2020
5 out of 5
Plz make a sequel!

This game was amazing but I don’t think you should have made that alternate ending so secret. I almost didn’t even get to see
it because when I reached chapter 14 I was about to delete the game thinking I had finished. It’s only the fact that I wasn’t
satisfied with the ending and the fact that I th

By FivePiontStar.
October 30, 2020
5 out of 5
Super duper

This is a great game! It’s a unique interactive story, with mysteries to solve, items to find, and a story line.

By Victoria J.
October 28, 2020
5 out of 5
Photo Mode is Dope

Taking photos with Free Mode is super fun!

The best challenge is seeing how to get props in place using the camera tracking system.

It’s always satisfying seeing the Camera Lock into place, allowing you to manipulate your player either in or out of the photo.

From there, it’s using perspective an

By Your Irrational Hero.
October 25, 2020
5 out of 5
amazing. period.

it’s so good. well written, beautiful story line, and so much more. dont even think about whether or not you should play it.
just get it. period.
(also there are ads but you can either pay or just deal with it. it’s not bad tbh)

By dlwpdls.
October 19, 2020
5 out of 5
My honest review

Nobody reviews games anymore at least i never did, but this game definitely earned my respect and 5 stars. Keep up the great work
and ill be able waiting for the next one, if its free to play...

By naofumisama a weeb.
October 18, 2020
5 out of 5
I’m very emotional right now

Absolutely loved this game 🥺🥺

By Ida shabanu.
October 16, 2020
5 out of 5
ngl, i’m in love with this :>

i always play it during my free time and boy it’s so addicting! the sound makes the experience much better. download this one
ryt now, you ain’t gonna regret. also, thanku to the team who placed a huge effort in making the game, kudos to the people
behind this. you guys made a wonderful game :) nice

By Poyinnnn.
October 12, 2020
5 out of 5
Very Adventurous! And Fun!

It’s a Tale Of Great Mysteries! I definitely love the game!

By Hahshdis.
October 12, 2020
5 out of 5
Sequel?

Y’know. As the title says. Still would be pretty good by now because I beat the game a whole 12 hours ago. Still pretty fun.

By hicko13.
October 11, 2020
5 out of 5
I LOVE THIS GAME

Omg I have been playing for 1 night nonstop and I love it I love the story amazing graphics for a early stage of the game and
mostly I LOVE that the game dose not force you to watch a add every 2 seconds a few thing I would like you to add are getting at
lest 5 or 4 coins per mystery you find and so

By UTRA KING BOBYBOB.
October 11, 2020
5 out of 5
I want to be a kid again!

I love Japanese/Korean movies and I’m really immersed in the stories they tell, but I have yet to play a game of the same
nature. This by far will be the stepping stone than sends me on to path unknown. I love it more than I thought I would and I am
really happy I took a chance. Amazing work from ev

By DixieUltraPlate.
October 10, 2020
5 out of 5
Amazing story

This is a amazing story with love, sadness, mystery and anger. I think that this story is worth the time and ads.

By :Anonymous.
October 9, 2020
5 out of 5
Very nice!

I rarely leave reviews but this is easily one of the best games I have ever played. After a while into the story, I purchased the
VIP mode to remove ads and support the developer.

Very good story telling, awesome soundtrack and engaging mysteries. Try it out for at least 10 minutes, you won’t be d

By lazycloud.
October 9, 2020
5 out of 5
Mirai : the future and it’s up to you

The story, plot twist, the chances you give to actually change the future. It’s honestly the most perfect game filled with
sweetness, adventure, thrilling experience and love all in one.
Big kudos to the team who created this and I’m so glad I got to play this.
Looking forward to more games by you

By satisfied player J.
October 8, 2020
5 out of 5
LOVE IT!!!

Really great game!! Love the story line, and you don’t have to pay a dime! It’s been a fantastic story so far!!

By Ava's Lifemations.
October 7, 2020
5 out of 5
Great game with great story

I love GAGEX game, and I knew I had to write a review after playing. The story is tied up together so well, and I was absolutely
immersed in it. I love every little details you put in the game on top of the main story line too, it really make the little town
alive. (Oden cart dude, I see you there)

By RustyLakeFan.
October 7, 2020
5 out of 5
☺️⏳🕰🎞 🎶🔔🍯🎼🎹🎻 ♾👤❤️❤️🕹📲

An endearing game that makes you feel nostalgic. The music is like sweet melodies. Overall I love, love this game.

By Dolly_Summers.
October 6, 2020
5 out of 5
This game has the best storyline ever in a Mobile

I can’t wait for part 2 I hope that the mystery of who wrote the book will be solved and also Minito will get his sister and dad
back.
The story is heart warming and sad but has adventure and humor

Overall a MUST PLAY

By ZombieDog217.
October 6, 2020
5 out of 5
Really really good

Honestly, I don’t play many good games but this is just amazing. Every block placed and very shadow detail is amazing, not to
mention the story line.

The only thing I would like to know is what happened to the others. I know the one with blonde hair (in the bad ending) becomes
alcoholic like his da

By Bo choice.
October 5, 2020
5 out of 5
So beautiful,

This game is the most wonderful story game ever created.. it’s so sad at the end, it’s left unfinished.. but that just makes
it prettier.. Wonderful storytelling, it takes time to the next level. It makes me wish I had never played it, but only so I can
play it again, and feel the emotions so vividl

By {Review Master}.
October 5, 2020
5 out of 5
About the game

Its a good game and good story! Please make the kids we were 2! Ty! Well
Done game again.

By Gameruler2013.
October 4, 2020
5 out of 5
Best game I have ever played

Me personally didn’t know this game was going to be this beautiful. The beginning was sad but when minato goes to the past and
fixes everything is just a heartwarming moment. I really love how catching the game is. Every ending of a chapter makes you want
to reveal more of it and find out more. The

By Fangs10.
October 3, 2020
5 out of 5
So I just finished this game.

And, oh my god. Seriously, I know every review on the face of the App Store begins with ‘I don’t usually write reviews...’
but I really don’t.
However. I will for this one, because I just spent the day playing it, and now that I’ve finished it I am all up in tears.
Trying my best to tiptoe around

By Ddckhnkfchfgkhvmhvmhcrfbh.
October 3, 2020
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
Lots of Crashes

I don’t know if it’s just me, but this game crashes every so often, especially when going from one area to the other! Other
than that, the game is actually pretty good so far.

By Wolfi3_pl0yz.
October 9, 2020
3 out of 5
It was decent.

The storyline was great and there was quite a bit of items to collect but didn’t do anything. I collected most for the special
events but all I got was granny’s prize. The ending was also a letdown for me since I was expecting more. The game has a decent
overall story but at points in the story felt

By syfkcgdkhi.
September 29, 2020
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total