Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

what3words

by what3words.
Positive
96%
critic
4%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of what3words by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of what3words written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for what3words

Reviews: 48Avg. Rating: 9.6/10

Positive reviews

5 out of 5
Fort Worth

Gn mei
can do fa asbury deh can

By micky micheal mjg gibbs.
January 15, 2021
5 out of 5
Amazing idea

Simple but super useful idea. I hope I never have to use this for emergency purposes, but knowing that I have it feels good.

By ThePeaceGuy.
January 13, 2021
5 out of 5
Great Concept

This has made finding any location faster and gets you right to the door.

By woodyh2 o.
January 1, 2021
5 out of 5
Real guide map

I think it’s one of the best technologies created in the last years, so far. Chris, the founder, is a visionary.

By Fabioxqg.
December 31, 2020
5 out of 5
Square up your travels

With What3words it’s fast , convenient, and exact ....

By FYR20XX.
December 5, 2020
5 out of 5
I’m flabbergasted

I’m amazed at the precision, and I wonder whether it will work so I can locate my AirPod cases.

By harlanpjohnson.
December 3, 2020
5 out of 5
Fantastic App

This is a fantastic app, always knowing where you are located.

By Michael Nails.
November 29, 2020
5 out of 5
This is fabulous, but you hope you never see r nee

Saw this on CBS his Morning. This can be a life saving app. I want to share it with family and friends.

By MacKenzie9999.
November 29, 2020
5 out of 5
Wow!

This is remarkable! It’s so accurate! I have no idea how you did it but you did a splendid job. Everyone should have this app. I
heard about it on the news this morning and glad to have it

By Future-Guy.
November 29, 2020
5 out of 5
Amazing

Just saw this app on a CBS news story! Could save your life or others simply amazing thanks!!!

By WAORGANY.
November 28, 2020
5 out of 5
Wonderful App

Thank you for making this available and available at no cost. You will save lives.

By PatinAustin.
November 28, 2020
5 out of 5
Just plain brilliant!

Thank you for this wonderful app – it is just plain brilliant!

By MGMSuperstar.
November 28, 2020
5 out of 5
A positive in 2020

This is such a great idea. Thank you for coming up with this app.

By LoveDogs2020.
November 28, 2020
5 out of 5
What3words

Elegant, intuitive , and remarkable.

By Rvrscum.
September 23, 2020
5 out of 5
Everyone should use this, especially realtors!

Have you ever looked at a real estate listing, especially for rural land, to find the address vague? No matter how hard you try,
you can’t find the property using an online map. How great would it be if realtors used this app to locate the entrance to the
property so precisely! I have recommended th

By Jimmy Thimble.
September 21, 2020
5 out of 5
easy to use. why didn’t apple think of this?

easy to find friends at the beach or concert. just give them your address and they can find you even with no street address.

By Eric_S_HK.
August 22, 2020
5 out of 5
Omniscient Azura Ahura Mazda

Tells truth. Wells and pools optional.

By Tessa Racked 8 Ball.
August 6, 2020
5 out of 5
A lifesaver

Anything that can get medical personnel to an emergency location the quickest possible way is a lifesaver.

By myvalk99.
July 14, 2020
5 out of 5
DOWNLOAD IT FIRST IN YOUR FAM!

Seriously, go download it already, tell the family and friend to do it too. This is going to change how we deal with the world
forever. AND ITS FUN, the word combos can just sound plain silly, I just go on sometimes and click the squares around where I am
and always get a good laugh or 2. NONE of th

By Wicked Scotsman.
July 7, 2020
5 out of 5
Them.Ship.Themes

Beautiful App
Much Inspiration
X

By daemon V.
June 25, 2020
5 out of 5
Love this app as a hiker

Often, there is no address for hikes and so this is a great app to track all of the trails that I love. And also great to direct
my friends to meet me there. However. I seem to have hit a limit on the number of places that I can save. I would like to have
more ability to save more locations. Thanks!

By sadiespaw.
April 19, 2020
5 out of 5
Innovative!

I can’t help but believe this world wide addressing method is our future.
In Seattle, we have 5 streets with 145 in the name, and at least 2 of them actually cross.
I wish we had this app then 👍

By TheFrankie49.
April 18, 2020
5 out of 5
The Future of navigation is here!

The concept is brilliant and the implementation is flawless. I've never had so much fun looking up random places on a map! And the
use cases are endless. I'd love a journaling or travel blogging app that used this technology.

By jachiike.
March 4, 2020
5 out of 5
Compatible with Google Maps and Apple Maps.

“Key app features:
Compatible with navigation and messaging apps including Google Maps and Apple Maps”.

I tried entering my 3 word address into Google Maps & Apple Maps, but “No results”.

Your FAQ tells the correct story:
“Can I type it in to Google maps?”
@While a 3 word address cannot yet be

By jpljpljpljpl.
February 23, 2020
5 out of 5
Great Fun

Make a list of words for some significant places/experiences you have lived.
Write your life’s story.
Try one for possible places in your future.

By Ghost 2020.
December 30, 2019
5 out of 5
Excellent

The more you use this app. the more uses you fine for it. The best ideas / inventions are always the simplest. This app. is
sublime

By Raycrane56.
December 6, 2019
4 out of 5
Fun

Not sure why we need a new navigation tool, but it’s fun to play around with.

By Dreyeore.
November 5, 2019
5 out of 5
UPS should use this...

I remember reading about this in The Economist years ago. It is smooth , well developed , and more useful than I first imagined.

By Orexis.
October 31, 2019
5 out of 5
Super clever idea

Hours of fun and fascination; looking forward to see future business, government, National Parks use.

By rk2this.
October 5, 2019
5 out of 5
Navigation

Apparently I am off to a good start.

By J David.
September 8, 2019
5 out of 5
That Facebook/Google login

In my previous review, I complained about a login process that included "Continue with" Facebook and Google options. No thanks, I
thought, they already know enough about me.
Since then, I have contacted by them. They graciously pointed out that many of the app's features, including the most import

By Michael W. Perry.
September 6, 2019
5 out of 5
Travel woes

A year or two ago I was in Costa Rica looking for an Airbnb I had booked in a super sketchy neighborhood. Everyone had tall gates
and walls around their houses. The directions had an address and “ we are the house with a pink door and a tall flag pole. I
drove around that super sketch neighborhood f

By Dmatern.
September 6, 2019
5 out of 5
Useful app

Very useful and helpful app, though I do wish it would have the option to stay on- I use it while driving to report potholes and
find I have to keep touching the screen often to keep the phone from going into lock mode.

By hero2know.
August 31, 2019
5 out of 5
So easy

It is the fastest way I know of to give a specific location to anyone, on any platform. Everyone should have this on their device,
and be able to help family members download it onto theirs so that they can be found in case of emergency, or just a social meet
up. So easy to use.

By LordZaphod.
August 28, 2019
5 out of 5
W3W the humane way of identifying location

I have been using What3Words for about two years and continue to love it. It is so much easier for the elderly to remember 3 words
than trying to memorize two strings of of eight to to ten digits in length.

By Robertmyersjd.
August 28, 2019
5 out of 5
Game changer!

I wish everyone would start using this app! What3words revolutionizes the way we think of locations and finding things. What an
awesome idea and the implementation is fantastic. Please give it a try!

By Lduncanjr.
August 28, 2019
5 out of 5
Awesome

It’s amazing to be able to save people’s lives. What would make this app even better if it was able to be data free. Just
Incase you were somewhere you don’t have a signal. If there was an emergency situation. If you had a satellite phone. You could
save anyone world wide.

By Jeai.
August 28, 2019
5 out of 5
Great idea!

This is one of the best things I have seen for navigation. The developers of this app have created a lifesaving tool like no
other.

By toolman648.
August 27, 2019
5 out of 5
Huge leap forward for safety

Imagine being able to describe exactly where you are, anywhere you are, to emergency services by saying 3 words. For instance, if
you’re in the middle of the woods, or in an unfamiliar place. It’s an amazingly simple and powerful tool. Every parent should
have it, and every emergency service should

By Me...2.
August 26, 2019
5 out of 5
Another “disruptive” technology

An immensely important app that everyone should download. This has the capability of being another “disruptive,” game-changing
technology. This simplifies a desired address to a 3x3 meter square. This could improve navigation for regular commuting, ride
sharing, delivery services, search and rescue.

By Wizzzzit.
August 24, 2019
5 out of 5
Just....wow!

I just downloaded this on the advice of a friend and I am already impressed beyond measure! I pray I never need it but, if I do, I
won’t hesitate to pull it up.

By Knottysailor65.
August 21, 2019
4 out of 5
App consistently 2 squares off

Tried this app at home after I downloaded and it consistently showed my location 2 squares off from where I was. Not too far off
granted, though it was a little unnerving when I went upstairs and the blue location dot placed me up in a tree in the park next
to my house.

By Chinley's mom.
August 18, 2019
5 out of 5
Outstanding!

Not only is the math fun and cool the concept is fabulous! We’ve not only had great success navigating with it, but we’ve had
a blast just playing with it! Great way to get kids interested in orienteering and navigation too!

By Pilotgirl uk.
August 18, 2019
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
Great app with a big flaw

I love the idea of this app and they have done well implementing it. HOWEVER, it is useless without cellular data (which I
suspect is the case in many, if not most, areas that do not have street addresses). I tried using the app in several national
parks ( which have spotty or no cell service) ove

By iowa_don.
October 29, 2019
3 out of 5
DNS service for your app

If only you would let us choose our words. That would make your app explode and everyone would use it.

By Getduke.
October 9, 2019
3 out of 5
Ok but needs fixing

So I was trying to get an Uber to my correct location, but my beacon for “where I was standing” was moving around everywhere
and I couldn’t see exactly where I was

By darbygirl2014.
October 2, 2019
3 out of 5
Location finding is not reliable

The concept of this app is fantastic! Every 9 square meter area of the planet has a unique three word combination. Very useful
to find precise locations, EXCEPT.... it can never quite find me. It’s the only map-related app I’ve used that keeps bouncing
around to try and find me. I don’t know why

By Raj 'em.
September 3, 2019
3 out of 5
Needs improvements

This is a very good idea and concept. The app though needs some improvements:
1) A way to actually copy the three words without all the extra text copied with it. Maybe this is in the settings maybe this is a
separate ‘copy’ selection.
2) A way to pronounce the three words. Yes there’s a microphone

By Reitveld.
August 22, 2019
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total