Reviews & Ratings

App Icon

WorkOutDoors

by CCS
Positive
96%
critic
4%

Track reviews from the iOS app stores, globally. Find out what people think of WorkOutDoors by reading the reviews and checking the rating. See the most helpful app reviews of WorkOutDoors written by users who played the game or used the app and let others know which reviews you have found the most useful by rating them up.

User Reviews for WorkOutDoors

Reviews: 78Avg. Rating: 9.6/10

Positive reviews

5 out of 5
Very Useful and Flexible

WorkOutDoors makes up for what Apple Watch app lacks for those who take their stats more seriously and want to dive deeper into
the numbers. Each screen is tunable to your data preferences and the maps are extremely detailed. I have run both in US and Japan
with no problems.

I would like to see T

By yamate jj.
January 26, 2021
5 out of 5
Perfect for Running and Biking

Love this app, Just what I’ve been looking for!!! Spent hours and hours over the last month trying various apps, my search is
over!! Works great for heart zone training... works well with my iWatch.

Clear displays and easy to read while running or biking. I’m over 50 and usually need readin

By BikerunhikeBob.
January 24, 2021
5 out of 5
Fantastic running & workout app

Great app for tracking running & other workouts. Lots of options to tweak it to do exactly what I want. Stable & has a great
interface. Love that I can even setup interval workouts with every option imaginable. Absolutely worth the $. My Apple watch
plus this app far exceeds my experience with

By DNS21.
January 21, 2021
4 out of 5
Great app but needs one more feature!

I often trail run, run in the dark and run in poor conditions. When I use the native Strava app I can turn on the beacon function
so my wife can track me and not have to worry about me. This app offers way more features than Strava and integrates well with
Strava but it’s missing the beacon featur

By JoeLeader.
January 18, 2021
5 out of 5
Best watch map app

This is a great app for showing a map on the watch. The latest version adds tons of data tracking screens. This is the only app
that can track floors climbed in real time. Highly recommended it.

By michaelb5000.
January 13, 2021
4 out of 5
Shoe Tracking

This is an amazing app for all runners! If it had built in shoe mileage tracking for up to five pairs of shoes, it would be
perfect.

By liberty12.
January 2, 2021
5 out of 5
Great workout app for many activities

I’ve used this for stand up paddling, hiking, walking, jogging, and kayaking.

It gives a great overview, detailed maps, and has a highly responsive developer!

The maps are from OpenStreetMaps, which have a ton of official and unofficial trails, and seem to be pretty accurate in my
experience.

W

By aphoid.
December 31, 2020
5 out of 5
Hands down the best running app I have used!

WorkOutDoors is hands down the best watch running app that I have used! I have run using Garmin for over a decade and really like
Garmin. When I purchased my first iPhone I decided to also get an Apple watch. I loved the functionality of the watch, however
was unimpressed with the built in Workou

By BSwink.
December 30, 2020
5 out of 5
Outstanding App!

Best in class for hiking navigation

By Low rights.
December 28, 2020
5 out of 5
Finally found an app that gives me control!

I found myself selling or returning each Apple Watch I bought over the years because of the exercise tracking and hiking routes.
This app now gives you similar features to what you might find on a garmin watch. Finally!!!

By matthoov7.
December 26, 2020
5 out of 5
Best workout app ever!!

I've been using this app since the earliest versions, and I still discover new features on a regular basis. I honestly can't
think of much that I'd want it to do better -- my own feature request would be an auto-end workout reminder when I return to the
starting point since I frequently forget, and

By AHH Rider.
December 23, 2020
5 out of 5
Customizable beyond my imagination!

This application is amazing! It has everything I need in workout tracking. So much more information than the basic walking,
running workouts that I’ve used over the past 9 months. I love the fact that I control data, not some Goliath of a company. Lots
of indoor activities too. Support has been outs

By Adafagshsh.
December 19, 2020
5 out of 5
Fabulous!!

This app paired with my Apple Watch series 6 is truly phonemenal. Best bang for the buck hands down.

By VectorZ.
December 19, 2020
5 out of 5
Great watch integration

Love that you can upload routes and get navigation while hiking on the Apple Watch!

By jsuer85.
December 19, 2020
5 out of 5
Fills a gap on Apple Watch

If you’re used to Garmin sport watches, this app is the closest thing to that experience on the Apple Watch.
Make custom workouts and data screens. Lots in this app. Love it.

By PineBreeze.
December 6, 2020
5 out of 5
Best Apple Watch workout app

No idea why this isn’t the default fitness app for the watch it is so much better

By NoAirPlay!.
November 26, 2020
5 out of 5
Best workout app for the Apple Watch

This app is amazing for running and I assume for similar cardio workouts like biking. Love the feature set and customization
options. Very easy to use and provides great data. Love being able to see the metrics I care about easily on the watch during a
workout and then analyze it after in the app. H

By Gsjbdifibdjdq479999432.
November 15, 2020
5 out of 5
Beyond impressed

The real deal. Makes my watch feel like an actual tool instead of a toy. Thank you so much for developing this. Absolutely
fantastic, really!

By Bob Jones VI.
November 12, 2020
5 out of 5
Best

The only workout app with a functional map that doesn’t take forever to load. And the only hiking app that functions well
offline on the watch. Gaia GPS is the king for the iPhone, but the Apple Watch app for it is terrible. The viewranger app isn’t
good either. The AllTrails watch app is okay but t

By bcarl6.
November 11, 2020
5 out of 5
Great App - Awesome

I have been using this app for a few years now and it remains great!! New features, from simple to very detailed customization
settings!!

Highly recommended, extremely versatile, customizable and useful.

By J-Dav.
November 11, 2020
5 out of 5
Perfect for Hiking

This app is truly fantastic for hiking. I’ve tried two other apps outside of the native exercise app, and this wins hands down.
Plus, it’s fully featured without a subscription, which is rare and very welcome these days. Well worth the price.

By Jeremiah Jeffrey.
November 10, 2020
5 out of 5
Best workout app out there !!!

Are use this app daily on my hikes. Works perfectly and records gazillion data on my iPhone after the hike. Love it.

By Lionheart2019.
October 26, 2020
5 out of 5
Awesome

Love the off-line maps tracking export features I do wish it had a topographical version of Maps rather than just open roads as I
use my apple watch for back country skiing

By Hitabumpturn.
October 23, 2020
5 out of 5
'Best out door app out'

'Love this app , makes the Apple Watch on par or better than any outdoor app out , especially for Hiking'

By Mississippicacher.
October 18, 2020
5 out of 5
'Best workout app I’ve ever used'

'This app has it all, and I am sad that I did not hear about it earlier. I used to use the native Apple Watch workout feature,
which is great, but missing a lot of features that I wanted to see. You can customize the screens to show the data that is most
important to you, and swipe left or right to

By Steef305.
October 18, 2020
5 out of 5
'The best running app hands down!!!'

'I am not usually one to leave a review, but this app is the best and the best deserves a review. I have gone back and forth with
Apple Watch over the years and ultimately always return to Garmin for the superior data they provide during runs. I decided to
come back to Apple Watch with the Series 6

By mbthebody.
October 16, 2020
5 out of 5
'Best hiking GPS app for Apple Watch'

'Needed a rock solid GPS app for hiking mountains, after trying just about all of the others, this is by far the best. \n\nThe
customer service and response time blew me away, any and every question was handled and taken care of literally within minutes. If
you need something for your hikes and also

By jake Borrelli.
October 13, 2020
5 out of 5
'Very detailed, great value'

'Highly recommended. Has pretty much everything you could want from a fitness tracker app. I’ve used it for cycling but am
looking forward to testing it for backpacking and traveling. I love how incredibly customizable the screen layouts are, allowing
you go choose basically anything you could wan

By itsdvd.
October 11, 2020
5 out of 5
'This app makes up for most of what is missing'

'Wanted a Garmin watch’s useful workout metrics, and the Apple watch’s non workout functionality? This app is currently the
best one at bridging the gap left my the limited functionality of apple’s workout app.'

By Remnant x.
October 10, 2020
5 out of 5
'Impressive for battery life and features'

'I got this for trail running and have been extremely happy so far. Loading routes from GPX and downloading maps works smoothly,
the screens are well-designed by default and easy to tweak, and GPS accuracy is good. Strava export is seamless. The most pleasant
surprise was that this used less battery

By awblocker.
October 10, 2020
5 out of 5
'Versatile, Detailed, Useful'

'This app is amazing!\n\n1. Integrates with Strava\n2. Vector maps work great\n3. Detailed metrics presented in a super useful
format\n4. Interval set up is really easy to do (breaks out all stats by interval too - so can see pace/cadence by the type of run
you’re doing)\n\nI’m excited to explor

By JosephSchmoe.
October 8, 2020
5 out of 5
'GREAT app for runners!'

'This blows away the stock app and every 3rd party app I’ve tried (and I’ve tried many). Being able to customize my screens
to show what I care about as a runner is priceless. When I’m trying new routes, the vector mapping display is the fastest
I’ve ever used and it is invaluable. I love

By vgrund.
October 7, 2020
5 out of 5
'Still the best workout app'

'I’ve been using this app for several years now for every workout I do, up to and including half a dozen marathons now. It
offers so many features and works really well. It was very solid for me on my Series 4 watch and having recently updated to a
Series 6 it is just as good. A few key features I

By DrScottWatkins.
October 4, 2020
5 out of 5
'Amazing'

'First, why was it so hard to find an app to give me audio cues about what HR Zone I was running in? Next, why don’t more people
know about this amazing app? Last, not sure how the dev could be more responsive. An absolutely great app and with auto upload to
Strava too. I tried all of the main one

By Oldstronzo.
October 3, 2020
4 out of 5
'Almost perfect!'

'This app is amazing and has completely transformed how I hike and how I use my Apple Watch. I’m a long time user of Gaia GPS,
but their Watch app has always been pretty bad. This app fills that void in a way I didn’t know was possible. It provides fast
and reliable maps and trail navigation on

By ReviewerKal.
October 3, 2020
5 out of 5
'I Have Never Loved An App So Much!'

'I never write reviews because I’m lazy and most apps are just meh to me. I’m a runner and I left my Garmin forerunner for an
Apple Watch and almost immediately regretted it. A couple of internet searches led me to this app and it has been a game changer.
I can customize my screen layout with th

By greeneggsandamb.
September 29, 2020
5 out of 5
'Perfection for Apple Watch'

'I was a long-time Garmin user until I finally caved and bought an Apple Watch in early 2020. Frustrated with other options, a
friend pointed me to WorkOutDoors. It does everything - and perfectly. This is the app I’ve been waiting for.'

By geof_1f.
September 25, 2020
5 out of 5
'The greatest running app for Apple Watch by a mil

'I can’t recommend this app highly enough for runners with an Apple Watch. \n\nFirst, I can’t believe how mediocre every other
Apple Watch fitness app is for running. They lack customization, they’re hard to read, they often don’t even know how to
define the metrics they display. Worse yet,

By cicchetti.
September 24, 2020
5 out of 5
'Lots of great data. No trail routes on my hikes?!

'Super promising. Great reviews. My earlier review is below. Turns out I’m an idiot. The 45 degree compensation thing was
throwing me off. Changed to 0 and all is better. \n\nWent on two hikes so far. The data is great! The maps lacked trails in my
hiking spot, which is a little disappointing. Gai

By Sammy Grumbles.
September 24, 2020
5 out of 5
'Most sophisticated iOS app and Apple Watch app av

'If you are a stats geek or want to follow specific training or workout plans this is the app for you. I have tried every Running
app that has an Apple Watch companion and nothing even comes close to this. The ability to customize every screen you see, the
ability to customize every interval you r

By Findmory.
September 23, 2020
5 out of 5
'Finally found the best...'

'I have tried many running apps and there is always something missing or I feel like “I wish it did this or that” etc. The
WorkOutDoors app is the first time a running app has 100% what I need. My search has ended here, and I’m super happy....
thanks!!!!'

By HelloitsDerek.
September 21, 2020
5 out of 5
'Awesome, excellent customer service'

'After six months I’m still discovering more features. Wow. Over the weekend I emailed the developer about something I found
confusing. and received the answer within hours.'

By T.Anichini.
September 16, 2020
5 out of 5
'Swiss Army Knife of AW exercise apps'

'I NEVER write reviews, but I had to rain accolades on this app. From the insane level of customizations, to the vector maps, to
the ability to import gpx maps... This thing is pure gold.'

By HotrodRigo.
September 12, 2020
5 out of 5
'The workout app the Apple Watch should come with'

'This app is super configurable. It shows you just how much data is actually there that you don’t see in the native Apple
workout app. Basically if you’re anything more than a casual exerciser you should get this app. Well worth the money, especially
considering their excellent privacy policy wh

By Knightslk.
September 12, 2020
5 out of 5
'This app makes all others look puny'

'I use Strava all the time to track my fitness data, but their watch app is just so lackluster. I also wanted a GPS app.\n\nThis
app has everything I need:\n- Offline maps!\n- Tabata workout timer?!\n- Automatic export to Strava!!!'

By alanhape.
September 10, 2020
5 out of 5
'Great app'

'I’ve been jogging w this app for about 3 months now. The app is awesome and I find note and more features regularly. There are
only a few options that I wish were available. Those first. The display on my phone has a lot of data. I wish however it had a
single screen in a customizable data table

By Shr3dd3r2012.
September 7, 2020
5 out of 5
'Perfect companion app for being without service'

'This is THE app I have been searching for for years! I don’t know why I didn’t find it sooner but I wish I had.\n\nI use this
app primarily for dirt bike riding and it solves the top two issues I had with all the other apps I’ve tried: not having offline
maps *on the watch*, and not using vec

By Codigitty.
August 24, 2020
5 out of 5
'The Best'

'One of the best apps (of any type) I have ever come across to date'

By Scorpionhunter.
August 17, 2020
5 out of 5
'Best running app'

'Most useful outdoor activity app. So many measurements that you can personalize.'

By Rogel1208.
August 14, 2020
5 out of 5
'Customizable and very functional'

'I was looking for a stand alone watch app that would allow me to customize intervals by time and heart rate zone AND cue me to
change zones as well as alert me if I fell out of the zone. This app does all of that and more. It runs flawlessly on my series
5. Alerts are delivered with vibration an

By Okie-SMS.
July 18, 2020
View all positive reviews

Critic reviews

3 out of 5
Liked, But???

I liked the app while it was working fully. But after December 6, 2020 the app on the phone would not download the data from the
apple watch series 4. It still shows the screens on the watch so I can still see the progress during my walks. But when I try tp
transfer the data to my phone it doesn’t a

By jimdehilo.
December 22, 2020
3 out of 5
App Won’t Quit in WatchOS 7.1

When I end a workout, there is no screen to save the workout after ending it. As a consequence, the app continues to show its icon
at the top of the watch screen. I did see the save button once after finishing a workout, but that was the only time. I really
like this app, and I hope the developer ca

By Eripetra.
December 8, 2020
3 out of 5
Has some glitches

Love the app.

I've used the app and an Apple watch for a couple of years almost every day, while running.

Three times the watch and phone have stopped talking.

Ultimate solution is to uninstall and reinstall to both.

Workouts saved to Apple Fitness and Strava.

Its a bummer to repeat this.

By mbchamb.
October 19, 2020
3 out of 5
Crashes!

I love this app. But it crashes often during a run and I lose data and don’t record the run. It is too bad that it is unstable,
because otherwise it is great.

By Hugoniot.
September 12, 2020
View all critic reviews

WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

How do you rate this app? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Gameplay
Graphics
Price
Total