Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

USA TODAY Crossword

by USA TODAY
Positive
68%
critic
32%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of USA TODAY Crossword by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of USA TODAY Crossword written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for USA TODAY Crossword

Reviews: 11Avg. Rating: 6.8/10

Positive reviews

5 out of 5
'Percentile rankings not showing?'

'Fantastic app and wonderful, fresh puzzles. But after 25 solves my profile doesn’t show my calculated percentile rankings...
“N/A” is shown across the board. I would expect these percentiles to be calculated by now?'

By GB Sapper.
August 12, 2020
4 out of 5
'Needs landscape for IPads'

'Needs landscape mode for IPads that have keyboard stands.'

By reviewer for Spectrum.
March 19, 2020
4 out of 5
'Nice app, not quite perfect'

'Nice looking app and pretty intuitive. My main issue: if you make a wrong guess and erase the using backspace, the clue for the
other direction doesn’t match the cell (ok, that was harder to try to explain than I expected!).'

By pjd67.
February 28, 2020
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
Puzzles are great, app not so much :(

I love the USA today crossword, it’s one of the best crosswords and the puzzles are always fun to solve!
However, the app is not at all user friendly. The in-app keyboard freezes up and skips over letters, often times the puzzles
don’t register as completed when you’ve finished them (even if you’ve

By gabbyliv.
June 1, 2021
3 out of 5
“Cannot connect to servers”

Last couple of days “cannot connect to server” message displays. I don’t particularly like the new layout. It makes a small
keyboard smaller and more jumbled. Crosswords were fun-great to pass time while waiting. But it appears to be dead.

By Pennzy Pete.
April 9, 2021
3 out of 5
Poor UI with larger phones

The layout for the app is cumbersome & difficult to use. The design makes it a disadvantage to have a larger screen & there’s no
option to adjust size or to play in landscape.

By Pureskrilla.
January 1, 2021
3 out of 5
Content is five stars, app keyboard is one star

As far as the crosswords go, USA Today has hit it out of the park by hiring Erik Agard as editor. They couldn’t have done
better, as he is one of the smartest and freshest cluers working today. These puzzles are great!

This app itself is another story. The keyboard is *atrocious*. Crossword apps sh

By mwg1976nyc.
July 17, 2020
3 out of 5
Just move the keyboard

Can you please, please, just keep the keyboard in the same place as it is for texting and literally every other app??

By midnightmonch.
July 3, 2020
3 out of 5
Keyboard is too small

I enjoy the daily themed crossword. The clues are challenging enough but puzzles are solvable for the average person. My main
gripe is that the keyboard is too small; I keep hitting neighboring letters. Also clicking on an incorrectly filled square can be
difficult too.

By Leslie Quit Lollygagging.
June 7, 2020
3 out of 5
good but buggy

I love doing the daily crosswords but I can’t see in the archive what my time is for each puzzle, so I can’t see which ones
I’ve done or not done. Very aggravating, because I really like the crosswords and want to do more of them but can’t see which
puzzles I haven’t done already :( A very annoying

By bottlemarker.
June 4, 2020
3 out of 5
Good app but a major fault is no landscape mode

I use the free version but if I were paying for a subscription, I would expect basic functions like landscape play.

By Whodahec.
April 13, 2020
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total